hello, I am trying to get a scuba license in may at pulau perhentian or pulau redang. do you guys have any contact who can provide the course?
I am going alone by the way.
Travel Scuba Diving Thread V2, Come explore the underwater world!
Apr 22 2013, 10:03 AM
172 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hello, I am trying to get a scuba license in may at pulau perhentian or pulau redang. do you guys have any contact who can provide the course?
I am going alone by the way. |
Apr 22 2013, 10:06 AM
865 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Melaka/JB/Penang/PJ |
QUOTE(placenta @ Apr 22 2013, 10:03 AM) hello, I am trying to get a scuba license in may at pulau perhentian or pulau redang. do you guys have any contact who can provide the course? Depends on which location you are located and if you want to do fully at the island or theory in mainland and 4 exam dives on island.I am going alone by the way. Keep in mind going alone would normally include daily surcharge. |
Apr 22 2013, 10:29 AM
172 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 10:06 AM) Depends on which location you are located and if you want to do fully at the island or theory in mainland and 4 exam dives on island. I have no other options, my friends are not into the activity.Keep in mind going alone would normally include daily surcharge. I am thinking of having 4 days course at 1 of the islands. Any contact I can get from? and can you please comment on this? I only heard PADI before, never heard of SDI. SDI |
Apr 22 2013, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(placenta @ Apr 22 2013, 10:29 AM) I have no other options, my friends are not into the activity. There are a few different type of certification.. like PADI, SDI, NAWI and a lot more.. All teach u about the same things but it all depends on the instructor. SDI is normally cheaper than PADI.I am thinking of having 4 days course at 1 of the islands. Any contact I can get from? and can you please comment on this? I only heard PADI before, never heard of SDI. SDI just to warn you that doing everything on the island is tiring and u are not used to the water(surge and current) it might stress u out a little. As for recommending a place to do it all on island I am not too sure. Need Juniorkirk to help u. he is our "big boss" |
Apr 22 2013, 11:15 AM
564 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 12:47 AM) No la.. share experience only... i did my ow with diver den/ redang kalobg.. they will settle all my things so i waiting for them to call me go take my card.. usibg temporary card now.. haha Morning LYN divers wah.. so good. they settle for u? how come i need to post the form myself? kena con? |
Apr 22 2013, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:15 AM) Morning LYN divers hehe.. dun know.. but they fill in the form and everything for u already right?wah.. so good. they settle for u? how come i need to post the form myself? kena con? mine dun know how long they will take to get me the card.. havent receive email saying my card in process also.. |
Apr 22 2013, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 11:21 AM) hehe.. dun know.. but they fill in the form and everything for u already right? My instructor just filled up the part with his detail. i just filled up my portion only. after that he said we need to post it ourselves. mine dun know how long they will take to get me the card.. havent receive email saying my card in process also.. just need to pay Rm1.40 for the stamp. (added RM4 for registered post/ RM80 for Pos Laju It will take about 2 weeks to reach there. meanwhile, there is another form where we can donate certain amount(10 aud, 20 aud, 50 aud etc) in order to get special edition certified card (can help up the marine life) |
Apr 22 2013, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:29 AM) My instructor just filled up the part with his detail. i just filled up my portion only. after that he said we need to post it ourselves. Ohhh.. I didn't know about the special edition card.. Dam..just need to pay Rm1.40 for the stamp. (added RM4 for registered post/ RM80 for Pos Laju It will take about 2 weeks to reach there. meanwhile, there is another form where we can donate certain amount(10 aud, 20 aud, 50 aud etc) in order to get special edition certified card (can help up the marine life) Hahaha.. |
Apr 22 2013, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 11:30 AM) something like that.Project Aware Btw, how much cost you for the diving course package in Redang Kalong? |
Apr 22 2013, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:36 AM) something like that. I paid 1750 for course and additional 260 for extra 1day + 2 dives. Than because last day i was alone so got 80 surcharge.Project Aware Btw, how much cost you for the diving course package in Redang Kalong? But quite enjoyable and relaxing cos the beach there is empty |
Apr 22 2013, 11:53 AM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:29 AM) My instructor just filled up the part with his detail. i just filled up my portion only. after that he said we need to post it ourselves. hmm.. still using paper form?just need to pay Rm1.40 for the stamp. (added RM4 for registered post/ RM80 for Pos Laju It will take about 2 weeks to reach there. meanwhile, there is another form where we can donate certain amount(10 aud, 20 aud, 50 aud etc) in order to get special edition certified card (can help up the marine life) When I did my OW, the instructor just fill the form online, and upload the photos directly after I finish the course. Then I just need to wait 3-4 weeks until my card arrived at my home by post. It's the same when I took AOW, (idk if they do online or paper, but should be online I guess), then few weeks later the card arrived at my post box. |
Apr 22 2013, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 11:42 AM) I paid 1750 for course and additional 260 for extra 1day + 2 dives. Than because last day i was alone so got 80 surcharge. cool, if we didn't rush for flight, we would stay another day for extra dives. But quite enjoyable and relaxing cos the beach there is empty just find out most of the resorts squeeze in long beach. Kalong resort so isolated. ![]() |
Apr 22 2013, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(tantalus @ Apr 22 2013, 11:53 AM) hmm.. still using paper form? u did in Klang valley or Island? When I did my OW, the instructor just fill the form online, and upload the photos directly after I finish the course. Then I just need to wait 3-4 weeks until my card arrived at my home by post. It's the same when I took AOW, (idk if they do online or paper, but should be online I guess), then few weeks later the card arrived at my post box. |
Apr 22 2013, 12:03 PM
Apr 22 2013, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:53 AM) cool, if we didn't rush for flight, we would stay another day for extra dives. Yea.. so less crowd.. quite like the place.. but not that suitable for snorkeling cos there is lots of rocks..just find out most of the resorts squeeze in long beach. Kalong resort so isolated. ![]() |
Apr 22 2013, 12:12 PM
Apr 22 2013, 12:48 PM
869 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL |
Evan.... it's NAUI... not nawi.... SDI cheap.... but..... *shake head*
Apr 22 2013, 01:10 PM
32 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 10:41 AM) There are a few different type of certification.. like PADI, SDI, NAWI and a lot more.. All teach u about the same things but it all depends on the instructor. SDI is normally cheaper than PADI. Evan, dont put me on the table... i newbie only just to warn you that doing everything on the island is tiring and u are not used to the water(surge and current) it might stress u out a little. As for recommending a place to do it all on island I am not too sure. Need Juniorkirk to help u. he is our "big boss" QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:15 AM) Morning LYN divers If you took your course in the island, not they dont want to post for you, if they post, the certification card will be send to them, unless you want to pick it up again from island... wah.. so good. they settle for u? how come i need to post the form myself? kena con? QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 22 2013, 11:30 AM) Special edition card = donation to PADI |
Apr 22 2013, 01:18 PM
32 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(placenta @ Apr 22 2013, 10:03 AM) hello, I am trying to get a scuba license in may at pulau perhentian or pulau redang. do you guys have any contact who can provide the course? why not just let us know what do you have in your mind? eg where you want to go, when you want to go, who you want to go with, and how much you willing to pay. most of the dive center will have a group of students, if you want to go solo, you can book your own accommodation and take up the course in the island. I am going alone by the way. |
Apr 22 2013, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(devilkid84 @ Apr 22 2013, 12:12 PM) phi-phi island and Bali QUOTE(juniorkirk @ Apr 22 2013, 01:10 PM) Evan, dont put me on the table... i newbie only Can't they just register online? like mine they register it for me and then they send it directly to my addressIf you took your course in the island, not they dont want to post for you, if they post, the certification card will be send to them, unless you want to pick it up again from island... Special edition card = donation to PADI |
| Change to: | 0.0374sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:20 AM |