Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 08:28 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 7 2013, 03:15 AM)
Izzit me or I felt that Singapore food is not as nice as Malaysian food?

Like wan tan mee sad.gif
I normally eat the Hong Kong style wan ton mee, not those Singapore version which is pretty bland by the way.
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 08:44 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 7 2013, 08:30 AM)
On Average, Singapore food cannot beat Malaysian food....
but there are some good ones.
local food probably some lose out to Msia, but definitely not those dining restaurants.
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 08:58 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 7 2013, 08:48 AM)
Different palates. Wait til you try the Singaporean char koay teow hehe. Anyways for wan tan mee u can try those Pontian / Boon Tien noodles, those are quite gooding cos origin is from Malaysia
I still prefer HK style like those at Jade but now quite a lot of HK people migrated to Sg and setting up stalls at hawker centre. Try those. even better than Malaysia version.
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 12:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 7 2013, 12:40 PM)
Is it Ngee Fou? The corner shop that is at the end of that few blocks near Mandai Rd? On the opposite end is Prata Place?
you mean the Yong Taufu shop ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 03:03 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 7 2013, 12:40 PM)
Is it Ngee Fou? The corner shop that is at the end of that few blocks near Mandai Rd? On the opposite end is Prata Place?
QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 7 2013, 01:06 PM)
Ya, yong tau fu shop. Is that the one you reckon is good?
yeah, Mandai Road turn into Upper Thomson Road. It's at the end of the shop houses before turn into SLE. Got 2 rival shops side by side but the one at the end lot next to the Shell station is better.
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Apr 7 2013, 10:00 PM)
Wait till u try their peppery bak kut teh and their hokkien mee. The hokkien mee is like mee with brown sauce.
I luv the white pepper version very much. Well, I don't favor the Msia black version anyway, probably only eaten twice or trice so far.
Funny coz the last hokkien mee I tried at Kong Kee is pretty authentic like KL, even cook with charcoal fire. The thing is, do you know where to look for food ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:45 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 7 2013, 09:52 PM)

i tried their bakchormee. apa benda nie.
same lar. our vinegar pork leg. they also wanna vomit if they try that.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 7 2013, 10:47 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2013, 10:54 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 7 2013, 10:12 PM)
Try already. I would say its different culture. No right no wrong no good no bad. Only not used to it at first.
true. I found it disrespect to the host country when a foreigner extremely criticized about the way the local food is prepared instead of suiting his/her taste.
Mackiddo
post Apr 8 2013, 12:06 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Apr 7 2013, 11:34 PM)
http://www.shangri-la.com/singapore/shangr...rants/the-line/

just have dinner there, 15% for dbs

not neccesary cc, their ATM is debit card rite so u get the discount as well, not much but can offset the plus plus he he.. got more spread
The Line serves quite a good spread of buffet. Love their fresh oysters smile.gif . This place got a pretty good reviews. The only downside is probably the distance from MRT, quite a long walk up. oh, and they serve nice Laici Martini smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 8 2013, 12:12 AM
Mackiddo
post Apr 8 2013, 08:37 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 8 2013, 03:26 PM)
hi, im in tampines too!

oso not so sporty n not badminton kaki  sweat.gif
smtime go JB for fun, or just go park n meet ppl

Mackiddo, can join yum cha session n fb group oso ar?
gimme a couple of days, try to add you on FB. supposed to be Lester1987 in charge of FB and I take care of WhatsApp group chat. anyway I'll try to find out how to add. sad.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 8 2013, 08:09 PM)
sinkie also eat lah, I go sinkie full moon party everyone keep asking me to eat the ter kar
they still eat ter kar but the non-vinegar version. think only canto people in Sg only eat the vinegar version.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 8 2013, 08:38 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 8 2013, 08:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

anyone been to Pulau Ubin? thinking of going for a day visit on either Sunday or Monday. Just cycle around enjoy the greenery and settle for some seafood lunch.
Mackiddo
post Apr 9 2013, 04:06 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(hddglobal @ Apr 8 2013, 09:17 PM)
with a salary offered $1750... it is possible to survive with the living cost at singapore? pls advise
QUOTE(hddglobal @ Apr 9 2013, 01:12 AM)
a job at sbs transit...as a maintenance supervisor for rolling stock.... shift work...
I think $1750 a bit low for shift work. Any other allowances on top of that ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 9 2013, 04:11 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Apr 9 2013, 02:45 PM)
Are you guys been paid well there ? For example, if you are getting RM10K a month in Malaysia, do you get SDG10K a month there for the same kind of job and duties and responsibilities ? That's my question to you. Please answer truthfully.
never really had a 'proper' job in Msia before, just some temp jobs here and there before working in Sg. I'm totally clueless about the work cultures in Msia but judging from most of the postings here, guess Sg still have an advantage.
Mackiddo
post Apr 9 2013, 08:02 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 9 2013, 05:21 PM)
this 2 points are not valid. Singaporeans look at Malaysians as their brothers or sisters. to them , Malaysian is not that foreign. they only look down on PRC, Pinoy and Bangla.

work environment really depends, many of those here in this forum work less than what you have mentioned. Some even work only 8-12 days per month.  can ask Mackiddo to clarify this.
quite true. I have lots of Singaporean friends and also most of my colleagues are Singaporean. All of them are quite cool actually and nice to hang around with.
On the working > 12 hours. That's probably true. Me here work like kuli, S$1650/months. haizzz. must join alaskanbunny at Sushi Tei for better working schedule and environment.
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:13 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Apr 9 2013, 08:43 PM)
Yeah, some even go for badminton during normal working hours. Can ask Mackiddo to clarify this. rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 9 2013, 09:11 PM)
You haven't met some of the real elite people in singapore. Some of them have a level of work life balance that even those 35hr work week Europeans are envious of. Can check with MacKiddo for confirmation on this.
true. daily wage worker like me is like that. Got work then good. No work then no choice, find odd jobs. happy if can clock 40hours/week.
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:08 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

bought return air tix to KL thumbup.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:10 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Apr 10 2013, 12:07 PM)
Hi guys, just booked my SIA flight for the pooling day on 5 May....

quick guys!
fuuuuuuu SIA shocking.gif . kaya raya man. I only can afford budget cry.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:21 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

argiope Fiona Chin reign226

http://www.kualalumpurpost.net/bn-offers-f...sabahan-voters/

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 10 2013, 03:30 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:30 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(reengurl @ Apr 10 2013, 01:23 PM)
Anyone going back to Penang? sad.gif Flight kinda expensive
jitshiong ... but limited seats i think
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2013, 03:33 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 10 2013, 03:31 PM)
btw,where is the best shop (i.e: reliable no tipu2 n offer good price) to buy gadget (i.e laptop and prosumer camera)?
in general is SG with its GST can give better price than Msia?
Courts / Harvey Norman ?

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0583sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:21 PM