University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

rav063
post Jan 15 2009, 12:35 AM

62 posts

I see a good many had a lot to say about the uni.

But here this is just what i feel:

firstly i m csrulez's friend and classmate. We got the same grades too. I am foundation leaving student as well. he anyway asked me to join this forum. lol.

Here is what I feel:
The interview thing... yes!
While the entry requirements are questionable, that's a Uni policy (I am not going to comment on that as every other place in this country has discrepancies there.)

But I will vouch for the School of Medicine (SoM)... if one thing I can describe about from day 1 is quality. They try their level best to harness the best in us which results in an somewhat stressful schedule but as our VC put in the convo the other day, we need to pushed to realize our own potential. I see it this way; its not what you come in with but how you leave. The outcome.

Well, its a young school but we have done some great things. Our Clinical Skills Center is an example.

Our curriculum newly revised (so you might not see it yet) is super holistic and integrated and we have a lots of things going on parallelly. And our exams are no piece of cake either ... I dunno about other schools, we have this 1 minute 1 mark policy so you really have to know your stuff in order to do well. Our final papers go for 20MCQs, 5TFs, 6 SAQs(10 each) and 4 LAQs (20 each)... so there is always a 10% casualty each examination session in the first year. That is QC for you.

But as the many good things I say, we have some wrinkles to iron out which are these people who don't have an idea about the profession and live with their heads in the clouds and their hearts somewhere else. LOL.

But if there is one thing i learned in SoM is about how to learn from a certain excellent professor.

Added on January 15, 2009, 1:08 amQuoting limeuu

"what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......

sad......

p/s i should add that i am not criticising such decisions, if i were in your shoes now, i would certainly be thinking the same way.......how to abandon a sinking ship......"

Sorry i dunno how to work the cool blue box quote yet.

I feel about the sinking ship thing is the main reason plus the fact that many doctors feel pressed in government service for many reasons like not getting their promotion or specialist courses because of subjective things like how the way were born into. I do not want to use the "r" word. After undergoing such discrimination, no wonder service becomes second-hand when it becomes unappreciated by your own people by the very fact that you are not looked upon as an "own people".

Though I feel that the all out attack on the subcontinent people is a bit unwarranted. They make one of the best teachers I have seen in my school. Some of them are ever so humble with superb qualifications. I know of many full ranked tenured Professors who are ever so welcoming to help any student any time. I know of one who helped to wake up a student everyday by calling the student every morning because that student had problems of punctuality. It worked. They are here because of their qualifications while some trying to earn a better livelihood and others just love teaching or practicing. Not all settle in developed nations. Most come on sabbaticals. To equate it to something as pathological like a syndrome is sadly opposing to their reasons.

We rarely hear about their countries of origin complain about that too; they instead welcome it by giving dual citizenships and give them the opportunity to bring new things back; even if not through them but through their children (Diaspora and POIs). So its part of becoming a global village and partnership.

It's all on how we see it. Just my two cents worth.

This post has been edited by rav063: Jan 15 2009, 01:08 AM
rav063
post Jan 15 2009, 07:04 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(flysnow @ Jan 15 2009, 06:15 PM)
err....
wow~so many pages already....
just want to confirm or ......well....

i got my muet result already....
so sad.....
just need 8 more marks then i can get band 5....
(cry...== )
my whole school only got 1 student get band 5
and the teachers are so desperate.....well....
i had try my best already....=,=
well...exclude the listening..i suppose my hearing got some problem...

so ....
i wonder ....
do i need to retake it and aim for band 5 for mbbs programme?
I am not sure. Depends on where you want to apply? Some universities have no English language requirements while some do.

Added on January 15, 2009, 7:04 pm
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 15 2009, 05:29 PM)
my comments are factual, and not meant to be demeaning on any nationality........

be that as it may, ever wondered why they bothered to come to msia.........?
Enlighten us then?

This post has been edited by rav063: Jan 15 2009, 07:04 PM
rav063
post Jan 15 2009, 11:58 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 15 2009, 11:13 PM)
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...6831&sec=nation

obviously don't read newspapers.......

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:25 pmread my caveat.......

fact remains, it's not service that motivates now, the attitude is mercenary.....

brain drain has been one of msia's major export since the 70's......but like i said, it was mostly circumstances, opportunities, that motivate migration.....now it very premeditated......

don't get defensive, i am not passing any value judgement, just making observations......

Added on January 15, 2009, 11:33 pm

what would motivate you to go to say, hk, to work?

if you have offers for jobs and pr's from phillipines, hk and uk, which one would you choose?
I suppose pay, the value of the whole experience, environment, local treatment of foreigners and a lot of peripheral factors like future career prospects and importantly furthering in education and research and skill sets.
I think you would say something about pay being up front there; but we have to be practical or there would be no point in moving. I am sure many graduates have a tonne in student loan and before even people think of service to the society; I think service and gratitude to their sponsor normally middle class parents matters. It's a profession. Expats try to gather wealth and experience in a different place. Wherever the are, they do what matters to them in passion. And my answer to the second question is would be UK (if they still take us in?); I neither speak the local languages for the other two countries and the Philippines is too unstable for me.

If you say the element of service is lost, I would just say what hypermax did; it was thrusted out of us. Many of us are getting by with what we worked on our (at least our sponsors) own. Simple scenario; they pay the same tax as a certain lot while receiving much lower benefits in return. Just like a bad and unfair investment. I think what you are saying is possible for a perfect world with perfect people. We are living in neither.

I repeat again, just my opinion.
rav063
post Jan 16 2009, 12:03 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(hypermax @ Jan 15 2009, 10:12 PM)
Wrong. Private medical education has nothing to do with us leaving. In fact, many of the non-bumi doctors from IPTAs are leaving too, thanks to the slim chance and ridiculously high requirement set for the non-bumis to secure a place in local master programme.

How can we serve our country when we are deemed as "penumpang" here?

I know you have some prejudice against private medical colleges, but pls dun simply associate it with some unrelated matters.  shakehead.gif

Also, pls provide evidence that the UK is thinking of withdrawing the visa on arrival for Msians.
Most of us are singing this tone.
Can anyone just discuss what makes private colleges inferior to government institutions? Just put in on the table.
rav063
post Jan 16 2009, 07:01 PM

62 posts

"........even if they study in for profit private unis.........."

Anything privatized has to run for profit. If not, it will run in loss and go bankrupt. Yippee deepee dodooo?! There are many private institutions in the world that produce the very best. May be if we look here, it could be MMU.

Well in any case they don't drink tax payer's cash and the employee's there do pay tax. Mind you, I think many Malaysians are currently concerned with what is happening at our public institutions with slumping quality and dropping off in global rankings. The staff there don't work on charity.

If at all, please let us know what makes private medical graduates any lesser or substandard to government graduates?
rav063
post Jan 16 2009, 07:25 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 16 2009, 07:18 PM)
you all obviously do not understand what i am saying.......never mind.....

where did i say 'private medical graduates any lesser or substandard to government graduates'?

i said 'what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......'
I think I did not say that you said so. Its the core issue that is central to the discussion. I even mentioned in my reply to hypermax.

How could you blame private medical education for destroying that? Its the people who run such ludicrous policies are the cause government institutions become inaccessible and frustration in graduates. Its needless to say why we have to bond public funded graduates and threaten them with all kinds of things in order for them to serve in the government service. Even then, many run away or escape.

By the way, our astronaut was from MMMC and he did his PG in UKM. Somehow UKM seems to advertise his PG while MMMC is kinda keeping quiet....
rav063
post Jan 16 2009, 10:49 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 16 2009, 07:54 PM)
'what happened to service to your people, and country.........??

private medical education destroyed that.......amongst other reasons, of course.......'

do you all really need everything spelled out? no one is disputing the nep policies are responsible for many of the problems in the country.......including the messed up training of doctors......
Maybe you should. You know something about topic sentences and how the first thing you put becomes the most important point you are trying to say. Nevertheless we can argue forever about what we meant to say and how its read.

You keep on going about messed up training of doctors and something terribly wrong with private medical education?
(By the way I am not sure whether you correlated both or not, so spare me ...)

If the training is so messed up, what do you think should be done?
rav063
post Jan 16 2009, 11:47 PM

62 posts

To comb 700+ posts with my lousy net connection... LOL... I will just trust that whatever you said was constructive ...

Anyway guys, we are just starting with year 2 in february and we have some clinical classes with practical sessions going parallel with systems (cvs, rs, git, cns, etc.).

Any thoughts on how to approach them?

rav063
post Jan 17 2009, 12:09 AM

62 posts

hypermax he told us to go through his posts.
rav063
post Jan 17 2009, 06:45 PM

62 posts

limeuu thanks for the link.
rav063
post Jan 18 2009, 01:07 AM

62 posts

Alright everyone; all too hot to handle ...

Well .. I hope someone can answer my query sometime back?

rav063
post Jan 18 2009, 07:31 PM

62 posts

Phew ... I suppose it is really up to the person what he or she wants to do with his or her life. Overseas or local, ultimately one should pursue what makes one happy and contented with life. There is no point living in frustration. Each one has his or her own life to lead.

Again, i think for the third time ... I hope somebody will answer my question which got lost in this tirade. We are starting our systems module with clinical teaching incorporated (a lot simulation and practice on SIMs); any idea on how to approach this?

Might be a stupid question but am quite the clueless here.
rav063
post Jan 18 2009, 11:51 PM

62 posts

I suppose by learning all these syndromes ... we would somehow benefit.
rav063
post Jan 19 2009, 02:34 AM

62 posts

Thanks for the info limeuu.
rav063
post Jan 19 2009, 07:02 PM

62 posts

Enough with the syndromes or do we want to go on further; South Asian, East Asian, West Asian Syndromes ? I mean they are generalizations and labellings which are somewhat discriminative. Expats earn a honest living and that's beneath us now? LOL.
rav063
post Jan 25 2009, 10:14 PM

62 posts

We have deviated a lot, haven't we?
rav063
post Jan 26 2009, 11:17 PM

62 posts

i seriously recommend the dental degree.
There is a state of the art of dental hospital within the campus which is now open.

rav063
post Jan 29 2009, 04:40 PM

62 posts

I have a cousin who is did his foundation and is doing mbbs in MMMC.

By the way, if u think it is unbenchmarked ... I got a place in Uni Melbourne for Biomolecular Engineering with that... just decided my tastes lie in mbbs.

I hope people do their research rite.
Its the grades that matter.

And anywhere in the world, you will need to adjust and adapt to the environment to do well. If your housemates are problematic, move out.
Blaming your performance on external factors is not the most smartest thing in the world. Its your life, you have got to take it in your hands.

rav063
post Jan 29 2009, 09:00 PM

62 posts

I suppose biomolecular engineering is not so good then for some people.
Uni melbourne (a few years back) was ranked in the top 20.

Needless to say, I can't help people who put up racist comments however much or less they implied it.

You know my lecturer puts this quote "Most people are as happy as their minds make up to be".
Well at least the world i live in is less bitter.

rav063
post Jan 29 2009, 11:39 PM

62 posts

That was the reason why I was offered biomolecular engineering; the courses became postgrad then. It was my third choice.
Well everyone knows what they are talking about but to what extent of sensibility and sensitivity. hmmm.....

0.0453sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:45 PM