Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 14 2013, 12:43 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 14 2013, 12:39 AM)
go down 7-11 then go back home ah? lol
hmmm, you seem to know bangla style very well... you have met yeah4.1" already?

here can go mamak ma... tok kok sing song play ping pong ding ding dong.. kopitiam also can.. if too low class, then can go clubbing... if not go beach / bbq... so many things to do..

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 14 2013, 12:48 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 14 2013, 12:44 AM)
i stay in AMK how to go to the beach? i want to know also. lol
go lower peirce reservoir next to sicc ler... like go beach also rclxms.gif

u r here liao also didnt say hi doh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 14 2013, 12:56 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 14 2013, 12:52 AM)
you mean meet up?
yum cha, makan also can.. rclxms.gif pm our daikor maikido or lester1987

on and off we go gathering rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 14 2013, 01:12 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

nice song rclxms.gif

wonder where i can get the one wif the female vocals that's being played at ntuc all d time..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 14 2013, 08:51 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 14 2013, 01:16 AM)
sometimes i wonder, if singaporeans cannot speak a word of malay, do they know what is their national anthem is about? lol
i asked my sg fren, he says 'agak agak'... lol, ask him wats agak agak, he cant really explain... lol

QUOTE(mysecondlove @ Apr 14 2013, 04:22 AM)
any other area is below 500?
can try joo koon or pioneer... take green like to tj pagar
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 14 2013, 11:09 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ctrawberry @ Apr 14 2013, 10:30 PM)
Hey guys, I would like to seek for some advice. I am looking for a job in Singapore but I do not know what is the "correct" salary range that I am able to request for. Will brief my experience below and hope that anyone has any knowledge or friends working in the same, is able to advise.

I am working as a project manager in Malaysia with pay of 5k+.
Total working experience is 5 years where 4.5 years are PMO/business analyst related, and am a PM now for bout a year.

Hopefully someone knows and am able to provide me with a tip!
If anyone knows, please let me know if it is tough to get a PM job in Singapore?
Thanks for the help in advance~
QUOTE(ctrawberry @ Apr 14 2013, 10:50 PM)
PMO = Project Management Office and yes, PM stands for Project Manager. I manage software development projects. Scale wise, my current job is in-house not in vendor-line so scale size is only for company use (a telco company if that helps). Previous job, was involved in a global banking project but I was working as a business analyst not a PM (business analyst can be part of a PM's job depending on company)
Budget and pay are approved by stake holders or company management team. My scope is mainly on milestone delivery, time management and final test plus deliverable.
generally i would say with your experience around $3.5k-$7k.. do you have any paper qualification for PM? PMP? Prince2? wats your scale of project? highest budget involved?

also in sg most PM for IT is related to the banking, defense and ERP industry... for IT, i would say slightly tougher but it is something the gov is promoting.. i can observe it with the heavy subsidies on pmp courses for citizens & pr and also post grad dip for non-IT pm to switch to IT

would recommend you put $4k-5k

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 17 2013, 12:58 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ctrawberry @ Apr 14 2013, 11:43 PM)
No paper qualification yet. Am planning to take up PMP by this year. I have colleagues who are on the course now and company will only sponsor 1 person/every Q. So, am putting my bet on Q3 (fingers cross). Is it easier to secure a seat if I have PMP? If it does, I don't mind self-paying after all MDEC provides some refund for passing it. Highest budget involved in proj is bout RM400k.

Range $4k-5k is enough to cover my expected expenses and commitments in Malaysia~ at least that's good news.
And thanks a lot for your info!
good choice.. both msia and sg gov is providing heavy funding for that.. we have 3 ppl in this thread going for it soon including me.. well maybe IT projects dont have much budget because it is all into labour cost, i am into capital projects so budget involve usually higher amt

yeaps.. best is working related to the banking industry, if IT solutions provider make sure they are doing it for banks or oil n gas companies..

you're welcome... notworthy.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 17 2013, 10:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 17 2013, 11:29 AM)

i guess today is not a good day for many people. lol
eh, j.east was ok for me... d ibp bus queue was super long so i walk... under d drizzle

extra fun wif attached file on sg;

Attached File  When_in_Singapore__dress_like_a_Geisha__eat_Gangnam_Style.pdf ( 160.33k ) Number of downloads: 23

This post has been edited by alaskanbunny: Apr 17 2013, 10:32 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 18 2013, 08:12 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Apr 18 2013, 12:18 AM)
Anyone buying Gold in Singapore?

Gonna buy some gold tomorrow.
go mustafa, a lot of gold... rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 19 2013, 08:06 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Apr 18 2013, 11:05 PM)
Just wondering cause i am going back for holiday tomorrow.  What are the things you guys normally buy in Msia before coming back to Singapore?  I know milk powder is 70% more here,  any other things?

BTW, i am from ipoh too biggrin.gif
i think bread is cheaper in msia too, basically buy things which the main ingredients are subsidized by the gov..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 19 2013, 08:07 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

38% of Singapore's population will be senior citizens by 2050

But here is the good news.

By 2050, 38% of the population will be aged over 60. With a weightage of 6.1, just 0.5 away from Hong Kong SAR, Singapore is a potential market to explore for ageing business opportunities and turning social challenges to opportunities.

These are just some of the findings from the Ageing Asia Silver Economy Index where Singapore grabbed 3rd spot among 15 economies surveyed. The report showed a ranking of countries in Asia Pacific by market potential of ageing baby boomers.

Hong Kong SAR emerged in the top, followed by Australia in the second position. The survey used ’Per Capita Household Savings for aged over 60’, ’Growth rate of Household Savings’, ’Percentage of ageing population’ and ’Life Expectancy at birth’ as contributing factors.

Singapore has the highest GDP per capita PPP in Asia Pacific – US$60,900, and the third highest in the world.

The Singapore Government has also announced recently that a budget of US$400 million will be used to build 10 new nursing homes, 39 new Senior Care Centres and 56 new Senior Activity Centres by 2016 to support the needs of the local population1
Ms Janice Chia, Managing Director, Ageing Asia Pte Ltd, Singapore shared, “ageing in Asia Pacific will impact every sector of our economy. We need to start changing our mindsets and be more innovative about products and services that will attract spending power of ageing baby boomers, to enable them to age independently, healthily and with dignity.

Older adults in Asia-Pacific represent a US$3 Trillion market opportunity for healthcare, eldercare, financial products, education, wellness, real
estate, recreation, and more. For a start, we should stop using the term ‘silver tsunami’ and consider using ‘silver economic opportunity’”

http://sbr.com.sg/economy/news/38-singapor...r-citizens-2050
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 21 2013, 12:43 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 20 2013, 09:23 PM)
so my kind malaysian koliks are being kind enough to share how they plan for their future. from what i gather,

i should save at least $800 every month.

and then buy a property in Malaysia.

and buy  saving insurance,

because I don't have CPF (she said to cover my backside)

and it is definitely worth it to work in SG compared to KL.

I am still digesting and I couldn't see my future.

I know most elites here will laugh it off, but this i am just from a low paid freshgrad in SG from Malaysia.

I certainly cannot afford to buy any property or drive any car in SG. I am still searching for for a way to settle down psychically and mentally in SG.

is there anything else that i need to know or prepare myself for?
yeaps.. at least $800 is good..

dont buy savings aka life insurance in sg.. coz it is at least 30 years.. n u gotta pay non stop... meaning if u return to msia n earn rm, u still gotta pay it off which could be tough in difficult times... buy in msia is better, and since it covers death n critical illness only, if u mati in sg also nvm.. ur family still get the $$$

QUOTE(MiracleEverywhere @ Apr 20 2013, 11:44 PM)
Hi guys... if i tested for hiv and syphilis in malaysia bp healthcare... can i straight work in sg "found a job" without undergo their medical check up?
should ask zackvietkong he was also +ve for those 2, but somehow managed to work in sg before being transfered to vietnam... hmm , maybe thats the reason why he got transfered
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 21 2013, 07:26 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 21 2013, 12:46 AM)
read properly before you jumped into conclusion. He said he have 'tested for' not 'tested positive for' . Gosh, getting a Master and still can't read/understand simple english ?
just comforting him... rclxms.gif

master sushi chef rclxms.gif i hope get increment after that...

hayar, dunnit kecoh la... asalkan ubah thumbup.gif

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 21 2013, 01:35 AM)
yea. kolik also said buy both in malaysia.

but need to pay through TT. dunno what kind of agent is that.
usually got 4 main, life, hospitalization,medical and accident

life - usually 25-30 years, if u buy in sg u must be prepared to pay sgd for that period... highly recommended to be in msia

hospitalization - pr pretty well covered with cpf or + rider, here usually companies cover too but very little, i believe this is annually.. can take in sg, if u leave can cancel

medical - out patient, usually involve minor cost.. company will cover this part, dont need much.. this is also annually also i think

accident - usually not much and on annual basis, not needed unless u r driving or riding bike..

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 21 2013, 06:29 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 21 2013, 10:36 AM)
We will go back and vote who we think is suitable to be the next government. Not vote to your preference.
crony spotted blink.gif

QUOTE(reign226 @ Apr 21 2013, 05:03 PM)
No need to talk politics here la. Go to the right thread for the right discussion. Just keep this one open for discussions on working life in Sg. You can show your political ideologies elsewhere where you might be appreciated.
i agree, unless it is sg politics

QUOTE(iamgoodman @ Apr 21 2013, 05:51 PM)
hi, i have been working in SG for 3 years, and now planning to buy a weekend home in JB... I am already a PR thus i cant drive in to SG anymore.... not affordable to get a SG car as well.... you guys have any idea where is the safest and cheapest place nearby CIQ to park the car?

BTW, any new property launches in iskandar which you guys think is good for weekend home as well? thanks a lot...
well, weekend house better buy in bkt indah.. coz got bus there... if buy jb side, cannot reach by public transport

if iskandar, try http://dpristine.com/

pm me... we can discuss..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 21 2013, 08:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 21 2013, 08:33 PM)
I rather vote bulan than those MCA incompetents lol icon_idea.gif
mr.ts , please follow thread rules icon_idea.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 22 2013, 08:27 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(iamgoodman @ Apr 21 2013, 11:39 PM)
it really looks like most of them focusing on second link... i am working in yishun, going thru the first link is better option for me.... today i passed by the paragon suites site, damn... its damn near, just opposite the CIQ...... cant see any potential properties nearby first link besides this...

while for second link, i aim for bkt indah as i only familiar with this area... i will keep an eye on those nusa now...

causeway - danga bay

2nd link, medini or bkt indah.. if want cheap, can go for surrounding bkt indah but no transportation

QUOTE(fongwan @ Apr 22 2013, 06:44 AM)
Tailo, want to ask you all.

1) Our Medical insurance in Malaysia does it cover? If not should i cancelled it and hopefully get get something back?
2) Life insurance should i maintain?
3) Open a bank account deposit how much ?
4) Open a postpaid line, any deposit. how much?
5) Saw those bundle thing from singtel and starhub for broadband and tv program thing. Anyway using that ? Got advice on those? Also need deposit or any installation fee?
6) Any other misc fee which people like me going to start work in Singapore?
Need to calculate all the cost to see whether first month need to just eat bread for the month or can eat maggie mee.

Thank you
1) ask ur agent, whether it covers
2) yes, or all that u had paid will be gone
3) $1000, estimated.. some dont need, ask ur hr
4) ep dont need, s-pass sometimes, wp yes... gotta ask d provider
5) yes, all got but it is bundled, can think about this later
6) bring at least $4k for peace of mind
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 22 2013, 04:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 22 2013, 08:44 AM)
Hi all SIFUs,

This might be same old question again but i need to ask:
Is it advisable for a person like me work < 2 years in SG to apply PR?
If not when should i apply? after work here > 2 years?
yeaps... should apply after the 1st year.. since it is free.. all u need is to waste some time to go submit your doc

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:12 AM)
I also brought 5k first time I come here, gone in one month  cry.gif .
If you are saving 20% of your pay, or 1k if your pay is more than 5k, then the CPF contribution should not be significant for you. Consider it as saving for your future home here and a 15-16% pay increment from your employer that you can't use yet.
i brought $200+ only... got caught at 2nd link for unopened ciggi cry.gif that time didnt know... kena $200 fine, and my bus left... since i was stuck, i took cab to my aunt's house at bishan all the way from 2nd link customs.. and i had to ask my auntie to pay for my cab cry.gif my 1st day in sg for job.. so sad cry.gif so grateful to my auntie as she loaned me $$$ for 3 months thumbup.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 22 2013, 05:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Apr 22 2013, 05:18 PM)
I know the application is free, just need to value every concern afterward. CPF contribution, take home pay. 5% might not be alot for some of you, but it is alot for me, trying to project my financial for the next few year. Since i already 1 years++ here, must have saving if not i am fail working here. biggrin.gif
yea.. actually considering pr benefits cut so much, if you dont plan to stay long term but want it for job stability, better think twice..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 23 2013, 07:00 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 22 2013, 09:18 PM)
this is so true.
compare to other country, i feel that sg elderly is the most pathetic.
look at how they work, do cleaning, kopi kia, mcdonalds.
they doesnt seem enjoy their work.
the are not 'aging graciously'.

When i go other country, for e.g in china, the old people go park in the morning, do taichi n dance, then go market talk2 with seller, go home cooking, slep, go back park play mahjong, sing and dance together till evening, go back home watch tv with big family.
looking at them i so envy, shocking.gif  feel want to retire asap.

but when i see old people in sg. alamak!  i will buy anti-aging pill and pause my age. whistling.gif
coz gov practices -ve income tax... if earn below certain amount gov give u $$$, if u dont work at all, gov wont give u anything... so they take the easiest task and make little so they can benefit from the topup hmm.gif

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Apr 23 2013, 05:06 PM)
Either you are well overpaid or really under spent. 80% or more saving is a rare figure.
for his position n jobscope not overpaid... but for his age and current commitments he has lots of balance..

he's under 30, making 5 figures already.. thumbup.gif we must all strive to be like him notworthy.gif

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 24 2013, 01:32 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 23 2013, 08:29 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

my basic nowhere 10k/month la
i saw what u did thar.... after allowance nod.gif >10k

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top