** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V8 **, Stock Android's Awesomeness!

TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 15 2013, 06:01 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Apr 15 2013, 03:08 PM)
What is the cons of unlocking bootloader for the Nexus 4 such as warranty over?  hmm.gif
Other than warranty issues, other cons might be the security flaw (only if your phone contains super-sensitive information).

The warranty issue could be "tricked" easily tho, as you can opt to relock / unlock again without wiping once you have rooted by using Boot Unlocker: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...tunlocker&hl=en

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Apr 15 2013, 06:01 PM
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 15 2013, 06:44 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

For those whom have signed up DiGi Zero Contract with On-the Spot termination; anyone having issues (be it billing or any other issues) right now?

Somehow, one of my application (as I've bought 2 directly from them) had received a RM58 cheque refund and I have no idea where did it come from rclxub.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 15 2013, 06:47 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Apr 15 2013, 06:36 PM)
any recommended video player which can play various format?
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...player.ad&hl=en

Personally I uses this and loving it, till now tongue.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Apr 15 2013, 06:48 PM
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 16 2013, 08:35 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Apr 16 2013, 07:09 AM)
how about the codec ? install also?
I think it came preinstalled with the application, as I can watch most of my movies (.mkv, .mp4, .avi) without installing additional stuff.
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 16 2013, 08:48 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(superjoe @ Apr 16 2013, 08:42 AM)
Just take it mate. Ang pau from digi.
But it's odd as it really came from no where. The amount is weird too. The refund was RM58.00 and there wasn't any charge that costed me RM58 during my registration (zero contract's pricing was different). I don't wanna end up 2 years later finding out that they did not terminate my account properly, it'll really be headache by that time rclxub.gif

But when I tested both the sim cards yesterday, both are no longer in service.. hmm.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 16 2013, 09:17 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Apr 16 2013, 08:55 AM)
I wanted to terminate mine but they said only can be done in center.

Cs told me otherwise pulak. Zzz

I asked for termination letter for my previous number and they couldn't give me. And that's the thing I'm afraid of. =. =
Same thing here, I didn't receive any termination letter as when I've requested, he mentioned that the receipt for "termination fee / penalty" can be used as a proof of termination.

rclxub.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 18 2013, 10:24 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

My mercury tpu flip casing arrived tongue.gif

The colour is a bit boring tho (black + black), as all other fancy colour combinations have sold out cry.gif

TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 18 2013, 10:32 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Apr 18 2013, 10:25 AM)
while i like all black. colourful thingy is way too shiny for me.  tongue.gif
Haha, some of their combination are nice tho, like lime on outside + dark dark blue inside.

Here's side by side comparison with my diztronic tpu case. Can't compare with my phone inside for now tho, using my phone to snap sweat.gif

The most notable difference is there are cut outs for volume and power button instead of fully enclosed. A good thing though, unless they can make the button enclosure slightly responsive (similar to diztronic's type. As fusion hybrids button enclosure really sucked doh.gif)

Another thing is the side of the casing. Diztronic's is a mixture of glossy jelly and tpu (or was it rubber?) on the edge + lip. Mercury's lip and edge are both glossy jelly

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Apr 18 2013, 10:37 AM
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 18 2013, 02:17 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Apr 18 2013, 11:09 AM)
Can't wait for my diztronic tpu case to arrive.should be today
thumbup.gif Loved Diztronic Casing alot and still love it now. Best combination for both protection + slim laugh.gif

Here's more photo of Mercury TPU Flip Case. Poisons brows.gif

TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 18 2013, 02:34 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Apr 18 2013, 02:20 PM)
Yeah just received my Diztronic tpu case.. hurm it feels more secure than my previous cruzerlite tpu case..
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Apr 18 2013, 02:30 PM)
What I like about the Diztronic is:
- Comfortable to hold
- Power + Volume button easy to press
- TPU material
- Front the border lid protect my front screen when my screen face down on table/flat surface
^ Basically the same reason laugh.gif

Naked buttons are easiest to press, followed by cases with cutouts, then Diztronic's and worst are the Rearth Hybrid Fusion based on cases that I have tried so far.

Bought mercury flip case to try out as I couldn't stand random scratches from appearing on my screen (protector) anymore rclxub.gif

Wondering if those scratches came from my pocket hmm.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 18 2013, 05:32 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(jonathan_k @ Apr 18 2013, 05:06 PM)
How much u bought it? where to get?
Bought it from taobao. RM36+++ after including delivery charges etc. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Calex @ Apr 18 2013, 05:24 PM)
Am I the only fella here using a Poetic bumper? cry.gif
zennasyndroxx also using Poetic Bumper brows.gif

For me bumper too exposed liao (minimal protection), ayam sk-ed sweat.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 19 2013, 12:18 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(balsa12 @ Apr 19 2013, 10:56 AM)
hi guys,
been using nexus 4 for 2 weeks, just realize that my led notification only work for sms. charging, low battery no led light at all.
but its everything ok when using light flow lite apps.
izzit normal behaviour for nexus 4?

The LED Notification only works with a few selected apps by default. Use LightFlow to fully utilize it laugh.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 19 2013, 01:42 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(x.x @ Apr 19 2013, 01:17 PM)
hi guys,
i got 1 question  need to ask.
some times my n4 back cover ( nexus logo) is so hot.
like i play game 10min+-, browsing wed 30min+-...
so is this normal or should i take my n4 go lg to check??
thanks.  smile.gif
Overheating in N4 is quite a common problem amongst the users.

If you would like to reduce the overheating, one of the way is to flash custom kernels and undervolt it.
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 19 2013, 03:16 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(x.x @ Apr 19 2013, 02:05 PM)
thk for giving me the answer.
cuz i know not only my n4 got this problem.
QUOTE(alexchin91 @ Apr 19 2013, 02:16 PM)
Is overheating a major problem for users? I'm about to visit digi store or SenQ/senheng to get one now. How ? ><
Initially I wasn't used to it as well, because my previous Desire HD wasn't generating that much heat.. but after some time I just got used to it and bear with the heat.

I don't really know about other phones but it could be that the heat is due to the quite-powerful processor used, since azrash mentioned that xperia Z have similar issue. sweat.gif

QUOTE(poad @ Apr 19 2013, 02:16 PM)
best suggestion for custom kernel? hmm.gif
Personally I'm using Franco kernel. Serving me well so I didn't try out other kernels, yet. smile.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 19 2013, 03:27 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ Apr 19 2013, 03:25 PM)
Like V9 in progress...so FAST!
tongue.gif

QUOTE(silver311 @ Apr 19 2013, 03:25 PM)
Btw, did you buy the franco.Kernel updater? and if not, do you know any other free apps that serves the same purpose?
Didn't buy franco's kernel updater. Currently using Root Toolbox Pro for undervolting laugh.gif
TSpolarzbearz
post Apr 19 2013, 03:31 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Anyway, thread closed as it have almost reached / already reached 125 pages / 2500 posts. notworthy.gif
Please proceed to Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V9 to continue your discussions rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

If you want to reply-to / quote some of the posts here, you are still able to do so by using the multi-quotes option of the forum (refer to the image below for details)

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0662sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:24 AM