Mitsubishi Triton 2.5/3.2 Turbo Club - Ver 2.0!, Stepping into the 4x4 world.

gtmarc
post Nov 21 2013, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(kevinycp @ Nov 20 2013, 08:42 PM)
Just came back from Hatyai. Went up to golf and fitted a rear bumper.

Mcc rear bumper with tow bar cum with tow ball only B14500. Installation free. If install here, lower grade bumper cost 1500 & tow bar 5-800.

Very satisfied, will be going up again in Jan to fit the front and maybe change tyres and rims.

Any recommendation of tyres size & rim size. Don't want to lift truck, just want to fit fat ass tyres, please advise size.
that's good price! the shops i went weren't so attractive....u went southern hills? how's the course?

maybe can join your next trip up?
gtmarc
post Dec 4 2013, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(wiraone @ Dec 4 2013, 10:54 AM)
My 6 yr old Triton needs a colour make over, what colour is the best? currently it is on black and I don't want to respray it with the same colour..  Is red looks okay? Thinking of going for those bright red or is it called heart red? It has the hard cover on the bed too.
just wondering how much and what do we need to give jpj to change color?
gtmarc
post Dec 4 2013, 02:56 PM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 4 2013, 12:54 PM)
good price
my original 245/65/17 bridgestone dueler HT lasted me 83,000KMs

just changed to 255/65/17 dueler HT (wk12, 2013) from a showroom Chevrolet Colorado - the salesman charged me only rm1,500!!
gtmarc
post Dec 6 2013, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(trouble_chegu @ Dec 4 2013, 02:59 PM)
Banyak untung la u..haha
nasib was intro-ed to right person at right time...
gtmarc
post Dec 6 2013, 08:59 AM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 4 2013, 12:53 PM)
but so far 245 seems to be better since it is less prone to aqua-planing (yes, i had several of those near miss sweat.gif even with 4wd h-mode engaged) and like you said, increase your fc
nao i just use 245 tyres.
i just change to 255/65/17 dueler HT; brand new tyres less than 500km...previously used 245; don;t know why but less confident on cornering during rain > could it be the extra 1cm width on each tyre or time to check my brake pads?
gtmarc
post Dec 16 2013, 04:14 PM

QUOTE(ghost007 @ Dec 13 2013, 02:14 PM)
I got my 245/65/17 Maxxis AT 700 @ RM 450 /pc
taiko, pls share where did you get this special price?
gtmarc
post Apr 17 2014, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Apr 17 2014, 02:35 PM)
RM 44/litre cheap?? wow, you guys must be printing money!
Agreed...I've used pakelo @$24/ltr which I find it quite good but have changed to repsol @$14/ltr; both brands change at 10k km. Just changed my batt (original manage to last 3.5yrs)....how about you guys?
gtmarc
post Aug 11 2014, 11:28 AM

Guys, my triton has finally hit 100,000km! Per our service booklet, it's recommended to do a major service which includes timing belt, water pump & other related stuff. Initial check with regular Shah Alam SC, advice to do this service between 100k-120k and the total cost is around rm3.5k

Any northern sifus here have service their triton in hatyai? Wonder this major service cost much lower there?
gtmarc
post Aug 12 2014, 03:30 PM

QUOTE(flex3x @ Aug 12 2014, 11:28 AM)
It's not recommended to change after 100k mileage, even the warranty said 100k, you should change it around 80k.
Some ppl say most of the normal aftermarket timing belt warranty is 80k, so you should change it around 60k smile.gif
Oh damn...I just passed 100k mark last week. Need to cover another 500km before I can send my triton in service.

How come SC advice to change between 100k-120k? I go to Shah Alam sc. Checked my service records - 80k did major service for diesel filter, axle & auto gear stuff; no belts.
gtmarc
post Aug 22 2014, 07:22 AM

Has anyone here kena any bad experience with Ipoh SC?
gtmarc
post Aug 24 2014, 12:04 AM

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Aug 22 2014, 09:26 PM)
Hilux timing belt rated 150k km. How bout triton?
Hilux is using timing chain (not belt); chain change usually recommended between 150-200k. Amazingly, my cuz's already running past 300k but not yet change before.

Triton on the other hand is still using timing belt. Unfortunately, I don't know the +ve & -ve of using timing belts.

Manage to get assurance from few experts that original belts are suppose to go upto 120k but manufacturers marked their warranty for max 100k due to harsh environment and to accommodate "heavy-footers".

Sifus, pls correct me if I'm wrong above.
gtmarc
post Oct 10 2014, 07:18 PM

QUOTE(boylkk @ Sep 26 2014, 03:04 AM)

Any VGT bros previously having oil leak at turbo charger housing but service center diagnosed as oil seepage so do nothing other then just cleaned it.

1st visit:
As I found out there was oil leak at my turbo charger housing, sent my VGT to service center, SC checked and diagnosed as oil seepage not leaking. SC cleaned and drained my engine oil to max level. SC said oil seepage was caused by overfill of engine oil.
2nd visit:
After I drove for around 300km, there was oil leak again. I drove back to SC and asked them why there was still oil leak at turbo charger housing. SC called up Mitsubishi technical again and those technical people still said was oil seepage not leaking. This time SC drained my engine oil till in between max and min level and asked me to monitor.
3rd visit:
After I drove for 700km, there was still oil leak again. I drove back to SC and called up Mitsubishi technical for the 3rd time. You know what. Those technical people still said was oil seepage and do nothing about it. I got frustrated and said to SC, you guys not giving me solution but giving me excuses. "How can you guys do nothing but just leave it as it is". SC said they can't claim turbo for me because Mitsubishi technical consider this oil seepage is normal and nothing wrong with turbo. I asked them a question, "Is every triton VGT having this oil seepage?" SC can't answer my question. It make sense that if this oil seepage is normal then 10 out of 10 VGTs should have this oil seepage at turbo charger housing. SC just kept quiet. I requested SC to check each and every VGT got this oil seepage or not but there was no VGT around that time. I demand for an answer and SC promised to confirm if there is VGT around later.

Here I ask any bro's VGT had this oil seepage issue before and what had you done.

Hey there,

I'm not sure whether this will help or not but I think I found something similar to your problem - it was put onto Triton Tuners Club Facebook page. See attaches pic.

Hope it helps.

gtmarc
post Oct 24 2014, 08:21 AM

QUOTE(boylkk @ Oct 12 2014, 12:38 AM)
Hi gtmarc,

The SA showed me the same technical bulletin as yours. This so call oil seepage happen on all triton and pajero not just with VGT variants. I and SA managed to check 1 triton and 1 pajero sport VGT with no traces of oil seepage at all. So I believe there must be something wrong with those having oil seepage or leakage at turbo charger.
Mitsubishi technical team will send its technician to have a check on my triton this coming Thursday. I'm going to throw a lot of question for this guy to answer if he still insists this is oil seepage and do nothing about it. I'll keep you guys updated.

Bro, so what happened?
gtmarc
post Jan 19 2015, 08:13 AM

QUOTE(twins_hy @ Jan 15 2015, 11:57 PM)
why 2015 triton? Any advantages than the 2014 one?
I personally prefer the looks of current triton but the 2015 version packs a nice new engine 2.4 mivec turbodiesel which will be better than current vgt.
gtmarc
post Jan 26 2015, 07:47 AM

QUOTE(twins_hy @ Jan 24 2015, 06:47 PM)
Is any9ne know the new model is using the 2.4 mivec engine ot not?
Bro, u repeated my question. Hehehe...luckily it is not
gtmarc
post Apr 10 2015, 04:58 PM

QUOTE(Tik-Tok @ Mar 21 2015, 01:32 AM)
Very helpful sharing..I am at Cheras area..driving a 4 years Triton..actually looking for a reliable SC to perform major service i.e. timing belt and change all the oil..can you let me know the name of the shop in Hatyai ?

Btw, is changing air refresher n oil refresher needed? Sorry for noobie..TQVM.. notworthy.gif
I did my major service ie. Timing belt and all at 100k mileage in ipoh sa last year. They did quite well I would say because it's already 6mths and everything is fine as usual.
gtmarc
post Aug 2 2016, 12:47 PM

I've been driving my Triton for more than 5-yrs; clocked more than 150k km.

Recently, I was hit at my right rear at approx. 70kmh (NSE hwy was wet after rain) and I spun; front driver side hitting the concrete divider. Fortunately, everyone in cabin are safe.

Even at that speed, the airbags did not come up. I did check online - my Triton was not listed the airbag-recall exercise. Even though I dare say I might have reduced the speed to 50kmh, the airbags should come up to prevent driver and/or front passenger from injuries. At what speed of a crash/hit that Triton airbags will come up?
gtmarc
post Aug 3 2016, 09:45 AM

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 2 2016, 01:06 PM)
Wow, better double check this. A quick google search indicated that it should deploy at frontal or near-frontal crashes of just 8-14mph or 8-28mph (Depending on which site you believe in).

http://www.theairbagblog.com/my-airbag-did...hat-went-wrong/ is a website that tells also why would it not deploy.

A good statement it mentioned that "it should deploy to prevent injuries ie neck/head/chest injuries". In other words, if it doesn't deploy and the passengers suffer those injuries, then the deployment is faulty. Therefore, the assumption for IF it doesn't deploy in a crash but NONE of the passengers suffer said injuries as well, then the NON-deployment is fine.

That's what I got.. because the airbag's function is to prevent ONLY those injuries ensured by the airbag company and if the passengers suffer injuries other than that in a crash, it is not related to the airbag/deployment/non-deployment. Therefore, my guess in your case was, maybe the detection system of the deployment deemed it unnecessary and therefore didn't deploy the airbag... thus every passenger in your car were safe (thank goodness).

Anyway, the latest recalls of the Takata airbag is not due to the system having faulty sensors relating to deployment/non deployment issue. The issue as I've read through is due to when it DOES deploy, fragments/shrapnel seem to explode out as well. Some even have issues of deployment timing which I heard is a BIG deal in the timing of crash-sensor-deploy-faceplant. This is important because a minute second of a difference in deployment can cause SEVERE injuries to the passenger cause the bag inflates IN YOUR FACE (like literally smashes your face) if the inflation timing is too quick/slow.
Thanks Dark Angel for the info.

The impact is at driver front-side; damage incl radiator broke, spotlight smashed, front bumper smashed & internal part of front headlamp all broken. That's why I'm very curious why didn't the airbag got deployed?!

I understand the recent airbag recall issue but what should be the best approach to check on why didn't the airbags got deployed? It's for safety of all Triton owners.
gtmarc
post Aug 3 2016, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 2 2016, 02:43 PM)
it will only deploy on frontal collision

local triton dun have side curtain airbags

pajero sport got (some version)
I would consider my hit to be "frontal collision".

0.0556sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:58 AM