15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Apr 15 2013, 10:23 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ming8989 @ Apr 15 2013, 10:03 AM)
hmmmmm, well
thanks for ur suggestion though im still dont know which to choose

What if i up my budget from 2.2k to 2.4k,

is there any better option?

or is it better for me to spend those budgent on extending the warranty

and one more question, what about lenovo z580?

Next step up that is worth your while is this Lenovo:
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
But it is being phased out and a more powerful spec will be introduced (with GT750M, iinm) shortly.

Depend on what type of games you play, the A45VS, 14R SE, Z480 could handle lots of game in 1366x768 resolution.

Negotiate kuat-kuat. For Dell, extend warranty to 3 years (~ RM250). Get a SSD (128G ~ RM300++) smile.gif

Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
No reason to go for 15" if you still get HD resolution smile.gif Z480 & Z580 more or less has the same GPU, and you don't need to spend money on i7 smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 15 2013, 10:27 AM
nexus2238
post Apr 16 2013, 03:29 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 16 2013, 02:30 PM)
best selected choice is lenovo Z400.
you can upgrade the RAM to 8GB
Raymond, most re-sellers I talk to hate upgrading RAM (actually almost anything laugh.gif) for buyers of Z400 or Z500:P
So many screeeew sweat.gif
They still do it though, need to "cari makan" laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 17 2013, 03:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(nevergiveup5351 @ Apr 17 2013, 03:21 PM)
ASUS K46CM-WX177H performance UltraBook

or

DELL Inspiron 14z i5 processor

which is better?

Or is there any better option for 2k.2.2k notebook/ultrabook?
usually for 70% dota, 30% assignment
If you absolutely want to game on ultrabook:
Asus K46CM that you have in mind; or
the Z400 that Raymond suggested; or
HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Prices are RSP, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 17 2013, 03:48 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 17 2013, 03:55 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Apr 17 2013, 03:47 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : 1.8k+-
3. Usage: For work,movies, music
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : if bigger better XD

trying to find wats the best stuff i can buy with my 1.8k ty
Work as in using MS Office? smile.gif
Then your usage don't require anything powerful. Intel i3 with HD4000 is sufficient.
Unfortunately big screen size like 17" in Malaysia is usually too high spec (and too expensive) for you.

17" (cheapest)
Lenovo
Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2299[3.0kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm); W7HP

Why don't you consider a 14" and then connect the laptop to an external display (nice IPS screen ~ RM600+)? smile.gif

14"
Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell
HP
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Lenovo
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 17 2013, 03:56 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 17 2013, 04:44 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kalaimugilan @ Apr 17 2013, 04:11 PM)
Planned to buy a touch screen laptop with Maybank Treatpoints? Any suggestion or any current offer?
Maybank Treatpoints? Aren't you restricted by the models in the catalogue?
Don't bother lah smile.gif iinm, Only some old Sony model and MacBook (don't know which year model tongue.gif). (I could be wrong, they could include some new models in latest catalague laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 17 2013, 04:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(flyt0thesky @ Apr 17 2013, 04:03 PM)
hey guys, if compare between Acer aspire V5-471G-53334G50, Lenovo G480 and Lenovo Z480, which 1 is better in the sense of performance, quality and after sales service?

Thank you.
V5-471G-53334G50, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

Do you means these three?

The V5 has touch screen. Otherwise, it is totally out-spec by the others.
Z480 is better than G480. (If you have look at the real things of this 2 models, you don't need us to tell you this laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif)

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 17 2013, 04:52 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 10:30 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 19 2013, 12:50 AM)
Dear Guru,

Need some thoughts on ASPIRE V5-551G-84552G1T 15.6" . It looks good to me at the price tag of RM1540. Planning to get it already.

Decent GPU and processor - i assume it's good for moderate gaming like dota2 or LOL
HDMI output which will be used for my LED tv.
1TB hdd space
slap 4gb of ddr3 ram to it
Win8 at that price???
V5-551G-84552G1T, A8-4555 + AMD HD7650M@RM1599, 2GB, 1TB, W8

Do you mean this one?
The A8 APU combo with the GPU actually is quite ok for games like Dota2 and LoL.
AMD APU is ok for other general purpose, but if you run apps that need heavy CPU power but could NOT take advantage of multi-core, it lose out to Intel core CPU tongue.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 10:34 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Apr 19 2013, 10:27 AM)
Hi there,

I tried to search for the Dell 15R with the specs you listed on dell website and i can't find it.... the best they have on their site is the Dell 15Rse with weaker processor the gpu... will you be kind enough to direct me to the dell link that have this spec? thanks
Here you go:
http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-15r-5521...alse#overrides=

And NO, 15R SE has more powerful CPU. And 7730M in 15R SE has better benchmark than the 8730M in 15R smile.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 10:41 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Apr 19 2013, 10:05 AM)
1. Preferred Brand
ACER / LENOVO / DELL

2. Budget
2k-2.5k

3. Usage
Mainly for design, motion/video, 3D works
Game? Rarely..

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
current laptop screen size is 14.0".. I think its enough for me already.  laugh.gif

what i have in my mind now
Lenovo Z400?
acer aspire V5? Touch+w8+2gb nvidia 2299
dell inspiron 15R?
which one is better..  rclxub.gif and Z400 i5 I asked a few shops all not in stock, only the i7 one which is out of my budget. Sifu pls help me to analyse further  notworthy.gif

or should I top up and go for i7?
You usage can definitely benefit from a good i7 QM (quad core) CPU.

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Lenovo
Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable. Definitely within your budget smile.gif

Alternatively, look for this 15", cheapest i7 QM laptop in Malaysia:
Lenovo
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 10:43 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(bbbbuyyy @ Apr 18 2013, 11:10 PM)
Not reallyheavy i play dota 2 LoL and diablo? And most importantly  my favourite offline game nba13k i  play this game most of the time. I prefer portability and capable to play nba13k at least in a high setthings. I own a n53 it was 2.6kg and i bring it to university everyday kills me sad.gif and it was quite bulky tough...
check out this little 11.6" baby:
www.illegear.com
R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 10:48 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 18 2013, 05:49 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Prefer brand with good after sales service
2. Budget - Around RM2k
3. Usage - Mainly for working purpose
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14'
Work as in MS Office that kind of things? Then you don't need powerful CPU or GPU. i3 with Intel HD4000 is good enough.
Dell has the best warranty support service in Malaysia currently.

Dell
Inspiron 14-3421, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM1399[1.99kg], Win8SL, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 4-cell

Use remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G ~ RM80), extend warranty to 3 years (~ RM250), swap the HDD with SSD (128G ~ RM300+. SSD will make your laptop very responsive smile.gif )

Prices is RSP, negotiable a bit.
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 10:53 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(boejenkt @ Apr 18 2013, 05:15 PM)
thanks bro..
i think so too.. but in terms of performance which one is better?
one more thing, i think u940 doesn't have dvdwriter/player am i right?
Lenovo Z series has much more powerful CPU & GPU compare with Toshiba U ultrabook smile.gif
But if you are not inot gaming, get laptop with full SSD (128G) or upgrade aftermarket. It boost responsiveness tremendously smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 19 2013, 10:54 AM
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 02:38 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(green_everyday @ Apr 19 2013, 02:24 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Asus
2. Budget : 3k
3. Usage : uni (just ms word, powerpoint), some gaming (Assassin's creed, GTA) and watching movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15"

must have usb 3.0 and SSD also dvd drive. and not W8. thanks!
W8 is something you have to deal with yourself or with some help with the re-sellers. Most new laptop units come with W8 pre-installed.

N56VZ-S3151H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black

Price is RSP, negotiable.

For SSD, you can buy and upgrade after-market, 128G ~ RM300+.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 19 2013, 02:42 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 02:41 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(orangeong6 @ Apr 19 2013, 02:21 PM)
I just purchased my ASUS A45V series. i5-3210M, 14' screen, NVIDIA 2G, 6G RAM, for RM1950 in Low Yat. I think Asus would make a better choice than toshiba as i heard that toshiba's customer service is not that good.

The ventilation system for Asus is done well and seldom i heard about asus overheating problem. It has 3x charge cycle life, USB 3.0, 500G HDD. Should be enough for Uni use?
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Do mean this?
If yes, quite a good deal you get smile.gif

Uni, what course? What software you need to use?
Generally, this A45VS should do fine smile.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 02:52 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(pali_5373 @ Apr 19 2013, 02:17 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : any
2. Budget : 2k and below
3. Usage : download and net surfing
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13" and below

must have USB 3.0 and SSD
downloaded files will be transferred to external HDD so need the usb 3.0 superspeed. will avoid W8 at all cost
W8 is something you have to deal with yourself or with some help from re-seller. Most new laptop units come pre-installed with W8.

Your budget and your preference of laptop size leads to lots of Atom CPU smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Asus 11.6"
VivoBook S200E, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1799[1.38kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year
VivoBook S200E, B847 + Intel UMA + (1366x768; touch)@RM1499[1.38kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

Lenovo 11.6"
ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.5kg],W7HP, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black

Dell 13"
Vostro 3360, i3-2365M + Intel HD3000@RM1859[1.67kg], 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Vostro 3360, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000@RM2009[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

Lenovo 13"
S300, Pentium 997 + Intel HD3000 @RM1199[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W7HB/W8@RM1399, no ODD, 1 yr warranty
S300, 1007U + Intel HD @RM999[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W8@RM1199

nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 02:57 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(green_everyday @ Apr 19 2013, 02:50 PM)
Hi, thanks for replying. What about the S56CM-XX276H? Does it come with a dvd drive?
S56CM-XX276H i7-3517U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB@RM2899[2.3kg], 8GB, W8; color: black

Yes, it has DVD drive.
But why?
N56VZ has more powerful CPU (i7 ULV is only duo core), more powerful GPU, and cheaper laugh.gif
S56CM has lousy battery performance as well.
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 03:04 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Apr 19 2013, 02:48 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : Asus/Dell
2. Budget : 3k
3. Usage : movies and gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14/15"

I've been doing some light reading and came across the 2 below.... which one has the better deal?

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm);  (listed by a fellow forumer here - i had problem finding this off Dell's site. .(@_@))

and..

Asus
A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM+GT640 @ 2999, 4GB ram and 750GB Sata
Don't need to go for i7 for this budget smile.gif
These are more reasonably price. Prices are RSP, negotiable.

Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

Use your budget to extend warranty (Dell, 3 years ~ RM250) or buy SSD to swap with HDD (128G ~ RM300+, 256G ~ RM600+/-).

You can find the Dell 14R SE here:
http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14r-se-7420/fs
The i7 spec is no longer in Dell (most likely Dell is refreshing the SE models), but you can still find it with re-sellers.

But for your budget, the best laptop for gaming is this:
Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
Not easy to find, as new spec is coming out soon with GT750M thumbup.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 03:13 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Apr 19 2013, 12:53 PM)
Hi! It's me again. This time i'm looking for work machine.

1. Preferred Brand - Any good brand
2. Budget -  1k - 1.5k
3. Usage - Mainly for work purpose
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14 or 11'6
Work? Road warrior and need light 11.6"?

Acer 11.6"
Iconia W700, i3-2375M + Intel HD3000 + 64GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM1999, 4GB, W8; BT keyboard

Asus 11.6"
VivoBook S200E, i3-3217U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch)@RM1799[1.38kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

Lenovo 11.6"
ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.5kg],W7HP, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black

Dell 14"

HP 14"
Pavilion Sleekbook 14-b051TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo 14"
G480, i3-2348M + Intel HD3000@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS; W8@RM1499
G480, i5-3230M + Intel HD4000@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

nexus2238
post Apr 19 2013, 03:19 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(boejenkt @ Apr 19 2013, 11:59 AM)
thanks bro..
yes i'm not really into gaming.. just light gamer..
well then, i guess lenovo z500 is a good choice but how about
z500 vs z580.. almost the same price but 1 with i5 and 1 is i7..
what do you think bout this bro?  hmm.gif
You don't need i7 for your usage, it just drain battery faster for you biggrin.gif

Anyway, if you are looking at Z series, may want to look at Z400 instead of Z500. Same HD (1366x768) resolution ...

Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Do note that the newer Z series is slim, has battery that is inside the shell, and take more than 20 screws to get to RAM or HDD or do dust-cleaning laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Apr 22 2013, 09:58 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(brandon114716 @ Apr 20 2013, 11:18 PM)
1. Preferred Brand Asus or lenovo
2. Budget Around RM2K. I can top up to maximum RM2.5K but prefer to be around RM2K.
3. Usage Internet; programming like photoshop, videos editing, matlab; entertainment like musics and movies; uni/work purposes like words, excel, powerpoint; gaming like dota, simcity, left 4 dead
4. Preferred laptop/screen size 13" to 14"
5. Addition information I am currently studying in Singapore. So I would need extended international warranty if possible as I would not be able to go back to Malaysia frequently. I would need a laptop recommendation that sort of fits with my current situation. smile.gif

Where would the better place to buy - lowyat or asus certified sellers?

I am also considering to get macbook pro 13" as the probability of me gaming is very low - probably like once a year. So would it be better to get a macbook pro 13" instead of an asus or lenovo laptop?

Thanks! smile.gif
The cheapest MBP 13" is this, out of your budget:
MacBookPro 13", i5-3210M + Intel HD4000 + (1280x800)@RM3699[2.06kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

Asus models usually has 2 year International Warranty. Lenovo models usually has 2 years ASEAN warranty. So picking models from these brands should be fine. You may also consider Dell as well, if you extend warranty to 3 years during purchase, it autamatically become international warranty.

No difference buying from normal shop or from "Asus Certified Seller" as long as you get warranty support directly from Asus, just make sure you get proper receipt.

Asus
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M@RM1999, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

Use the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (Asus) (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell, 3 years ~ RM250), buy SSD to swap out the HDD (SSD 128G ~ RM300+).

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1230sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:03 AM