QUOTE(teo1957 @ Mar 14 2013, 01:48 PM)
eh SAS was already around b4 that during ww2.
Lahad Datu Stand-off. v11[Serious], Kampung Tanduo will be closed for good.
Mar 14 2013, 01:59 PM
1,966 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: No longer hanging by a NUS |
Mar 14 2013, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(king of fighter @ Mar 14 2013, 04:20 PM) aku nak tanya.. mana dia janji Five Power Defence Arrangements yang puak british janjikan untuk keselamatan Malaysia.. FPDA is a consultative arrangement. there is no automatic commitment to defend sg/my.dah dekat sebulan lebih dah lawan geng sulu ni.. memang tak boleh percaya bulat-bulat janji omputih, selagi kepentingan dia tak kena serang, selagi tu dia akan buat bodo. |
Mar 14 2013, 04:37 PM
Mar 20 2013, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Mar 20 2013, 10:29 AM) iwas reading the sabah times today, and najib is already crediting the success in Lahad Datu's ops daulat was thanks to his "blue ocean strategy." lolI felt sick in the gut after that. When will politicians learn to shut up? we want to hear from the Army, not some dewd in the office. blue ocean strategy most overused term |
Mar 21 2013, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(souless223 @ Mar 21 2013, 08:10 PM) we need to increase military spending and reduce subsidation. good thing u are not menteri kewangan. foreignour should not be able to buy property to prevent real estate prices to climb again so people can actually afford houses. QUOTE(yinchet @ Mar 21 2013, 09:26 PM) not everything is a military secrets. I think what we do want is more transparency in the procurement process. Using excuse like official secret, national security secret etc etc is just BS.The only I dislike on those who bising is they make funny comparisons. also loves to wiki and find price tag comparisons. sometimes it not that simple to measure procurement. there will be always some differ in the deals. like ammo, training, additional hardware and customization, transportation fees "yes it not free kena bayar you know", Manufacture licensing, and so on. QUOTE(souless223 @ Mar 21 2013, 09:48 PM) lol. even singapore law caps it to 6% of gdp. even israel rarely goes beyond 10% and they are always fighting someone. |
Mar 21 2013, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(souless223 @ Mar 21 2013, 10:23 PM) tbh singapore could just spend 1.4% of their gdp and it will be fine their land very small easy cover. they have no strategic depth and manpower shortage; they have to spend a lot to compensate for it.malaysia land is vast and huge... we need more equipment their military doctrine is deterrence, preemptive strike, forward defense; again they have to spend a lot to achieve this. also they pay their professional soldiers quite well. sometimes it's not about spending more on just hardware. i see this whole incursion episode as a HUMINT failure + law enforcement failure. QUOTE(yinchet @ Mar 21 2013, 10:29 PM) I think we need a new mechanism for our military procurement. with u on this.with promotes effective military procurement. more transparency but there will be always a need to balance national interest and transparency. these is something we have to think of. "as there will be always some sensitive hardware we need to be remains as secrets that facts" Ban middlemen dealing. promote local defense industry. |
Mar 22 2013, 09:04 AM
Mar 23 2013, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(epul @ Mar 23 2013, 11:53 PM) Citizen of the country that hate msia didn't realize that their product like music, drama n labour are totally depending in msia market. If we msian totally boycott these thing,how do they cari makan. erm we're not that important a market for them. don't think malaysia so 'big' leh. |
Mar 24 2013, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(epul @ Mar 24 2013, 12:23 AM) I do not know if u realize or not. Msian tv channel gave special slot for their drama that is every afternoon. Even the radio channel playing a lot of their song even have special 1-2 hour slot playing theirs song. QUOTE(Einjahr @ Mar 24 2013, 12:31 AM) in the grand scheme of things, MY is not that significant.they won't got bankrupt overnight if MY suddenly stop buying their stuff. |
Mar 24 2013, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Mar 24 2013, 10:12 AM) petron, esso.. ring- a- bell ? well of course they wont go bankrupt overnight, but it would affect them adversely if Malaysia decide to pull the plug. Dont make them look bigger than they really are. lol thread derailed.Philippines is a banana republic even though the phillipines used to be the sick man of SEA, they are moving forward very fast despite all their problems. unlike us. |
Mar 24 2013, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(maxpudding @ Mar 24 2013, 10:21 AM) last year their economy grew 6.6% according to the Beeb. fastest growth in entire SEA, outpacing Indonesia, another fast-growing nation. it's just like how many of us still think of Mexico as super-poor, when in fact they're one of the fastest growing economies in the americas. |
Mar 24 2013, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Mar 24 2013, 10:36 AM) that's if Aquino remains in power. So far, Aquino and Bambang has been doing a great job in their respective countries. So the people cannot afford to derail the progress they have made all this years and for a country of that size, its important to have a strong government. Still, these countries are still growing and they rely on their richer neighbours for trade and to feed their economy.. its like what Singapore is to Malaysia also, both are important to each other. SBY is in his last term, and once again corruption has raised its ugly head in Indonesia. seems like the cronies are trying to makan all they can b4 he steps down.Meanwhile, if Malaysia doesn't watch out, Indonesia and Philippines will leave them behind. The only thing that's preventing them from overtaking Malaysia is their sheer size... Ninoy is doing a pretty good job (but then again, the bar was set pretty low in the 1st place by erap and gloria) but like u said, raving ultra lunatics might derail the whole thing. their size (geo, population) is both a blessing and a curse. |
Mar 24 2013, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Mar 24 2013, 02:19 PM) 6% is not very fast given the shit that went on for years in their country, 6% is godlike.we grew 5.5% last year too and our total gdp is still bigger than them and not forgetting gdp percapita and the fact that they are moving from low to medium income is easier than moving from medium to high income like us let's not be complacent about our achievements - MY is doing OK, but our former poorer neighbours are fast catching up. And might pintas us soon. QUOTE(gabay @ Mar 24 2013, 03:19 PM) lol smoker's camaraderie. |
Mar 24 2013, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Mar 24 2013, 07:45 PM) 1. People (all those maids, etc. Then get remittance moolah) Services sector is booming. Most call-centers are now in PI.2. Electronics, computer parts. (main export) QUOTE(epul @ Mar 24 2013, 09:24 PM) How to attract foreign investor if cannot create secure environment. Kipnapping almost everyday. Remember the Hong Kong tourist hostage. Of course pinoy girl yummy yummy.heheh Situation improved a lot in the North. Anyway, want to make lots of money gotta take some risks.Extra purchase. |
Mar 25 2013, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(magi @ Mar 25 2013, 11:17 PM) 1. It's a live-fire zone. u kena tembak memang padan muka.2. If u r commander, do u risk sending men into areas where they can be easily ambushed, or u take the safer option - bring the whole place down - at the potential cost of civilian casualty? |
Mar 25 2013, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(magi @ Mar 25 2013, 11:35 PM) remember that day when our men shot at a movement in the bushes by the roadside, and a man and a 15 year old boy died? both unarmed! lol ini memang keyboard warrior sejati.our army of hundreds, with all the support of modern weaponry. i would expect them to have better operational methods to weed out the sulu gunmen, not be itchy fingers and shoot at movements in the bushes. dont ask me how to better do it, i did not study in west point, but our generals should have proven tactics already in front of them. |
Mar 25 2013, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 25 2013, 11:39 PM) primary ROI against ambush and snipers is to kill or be killed. the ROI is in effect in the red zone, and all residents were informed. the safety of our men takes highest priority, and we made the enemy very much aware of this. this is the proven tactic used, and it's not about itchy fingers. ROI ke ROE?i expect u to grow a brain before ur next reply. |
Mar 25 2013, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(magi @ Mar 25 2013, 11:46 PM) and the ROI is fully explained to the residents of the area? adults and children? including those that could not read? It's ROE. Rules of Engagement. Only armed forces need to know the ROE.surely there are better methods in doing the sweeping, that can uncover those bystanders. the bystanders are possibly scared children, who are caught in the situation. they were probably hiding in the bushes on seeing the oncoming army men. they had nowhere to go, just the bushes. come on....they are just children. skinny children. unarmed. scared. When an area is declared as live-firing area, prior warning is given - via tv/radio/mass media/internet/leaflet/loudspeaker etc. u get your ass out of the way or u get your ass shot. simple as that. u don't know/have no where to go, u approach a security personnel. u don't go hiding in bushes. that is #1 way to get your ass shot. |
Mar 27 2013, 08:09 AM
Mar 27 2013, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(Einjahr @ Mar 27 2013, 09:21 AM) How could politicians know more than Generals about the National defense anyway? In this case, the intrusion illustrates that Malaysia needs specialized defence investments to defend territory, but if the politician doesn't understand this; they are more likely to hold back from making the most practical decision thus preferring a more "economic" investment. But when lives are lost due to defective equipment ultimately caused by "band-aid solutions" instead of long term ones; who is most likely to be blamed for that ? let me quote myself:QUOTE most country dont allow active serviceman to be menteri pertahanan separation of power btw executive and legislative. u want to join politics? retire from military. This post has been edited by cks2k2: Mar 27 2013, 09:31 AM |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:04 AM |