126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Thread Reload V10, switches, keycaps, boards

Ireferno
post Apr 15 2013, 04:25 PM

740 posts

A good mech keyboard costs around 400 bucks. 500 tops.

What you're describing is of another league Topre keyboards, that has a pricetag of around RM1000.
kaysa
post Apr 15 2013, 04:29 PM

1,289 posts

if the price in Korea is same with here, the Leopold 660, uses Topre switch too.... my main concern now is their spacebar.... if the spacebar is using PBT material too, I will no doubt getting one.

If the spacebar is using ABS like other realforce... I might just skip this one.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:30 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Apr 15 2013, 04:25 PM)
A good mech keyboard costs around 400 bucks. 500 tops.

What you're describing is of another league Topre keyboards, that has a pricetag of around RM1000.
is it ? gosh prices must have fallen since last i checked hmm.gif

guess my mk poison did help increase interest/distribution/availability of mk in malaysia laugh.gif

i'm still using my ducky keyboard. it's still good even now nod.gif but back then i had to import mine from overseas, cauz they didn't have reliable distributors back then in Malaysia sweat.gif

QUOTE(kaysa @ Apr 15 2013, 04:29 PM)
if the price in Korea is same with here, the Leopold 660, uses Topre switch too.... my main concern now is their spacebar.... if the spacebar is using PBT material too, I will no doubt getting one.

If the spacebar is using ABS like other realforce... I might just skip this one.
I use a mix between classic Cherry dye sublimated pbt keycaps + geekhack double shot abs keycaps + ducky pbt spacebar.

i've used this ducky pbt spacebar for a long while and it hasn't shine yet. As in it doesn't have discoloring or that oily shine look. Also it's got a comfortable shape/angle. The geekhack one had a terrible angle that curved upwards too much for my taste.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 15 2013, 04:34 PM
ainuddin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:34 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 15 2013, 04:30 PM)
is it ? gosh prices must have fallen since last i checked  hmm.gif

guess my mk poison did help increase interest/distribution/availability of mk in malaysia  laugh.gif
i'm still using my ducky keyboard. it's still good even now  nod.gif but back then i had to import mine from overseas, cauz they didn't have reliable distributors back then in Malaysia  sweat.gif
we have a superb mech kb distro in Cyntrixtech. ducky, rosewill, vortex under him. all sell like pisang panas. later hi might bring topre also. brows.gif
Ireferno
post Apr 15 2013, 04:37 PM

740 posts

Gosh, mech kbs used to cost over a thousand?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:39 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Apr 15 2013, 04:34 PM)
we have a superb mech kb distro in Cyntrixtech. ducky, rosewill, vortex under him. all sell like pisang panas. later hi might bring topre also.  brows.gif
i'm a bit stingy. my ducky was meant to last me for 20 years or more. If a switch dies (they usually last millions of actuations) i can simply just buy the switches from places like Taobao or geekhack forum, and just replace the old switches.

Although because my ducky keyboard is uses an aluminium backplate, the process is a bit more tedious compared to say a pcb backplate like the classic Cherry keyboards, which you can replace switches without having to resolder. But i think the metalic backplate paid off for a more durable build. And it's not often you got to remove it, to resolder on new switches anyway :}

Anyway if they offered me one to review, i wouldn't mind laugh.gif

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Apr 15 2013, 04:37 PM)
Gosh, mech kbs used to cost over a thousand?
well i had optional purchases like custom made keycaps (multiple ones...); import fees (yes mks are heavy); limited edition model.

if going for regular keyboard using as is, then yeah sure definitely cheaper nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 15 2013, 04:41 PM
mrteeheetummytums
post Apr 15 2013, 04:39 PM

129 posts

Just got a rosewill rk9000 at pc fair and I already feel like changing the key caps haha. The WASD is already a little darker than the rest, like smudged by my oily fingers. Where can I start looking for cool keycaps ?
ainuddin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:42 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 15 2013, 04:39 PM)
i'm a bit stingy. my ducky was meant to last me for 20 years or more. If a switch dies (they usually last millions of actuations) i can simply just buy the switches from places like Taobao or geekhack forum, and just replace the old switches.

Although because my ducky keyboard is uses an aluminium backplate, the process is a bit more tedious compared to say a pcb backplate like the classic Cherry keyboards, which you can replace switches without having to resolder. But i think the metalic backplate paid off for a more durable build. And it's not often you got to remove it, to resolder on new switches anyway :}

Anyway if they offered me one to review, i wouldn't mind  laugh.gif
you know kai right? go rob him; he got all those custom korean limited edition keyboards. brows.gif

QUOTE(mrteeheetummytums @ Apr 15 2013, 04:39 PM)
Just got a rosewill rk9000 at pc fair and I already feel like changing the key caps haha. The WASD is already a little darker than the rest, like smudged by my oily fingers. Where can I start looking for cool keycaps ?
taobao.com later go find an agent in service noticeboard thread, they proxy you for purchase.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:42 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(mrteeheetummytums @ Apr 15 2013, 04:39 PM)
geekhack forum.

Look for...

key print method: double shot, dye sublimated

plastic quality type: ABS, PBT, DOM

Old classic cherry corp double shots or dye sublimated have very nice font styles used. I haven't seen what are the latest out there, so maybe there are newer alternatives, not sure.

But if you do get keycaps, make sure you also get a keycap puller to make switching easier. I used the one from Filco, not the cheap keycap puller because that one breaks after doing it a few dozen times.

PS: the plastic most resistant to finger prints of sweat is probably either PBT or DOM. ABS is by no means a slouch either, just not as good as those other 2.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 15 2013, 04:48 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:46 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Apr 15 2013, 04:42 PM)
you know kai right? go rob him; he got all those custom korean limited edition keyboards.  brows.gif
hand over them keyboard mofo laugh.gif

kaysa
post Apr 15 2013, 04:47 PM

1,289 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 15 2013, 04:42 PM)
geekhack forum.

Look for...

Old classic cherry corp double shots or dye sublimated have very nice font styles used. I haven't seen what are the latest out there, so maybe there are newer alternatives, not sure.

But if you do get keycaps, make sure you also get a keycap puller to make switching easier. I used the one from Filco, not the cheap keycap puller because that one breaks after doing it a few dozen times.
step one, go to Geekhack.org.
next step, broke.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:49 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(kaysa @ Apr 15 2013, 04:47 PM)
next step, broke.
i concur with 2nd step laugh.gif

hence why we call it keyboard poison hehe thumbup.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 04:53 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Ireferno @ Apr 15 2013, 08:00 AM)
I believe everyone's a newbie to the bargaining game before. I offered him my kb too, but no hard feelings since it didn't take me really much effort.

On a side note,  I plan to do kb servicing. Also changing switches and so on.  Any advice on where do I get cheap switches? My dad suggested that I buy a spare kb to cannibalise it.
So hard to find switches in Malaysia,  might need to resolve to taobao.
I think this is a good idea. keycap switch changing isn't easy for keyboards using metalic plates cause it requires soldering skills.

It would also be nice having a local supplier who does the service you mention in addition to supplying switches locally as well. So don't have to hunt down where to get them ourselves sweat.gif

If you do bother doing the later, buy in bulk for it to be cheaper. cherry mx red and brown are popular choices. some people like blue for some reason, may as well get some of those. for space bar, cherry mx greys hands down. or cherry mx green if their using clickys like cherry mx blues.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Apr 15 2013, 04:54 PM
mrteeheetummytums
post Apr 15 2013, 05:07 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 15 2013, 04:42 PM)
geekhack forum.

Look for...

PS: the plastic most resistant to finger prints of sweat is probably either PBT or DOM. ABS is by no means a slouch either, just not as good as those other 2.
I'll have to start finding out about different keycaps then biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kaysa @ Apr 15 2013, 04:47 PM)
next step, broke.
You forgot the brief moment of happiness then the realisation you have no more food biggrin.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 15 2013, 05:14 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(mrteeheetummytums @ Apr 15 2013, 05:07 PM)
I'll have to start finding out about different keycaps then biggrin.gif
but not cheap though.

Cherry corp quality keycaps have been out of production for ages. The only way to get them is to harvest from old keyboards, or from 2nd hand key cap trading.

newer made quality keycaps also aren't cheap, because everything these days is mass produced so not many bother doing them. so people made custom orders, and it only gets cheaper if more people order together in places like geekhack.

Although to be fair, there has been somewhat of a resurgence of abs and pbt being used in some mech keyboard models. But whether they also now do double shots and dye sublimated (other than topre), i'm not sure since i haven't been actively looking.

Scared i get keyboard poisoned again sweat.gif if i check whats our there now.
kylexxx
post Apr 15 2013, 05:21 PM

140 posts

hey guys i wanna buy a mechanical keyboard. playing games like dota n fps. what is the best i can get? my budget is around 250 but not more than 300. i found that i can get cm mech keyboard around that budget. is it good?
am3rr
post Apr 15 2013, 05:30 PM

Kan? Kan?
2,131 posts

my ducky white already arrive, just pick it up. using it. my first backlight mechi. quite nice.
KepalaRadio
post Apr 15 2013, 05:59 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 15 2013, 05:14 PM)
but not cheap though.
Cherry corp quality keycaps have been out of production for ages. The only way to get them is to harvest from old keyboards, or from 2nd hand key cap trading.

newer made quality keycaps also aren't cheap, because everything these days is mass produced so not many bother doing them. so people made custom orders, and it only gets cheaper if more people order together in places like geekhack.

Although to be fair, there has been somewhat of a resurgence of abs and pbt being used in some mech keyboard models. But whether they also now do double shots and dye sublimated (other than topre), i'm not sure since i haven't been actively looking.

Scared i get keyboard poisoned again  sweat.gif  if i check whats our there now.
Oh look Moogle's back! Was wondering where you disappeared to smile.gif
kaiserreich
post Apr 15 2013, 06:00 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Apr 15 2013, 05:14 PM)
but not cheap though.

Scared i get keyboard poisoned again  sweat.gif  if i check whats our there now.
You've been out of the game for too long tongue.gif

The nice people at GH has contact GMK, who has all the tooling for Cherry Corp Double shots, and BST, who makes them dye subs. The prices are...reasonable.
Lotus1109
post Apr 15 2013, 06:13 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(khenghaw @ Apr 15 2013, 02:12 PM)
Hi All,
just a questions for all the Sifus, i'm new to mechanical keyboards, just wanted to know your views on the Gigabyte Osmium?

I keep seeing, ducky, vortex and many other mec keyboards where it is just a simple layout, and the only 3 i see with macro keys is corsair, logitech and gigabyte, wanna go for something special so i choose this keyboard, any thoughts?

Thank you.
You can try CM Storm Trigger too!
a good keyboard with unique look and red leds biggrin.gif

126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:01 AM