Mitsubishi Triton 2.5/3.2 Turbo Club - Ver 2.0!, Stepping into the 4x4 world.

MeToo
post Mar 13 2013, 02:42 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(boylkk @ Mar 13 2013, 02:34 PM)
It is same as standard 2.5 triton: RM821. My VGT is RM136.  biggrin.gif  Registered Sabah used at Klang valley.  tongue.gif
Huh how come yoru VGT so pricey.. i thought around 110k only?

Anyway... I noticed on the first page someone mentioned got 6 airbags? But I check Mitsu site only shows 2 airbags?

I'm actually looking for a pickup for casual day 2 day use... hence the most important (apart from looking macho la) would be comfort & safety. I doubt I would ever use it to haul any stuff or carry any cargo (apart from golf bags or travelling luggage tongue.gif).

I'm looking at Hilux.. Ranger... Triton... still undecided.

Any tips and pointers you guys can provide would be great!
MeToo
post Mar 13 2013, 02:56 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Mar 13 2013, 02:50 PM)
Sorry bro. That 6 airbag is Aus spec. Im going to update it soon.

bro, you come triton thread as recommendation majority of us will sure say triton one la  biggrin.gif But putting ownership aside, Till today i still prefer Triton even after i drove Hilux, Triton and Dmax. IMHO if you want to ask me 2 things i like about triton, it will be design and comfort. More appealing to young adult i guess. (i casual city/outstation driving, so dont need much power. yet. tongue.gif) Other important feature you could put into your consideration list before deciding are: 1. diesel consumption. 2. Power 3. OTR price and maybe 4. SC quality biggrin.gif
Ahh... no wonder... cause if Triton got 6 airbags I dont need to think anymore tongue.gif

Price wise its all around the same.. 100k ish so thats fine for me (I liek it cause minimal tax involved... meaning I pay 100k I get a 100k worth car... not pay 100k, 50k goes to govt tax bleh).

FC also not much of a factor, understand most have pretty decent FC compared to a 2.5/3.0 sedan i reckon.

Power... Rangers seems to have better torque strangely.. but anything 300 should be enuf... I dont carry stuff at all haha

Bro.. how's the comfort for the rear passenger? I'm worried the combination of leaf spring + 90 deg back seat might be a killer?

MeToo
post Mar 14 2013, 11:46 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Mar 13 2013, 07:12 PM)
talk about road tax, even nissan fairlady is half of what's in west. haha...around rm1800 in sarawak i think and 3k+ in KL.
just a smidgen below 4.4k in KL, just renewed last week tongue.gif
MeToo
post Mar 17 2013, 07:35 PM

9,338 posts

Oh guys... any idea what's the average price for a decent set of tyres (equivalent to a Mich PS3 sedan standard) for the Triton? I dont require super rugged offroad tyres....
MeToo
post Mar 17 2013, 08:58 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 17 2013, 08:34 PM)
sports tyres for a pickup truck?  laugh.gif

if you dun go offroad, (like 99% of us here), you sahould go for HT tyres - highway terrain

michelin has some nice tyres, but they are on the expensive side (600+) and according to some of forumer's experience, the side wall is a bit soft

i use continental contitrac, which is quiet, does the job, and is quite affordable (rm450 each in Sarawak). they last about 50,000km
450$ each tyre is ok wor.... same price liek my wife's car.... cause I saw these car the tyre so big abit worried its gonna be 1000+ each tongue.gif
MeToo
post Mar 18 2013, 10:38 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 17 2013, 09:00 PM)
20" tyres are at that price  biggrin.gif
or unless u go for UHP tyres, which i doubt u can fit on the triton
lol no way bro... 4x4 wan those big rugged tyres that can eat bumps/holes for breakfast ma... all part of the macho look tongue.gif
MeToo
post Mar 28 2013, 04:11 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 28 2013, 03:15 PM)
hahah... troday, i finally found a replacement spare wheel for my triton

been without a spare tyre for almost a year after it was stolen

damage is RM 350, the spare wheel and a 90% new tyre. the owner replaced large wheels for his tritons, so the standard spare wheel doesn't fit anymore
edit: how d u guys protect the spare tyre from being stolen???
Cannot put a chain/lock?
MeToo
post Apr 1 2013, 12:23 PM

9,338 posts

So I went to test the triton VGT last weekend with my wife... I think its the old model... the bar at the back is black.. strange.. no shiny chorme stuff.. anyway..

1. Inside is quite roomy, not too bad, the rear seat is quite comfortable, beyond my expectation. Rear passenger legroom also good.
2. Power is very usable.. the kick at low rev impressed me (and I'm used to driving a 300bhp car).
3. Cornering, I still cant shake the feelign the car will flip over ( fear brought over form my old Land Cruiser II days blush.gif )
4. Going thru bumps the car feels floaty, the rear passenger literally jumped up hahaha
5. Engine more quiet then I expected, good thing.

Now... i have some question for the pros here....

1. I'm worried about parking... anyone here managed to install a double-din? I would liek to have a reverse camera+GPS.
2. Any VGT owner managed to install extra kangaroo bars infront? Without removing the current vgt bumper thingy.
3. Can the VGT go at 130~140 comfortably on the highway?

Thanks for the feedback guys!

ps : Oh... I went to see the ranger also... the salesman say 6~10 months wait... I didnt even bother test driving it anymore... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Apr 1 2013, 12:24 PM
MeToo
post Apr 1 2013, 02:40 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Apr 1 2013, 01:34 PM)
i'm driving non-vgt.. so the vgt issue i cannot answer.. but the speed.. i always do 150-160km/h no problem
Thanks bro! That's more then enough... is the RPM near redlien at those speed?

Also that white beauty in your avatar is yours? Very sweet... comtemplating getting a white myself! wub.gif
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 12:29 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(boylkk @ Apr 2 2013, 12:43 AM)
Hi bro,

It is called Triton SUS Rear seat bracket. Mudah.my got selling this bracket. http://www.mudah.my/Mitsubishi+Triton+SUS+...et-19104353.htm

I had this rear seat bracket before. It will made the rear seat more slanting thus more comfortable but rear passager legroom will eventually reduce by 2 inches, so i removed it after 1 week of use. If you are interested but don't mind it was used, please pm me and i'll give you a good price.
Actually I tried the backseat of the Triton... its good enough as it is.. the slanting it not the problem... maybe can add some more padded/cushioned seat so the passenger can sink it.

Actually the main problem is the leaf spring at the rear.. that launches the passenger into the air whenever u hit a bump tongue.gif
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 12:31 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Mreat @ Apr 1 2013, 08:42 PM)
Hi, I'm mitsubishi salesperson here. I have customers installed 2din kenwood player into vgt. So far so good.
2. From what I understand from a 4x4 accessories dealer, they said only kangaroo bar from ARB could detect airbag. ( as they said la )
3. My colleague is driving a triton 2007. He get 180km/h @ 3400rpm.
4. For triton vgt, we have ready stocks.

PM me for details
Hmm.... where do we mount the 2din player? At the same place as the current 1din player? Or above it, at where the information cluster is?

Thanks for the info on the car capability... 160-180kmh is much much more than enuf for me... gone are the days i whack the highways at 250+ on 2 wheels.. .gettign old tongue.gif

Which branch are you bro? I went to the glenmarie branch they dont have a new model VGT in the showroom leh...
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 02:49 PM

9,338 posts

Gonna find a BT-50 3.2L for test drive.... 470 torque... drool.gif

Only problem is the looks are no where close to as sexy as the Triton...
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 04:09 PM

9,338 posts

Er... SCV so easy kaput one for triton? Is it cause modded?

Er... .what is SCV? tongue.gif
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 04:12 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 2 2013, 04:11 PM)
Fuel filter changed July last year.

Looks like I need to change both fuel filter and SCV together this weekend.

Problem not serious yet because truck still can start and move but if u push hard, engine will die. Last year, even worse... truck can't even start.
Wah suction control valve? that one around RM800?! sweat.gif
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 04:13 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 2 2013, 04:12 PM)
ouch... that's gonna cost you

truck still under warranty?
mitu mechs sayz it is due to shitty diesel quality.
We all know Msia diesel is really crap, that's why dont buy those diesel BMWs...... but.. i was under the impression these trucks can take crap diesel? ohmy.gif
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 04:17 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 2 2013, 04:16 PM)
Yeah... my previous SCV lasted 4 years... using crap diesel since Euro 1 in 2007. New SCV never last long... max also 1 year or worse, 6-7 months.
shocking.gif Bro pls dont scare me.... SCV only last 1 yr? Then spend 1k+ every year .....this car maintenance going to be a killer wor....
MeToo
post Apr 2 2013, 04:27 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 2 2013, 04:24 PM)
Heard from an overseas forum, they recommend a bigger SCV found on bus or lorry engines. Still a Mitsubishi part (actually DENSO) but larger. Will go for this upgrade. If it breaks down again, I'm selling this truck for scrap or downgrade to Exora Bold. I need turbo power.
Bro... do you know if this SCV problem is inherent in all picksu (Ranger, BT50, Hilux etc) or just Triton?!
MeToo
post Apr 3 2013, 11:28 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Mreat @ Apr 2 2013, 07:08 PM)
We mount the 2-Din on the RV metre location. Then the aingle din player, keep. Then the RV metre would be place at the single din place.
Im from PJ jalan 222.  We also dont have the new vgt model place in the showroom but I can arrange the car foe you to see if you are interested.  PM me for appt. I'll do the rest. Tq
That sounds liek a great idea. Will keep in mind bro thanks!

TO be frank i'm still shopping aorund and will test drive the rest of pickup by next week.

QUOTE(boylkk @ Apr 2 2013, 11:56 PM)
If really empty tank then it should be RM1.8 x 75 liter = RM135. I usually pump RM110 which is 61.1 liter clocked  around 500km.
As for FC, my current car is at around 8km/liter.

So yours is also around 8km/liter... not too bad lah.... ofcourse my car is petrol tongue.gif
MeToo
post Apr 3 2013, 11:39 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 3 2013, 11:31 AM)
that is like 12.5L/100km

which is actually poor

i can get consumption at 11L/100km for urban traffic driving, and aroun 8.5L/100km for highway driving

u sure it is 8km/L and not  8L/100km?
Um... ya... if I drive normally and dont tekan.. I get around 8~8.2KM / Liter for my car... pretty sure of this.
MeToo
post Apr 3 2013, 12:09 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 3 2013, 11:40 AM)
mind asking what car u drive?
Some old beat up Nissan bro... high FC blush.gif

Used to high FC... buying car now FC wont be much of a concern to me anymore sweat.gif

0.1626sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:55 AM