Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V28, 50 Million Units Sold Worldwide !

Dannyl
post Mar 26 2013, 09:12 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(iamshyuan @ Mar 25 2013, 09:29 AM)
Using s3 for a few months now, getting more and more frustrated with the phone sad.gif

Changed one battery and the motherboard - by Samsung cz my battery drainage problem is serious (lost 30% even when i have my phone turned off)

It was fine after Samsung replaced my motherboard. Charge time from totally drained to full takes a lil more than 3 hours with 3g on and occassional whatsapp.

Recently it takes me 9 hours to fully charge (without using the phone, but 3g on). I took down the statistics and it charges about 5-8% for 40min.

Anybody encounter the same problem?
My wife's has the same problem. Full charge can hardly last one day, only for few calls / Whatsapp / FB / 3G, with maybe 35% brightness. Last night, charge whole night only reached 50+%. Is this motherboard problem? How long is the warranty for the battery?
Dannyl
post Mar 26 2013, 11:42 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(iamshyuan @ Mar 26 2013, 11:26 AM)
Battery warranty would last for 6 months, however if it is a motherboard issue, I do not know if they will consider this under the handset warranty which lasts for a year.

If you are visiting a Samsung repair centre, please do try the lowyat one instead of the 1utama one.

Btw, since there're so many of the experienced s3 users here, do you guys experience problems such as "SD card is removed" notification keep popping up? I have tried to format the SD card, works for awhile then it pops out again, tried reset my phone and it is persistant.

Would like to understand what could be the cause?
Motherboard issue not under handset warranty? What else could it be under? hmm.gif

I'm going to try another charger/cable and see if it fixes the problem. S3 seems to have a lot of problems huh... hmm.gif
Dannyl
post Mar 27 2013, 07:49 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Mar 26 2013, 11:42 AM)
Motherboard issue not under handset warranty?  What else could it be under?  hmm.gif

I'm going to try another charger/cable and see if it fixes the problem.  S3 seems to have a lot of problems huh... hmm.gif
Used another charger, seems to be ok. Must be either the adaptor/cable not working.

So, if someone with an relatively new S3 takes my faulty charger/cable (>6 months) to SC, will they exchange 1-to-1? laugh.gif I went to Samsung SC LYP yesterday at both 1pm and 6pm, the queue was very long sad.gif
Dannyl
post Mar 27 2013, 09:51 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Can we change the stock lockscreen shortcuts? The ones at the bottom.
Dannyl
post Mar 27 2013, 03:45 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

After a fresh factory reset, I ran Antutu benchmark, got 11xxx score. In the bar chart comparison, I saw S3 is supposed to get much higher. What happened?
Dannyl
post Mar 27 2013, 06:44 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

How to prevent My Files from launching upon plugging in thumbdrive? Or, can customise what app to launch?
Dannyl
post Mar 29 2013, 07:22 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Mar 28 2013, 11:36 PM)
After one day of usage,  S3 ori extended battery life performance is pretty much the same with my wife note 2 battery with 3g on and display is set as 100%
Why say ahem... it's not like imitation product are not allowed discussion in LYN, right? Unlike pirated apps.
Dannyl
post Mar 30 2013, 09:53 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Okay, rooted with CF-Auto-Root. To be safe, I'm trying to download the stock image so I can flash it back later to remove all root/custom traces. Searched for the firmware at http://www.sammobile.com/firmwares and click on the Download button but nothing happens... what to do now?
Dannyl
post Mar 30 2013, 11:43 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 30 2013, 11:28 AM)
Okay, that works! Thanks a lot. This one uses Kies to flash, right?
Dannyl
post Mar 30 2013, 12:00 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 30 2013, 11:48 AM)
odin not kies
Ah yes yes ok thanks.
Dannyl
post Mar 31 2013, 04:10 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Would like to comment on the Galaxy Charging app found in FP... helped me to pinpoint my charging problems, which culprit is the Samsung stock cable. When plugged into the PC, phone showed a message saying there is no app on the PC to sync with the phone, bla bla, and I cannot see the phone contents in Windows Explorer. Plugged in my 3 year old HTC cable and it's fine. Stock charger with stock cable has unpredictable charging output (which was shown in the app). Stock charger with HTC cable = steady charging. Of course, XDA pointed out that faulty stock chargers will spoil any cables used with it, so I guess I won't use the stock charger anymore...

QUOTE(angkhian @ Mar 31 2013, 11:46 AM)
I just noticed the sticker behind my battery spot, has "Phone rooted" written on it. Man. I send it in to SC and when it came back unfixed, I thought I have gotten away. Mana tau, it's written there.
Errm... I thought should flash back stock image to remove all root and custom traces before sending back to SC sweat.gif
Dannyl
post Mar 31 2013, 04:16 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 31 2013, 04:13 PM)
welcome
now you need to go SC to exchange the charger / cable
Cannot lah, my phone over 6 months... warranty for chargers and cables are 6 months only, right? sweat.gif
Dannyl
post Mar 31 2013, 04:24 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Okay... will try it soon... but you know, the queue at Lowyat Samsung is crazily long... sweat.gif just bring phone and charger/cable?

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Mar 31 2013, 04:25 PM
Dannyl
post Mar 31 2013, 04:29 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Mar 31 2013, 04:27 PM)
if cant warranty buy new 1... new 1 is cheap
How much? Charger and cable?
Dannyl
post Apr 1 2013, 10:50 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(Silver Isle @ Mar 31 2013, 09:18 PM)
I think I'm facing the same problem as Dannyl. How do we tell SC yea? They can argue by saying it's not faulty because it IS charging right?
QUOTE(sjn kishka @ Mar 31 2013, 09:30 PM)
im also having problem with my phone now, it wont charge at all..when i connect the cable to my phone i just shows 'usb cable connected' instead of charging, same goes when i connect to my laptop..now its totally flat..
anybody ever had the same problem b4?
It is charging, but sometimes it is so slow, overnight maybe 10% only, and the battery discharges much faster. When plugged into PC, PC cannot see phone contents. These are my real experiences. I will try to go to Samsung LYP later to try for an exchange. Low chance of getting replacement since over 6 months already and my phone is rooted, but, I'll be guinea pig for you guys laugh.gif

QUOTE(iAlien @ Mar 31 2013, 09:44 PM)
Guys, i guess i am the most badluck person...
i sent in my samsung to service center on Dec, and 2 month again, it stuck at welcome screen again...
i guess...motherboard malfunction again~~

that phone act as my business phone, all my things is quite important and did not back up at all....

How is it?? i am thinking switch iphone tomorrow...or did i just the unluck one...
Backup your important stuff. Every night copy out files with OTG. Sync contacts with Google. Backup SMS with apps, etc.
Dannyl
post Apr 1 2013, 01:44 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Went to Samsung SC LYP just now for cable replacement. They asked for receipt, I said didn't bring. Checked my eWarranty, said my phone was bought last July, so no more warranty for accessories. Oh well, at least I tried tongue.gif

Anybody with phone <6 months old can claim for me? brows.gif
Dannyl
post Apr 3 2013, 11:46 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Is there any good ROM (least issues) which offers vanilla Android feel like Nexus series? If not, what's the next best ROM (stable and fast, less focus on customizations) without all the Samsung bloatware? If no better suggestion, I'll probably try ARHD...
Dannyl
post Apr 3 2013, 12:58 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Apr 3 2013, 12:08 PM)
Supernexus is the closest to nexus 4
but u lose those samsung niceties funtion/ apps
i prefer samsung based rom bcoz of that
Bro, which one are you using, then? I assume you like TouchWiz-based ROMs? Any good ones to recommend?
Dannyl
post Apr 4 2013, 08:53 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(QaR @ Apr 4 2013, 08:07 AM)
SuperNexus Build 4 (JB 4.2.2) is up..

changelog is here
u can flash this rom for the vanilla feeling & use it for couple of days..
then try to flash the latest siyah kernel for extra awesomeness
Thanks a lot. Just downloaded build 3 last night doh.gif luckily 1xxMB only, small compared to ARHD and stock at 8xxMB. Gonna try it out tonight.
Dannyl
post Apr 4 2013, 09:48 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(galaxynet @ Apr 4 2013, 08:50 PM)
Chrome no exit button?everytime need press home button.the apps still running at background coz ram usage increase
I use Dolphin purely for the Exit button.

0.0432sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:22 AM