Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
JohnJon82
Mar 21 2013, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Mar 21 2013, 10:37 PM) Calling all tailos and sifus, izzit advisable for a mechanical engineer in construction line to go for a finance masters degree? Coz i think theres no point to go for a engineering masters degree. Any advice? Planning to switch industry, yes. If not, then 50-50. Master in engineering still got use, depend how you use it.
JohnJon82
Mar 21 2013, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(sleepyjoy @ Mar 21 2013, 10:45 PM) Hi, seeking advice from the experts here. Have been working in JB for 3 years now with current salary at RM3300. Might have a salary review end of this month. Last salary hike was RM300. Went for an interview for the same job in Singapore at a reputable but not doing so well company. The interviewers seem to like my skills and experience. I got a call from their HR the next day offering me a SGD3000 pay. The benefits are about the same as my JB company (except no more OT pay, but transport allowance of $20 if OT more than 2 hours). I plan to travel to and fro if I accept this job. Should I leave the current comfortable job for more learning, but most likely stressful experience in Singapore? Any advice would be much appreciated! =) My colleague has been doing that for nearly 2 years. He looks very tired everyday, but still do-able. Just rent a room and go home in the weekends, health more important.
JohnJon82
Mar 22 2013, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(T3N5AI @ Mar 21 2013, 11:40 PM) I actually think it lies with what are ur prospects after obtaining these 2 masters degrees. Engineering masters degree. Does construction engineering needs masters degree in engineering? How far will u go with a masters degree in engineering? Finance masters. I actually have no idea. It just came across my mind. It just seems that the finance industry somehow seem to overshine engineering degrees although in fact engineering requires more effort and time. Contemplating. How far you go depend on you lo... I don't know about mechanical engineering, but in civil there is one master that can help you in the future, when you want to get the professional license. For other case, I don't see it yet, maybe I haven't reach that level. In terms of ROI, engineering can never compare to finance one, too far out. If want money, don't stay in engineering. Other satisfaction maybe still ok.
JohnJon82
Mar 24 2013, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(realventis @ Mar 24 2013, 09:55 PM) Anyone can help me give some advice on going to JB from Woodlands? A) After i reach MRT station in Woodlands, are there bus from that MRT station? Are the Woodlands CIQ located nearby with the MRT station? B) if i wan to take bus, which bus i should take at Woodlands CIQ? Are there ticket counter for CW or SBS bus there? C) can you guys explain again what should be done when we reach immigration checkpoint? I read frm the forum that we need to be aware of something but I forget already where I read it ( alot of post in previous thread and have done alot of searches but unable to find it). Anyone can refreshed me what I need to do? Sorry for asking noob question. First time to travel to JB from SG. Hope to get feedback on this. Thanks!! A) Normally people stop at Kranji MRT, take CW or SBS from the MRT, most of the time there will be a queue already formed. Woodlands also can I think. CIQ is quite far from the Woodland MRT, you have to take bus. B) Any public bus also can reach JB custom, take the one you take to Woodland custom, cheaper that way. C) Just go through the normal passport clearance. Nothing special.
JohnJon82
Mar 25 2013, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 25 2013, 11:57 AM) Do you guys face difficulties trying to access MBB Malaysia from Singapore's internet connection? Bloody hell Maybank's website takes FOREVER to load. Encounter once, cannot even login. Recently ok, bought few AA tickets with MB2U last week.
JohnJon82
Mar 25 2013, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Mar 25 2013, 03:54 PM) I know, but I might have missed it. Anyway instead of replying ask me to refer first page, it wouldn't kill to post a yes or no followed with the advice to read first post. Thanks btw! No ppl know how you live. 1.5k some people enough, some not enough.
JohnJon82
Mar 25 2013, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(adieslave @ Mar 25 2013, 08:52 PM) hello guys..i just appointed as pavement inspector for fong consult pte ltd,anyone ever heard it?thats the company repair road and road construction..im now waiting work permit to be approve before heading to singapore  i will living in JB,got friends there..any tips or anything that i need to know kindly appreciated  They should be the consultant for the project. Since you representing them, your job should be to ensure the work done is according to their drawings and specifications. Be careful on site, fall, accidents etc. Drink more water weather very hot.
JohnJon82
Mar 26 2013, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 26 2013, 05:05 PM) malaysian but became citizen years ago la. really feel they very arrogant  i turned down a 1.6k job la. now searching for a new one. but i ask for 2k only. she thinks i asking for too much  is malaysian degree lower than sg poly grads? that's what she makes me feel  Normal ba, old ppl always compare their pay last time with your pay now. 1.6k last time alot already, maybe local degree pay. But they always forgot inflation lo, now 1.6k how to survive. Btw, 1.6k for what job if you don't mind to tell
JohnJon82
Mar 26 2013, 06:22 PM
QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 26 2013, 06:08 PM) just a Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Advertising  not enough to make the cut. Try to find those job with a requirement of degree. If minimum requirement is SPM, they only have budget for a SPM pay even you have big big cert.
JohnJon82
Mar 27 2013, 02:51 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 26 2013, 11:34 PM) go to sungai kadut industrial area... they hv a lot of warehouse sale for mattresses well, typical singaporeans... no offence.. instead take that as a challenge where did you grad from? actually sg poly grads are much better than most msian local uni grads... of course there're some exception wah poly win degree ah... sure or not QUOTE(xtylish @ Mar 27 2013, 01:35 AM) UTAR  UTAR not bad la, no need cry. Just keep finding  .
JohnJon82
Mar 27 2013, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 27 2013, 10:13 AM) Bah, my landlord said that due to personal reasons she needs to move back into the apartment after the end of our lease in July  Any of you have any experience engaging professional movers? Any idea of an indicative charge rate for moving an entire 3 bedroom apartment? Just exploring some options cos big items like the bed and etc can't really be moved by ourselves ...  Price have to get quote when they go and view the things to be moved in your unit. Depend on distance from old to new place, got lift access or not, how many box, how many bulky item like furniture, need them to help you pack or unpack or not. The guy will give quote for few packages. They will provide box for you to pack your small things. Ask for plastic wrap for your furniture to prevent scratches during transport.
JohnJon82
Mar 28 2013, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 28 2013, 02:25 PM) ^ avoid shipyard job at all cost Highest death number now is construction.
JohnJon82
Mar 28 2013, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 28 2013, 03:11 PM) boohooohooo... i'm in construction....  Me too Where is our high pay for the high risk job  ?
JohnJon82
Mar 30 2013, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(almeizer @ Mar 30 2013, 12:32 AM) Alert for those that smoke and bring cigarette going into Singapore, even 1 stick. http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=484...8&type=1&ref=nfDon't know what he did, but I used to bring in left over cigarette from Malaysia last time when I still smoking, took it out from pocket and place with on the tray with wallet and hand phone. Urban legend say that if the pack has been opened, the custom don't care you. Friend brought in a new pack, fine 200 sgd.
JohnJon82
Mar 31 2013, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 31 2013, 07:57 PM) Cool. UOB Sg's One Credit card now earns an additional 2% cash rebate on overseas spending on top of the normal 3.33% on $300, 800, 1500. Best of all, there is no minimum spend to qualify, meaning you always get 2% on overseas spending no matter what. That effectively makes overseas transactions a little bit more than free of the normal 1.5% forex surcharge/fee. There is however a cap of $5000 annual overseas spending, and the normal crappy bank TT forex rates apply. Now... if you buy something overseas and pay in S$, you basically get a straight 5.33% cash rebate... (assuming you spend the minimum spend on the 3.33% portion). O nice. But One card I always miss the target, 2 month can reach, 3rd month cannot then 3.33% boil soup, or get the lower level rebate. I using another one, not bad but got limit and condition, Stan chart Manhattan card, but have to pump above 3k then can get 5% rebate, but cap at 200 per quarter. Good if can swipe till around 4k one month for a quarter.
JohnJon82
Apr 2 2013, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 2 2013, 05:27 AM) I read page one again just now, I find it hard to keep my transportation fee below 60bucks. IZzit because I take too much mrt and bus? More than any average singaporean? Maybe only cost of transportation to work? 60 / 20 working day = 3 per day for return trip MRT/Bus, about there already.
JohnJon82
Apr 2 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 2 2013, 10:39 AM) true. Malaysian bring in 1 carton also they don't bother. maybe due to diplomatic immunities ? For one unopen pack, if they catch u, fine 200. For one carton, 2000, and some smuggling charges. They don't want you to resell the cigarette. Caught you smoking no SCDP wordings cigarette in SG, fine 200, issue summon. The argument the checkpoint custom let you pass cannot stand.
JohnJon82
Apr 2 2013, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 2 2013, 02:00 PM) nah. dhzh4x says can. let him bring all he wants. Then good luck to him lo. QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 2 2013, 03:28 PM) this is only applicable if you were caught smoking in public area. If you smoke in your company compound, before they fine me $200, i fine them 1st for trespassing. true story. O isit, now company more powerful than authority already? Good news then.
JohnJon82
Apr 2 2013, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(jungyu @ Apr 2 2013, 09:41 PM) hi guys, do we really need to submit last 6 months payslip when applying PR? I just got into my new company for 3 months, confirmed and would like to try for PR but I don't have my previous job payslip. Can I just submit 3 months payslip? (I mean I can but will the application be rejected without being reviewed?) Go ask your previous employer for the payslip or submit income tax IR8A form or slip, better than nothing.
JohnJon82
Apr 3 2013, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Apr 3 2013, 11:44 AM) so how many will be going back to vote? parliament has been dissolved. Waiting for the date with credit card and leave form at hand liao.