4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V18, more and more on da roads!

SportyHandling
post Aug 6 2013, 07:26 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(rich8833 @ Aug 5 2013, 10:15 PM)
As far as I know, if your preve got rattling dashboard when doing pickup then yours is the original one. Mine still have but no door rattling sound. Many have tried to solve but the sound came back. Can the new owners confirm do you still have the dashboard rattling when doing hard pickup?

Yes, cfe is powerful, unfortunately I lost to a land rover evoque last week, but satisfied.  laugh.gif
It is very subjective as far as rattling sound is concern, as different people have different expectations on what can be classified as a rattling sound, since the loudness of the rattling sound varies. In my case, the rattling sound at mileage below 100km is audible, but it is not to the point of annoying. Just very minor. Not sure if it's from the dashboard or the front side door.

Now the 3rd day and the mileage is above 100km but still below 200km, and the minor rattling sound has somehow disappeared. There are still "very" minor rattling sound but I am not sure if the sound can be categorized as a legitimate rattling sound. FWIW I am quite a perfectionist. When I attempt to hear this rattling sound, I will switch off the radio and music, and ask the passengers in the car to keep quiet and not talk. Only then I can hear all the sound in the cabin, the sound of the tyres, the suspension, the Turbo engine and all other rattling sound inside the car. So far, I can say the Preve Turbo that I"ve got is quite perfect.

By the way, personally I think the sound from the Turbo engine is currently louder than any noises in the car. Not very quiet, though it is little unfair as I am comparing it with my primary car the Nissan Sylphy. It's not only the engine, but I think the CVT gear also emit a pretty audible whining sound. In this area, the Preve does not do too good if compared to the Sylphy which is quieter in this respect. OVerall better NVH and refinement from the Nissan vehicle vs the Proton.

However, the bad news stop there. Yes, the Preve Turbo is certainly very powerful. I read that the car's acceleration will improve after 1st service? Even at below 200km mileage, I can already feel the Turbo power lurking beneath the hood. An engine that is willing to rev and go into race mode,
SportyHandling
post Aug 6 2013, 07:27 AM

623 posts

I forgot to mention, After more than a year the Preve is launched, I don't think the car that people are getting now is from the first batch?
SportyHandling
post Aug 6 2013, 03:25 PM

623 posts

Yes guys, it is certainly a pertinent point and good observation about the strong vibration of the whole dashboard unit during any hard acceleration that caused the rattling sound at any area of the dashboard or even the doors of the car. At any strong pickup from stationary especially in a 0-100km/h, one hard step at the pedal caused the Turbo engine to cause a havoc inside the vehicle. The vibration that is caused by the Turbo engine during hard acceleration is quite enormous.

Actually the sound of the Turbo engine is very loud by itself even when switched on. Just start the engine and stand outside of the vehicle and listen to the Turbo engine. The sound is louder than any other normal sedan vehicles with a normal engine. I think my neighbour next door will notice whenever I press the Start button and switch the engine on. With the kind of vibration that the Turbo engine produces, particularly during any hard acceleration, I am sure something in the car will vibrate. It is just inevitable. I guess it is wise not to perform any hard acceleration too often or the delicate parts inside the dashboard and doors will become loose in due time.
SportyHandling
post Aug 6 2013, 04:37 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 6 2013, 04:00 PM)
just want to check with u guys, i just went test drive the car just now. overall very satisfied. But 1 thing i notice is, when we press the accelerator, the car test to jerk a bit. of course i press the accelerator very gentle. I tell my self it might be a fault in the test drive unit. Can you guys clarify that? it feels like the gear change very fast because i didn't press the fuel a lot.

and another thing i want to ask is, any place we can get leather seats for the car? the original fabric seat not so appealing.
The Preve Turbo is very responsive to your footwork, and powerful too. It is normal that with a slight step on the pedal, the car just lunges forward, or for the lack of better word, jerks. Although it's a CVT, the gear transmission doesn't feel like a CVT but a powerful manual car. In this sense, the 7-gear manual gear option on the Preve Turbo isn't really useful since it is already very powerful in automatic. The specs of the Preve Turbo (0-100km/h in 9.6s) just shows how powerful is the car. The acceleration power is equivalent to most 2.0-litre sedans(non-Turbo).

Yes, the fabric seats although nice are not as soft as some other seats offered in other cars. A bit hard. Perhaps others can chime in on this.
SportyHandling
post Aug 6 2013, 11:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(f4hmi88 @ Aug 6 2013, 10:47 PM)
hello..i  bought preve cfe last week..i found that i need to press the start button twice to start the engine..is that normal?

then this morning when i wanted to start the engine, the hazard lights were on..i din press the button at all..!

anyone who have the same prob as mine?or any advise?
Hi there,

I think you need to get your car checked during the 1st 1000km service. I don't encounter any issue with the start button. Only press once to start the car.

As for the hazard lights (left and right signal both blinking together), yes, I encounter the same thing - twice already. When the car is started, the hazard lights will go on automatically. Just press the red button in the middle of the console right below the Head Unit display screen to switch the hazard lights off.

Also, sometimes when I forget to off the lights or apply the handbrake, and I switch off the engine, the engine will continue to run and won't switch off even though the key is already removed from the slot. In a way it's good, but in order to switch off the engine, the engine needs to be restarted again to stop the engine. Quite a hassle.

So far there isn't any more rattling sound on my Preve Turbo. Just a slight "thud" sound from the front suspension when going through bumps. Will get it checked during the first service to see if it can be get rid of. Not very serious.
SportyHandling
post Aug 6 2013, 11:17 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(f4hmi88 @ Aug 6 2013, 11:09 PM)
just to double check..when u insert the key, is there any light at the button?
Yes, when the key is inserted into the slot, the lights around it automatically illuminate.

I think this Preve Turbo with the smart key has too many electronics. Sometimes not perfect. All these anomalies can be rectified in the service centre I believe.
SportyHandling
post Aug 7 2013, 07:16 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Zenfyre @ Aug 6 2013, 11:45 PM)
Erm.. Preve CFE do have a turbo timer installed, so if the turbo is currently hot, especially after driving hard, the turbo intercooler will continue running by itself even though the engine turned off. This is to protect the turbo from premature wear. So not to worry if you hear the intercooler sound coming from front left side. Also you will also feel a draft of hot air blowing from under the car.
OK thanks for the information. Much appreciated. So it is due to the turbo intercooler that continues to run by itself even afetr the engine is turned off. That explains it, as the engine sound is not very loud when it was switched off. IT's the turbo intercooler that is running, not the engine itself. And yes, there is hot air blowing out somewhere.

SportyHandling
post Aug 7 2013, 07:21 AM

623 posts

As for the hazard lights that continue to blink when the car is started, I believe this is due to the electronics of the car. It happens intermittently to my car as well, not everytime though. I'll bring this up to the SC during my first service.

Now all the rattling sound and slight noise from the front suspension when going over humps have disappeared. The sound is sometimes there, and sometimes it is not there. Guess I can live with it.

I still have a minor gripe on the PReve Turbo that I think is inherent in the design of the car itself - the loudness of the engine sound. Personally I think the sound of the Turbo engine is quite loud even when cruising between say 80km/h to 110km/h even when compared to the Waja. I feel the Waja is quieter than the Preve Turbo. The engine sound isnt' too loud. And my Nissan Sylphy is much quieter than the Preve Turbo too. Nevertheless, the power in acceleration and handling of the Preve Turbo is certainly commendable. When taking a relatively sharp corner, the Preve Turbo hold its own well whereas the Nissan Sylphy feels like turning turtle. Guess there are pros and cons to each vehicle.
SportyHandling
post Aug 7 2013, 07:24 AM

623 posts

Can Proton tweak the ECU fo the Preve Turbo during first service so as the sound from the Turbo engine and the CVT gear is softer? Currently I find the Turbo engine and CVT gear sound during acceleration to be quite noisy and loud.

SportyHandling
post Aug 7 2013, 09:11 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(samtsh @ Aug 7 2013, 08:58 AM)
Recently I sat in my boss' waja 1.8. I find the engine sound is quite quiet and refined. I suppose NA engine is much quieter than turbo engine. Also, someone commented that Peugeot 408 turbo engine sound is louder than its NA counterpart.
I guess that is one of the disadvantage of Turbo engine in emitting slightly higher noise levels than the common engine. Perhaps the more upmarket models with well-designed Turbo engines and/or more noise insulation material in the vehicle will be quieter. One example is the Volkswagen Jetta. If I'm not mistaken the engine in the Jetta is a 1.4-litre Turbo engine, but the car is so quiet and silent. Either the engine is well-designed to not produce much noise, or the sound insulation material is better or used in higher quantity.

The Waja when brand new is indeed quiet. Quieter than the Preve Turbo. But approaching 10 years, it turns noisy. The sound levels of the (new) Preve Turbo is actually almost similar or louder than the 10-year old Waja that i just sold.
SportyHandling
post Aug 7 2013, 05:12 PM

623 posts

Just wanted to ask. Is the car number plate at the rear of the car fixed firmly and does not feel flimsy? Does it rattle everytime you open and close the boot? Mine feels flimsy and rattle everytime I close the boot. I am afraid it may just fall off with time. The nunber plate if glued to the car but only at the middle portion. The sides are not glued and hanging freely at the ends. Both sides of the number plates tend to hit against the car body when the boot is closed. Feels cheap.
SportyHandling
post Aug 8 2013, 05:23 PM

623 posts

Hi guys,

After living with the Preve Turbo for about 6 days now, for me it has many strengths and very little weaknesses. For a mid-sized sedan at RM68k+/-, we get a solid and sturdy chassis and body structure that add to the safety and firmness of the vehicle. The ride and handling are above average and the acceleration power is comparable to most 2.0-litre sedans if not better, thanks to the Turbo engine. The car is loaded with features, a 7-speed manual gear transmission option with paddle shifters for more sporty ride(suitable for those who are in racing mood), a built-in GPS unit at the centre console which I find useful, though may attract thieves, cruise control which is useful in the highways(haven't managed to test it yet), and much more.

Rattling sound for a new car which is less than a week old is close to nil, touch wood, though some minor electronics problems whereby the hazard light(both left and right signal lights blink together) sometimes will go on by itself, and the Turbo engine sometimes will still continue running although the Start/Stop button is already pushed and the Smart key taken out from the slot. All these minor anomalies which I think are caused by the electronics of the car can be easily rectified by the service centre. Also, the long piece of plastic at the driver's side where the controls of the winding up and down of windscreen lie is currently a bit loose - hopefully this can be sorted out as well.

The fabric seats are a bit thin and hard if compared to other type of fabric/leather seats offered by other vehicles, but this is a minor issue. Perhaps this is one reason why the Preve can be sold at below RM70k.

My BIGGEST gripe or complaint on the Preve Turbo is on the loudness of the Turbo engine and CVT gear in the cabin. Even when traveling at low speeds of say 80km/h to 110km/h, the low frequency sound of the Turbo engine is quite audible, which spoils the comfort of the ride a bit. The PReve Turbo is not a very quiet car. Perhaps I am used to quieter cars, but anyway I guess this is a trait of vehicles that come with Turbo engines. Either the Turbo engine is not very well designed, or the sound insulation of the car is insufficient or of low quality. I am aware that some vehicles with Turbo engine can still be very quiet. One example is the Volkswagen Jetta which comes with a 1.4-litre Turbo engine. Not exactly a fair comparison though as the Jetta is almost twice the price of the Preve Turbo. One(1) VW Jetta can buy two(2) Proton Preve Turbo.

Anyway, to sum it up, the Preve Turbo still represents good value for money for those on a budget, those who want to use a vehicle to commute to work everyday with high standards of safety and good power and handling. However if comfort and quietness are your priority, I'd suggest you to look elsewhere. The Turbo engine is pretty noisy.
SportyHandling
post Aug 8 2013, 06:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Arndt @ Aug 8 2013, 05:49 PM)
Thanks for the review. I concur.

Has anybody tried improving the cabin sound insulation?
Thanks. For me, personally I don't believe it doing soundproofing for vehicles, both new or used. Others may have a different viewpoint. When I was young, several years ago I did upgrade my front speakers in the car and did some soundproofing to all the doors. That's it. After thinking about it, I personally feel it is a waste of money. The differences are not tangible. Of course, if one chooses to spend few thousand ringgit to do the soundproofing, then perhaps the improvements will be significant. But then again, I believe it is a matter of one's willingness to spend that amount of money to achieve certain level of quietness in the cabin.

Several reasons. For me it is a waste of money as one day, the vehicle will eventually be sold, and the few thousand $$ will not be recovered. Secondly, The differences in doing the sound insulation may not be as great as one may have expected. I didn't spend a lot of money in my first attempt in soundproofing my old car. Just below RM1k, though I think it has gone to the drain. I don't perceive any improvement in quietness level. And thirdly, in most cases, the door panel, dashboard or other parts of the car will be opened up when doing the soundproofing. In my experience, the more the panels of the car are opened up, the higher the chances of rattlings sound will appear.

Others will have a different viewpoint on this, but for me, I would always prefer to have the vehicle in its original state. Of course, no harm to try soundproofing the Preve Turbo if one truly loves the car and values quietness in the cabin. Although it is highly unlikely that I will soundproof the Preve Turbo, I would be interested to know if anyone has succesfully soundpoofed the car to Lexus levels. If the quietness of the Preve Turbo is close to some of the better Japanese models, I think it would be quite perfect (that if rattling sound does not pop up further down the road).

SportyHandling
post Aug 8 2013, 07:13 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 8 2013, 06:18 PM)
Its not the turbo engine that continue to run, its the cooling fan motor. It will continue to spin if the engine isn't cool enough. Its normal feature on all Campro variant. You just need to get used to it, its NORMAL.

About the engine and gearbox noise, do report back after one or two regular service. It should be quieter.
Thanks for the information on the cooling fan motor that continues to run.

Good to hear that the Turbo engine and CVT gearbox sound will be quieter with the 1st and 2nd services. I am surely looking forward to it as my ears are getting slightly uncomfortable with the low frequency rumble of the engine during acceleration and even when cruising at lower speeds.
SportyHandling
post Aug 8 2013, 07:24 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 8 2013, 06:36 PM)
I'm not here to change your mind but if u do think that soundproof will not have any effect to the audio system, it have to be your have low sensitivity to audio quality.

Help a friend (also Preve) to put the soundproof on the car. Done with the left door before proceed with the right. Ask everyone to go up the car and notice much more better sound quality from the left speaker than the right speaker.

You can access to PrevoC FB and look for Kok Wai Chan. His car did all front doors, floor panel and roof panel. Same like mine.
No problem. I am not denying that soundproofing won't improve the sound effect of an audio system. I am suggesting that the effects may not be as significant or appreciable as one might have expected. FWIW I am not only referring to soundproofing but the upgrade of the speakers too. I upgraded the original stock front speakers to an aftermarket one, and the difference is marginal. The soundproofing did improve the sound quality to a certain extent, mainly in smoother bass response, but the differences to my ears are marginal. The primary purpose of the soundproofing, to me, is to improve the quietness levels of the cabin first and foremost. Improvement of audio quality with soundproofing is of secondary importance. In my case, the soundproofing to the four door panels brought negligible impact to my vehicle, the Nissan Sylphy. Another Sylphy owner also felt the same when he tried the same soundproofing material from the same shop on his car. Perhaps the Sylphy is already quiet in the first place, so the soundproofing exercise did not bring any tangible or appreciable results. With the Preve Turbo the differences may be more perceptible.

One thing that is for sure - I will not be soundproofing the Preve Turbo. On the other hand, I hope the sound of the Turbo engine and CVT will be slightly softer after the 1st 1000km service. Even if it doesn't, I would still live with it for at least 5 years.

Cheers.
SportyHandling
post Aug 9 2013, 07:27 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 9 2013, 12:01 AM)
On the audio part, tell me what you have upgraded to.
The stock speaker worth RM15 each, so I want to know what have you upgraded to as a comparison.
Bad soundproofing will make the sound even worse.

Preve floor carpet is thin to begin with, so floor panel soundproof will eliminate road noise for sure, also water splashing noise when tyre go over it.

I have a friend who upgraded his stock speaker to a budget 2way component speaker around RM400 and 2nd hand amp, the sound is just better for sure. I had mine upgraded to active setup and I feel the huge different before and after STP soundproof material being done on the front doors.

So if soundproof works? I do think it will, but it have to be done in the correct way. Not all people know how to do it properly.
I have forgotten the brand of the front speakers but they cost RM900+ for a pair and the brand is from Italy. I didn't do any upgrades to the amp or added any subwoofer. FWIW I am not too critical on audio quality nowadays as decent sound quality will do it for me. What I am critical here is on the noise levels in the cabin, the Turbo engine and CVT noise of the Preve Turbo. For me, quietness in the cabin is important, audio quality not so much. As a matter of fact I can drive on the road without the music switched on.

Road and wind noise of the PReve Turbo is acceptable to me although the tyres are not really the silent type as the sound of the Turbo engine dominates every other sound in the cabin.

Again, please don't get the wrong message. Of course I think soundproof works, but I do not believe it is worth exploring for me as I have written in my previous post above. It is all about expectations. You spend more you gain more improvements, and in the end it depends on how much money one is willing to dump into soundproofing the car. FWIW I don't expect any significant or appreciable improvements if just doing the door panels of the Preve Turbo. The noise of the Preve Turbo is mainly contributed by the Turbo engine, not the noise from other vehicles on the road. To block or reduce noise levels from the Turbo engine(or CVT gear), soundproofing will need to be concentrated around the engine bay or other parts of the car near the engine. To others it may be worth it but to me, it is not worth embarking upon.

Again, do take note that the argument is not about whether soundproofing of a vehicle works or not. Rather, it is about the willingness of an individual in considering soundproofing his vehicle.
SportyHandling
post Aug 17 2013, 09:43 AM

623 posts

Yes, I agree. Those who don't want to look at Proton and keep bashing Proton are a bunch of losers. The Preve Turbo offers so much more in terms of performance and driving dynamics. Quite a comfortable car with good stability on the highways. At RM70k+/- it is worth it compared to overpriced Vios, City and the new Kia Cerato model. It may not be as fuel efficient as Vios or Almera but that is the trait of more powerful and solid cars that emphasize on safety with a heavy body and firm doors. Handling is satisfactory whilst suspension is good. Only minor complaint is engine, CVT and road noise but it's not that serious.

SportyHandling
post Aug 17 2013, 11:47 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Aug 17 2013, 11:01 AM)
Most of them have only owned Proton, Perodua or 2nd hand 90's Japs. They have no point of reference for current non national cars. Those who own current non national cars know that for 70K what you get in the Preve is value for money. If I am not mistaken, you yourself also own Slyphy 2.0 right.

Preve is good, just not as refined as current C-segment Japs. But it is value for money.

Yes, I currently own the Sylphy. Going to go for Ford Focus soon.

I have lived with the Sylphy for 5 years. Test driven the Focus lately and Honda City that belonged to my friend. To me, the Preve Turbo is a more solid and worthy car than Vios, Almera, City and any other cars below RM100k, even the Cerato 1.6 although I have not test driven it. I will never look at Korean cars at all as a matter of fact.

The Preve Turbo's performance - ride and handling and power in acceleration is better than most if not all sedan cars below RM100k (City, Vios, Almera, Cerato 1.6 etc.). The ride is very solid both in city driving and the highways. Once you have driven the Preve Turbo, when you drive other sedan cars you feel the lightness in the car. When going over bad roads and slight undulation on the road, you will feel other smaller and lighter cars to be floating and not very stable at moderate to high speed. But with Preve Turbo, you feel safe and very solid as the car is heavy with reasonably firm suspension.

Space-wise the Preve Turbo also has the edge when compared to City and Vios. Of course, the Preve should be compared to Civic and Altis as in actual fact the Preve is in the same class as these cars.

The downside is the fabric seats that is slightly hard and not very comfortable, only when compared to more premium cars like my Sylphy with plush and thick leather seats. But when compared to cheaper Vios and City seats, it is more or less similar as the quality of the seats in the Vios and City is also not impressive. More comfortable seats, the car will need to be about >RM100k.

The Turbo engine noise and CVT noise are a bit loud when compared to the quiet Nissan Sylphy. But not a big issue. If one does not travel above 110km/h too much, then it is still manageable. Once hitting 120km/h and above, the 1.6 Turbo engine and CVT noise are quite loud when compared to the 2.0 engine.

At 70k+/- there is very little to fault the Preve Turbo. In my opinion the car is worth it when compared to Vios, City etc. Of course if one wants a smaller car with better fuel efficiency, or the "exclusiveness" of these Japanese cars, then the Vios and City are "better". But if you want power, speed, handling, space and features, the Preve Turbo wins by a landslide. As a matter of fact the Preve Turbo should be compared to Altis and Civic 1.8, if not because of its low price. I will not consider the Vios or City as to me they are overpriced. They offer very little for the money.

As good as the Preve Turbo gets for RM70k, the handling and refinement lose to the Ford Focus that I have just test driven. Even sharper and responsive steering feel and firmer suspension with less body roll. But then it's comparing a RM70k and RM113k vehicle. Not exactly fair. You pay what you get. But still the Focus is very good value when compared to Altis and Civic. You get a lot for the car.

Bottomline, you won't go wrong with the PReve Turbo if looking at a sedan car in this price range. Quality issues are quite minimal. You are getting a lot of value for the car when compared to other bread and butter models out there. Nowadays youngsters coming out to work want to look good in a Japanese or imported car, paying 90% loan for the cars and taking long period of loans up to 7 years or more. They don't want to look at Proton. That is their choice, and their loss. I dare say the Preve Turbo not only offer more value but more thrill, power and driving dynamics than vehicles in the similar price range or up to RM15k-20k more.
SportyHandling
post Aug 17 2013, 11:59 AM

623 posts

One more thing about the interior of the Preve Turbo. The arrangement of the air-cond vents, the dashboard and heat unit and the glossy dark wood panels in the car. To me, it definitely looked better than the Japanese models below RM100k. I actually thought it looked nicer than the dashboard and head unit of the Ford Focus. The fabric seats of the Preve Turbo is the only letdown when talking about the interior. Everything is quite good.
SportyHandling
post Aug 20 2013, 07:54 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(preveverp @ Aug 20 2013, 02:10 AM)
preve bros .. i'm receiving my exec next week ..

any of you from around pj area? where is a good recommend SC to service my car next time? from your experiences..

hope to share your good SC experience smile.gif thank you!
Not too sure about service centres around PJ but you got to try the Proton Edar Service of Centre Excellence at least once, the biggest Proton SC along Kesas highway when you turn down from the USJ Persiaran Kewajipan intersection. Big lounge and seating area with comfortable seats and all other common facilities. They even have free shuttle service for those who don't want to wait at the SC for the car. Free shuttle service to Subang Parade.

Aiyah... why not the Preve Turbo. Anyway, enjoy.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0523sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:14 PM