21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V20, 2nd Gen of the original "Phablet" XXDMC3

TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 11:01 AM

Vox populi vox dei? Quot homines,tot sententiae
13,188 posts

Made a few changes in the Tools and Procedures post 7, and added couple of things to Advanced. See changelog.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 01:39 PM

13,188 posts

*ANNOUNCEMENT*

Please try the Kernel Usage Form here:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1cVbZDLC6y2...ozLknc/viewform

Let me know what you guys think. After you've submitted the form, there is a link you can click to see the statistics so far.

I started with Kernels coz there are only 6 of them. I'm thinking a bit more on how to deal with the ROMs.

I know some of you use Abyss Kernel. It's not on the XDA index I use. Please provide the link, and should Abyss be provided as an option as well?

This post has been edited by joytest: Apr 7 2013, 01:54 PM
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 03:54 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(Blackthorn @ Apr 7 2013, 03:34 PM)
eh ade ke.. hmm ok i'll check again..  tq

update:

Google Android
Open the Google Play Store app and choose 'Menu' and then 'Settings'. Under 'User Controls' you'll find an option to 'Set or Change PIN'. Tap this and Android will ask you for a PIN. Type your chosen PIN, tap OK and then re-enter the PIN to confirm. Then tick the box next to 'Use PIN for purchases'.

Once you've done that, anyone who wants to make an in-app purchase on your device will need to know the PIN. That should keep your bills secure from little fingers.

Thanks antt00!!
Will add under operations. This is actually an android setting.

Please also try the kernel survey form and give feedback thx.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 04:20 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Apr 7 2013, 03:58 PM)
Submitted & done.  smile.gif
Any comments?
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 04:36 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 7 2013, 04:25 PM)
Submitted and done.
Comments no but what are you going to do with the results?
Post here or?
Errr ... make a monthly top ranking table ? Since there are only 6 kernels, I guess a top 3 will do.

ROMs hmm.gif the list is too large, thinking how to manage the list.

I'll treat this as beta till Wednesday, then clear my own data under "joytest-test" and continue with it as the raw data. Every month a Top 3 table will be listed.

I suppose then we can all see objectively the most popular kernels and ROMs for all those ORD sufferers and those who ask "what ROM do you use" etc.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 04:57 PM

13,188 posts

New Toy

http://www.reddit.com/r/Android/comments/1...rce_client_for/

Reddit Reader.

I've tried it, pretty good with sufficient features. It only needs to add "Favorites" then it will be top notch.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 06:06 PM

13,188 posts

from brotan who posted in the S3 mini thread:

http://voyager8.blogspot.com/2013/03/bewar...power-bank.html

Beware cheap, high capacity powerbanks.

Thanks brotan. Will add to page 1.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 07:31 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Apr 7 2013, 07:27 PM)
I went to a club and had a hot bath just now. My phone was in the bag on the hanger by the door. When got my phone out it was all misty from the hot water... nothing will technically happen... right?
I think you may need the "rice bag" trick. You should also check if the water damage indicator by the battery has turned red. Take out the battery first please and dump it in the rice bag for about 1 day to absorb the moisture.

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 07:28 PM)
My New note 2 can't connect to wifi no matter what i do. I just got it from digi =.= It keeps obtaining ip address. Someone pls help =(
Does your wifi need a password? You can check Advanced settings and select WPA/PSK or etc.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 07:40 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 07:36 PM)
It's my home network with password. and it's Wpa2 psk
Does your home router need to register your device as "allowed" ? I've set mine to work that way.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 07:58 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 07:48 PM)
Nope mine doesn't have to do that. My other devices iPhone 5 are all good. Except for my note 2
Restart your phone? hmm.gif
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 08:08 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 08:01 PM)
Tried restarting everything. None of them works.
You did key in your password right? Otherwise I can't think of anything else.

Maybe sifus like antt00 and sklchan or anyone else may help.

At worst it's a DOA.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 08:16 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 08:13 PM)
Damn it. stupid Digi unit seriously. Wifi pass all right.
Uh, meaning? Why not try it at a Starbucks or some other open wifi hotspot? Or if you have another Android device, use that as a no-password Hotspot and try connecting to it. If none of this works, then I suppose you have a bad wifi chip which will need a board replacement from Samsung.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 08:27 PM

13,188 posts

Why we should let things be:

http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/04/06/on...hone-right-now/

Fairly long mild rant about why all smartphones suck in some way or another.

Shall I post this in XZ, HTC1, and Ipr0n thread whistling.gif

And...best comment ever:

TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 10:40 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 10:38 PM)
I wondering as if because of my settings on my modem-router. I changed from 5ghz to 2.4ghz. Now trying to change it back to 5 and see the problem still exist.
Isn't 5GHz for the 802.11a ? Or does n use 5GHz as well?
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 10:47 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 10:42 PM)
Yeap 5 is for 802.11a. 5ghz on N is just for clearer signal + better speed.
Update: Alright. It's a confirmed. It can't support 5ghz wireless.
In which case I suspect it supports 5GHz for n, not for a since a is like ages ago (11mbps). Anyone with a swanky router setup can confirm this?

According to the spec sheet from Samsung:

http://www.samsung.com/my/consumer/mobile-...7100RWDXME-spec

WiFi a/b/g/n HT40

I just did a quick read, it looks like HT40 is some kind of extra bandwidth pumping feature that is supposed to handle Miracast/Allshare Widi type of thing.

EDIT: Does your router support n?

This post has been edited by joytest: Apr 7 2013, 10:50 PM
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 11:00 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 7 2013, 10:56 PM)
my office using RT56U got 5ghz but my note 2 cant detect but my computer can.
There are different flavors of "n" which I'm not entirely familiar with. Perhaps a kernel module update could fix this 5GHz thing.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 11:02 PM

13,188 posts

BTW all, thanks for the participation in the kernel survey.

Looks like Perseus is the favorite now.

As I mentioned earlier, by Wednesday I'll remove my "test" rows and leave the rest intact.

You can submit more than one entry whenever you try a new kernel or new version.

Everyone who is using a custom Kernel, or even Stock, please participate.

I have put the link to the survey form in my sig.

This post has been edited by joytest: Apr 7 2013, 11:19 PM
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 11:31 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Apr 7 2013, 11:27 PM)
how you did it ?
yea
5ghz wireless ???
I thought only got 802.11 a/b/g/n ??
n has a 5GHz mode, and so does either a or b I don't remember very well.
TSjoytest
post Apr 7 2013, 11:47 PM

13,188 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Apr 7 2013, 11:34 PM)
B & G sometimes will have DC happen....best is to force G only
Yes, remove "mixed mode" networks.

QUOTE(EdwinCodec @ Apr 7 2013, 11:42 PM)
Just change the 5ghz wireless mode to 2.4ghz. Here are some ideas about 5ghz and 2.4ghz wireless =)

http://compnetworking.about.com/od/wireles...f/5ghz-gear.htm
The link only discusses up to "g" and does not include "n". I recall now after hero's post that before "n" came about, it was advised to only broadcast at 2.4GHz for "g" mode only to avoid dropping to "a/b" 11mbps.

I didn't go into details for n since I don't bother about this too much now.
TSjoytest
post Apr 8 2013, 08:58 AM

13,188 posts

Was lurking in a few device threads the last 2 days. It seems that 4hrs SOT is an amazing achievement for them, the standard seems to be around 2.5 to 3hrs or so.

They all get their slim and sexy designs though whistling.gif

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:45 AM