29 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Apr 6 2013, 10:48 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Applehead @ Apr 6 2013, 10:38 PM)
y400 got no keypad i don't mind 14 inch =P but the thing is i don't know what's the nicer spec laptop for 14 inch
Y400 is phased out. sorry bro. sad.gif

but you may look at these :

ASUS A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8
Dell Vostro 3460, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA+ 750GB(7200rpm) HDD@RM3149[2.23kg], 8GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Alienware M14x R2, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M (1GB) + (1600x900)@RM3999[2.92kg][Klipsch], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); [CPU Options: i7-3630QM - i7-3840QM], W8, 2 years warranty
HP Envy Dv4-5205TX, i7-3630M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2699[Beats], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8
Lenovo New Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

alienware's processor is customizable. smile.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Apr 6 2013, 10:49 PM
raymondtong94
post Apr 6 2013, 11:01 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Applehead @ Apr 6 2013, 11:00 PM)
ASUS A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

and

Lenovo New Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

looks great =) thanks
you are welcome. smile.gif

with the budget left after bought the laptop, consider upgrading the RAM to 8GB (4GB stick = RM80) and extend the warranty to 3 years. biggrin.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:02 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Applehead @ Apr 6 2013, 11:52 PM)
can't find review for ASUS A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8 but the Lenovo New Z400 touch, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 1TB got a bit of bad review =/ https://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F...spx&h=gAQFQ94KF
that lenovo is non graphics card equipped. but i can see the weakness is that its heavier than ultrabooks, keyboard flex, dull screen and short battery life. these cons are bearable.

the ASUS seems to be too rare. sad.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:36 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Apr 7 2013, 12:33 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - <2.5K
3. Usage - Application (Engineering stuff), Game (Dota 2 mostly, and some free time game like FM13, Bioshock 3)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14"
this is the best bang of buck you can get. biggrin.gif

Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate

save the remaining budget and extend the warranty to 3 years and upgrade the RAM to 8GB.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:40 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(cws1991 @ Apr 7 2013, 12:35 PM)
Wanna ask about a model - Asus S56CM-XX276H?
-3rd Gen Intel Core i7-3517U
-Geforce GT635M
-2x4 gb ram

Is it suitable for gaming? If compared to normal i7-QM model, is it a big difference in performance?
compare to i7-QM, yes, it differs in performance. this i7 in the S56CM is an ULV processor, which is 17W dual core processor while the other is 45W quad core processor. however, the graphics card is suitable for low-mid gaming.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(d3ck @ Apr 7 2013, 12:37 PM)
Great, thanks for fast reply tho. Plus is it worth to get TOUCH?
getting the touch screen is just a marketing gimmick. you may use the touch screen less compared to mouse, except if you are using a convertible laptop/hybrid laptop.

so IMO, its not worth.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 12:51 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Apr 7 2013, 12:47 PM)
greet to all pro adviser,I should wait for the Y500 GT750M or just buy the Y500 GT650M? Basically how does the performance difference and how long it takes to  be available at Malaysia?
it depends on you if you are rush to get a laptop or not. if you not in a rush, you can wait for the GT750M, which will be release in Malaysia around May-July. the performance difference will be around 25% boost in GT750M.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 01:22 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(momorac @ Apr 7 2013, 01:10 PM)
Hi all sifu,need help choosing new laptop

1. Preferred Brand - None
2. Budget - 3-4k
3. Usage - Works - Microsoft exel,words,PP,Photoshop
            - Leisure/Entertainment  - Gaming Fifa,NFS & Movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13/14"

Need backlit keyboard
Travel for meeting a lot (light weight)

some suggestions

ASUS [Ultrabook] UX32VD-R3001H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.45kg], 4GB, W8
Dell [Ultrabook] XPS13, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit
Sony Vaio SVS13135CV, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M LE@RM3199[1.72kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8; colors: white/black; Vaio carrying case
HP [Ultrabook] Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8

price is RSP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 03:09 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 7 2013, 02:56 PM)
I googled it and saw they said it has a  daughter board that connect to the mSATA card? so we can upgrade the mSaTa card?
yes. normally mSATA is upgradeable. they come with RAM like module and its installed in the motherboard.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 03:26 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 7 2013, 03:16 PM)
Thanks for the reply smile.gif So can I upgrade it to higher capacity ssd and use it as main boot drive? or it just limited to use as ssd caching
yes, maximum 128GB module yet so far. you can choose to use the mSATA as a boot drive other than caching. but, mSATA speed will be slower compared to standalone SSD. assume the read/write speed will be 300/150 for mSATA while 500/200-500 for standalone SSD.
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 04:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jh95 @ Apr 7 2013, 04:44 PM)
Did Lenovo Z500 come with GT740M?i preffered to buy lenovo z500 next week on pcfair...currently the website is GT645M?
no, it doesnt released yet. sad.gif
raymondtong94
post Apr 7 2013, 05:11 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jh95 @ Apr 7 2013, 05:00 PM)
oic...So when will released...i prefer 15.6 screen...
i think at same time with the new Y500, maybe around may-july.
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 12:32 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Cloudlim @ Apr 7 2013, 10:24 PM)
Hi, would like to ask all sifu here  since i will be get  a new laptop end of this month,
1. Preferred Brand
Dont have any, as long as it is good quality
2. Budget
2000-2300
3. Usage
for gaming, downloading movies and listen music
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
14"

Hope  can give me some suggestion
Really appreciate ur help, thanks

currently i observed the dell 14r special edition i5 and lenovo new z400 but dont noe which suit me well . pls help
opt for new lenovo Z400. you wont regret getting it. smile.gif
the GT740M is capable of playing most modern games at mid-high settings.
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 10:54 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nuke13 @ Apr 8 2013, 10:35 AM)
Thank you very much. But, why no Asus? Is Asus no good? I know Asus makes quality laptops but how are their support in Malaysia?
ASUS's warranty support in malaysia is the worst ever. but in taiwan, its great (as ASUS is from taiwan).
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 11:07 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nuke13 @ Apr 8 2013, 10:57 AM)
OIC. So, in term of build quality and after sale service which one you recommend? I hear Dell is really good.
yes, dell is pretty good in their laptop build and after sale service.
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 06:26 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(santakid @ Apr 8 2013, 05:28 PM)

I'll be buying a new laptop soon and hope to get some recommendation

1. Preferred Brand : Any as long as it's worth it
2. Budget : Less than 1.5k
3. Usage : General office task and movies (sometimes HD movies)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : as long as the dimension feels comfortable for movies

Hope I'm not asking too much for the price. Thanks in advance!
Dell New Inspiron 15, i3-2117U + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.25kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm)

best choice. larger screen allows you to watch movies in joy. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(saspiero @ Apr 8 2013, 06:17 PM)
1. Preferred Brand =Any established brand
2. Budget =2000-2500
3. Usage =Business Use. Processing large files.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size= Min 14"
5. Others :Need extended warranty and onsite support(if possible) for 3 years
Acer V5-471PG-53334G50, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Dell New Inspiron 14-3421, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT625M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL@RM1899
HP [Ultrabook] Envy4-1009TU/1019TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000 + 32GB mSATA+ 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1899[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W7HP

best recommended choice is the Dell. cheap and normal spec. price is RSP and negotiable.

raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 08:22 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(DariusCk @ Apr 8 2013, 10:29 AM)
1. Prefered Brand ASUS/LENOVO/DELL
2. Budget RM2-RM2.4k
3. Usage : Surfing internet, quite heavy gaming (at least GT640m)
4. Screen size 15.6"

I'm interested on LENOVO Z500, but some PCShops told me that if I want to use for gaming, it is not suitable. Z500 is slim and easily get heating problem. Any suggestion??
hi sorry for being late in replying. if you want to look for a laptop that suits gaming without overheat, here are some suggestion :

ASUS A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 09:15 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Cloudlim @ Apr 8 2013, 08:36 PM)
hi raymondtong and everyone if give u choose which 1 u will choose between the model u mention above ?
i suppose want get z400 but after c the youtube video how to remove and clean i hold my horses >.<
getting the new Z400 is actually worth it. i dont see any difficulties in disassembling except need to pry the back cover and keyboard with care as im haunted with plastic clip damage. cleaning doesnt mean you need to clean it everyday, you can do it twice per year to maintain it.
raymondtong94
post Apr 8 2013, 10:44 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Apr 8 2013, 10:39 PM)
guys
budget 3.5k max
gaming laptop
prefer light weight ^^
previously m15x very heavy = =
need to bring college for gaming so hope is light and nice ^^
this

ASUS N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
Lenovo Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty; colors: chocolate
Illegear RE-15, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM][/color]

lenovo is the best bang for buck laptop. just the disassembly is difficult compared to normal laptops. upgrade the RAM to 8GB, extend the warranty to 3 years and if got money, throw in a SSD for faster loading.
raymondtong94
post Apr 9 2013, 10:21 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Apr 9 2013, 09:50 AM)
Hi all,I want to buy a new laptop, with good venting design and removable battery.

1. Preferred Brand : any, except HP
2. Budget : RM1.5k
3. Usage : non-gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14/15"
Acer E1-471-32322G50L, i3-2328M + Intel HD3000@RM1399, 2GB, 750GB, Linux
Dell New Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
Dell New Inspiron 15, i3-2117U + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.25kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm)

be note that Acer is non-windows. price is RSP and negotiable.

29 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:44 AM