Mitsubishi Triton 2.5/3.2 Turbo Club - Ver 2.0!, Stepping into the 4x4 world.
MeToo
Apr 3 2013, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(Mreat @ Apr 3 2013, 02:35 PM) Actually there is a device called GForce performance chip which can enhance the performance of diesel engine and save fc also. My other friend used a device called thunder, he told me even BMW also cant beat him when going uphill. ( he say la ) Nice to know so many performance mods available... I'll get my fren to remap the ECU first i reckon.... he's doing it for all Mitsu cars Lancer/ASX/Evo blah... its always better to have a customised map suited to our driving style
MeToo
Apr 4 2013, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Apr 3 2013, 07:08 PM) Just thinking out loud guys. Among the few criterion listed here, what will be your priority or first preference btw 1. Design/Looks 2. Power. 3. FC. 4. Comfort. 5. Brand. 6. Safety features. 7. OTR Price 8. Resale value. 9. Others (specify) when choosing a ride? List them in priority order and state what is the No. 1 key pulling factor that make you choosed your ride (regardless its triton or other 4WD) Here's mine. 1. Designs/looks 2. OTR price 3. Power. 4. FC. 5. Safety features (Passenger) 6. Comfort. 7. Brand 8. Resale value 9. Others (work traveling environment) Honest answer. Because what made me change from a sedan to a 4WD truck is because i was eating bakuteh one day and saw a nice looking car. Asked my friend what it was and he said its Triton, cost about 75K only. (referring to the normal edition) Got shock of the price and the nice looks of the car, went to a showroom to test drive and loved it. Paid deposit the next day and sold off old car :lol:Also i love Triton's driver seating heights and the wide mirror windscreen. Can see further and wider and really feels like driving a lorry in the street  Will never go back to sedan anymore. 1. Designs/looks 6. Comfort. 5. Safety features (for front 2 enuf) 3. Power. 7. Brand 2. OTR price 4. FC. 8. Resale value 9. Others (work traveling environment) Ranger really winning major points on the looks department... too bad for the 10 months wait... wonder can give 2~3k undertable and get the car fast
MeToo
Apr 4 2013, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(Mero @ Apr 4 2013, 11:31 AM) Guys, I heard that new Triton comin out soon. Maybe early next yr. they wil design it closer to Asx look but using current vgt triton engine. Rgding current Triton vgt, salesmen cfm that its fc is memang higher than std triton due to bigger & better turbo valve. I went to showroom to test drive but they took the car to seremban(im frm kl). Aih.. So wasted.. Rgds I think one of the problem with the current Triton is the old engine right? Hence Ranger etc all surged in popularity with their new engine?
MeToo
Apr 4 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 4 2013, 02:03 PM) Have to lor... I have done this before... less than 10 minutes from start to end. Respect man.... the most complicated stuff I done for my rides were changing the o-ring chain on my honda and replacing power window motor on my nissan. change SCV never even imagine it haha
MeToo
Apr 15 2013, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(ktyaw @ Apr 15 2013, 09:37 AM) Recently backside itchy, test driven the New 2.2 Ranger, Nissan Navara LE, Toyota Hilux 2.5 VNT......nothing beats the VGT Triton in overall  ......dun say wan to beat my VGT EURO  , not yet try out the Chevy Collorado I do agree that Hilux is more stable during high speed (above 140km/h) but damn bumpy if below that speed or cruising on city streets. Hilux is also more responsive on low rev or less turbo lag compared to Triton VGTs but poor high revs and lack of top end torque. Bigger turning radius compared to Triton. Dashboard console is like from the Dino age but still better than Navaras. Bro.... what's your verdict on the Ranger 2.2L? U tried the XLT? Cause recently I played aroudn with a WildTrak in the showroom... really falling for that lah...
MeToo
Apr 15 2013, 12:46 PM
Oh ya guys.... about remapping etc.... I have a fren who does remapping for Lancer/Evo/ASX etc... mainly all petrol Mitsu... When I thought of getting the Triton I wanted to let him poke around and remap it as well... not sure if diesel works the same way hehee? If anyone is free on Friday evening, we have a gathering around 32 square 10pm+... maybe can bring your triton and see see?
MeToo
Apr 15 2013, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(ktyaw @ Apr 15 2013, 02:46 PM) Hi, New Ranger 2.2 vs Triton VGT 1) Exterior - New Ranger 2.2 2) Interior - New Ranger 2.2 3) Driving comfort - Draw 4) Rear passenger - Triton VGT 5) Performance - Triton VGT Wildtrak 3.2 is discontinued. You can put your name in the waiting list and hoping there is someone that cancel their order as the waiting time is 1 year from their date of order. There is currently 40 over units of Wildtrak based but engine is 2.2 litre. All is Ford test drive unit waiting for release in 2-3 years time or upon the next new model out. Thanks for the review bro, appreciate it! As for WildTrak... ya... the unit I saw at the showroom is actually a 3.2L version waiting for pickup by the owner who waited nearly 1 yr... its simply awesome... 4 airbag, dualzone aircon, electronic seat, leather/fabric combo seat.... so beautiful... Actually very strange since Mazda's BT-50 3.2L is using the exactly same engine... haiz... now its hard to even put a booking since Ford HQ is refusing to take booking for WildTrak anymore...
MeToo
Apr 17 2013, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 16 2013, 08:23 PM) Ford beside the federal highway? Even the 2.2 queue takes up to 1 year now.... i help u ask la since u want the 3.2, but the last i heard from my branch is 1year. If 2.2, 1 month can get car, if manual, around 2 weeks after agreement signed. Showroom near to ur house also la bro... kekekekee Oh ya hor bro.. totally forgot your showroom near my place... i drop by this weekend! er.. can PM me the location again ah? How about the 2.2 XLT Auto Blue colour? How long wait? If can get 3.2L de... come come I belanja Starbucks daily for 1 year
MeToo
Apr 17 2013, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 17 2013, 11:58 AM) the hilux really more stable on high speed? i only know hilux not stable for turnings. haha. but the looks so ah pek. btw, recently i went to see the colorado, damn nice for the price. i didnt drive tho. only seat in front while my friend drives. quite ok but still bumpy compared to triton and ranger. i like the exterior and the features (ESP!!!). the 2.8 duramax is really a monster, cant feel the lag and giving the impression it has more to go. the bt50 3.2 is priced almost the same as the colorado, good with those specs, but sadly, the outlook really really ugly. i cant make myself to love it no matter how hard i tried. mazda should sack the designer. I agree on the BT50.... i went see the 3.2L de.. same engine as Ford... but the exterior design... almost puked Mazda should take the cue of the Ford WildTrak and shoot out a special edition... they got a good basis but the presentation is a big letdown
MeToo
Apr 17 2013, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 17 2013, 02:14 PM) yeah man. how's ur truck hunting? go take a look at the colorado. i love its features albeit a bit bumpy ride. and the big con is that chevrolet has really bad reputation for after sale services and spare parts. lol. or we wait for new triton next year?  Colorado... outlook is almost as good if not better then Ranger for the muscleman "i'm tough" kinda look... The power seat adjustment, keyless entry is also a nice touch.... power delivery is pretty decent as well.. But like you mentioned, the brand image is not making it in Msia, not to mention the service/parts and second hand value would be dirt bottom... If only it has 4 airbags like the WildTrak.. that might clinch it for me... so... in a nut shell... my truck hunt is not going well.... the brightside is I sold my car alrdy and is currently saving $2000+ per month by driving my old car around
MeToo
Apr 17 2013, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 17 2013, 03:35 PM) 3.2 stock not coming in anymore la bro.. Even manager also dowan take order, if take your order kereta tak sampai u fook me Just checked again with boss, XLT Blue waiting around 6 months. If manual lagi cepat, around 2 months or less..  Sadding loorrrr....... i belanja your manager 1 starbuck a day for 2 year ok mou? I pay him upfront he buy the coffee himself la..  XLT Blue I need auto lah bro.... i been driving manual car for the last 20 years jor..... old man knee cannot take it anymore  Lai lai your branch mana... I drop by visit u kekeke
MeToo
Apr 17 2013, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(victor87 @ Apr 17 2013, 03:47 PM) Check your PM broooo ! Starbucks RM15.XX for Venti size, around RM5.7k per year bro. hahahahahahahaha.. Drop by what time? Close at 6pm.. I let u rape the car la  know... i calculated using RM15/starbucks jor.... so can kautim ma... WildTrak 3.2L lai lai
MeToo
Apr 17 2013, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 17 2013, 04:22 PM) why suddenly triton thread become bt-50 and wildtrak thread?  just serviced my triton. feels wonderful after service got free car wash + free car scent tree found out a new diesel fuel system cleaner. made in japan. rm 39.90. gonna try when my diesel havis later:  Eh sorry sorry hijack the thread tim http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.my/#/highlightsTriton VGT April bonanza... Rebate RM5500, 3+2 yr free maintenance!
MeToo
Apr 18 2013, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(gtmarc @ Apr 18 2013, 08:42 AM) Initially MMM & SC didn't want to because when we send in our cars, we'll sign the service waiver which releases all liability in case of any unfortunate events.Now after the blow out on facebook, they've confirmed that they'll repair at no cost but warranty period stays per original purchase date. Those waiver dont work. U pass the car to the SC, they assumed responsibility for the car, otherwise they can go roll every car down the mountain and hide behind the waiver. You go civil court they will lose their pants de. Anyway, repair at no cost also useless jor.... like pinjam your GF... bang a few times.. give back to u... alrdy no mood jor
MeToo
Apr 18 2013, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Apr 17 2013, 11:52 PM) haha we drift topic cos triton dun wanna come out soon enough. too old edi la in todays new term of family truck. but still the comfort and outlook doesnt age with time. haha Ya.... the design is since 2005? Wondering when if the new model coming out....
MeToo
Apr 24 2013, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(gtmarc @ Apr 24 2013, 09:55 AM) i've been only using esso/mobil/petron since day1; never had any issue plus my mileage have been good - average 750km on 50/50 city/hwy; if long distance travelling >800km no problem. my boss gonna issue shell card for me, that's y i'm worried bcos i've heard alot of bad cases on our tritons. Well do give us a comparison between Petron vs Shell after u started using it pls
MeToo
Jan 15 2014, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(ghost007 @ Jan 14 2014, 09:58 AM) Very hard to give review, with the euro 2 diesel, no black smoke no power. haha The VGT is definitely more powerful on slop hill road, I carry 800KGS load, when on Jangkat jering up hill road, this VGT really show off it power, oh yes, with 800 KGS , I did off road (up hill ), very power full. The VGT engine noise is lourder when compare with Hilux , Ford etc, no thanks to the euro 2 diesel, but I find that shell diesel makes lesser noise when compare with caltex or petronas.Funny u should mention this. Cause a little way back there were market shortage of euro 2.5 diesel, and hence certain companies have been bringing in and selling euro 4 instead. I hope to see this trend continue as the world phase out the crap euro 2/2.5 diesel
MeToo
Mar 25 2014, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(helzoo @ Mar 12 2014, 12:13 AM) hello, just want to ask is triton got central lock setting? how to lock the door automatically once you already in the car and start driving? sorry for newbie question. Actually... it all depends on the Etacs whether there is such a function/option. For example, Lancer have auto lock/unlock etc.... but Inspira doesnt have. So what my fren did was jack in and just enable the function and its done. Its as easy clicking an icon on screen. Soo.... IF Triton for other market such as Europe/Australia have the function, chances are its in the Etacs... but just not enabled for our market. Now my question will be..... anyone have any updates on the totally new 2014/15 Triton? This post has been edited by MeToo: Mar 25 2014, 12:39 PM
MeToo
Mar 26 2014, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Mar 26 2014, 02:42 AM) since there;s no navara thread ... seems i gotta ask here  i got a navara calibre 2WD 140 hp automatic ... which i drove for me is underpower I am thinking to chipped it, change to open pod filter, remove the catalytic converter ... now question if i tried to make it around 30% power torque increase would be happy if can get around 180hp at 400Nm torque will it produce more black smoke? will the engine & gearbox able to take it? izzit recommended to add a cooler for gearbox oil after chipped? PS: I also have a triton 3.2 at my home, just that i no longer touching it since my old man is driving it  Is... this... even.... possible?! 30% increase is HUGE based on the small amount of mods you are talkign about....
MeToo
Apr 15 2014, 02:09 PM
Any news on when the new 2014 Triton? Spyshot? Rumours?