Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

JohnJon82
post Apr 3 2013, 11:54 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 3 2013, 11:48 AM)
Are we entitled to paid leave for election? in singapore
Don't think so, at least not for my office, my Thai colleague took annual leave to vote. Airasia website still having traffic jam for free seats next year. I heard AA will have promotion for election period.
JohnJon82
post Apr 3 2013, 11:40 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 3 2013, 11:17 PM)
i just got hired. on the spot.

tomorrow i will go provide them my passport, ic, white card and my degree cert.

funny they want a copy of my spm just to keep a copy?

also, i took the job because i don't want to do sales, but the job is so easy, i think all i do is sit in the office blow aircond only. hence, only $1.6k.

please guide me what to do next.

also very paranoid about the medical report now. scared kena reject. maybe i just think too much.

and i assume i will get work permit only, they won't be so nice gimme s pass right?

so.. how am i gonna get that PR sad.gif

i find that not having a PR status is rather hard for me to get a decent job.

for now i am just gonna rendam myself on this super easy job for maybe 6 months still i start go interviewing again?

please advice!
S Pass minimum 2k. You need a decent job to get a PR, not the other way round. Do the job that add value to yourself if possible bah. Don't waste youth by choosing a simple one.
JohnJon82
post Apr 3 2013, 11:52 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 3 2013, 11:42 PM)
my days are limited for the white card.

even sales won't even gimme 2k basic.

do sales can achieve target then get 2k+ does it count as eligible for PR?
I don't know about PR. For S Pass they looking at basic, I tried to apply EP for my site people, he can reach EP with OT but MOM say cannot, because OT is not fix. Same for commission etc. Anyway, don't stay too long at a comfortable job when you are young. Like a frog staying in a boiling water theory. Youth is a big asset that old guy don't have anymore cry.gif

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Apr 3 2013, 11:53 PM
JohnJon82
post Apr 4 2013, 03:31 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jinkinz @ Apr 4 2013, 03:22 PM)
isit hard to survive or to even save some $ with salary near 3k sgd in sg?
Can refer to the first page for the basic expenses in SG then plus minus according to your personal spending and lifestyle.
JohnJon82
post Apr 4 2013, 05:18 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 4 2013, 05:08 PM)
well, the appointment is full till august....5 months from now....insane...
eappointment is it the only way to make appointment? what if i am a computer noob? any tips to make appointment earlier?
Ask them switch back to the previous system, manually queue in front of ICA every morning for numbers.
JohnJon82
post Apr 4 2013, 05:20 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(RabbitS @ Apr 4 2013, 04:02 PM)
Me KK too, from dongongan.. Nice to meet you, which part of kk r u from?
Why so little? My bf working at sakae sushi can get $1.8k/month after OT.. U join him la
Donggongon town? Same place eh.
JohnJon82
post Apr 4 2013, 11:56 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 4 2013, 11:32 PM)
not his real family, his ttss family, lol. I still remember his a-levels welcome speech was like you are all our children, i am your father, and the teachers are your uncles and aunties! and don't even get me started on singing "I'M A PRE U MATE, IN A PRE U STATE" to the tune of Barbie Doll doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Problem is weather mang, either way you will be wet when reach office, either wet from sweat or wet from rain.
Forgot who is the principal when I in pre-u. Don't remember is him. He was my secondary school principal but I can't remember he having two posts. Maybe you are many years my senior. Good time.
JohnJon82
post Apr 7 2013, 11:09 PM

716 posts

Franchise fast food chain taste also got diff, KFC, McDonald. Prefer KFC in Malaysia, McDonald in SG.
JohnJon82
post Apr 8 2013, 09:10 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 8 2013, 08:40 PM)
anyone been to Pulau Ubin? thinking of going for a day visit on either Sunday or Monday. Just cycle around enjoy the greenery and settle for some seafood lunch.
Went there 5-6 years ago. Feel like normal kampung environment in Malaysia. Some small temples, dogs running around, wild boar, fruit trees. Few lakes formed by abandoned quarries and some small beaches. Dirt road but not hard to cycle around. A lot of mosquito and with the recent dengue fever so hot better bring repellent. The seafood is not good...

Can try Pengirang or Pengalang, Johor. Rent a bike from Changi then bring it to the boat. Seafood much nicer. Nothing much to see except one ostrich farm.
JohnJon82
post Apr 9 2013, 04:42 PM

716 posts

Any input on why choosing SG instead of other places like Aust, Japan, US, Europe where the money should be better than SG?
JohnJon82
post Apr 9 2013, 05:51 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 9 2013, 05:21 PM)
this 2 points are not valid. Singaporeans look at Malaysians as their brothers or sisters. to them , Malaysian is not that foreign. they only look down on PRC, Pinoy and Bangla.

work environment really depends, many of those here in this forum work less than what you have mentioned. Some even work only 8-12 days per month.  can ask Mackiddo to clarify this.
Last time they look at us differently to separate them from us. Now they are "invaded" by the new batch, so they kind of gang up with Malaysians because we are more similar to resist the so called threat. If everything can go back to normal, start the old way again. You can notice this trend in most things, politics, social circle, work space etc.

To foreigners we are very similar. But to local, Malaysian talk with a different slang, dress different, use different things. A fresh Malaysian can be easily noticeable. For Malaysians we are also different. Say if you are local PG, and u can tell which ppl, say KL, is not from PG. But a foreigner can't tell because they don't know the local culture. Those old one who are infected by local cultures are harder to be differentiate.
JohnJon82
post Apr 10 2013, 09:56 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 9 2013, 03:40 PM)
You all employ nanny or put at day care center? My nephew came last month thanks to the Suluk invasion, the temporary nanny we got is expensive, 2.5k for baby < 1 year old. They are coming back end of year for few months to renew their REP so I am looking out for nanny for nephew.
Can renew REP by working for few months only?
JohnJon82
post Apr 10 2013, 11:19 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 10 2013, 11:09 AM)
u r getting 120k a year now rite?
can't you get the same in Malaysia?

i know depending on industry it could be possible

my previous company paid a senior manager 60k/month. expat rate.

but if the company can afford that, i'm sure local with equivalent experience can demand at least half of it.
Depends on which location too I guess. I can't get my current pay in 1:1 ratio in my hometown. In KL still possible or with a higher ratio. When deciding to work here or MY, family become the main factor for MY. If any other place other than my hometown, I would rather stay here and fly back more often during the weekends.
JohnJon82
post Apr 10 2013, 12:16 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Apr 10 2013, 12:11 PM)
May 5th Sunday leh, they don't want the vote of the Christians?
JohnJon82
post Apr 10 2013, 01:39 PM

716 posts

Bought!!! Waiting for EC to jump out and announce they misread the date and announce another one to screw us up.
JohnJon82
post Apr 11 2013, 10:49 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Apr 11 2013, 10:11 PM)
Like ivanswk mentioned, those with kids, the expenses will be around there, esp with commitment back in MY. U cannot afford to downgrade so much when u have kids.

The only downgrade we had is no car as I was unemployed when came here. And of course no landed house anymore. Now I got job can consider those car with 2-3yrs Coe as replacement for taxi.

mules, hope you and your kid adapt soon and get a job later. Get those shop n save trolley for easier shopping. Bought during offer 12$. Very useful when hv kids to look also.

fionachin daycare for <18mth infant is $1.2k average, PCF & NTUC. >18mth toddler is half of that. Putting in daycare = more money to go clinics but extra time for u n partner. And good for the kid to be socially active.
Only SG citizen can own landed properties in the main island. Foreigners including PR can only buy Sentosa Cove. PR can buy strata landed properties in the main island but not so exclusive like Malaysia's one, something like cluster housing or landed housing inside a condo compound.
JohnJon82
post Apr 12 2013, 12:56 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Apr 12 2013, 12:15 PM)
Fiona, my daughter stop waking up at night for milk when turns 1. Ntuc n pcf is way better than those daycare in msia. Very clean n good teachers. Problem is when one kid sick but they parents had to send to daycare, others will get sick too. My daughter go childcare almost 6mth and she enjoyed it everyday cos friends n lots of activity
Think her nephew less than 1.

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Apr 12 2013, 12:56 PM
JohnJon82
post Apr 14 2013, 01:48 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(mysecondlove @ Apr 14 2013, 01:23 AM)
If work in Shenton Way, Singapore. Where is the best place to stay? My budget is below 500.
Shenton way rich man area. Have to stay far far away for budget below 500.
JohnJon82
post Apr 16 2013, 03:59 PM

716 posts

Construction labour here.
JohnJon82
post Apr 17 2013, 10:28 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 16 2013, 04:00 PM)
Where are you working?

Maybe we work together leh?
Small small company. Now waiting at dorm room for new project. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0557sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:41 PM