Photography Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V6

lamjunrong
post Apr 15 2013, 08:08 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 10 2013, 01:33 PM)
hope that the launch make the success stories as GF1 and GF2 did...quite down when it released the GF5....

lamjunrong
post Oct 14 2013, 12:09 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 13 2013, 11:52 PM)
yeap yeap, micro 4/3s are really good in terms of IQ in good light.

too bad it's still lacking behind FF cameras in low-light high ISO.

still i really love the camera, you can do a lot of things in such small package. the em1 was even mroe awesome!
erm is actually hard to say like that...on lacking in low light high ISO setting
Olympus they ask me to turn off the noise filter and set the ISO up to 12500 and noise is still not visible yet..
well you can say bigger sensor has better noise control, DOF..etc...

but they challenge FF camera really impressed me and happy to see a small power house can do such an impressive thing, the final challenge picture really can see is much sharper than 5dm2...

only thing that hold me back is the price...RM 4500 for body only and then the whole set with battery grip and 12-40 lens near to RM8k...
lamjunrong
post Oct 14 2013, 11:26 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 14 2013, 12:22 AM)
what lens is he using? and what lens is on the omd?
I actually watch almost all the challenge session. first few session he use the 12-40mm lens, then later in the final few I saw the 'high-end' 75mm F1.8 zuiko lens...from the FF side, canon put in the 5DM2 and 6D all with the 24-70L

Olympus darn poison lar...I guess is a good time to grab an EM5...and the 75mm f1.8 smile.gif
lamjunrong
post Oct 15 2013, 11:00 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:05 PM)
so how was the output from EM1 that mount 75mm 1... can beat 5dm2??  flex.gif
erm I took this with my humble X100...picture bit blurry...and noise...
but can see EM-1 and Canny side give different skin tone and if you look closely you can see EM-1 'show-off' the model's pimple...

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Oct 15 2013, 11:00 AM
lamjunrong
post Oct 15 2013, 10:50 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Oct 15 2013, 05:13 PM)
The one on the right looks more natural, sharper and better color according to my eyes. I like that one better. The hair on the left side of the model on the right stands out much better yes?
forget to mention the left one is EM-1 while the right one is 5DM3...
but if getting this for model shooting, sharpness I guess is not the main thing or AA filter removed, the thing is the color tone and ability to produce more natural color

lamjunrong
post Oct 17 2013, 09:19 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(samsungfreak @ Oct 16 2013, 10:12 PM)
http://digicame-info.com/2013/10/dmc-gm1-1.html

The smallest mirrorless camera will be announced by Panasonic officially tomorrow.

The size is (width) 98.5mm x (height) 54.9mm x (depth) 30.4mm

The new 12-32mm width is about 21mm.

Available in Black, White/Black and Silver/Black (like GX7).

Anyone interested?  drool.gif
hope they make it as small as the GF3 or GF5 size and packed-a-punch with the GX7 specs....
really interesting on the 'highest quality' kit lens...

really interested on the EM-1 but pricing is holding me back...compared to GX7..which one should i get to have the better CP ratio?

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Oct 17 2013, 09:20 AM
lamjunrong
post Oct 22 2013, 10:36 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 22 2013, 10:09 AM)

bye bye 150mm f2.8  bye.gif  bye.gif
hello 15mm f1.7!  drool.gif
fuh damn poison la...
one question, you have any idea why they re-release the 35-100mm lens again?
they try to make it F2 like the Olympus 35-100mm f/2.0 ED Zuiko...hmm..

planning to get the GX7, but heard you guys say the IBIS is like so so only, not comparable to the EM5 or EM1...
i planned to get the EM5 also, but have some panasonic lens...would it look like weird if i put panny lens on olympus body?
lamjunrong
post Oct 22 2013, 03:18 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ Oct 22 2013, 11:36 AM)
Has anybody gotten a GX7 yet? Mind sharing some pics and experiences here?
i actually tried at KLPF la...really a good invention especially the tilting EVF and price is also very attractive compared to EM-1 or even EM-5..i tried to upload pic soon
overall it looks more pocketable than OMD and i vote for this as it look more like rangefinder style as i used to rangefinder type

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Oct 22 2013, 01:53 PM)
why not bro? Seriously it looks good. Myself using Oly body but having 5 Lumix lenses and is very very happy with its AF and result smile.gif just like samsungfreak said, be flexi on lenses smile.gif oh ya and u cant compare IBIS with Oly cos it is their beginning while Oly is way years ahead smile.gif
you guys posts damn poison la...me previously owned a GF3...then sold off the body because of low ISO performance and i need viewfinder for street photog...so now i left the 14-42 and 14mm pancake, so was wondering would it be weird if mounting this two 'plastic' lens on OMD or GX-7

plus bro incubus_skj ones are high end Lumix lens with 'Coca-cola' support..sure gooding look...poison me summore...hope the kitten got its cream
my GF3 and my cat
P1060450 by Junrong LuLu, on Flickr
lamjunrong
post Oct 22 2013, 05:29 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Oct 22 2013, 04:44 PM)
Anyone know when is EM-1 + 12-40 F2.8 is going to hit Malaysia market? And what will be the expected price?

Thinking to jump ship from Canon to Oly....
what i heard from Olympus Malaysia is that the body unit for EM-1 is tagging around RM4500 and together with the battery grip and 12-40 f2.8 lens will reach not more than RM8000...
is coming to Malaysia this december IIRC

lamjunrong
post Oct 22 2013, 10:09 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Oct 22 2013, 07:10 PM)
Thanks. Anywhere to hands on at the moment?

Hmmm 8k is a pricey thought. Not sure if selling some of my canon gear can cover that or not.
KLPF just passed recently...wish you was there..both EM-1 and GX7 was available for testing
one of my friend just pre order it with RM200 deposit...is only 2.5% of the whole unit price...
is true that IBIS is lagging for panny side, but the lower price point make me choose GX-7 more..still a student smile.gif

but what I like is GX-7 is the slow-mo shooting mode, can shot 40FPS with electronic shutter one..forget what is called edi..saw it during DigitarevTV review
lamjunrong
post Oct 23 2013, 07:39 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Oct 23 2013, 07:04 PM)
lamjunrong haha yeah. I missed that test session.

Yeap, the GX-7 is surely 1st choice for walk around camera. The size and weight are just right. Too bad I can't afford to own both.

As of now, I need to replace my old canon dslr to take some shots for my friend wedding dinner. So I think EM-1 with the kit should be great smile.gif, where I can pair it with my canon flash when needed.

Beside, I was reading Steve huff article in regards to oly 17mm vs pana 20mm. He was saying 17mm is not as sharp as pana 20mm. But yet, the 17mm was very sharp on EM-1 since the sensor don't have the AA filter. With that said, which one would you go for as compact setup for ur EM-1?
If I were you,got money sure grab the em1 la, once touch I am poison onto it. But since budget constrain.i will take the gx7 and paired it with Olympus 75mm for superior portrait. used it on wedding once, the bokeh is out of my expectaton especially for such a small sensor.

But I the choice of 17mm or 20mm is actually a very tough choice as both are very close, 35mm and 40mm...but I will choose the 20mm for street photgraphy Which what I usually do, plus I have fujifilm x100 at hand with 35mm zoom range at hand, so don't want to overlap the view. Say if I dun have x100, I will pick 17mm as I like the 35mm FOV and better lens build quality

If sharpness talking, if you are a pixel peeking person, then sharpness is your thing. At first I also very concern about sharpness but in the end, what matter most is how good your camera render the color to suit your view or how natural the color is producing...so AA no AA maybe is just some new Technology or new marketting strategy, I guess, to sell camera at higher price...correct me if I am wrong...picking the right lens is a better choice icon_rolleyes.gif
lamjunrong
post Oct 25 2013, 05:35 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Oct 25 2013, 04:19 PM)
What Im confused about is not about the depth of field, but with the amount of light that actually enters the sensor. Does it mean that f1.8 on m4/3 will not let in as much light as f1.8 on ff?

for example, if we have an ff camera that has a 35mm lens attached alongside an m4/3 system with a 17mm lens attached and we set both at 1/60th of a sec, iso of 200 and an aperture of f2.

Will the exposure be the same?
from what i know, or IIRC, the amount of light enter both FF and m43 is same, 35mm F2 on FF will be the same as 17mm F2 in m43, as light enter through lens will fill up the sensor, is just that the 35mm F2 FF lens has to be bigger as bigger sensor, m43 17mm F2 lens will be smaller as smaller image circle will be needed...

and let say you put a 17mm f2 m43 lens on m43 camera the effective focal length will be 35mm and aperture will stay F2 as shorter flange back. Last time cases is difference as 43 camera like Olympus E520, as it has mirror box and longer flange back, so a 17mm f2 will become 35mm F4..

so if take micro43 17mm f2 and FF 35mm F2 with the same shooting condition, they will give the same exposure
cheers! laugh.gif correct me i am wrong XD
lamjunrong
post Jan 29 2015, 08:11 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Jan 28 2015, 07:25 PM)
shoot first, work later tongue.gif
We are going to shoot on 3-4am
Batu caves? Tag me along! wonder if i could tumpang kereta if anyone is driving biggrin.gif I live nearby PJ SS2

------------------
Another thing to ask you guys is im looking to get a m43 camera, primary for video recording and also for street photography

Two model come in my mind, GH3 or EM5. Choose GH3 because of the in-camera video codec and the controls; while choose EM5 because of the IBIS so i can mount many lens for video. Not going for GH4 or EM1 due to budget and not considering other system because i have tried other system smile.gif

Not very particular in video and image quality, just want to know your opinion on GH3 and EM5, thanks for your valuable input
lamjunrong
post Jan 29 2015, 09:10 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jan 29 2015, 08:56 PM)
gh3 is awesome i think, wins over the oly system on most parts except IBIS. why not em10? it's a better and newer camera than the em5 but biggest cons is the lack of weather sealing.
i do think about the EM10, but picked the EM5 as i might highly rely on the 5-axis for video, as i am gonna use quite a lot of manual lens. Some of my friend suggest me to get the A7II but the price point doesnt justify for me sweat.gif

So let say i use a panasonic lens with OIS on EM5, do i need to turn off the OIS on the lens so that it wont affect the IBIS from property functioning?
lamjunrong
post Feb 11 2015, 10:58 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

image is a bit noisy, but i tried smile.gif
Handheld slow shutter with this little beast was awesome! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Feb 11 2015, 10:58 PM
lamjunrong
post Feb 12 2015, 10:34 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

Thinking of getting a voigtlander m43 lens, but i am not sure which i am gonna get since i can onyl buy one sweat.gif

I be using it for portraiture and street photography, i guess portraiture is 42.5mm while for street photography is the 17mm lens, but just want to know which of the four will be your first choice and why

I am aware that all four voigtlander lens are having very good macro capability so also give it a try

Thanks for your input biggrin.gif
lamjunrong
post Mar 8 2015, 08:57 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

some photo to share. Start to like this 45mm lens smile.gif

lamjunrong
post Mar 21 2015, 08:06 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

Tmr im going for the Olympus Touch & Try event. Hope to see you guys tmr! biggrin.gif
lamjunrong
post Mar 22 2015, 02:16 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(vickc85 @ Mar 21 2015, 10:57 PM)
Share some poison here
Wish to go but too bad that I need to work 
Here you go, only manage some, quite tight schedule.
45mm. f1.8 goodness. Gosh I love this lens.

Another one from 75mm. Guess now I know what they were meaning when they say this lens is the sharpest among all. drool.gif

And some other chick NSFW

lamjunrong
post Apr 11 2015, 07:31 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

This is awesome with the Olympus Air

From 43rumor
http://www.43rumors.com/cool-test-olympus-...ur-thirds-lens/