5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 25 2013, 10:08 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(adamisme101 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:16 PM)
Any budget backpackers hotel to recommend around Novena????
use agoda rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Apr 25 2013, 09:41 PM)
u have to believe that as long as u keep moving forward, u will be better than others. This is what keep me going.

At 1st i'm so paiseh that I'm elder than my coursemates 4yrs during my college time. But i never give up. That's y i continue studied and completed my degree. My life is way better than the time i am only holding a stpm certificate.  nod.gif

fyi, during my college life, my coursemates treat me as their big brother  nod.gif
did u manage to fish any mei meis? brows.gif

QUOTE(xtylish @ Apr 25 2013, 09:44 PM)
i regret i gave up IT and went for advertising instead. i really din expect myself to end up like this.
life is a journey... it is not the end yet rclxms.gif work hard and have fun laugh.gif more goodies to look forward to thumbup.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 25 2013, 10:12 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(gseed87 @ Apr 25 2013, 10:09 PM)
guys, i wan to buy a desktop computer. Any recommend computer shop at sg??
buy from msia bring over? can ask jbklester87's services...

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 25 2013, 10:29 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Apr 25 2013, 10:12 PM)
yea, i like your "life is a journey"  thumbup.gif
i know i am just a sushi chef now.. hopefully one day i can be like my idol icon_rolleyes.gif i believe in sg if u work hard u will make it.. thumbup.gif

SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 25 2013, 11:23 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Apr 25 2013, 10:47 PM)
no only in sg... if u work hard, u will make it regardless where u are...

bro, u are a sushi chef ah? mind to share where r u working?  laugh.gif
nopez, some countries no matter how hard u work, u wont be able to make it because the system keeps u in place

sakae lor.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Apr 25 2013, 10:55 PM)
you also can do part time before your mind start to deplete on whatever you have learnt in degree

if not because of my job requires to travel monthly, i would have done a part time master in engineering and attending weekends lectures.
because of the travelling uncertainty or ad-hoc, i only can do distance learning part time for now after nearly 9 years out from uni.
no harm... life is a journey.. dont keep comparing yourself with others, set goals within your reach and have small wins thumbup.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 26 2013, 08:23 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 26 2013, 01:45 AM)
when someone is already having a 'victimized mindset', his/her doors are shut. Everything will be injusticed to them. From pay, race, religion, nationality and even family. You are absolutely right about packing up and leave.
are you using reverse psychology? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 27 2013, 12:49 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Apr 26 2013, 03:50 PM)
I am above 30 and armed only with a weak STPM cert.  All my experience in corporate sales and banking sales are irrelevant here.

I am thinking to furthering my study to increase my chance in this paper country.  Anyone of you doing part time studying? Can you link me up?  In Malaysia we have wawasan open Uni and most local college have part time course.  Anything similar in Singapore?

thks
doing some professional development course funded by wda, personal grooming and baking... finished sushi making as it is most relevant to my job now

try wsq / ntuc / ida

QUOTE(HenDa @ Apr 26 2013, 10:08 PM)
Fresh meat report in smile.gif
joining the force on June
welcum to d club rclxm9.gif dont forget pm mackiodo & deodotant for group chat thumbup.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 27 2013, 09:15 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(mules @ Apr 27 2013, 08:44 AM)
try wsq / ntuc / ida
rclxms.gif  that 3 keywords is what i am looking for.  tq
there're many smaller self help and gov subsidized organizations too.. like chinese chamber of commerce, or ntu confucius institute or nus nicf

happy hunting ^^
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 27 2013, 10:30 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 27 2013, 11:13 AM)
You aren in F&B, should know shatec
heard b4... but company didnt recommend it b4 hmm.gif

QUOTE(Fujixerox @ Apr 27 2013, 06:26 PM)
need advice here. how is the construction industry in singapore now. is it easy to look for a job as a construction manager or project manager? how is the working environment and working hour there? stressful? how is the pay?

thanks.
yes, but it is currently stuck to gov projects and infrastructure as well... some industrial projects are going on but concentrated at jurong side... private housing tumbling, while public housing lack of labourers..

QUOTE(mysecondlove @ Apr 27 2013, 08:31 PM)
I will be work in tanjong pagar.
I am looking for a single room which nearby any green line lrt~
Anyone got lubang?
my friend is looking for one too.. pm me

QUOTE(zirconium @ Apr 27 2013, 10:01 PM)
Got selected for a job there. However, there's another interview to attend on 2nd May.

Joining the workforce in SG soon biggrin.gif
congrats... rclxms.gif how come got d job still have to attend inte rclxms.gif interview?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 29 2013, 10:43 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 29 2013, 08:09 AM)
when she apply in jan still fiancee not yet merrid mah so i say fiancee lor
still trying to cover ur tracks like a singaporean.. doh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 30 2013, 08:14 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

i wanna get PR too cry.gif but they say wp cant.. sad.gif

10 things I love about being a Singaporean PR

I recently became a Singaporean PR and to celebrate I thought I would recount the top ten things I love about being a Singaporean PR:

1. Doing business in Singapore. People take you more seriously and appear to give you more respect for committing yourself to the country. Whether they are Singaporean or expat, PR’s are treated like an honorary citizen rather than a fly by night who may leave the country as soon as the next employment opportunity comes along. It does make a difference, especially to Singaporeans who I think feel pride that someone has chosen their country as their home permanently.

2. Being welcomed as a citizen. The difference between being an EP holder and a PR is immense in the eyes of the community. Whereas before it was all rules, regulations and warnings now it’s all “come and meet your local MP”, “come to your community events”, “be part of Singapore and your views are welcome”. I resisted the chance of meeting the former PM who is my local MP to let him know all of my views but maybe in the future! Nonetheless it’s nice to be asked!

3. CPF. CPF is an amazing and ingenious invention, one that every country in the world should follow. It has effectively created property millionaires across the island of people who could never be a millionaire in any other country simply by that old fashioned way, saving. CPF is the main reason why Singapore could buy the UK’s debt many times over and still have change.

The UK has National Insurance but the resident doesn’t get it or get to choose what is done with it. Singapore allows you to be responsible for your own medical bills, education and property investment by insisting that you save. Simple. Not rocket science.

Why should my tax pay for someone who smokes or drinks or takes drugs or those self-inflicted drug/drink fueled fights that fill the hospital wards of the UK every Friday, Saturday, Thursday--in fact every night of the week? If CPF happened in the UK all the thugs, druggies and smokers would pretty soon go bankrupt and the NHS would be making money not costing billions every year.

4. You can start your own business by yourself without aid of anyone else or another Singaporean. Singapore is already a very entrepreneurial environment to start your own company for foreigners and locals alike but being PR makes it even easier. There are less rules and regulations and more advantages of being an entrepreneurial PR over the array of other passes that can be issued to foreigners that enable them to also start their own business. It’s just easier.

5. You only have to wait two years to become a Singaporean citizen. For those of us who have escaped the weather (seasons are overrated in my view, especially when they merge into one and it’s not the sunny one) and economies of the west, Singapore is a dream to live in.

The chance to become a Singaporean by serving time as a PR is a golden opportunity to give more back to the country that has given so much to me is one that I won’t hesitate to give up. Yes even though it means giving up being English. I never felt very English anyway. Newcastle (where I am from) is effectively a separate state of the UK, a bit like Catalunya in Spain but without the great football team.

6. You can buy all kinds of property not just those advertised as “for foreigners” and your kids get allocated more places in state schools than if you were merely an EP holder. You can also gain the same discounts and benefits as Singaporeans when it comes to services such as insurance. Being PR really does save you money and increase your choice of products and services.

7. I have noticed that when I complain now (which I do occasionally) about something to do with poor service, as I have done recently with RWS, I am treated differently when I let them know that I am a PR. I think it’s the fact that you are showing long term commitment to the country and therefore may be back at that restaurant/hotel/retail outlet in the future that makes a commercial difference to the organisation that you’re complaining about.

They may also be worried about you influencing a greater selection of people than you would otherwise have done if you were only an EP holder and had a smaller circle of friends/acquaintances and less long term influence on social networks and in the real world. In the case of RWS I received a full refund for example. Complaining to businesses when you need to does work in Singapore. Reputation is key in such a compact and socially active community. RWS went up in my estimation for doing dealing with my complaint quickly and efficiently.

8. You can get a job easier as effectively you are treated as a Singaporean. All those jobs that say “Singaporean and PR only apply” suddenly become available. Employers in general look more favourably on PR’s due to the perceived commitment to the country and because there is no applying to MOM needed.

In fact MOM becomes a distant memory as the ICA takes over your registration, transferring you from temporary to permanent. Employers like the no hassle employment of people that will be around a long time and are committed to the country rather than having to worry about the length of EP or whether they will in fact get an EP after an exhaustive interview process and have to start again.

9. You never feel like you’re going to have to leave the country! When you’re an EP holder you are always concerned that at some point if you lost your job you would have 30 days to leave the country or find another job double quick. Whereas being PR means you know you’re staying as long as you can afford to!

10. Ultimately being a Singaporean PR makes me feel like Singapore is my home. It may take longer than it did to be accepted as a PR but it’s worth the wait. I am extremely proud of becoming a Singaporean PR. Next step citizenship! hmm.gif

http://sbr.com.sg/media-marketing/commenta...-singaporean-pr
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 1 2013, 11:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 1 2013, 06:55 PM)
Happy Labour Day to everyone here...
Yesterday, I've received a call from sg company! 1st question, they ask my status of employment in sg! I replied "I'm a foreigner"... The HR straight away asked my expected salary!... And, she said it is very high expected, their offer salary range is from 1.8K- 2K SGD!.... I straight away replied, I'm not interested to ur job & hang up the phone!!!... Hello, I feel like she is insulting my 5 years working experience, knowledge and qualification!... They shortlisted me because I've relevant working experience that can be fit their job task well.... Just becuase I've no sg working experience they wanted to pull down my salary range same to freshgraduate diploma holder from sg polytechnic??? Usually, 2K SGD offer is for those who's fresh graduate from sg polytechnic with diploma holder and no experience at all... Unfair... Unfair.....
may i know ur experience and qualification?

QUOTE(monsterseeker90 @ May 1 2013, 10:35 PM)
hello, may i know what is salary range for a fresh graduate electronics engineer ? thank you.
1.6k-4.2k notworthy.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2013, 08:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 12:57 AM)
I got quite many unimates are working in SG as well...
timing very important.. now sg gov is cutting places
QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 01:28 AM)
I read newspaper reported only those NUS & NTU medicine & lawyer freshgraduated with no exp can get 3.0K-3.5K SGD salary!....Others fields of study all below 3.0K SGD!... 
Must be d stupid HR la... Who fault??? Where got ppl tend to offer a freshgraduate salary to experience ppl? If they think they cannot offer the applicant expected salary then better don't select la...
sientang says you are only worth as much as what people offer..
QUOTE(fongwan @ May 2 2013, 12:11 PM)
All Sifu,

My wife is trying to find a job in SG since I will be working there. Already trying to look and apply for some job online but anyone know whether your company is hiring as well?

She doesn't have degree just diploma in LCCI but she has been working as a HR Executive for almost 12-13 year.  So i would say she should be more easy to look for HR and Admin line right?

Please advice. Thank you.
may i know wats LCCI?

SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2013, 08:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(glo0my @ May 2 2013, 02:21 PM)
hi, anyone know what is the average wages for a Malaysian fresh degree holder in IT industry (Programmer)?
$1.5-5k
QUOTE(xwen90 @ May 2 2013, 03:48 PM)
dear all....
i'll be graduating in oct this year..was wondering should i go to singapore and work wihout any strong working experience in malaysia or work malaysia for ard 3~4 years then only go to singapore.. well my plan is to work learn then start business.. if i end up go to sg i wil start business ther too..u all think possible?

P/s : i dont have strong family background.. so consider me starting from zero.. i'm doing marketing course btw.. =)

Any comment will be welcome..i'm open for all ..XD
work first irregardless msia or sg.. think about business later when u have capital
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 2 2013, 05:03 PM)
It is hard to enter any mid tier acc firm in SG?
for fresh junior audit associate position
nope, not hard... depending on individual especially qualification..
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 3 2013, 07:55 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ May 2 2013, 09:41 PM)
5k for fresh graduate?  blink.gif
oh.. this 1 in the defense industry, that was the pay of freshies doing customization for f-15&16s in mindef, foreigners can enter instead try 3rd party contractors like thales, bae, eads... etc etc

QUOTE(Zenith Lim @ May 2 2013, 09:57 PM)
hey all, anyone in accounting or audit field here?
from what I understand from my friends who are working there, it's somewhere around 2.5 to 2.8 for a freshgrad but none of them is in the same field as me.
Can anyone let me know the normal salary range for it, I only have a year working experience though.
Thanks smile.gif
actually 2.6k was the package for big4 auditors correct for the last 3 years... with encashment of cpf, total around 2.8-2.9k but no bonus...

you can say around 1.6-3.5k

QUOTE(ZombieLand @ May 2 2013, 10:07 PM)
Hi, can anyone enlighten me how much is the starting salary for fresh graduate (first degree) in s'pore banking industry? Just high level estimation...
1.8k-4k

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 3 2013, 01:09 AM)
Thanks for the info
Trying my luck on those RSM, GTT, Baker tilly, since i know i am hard to join big4's with my degree result which is not first class.

hope can joining you all at there,  icon_idea.gif
all the best rclxms.gif

QUOTE(fongwan @ May 3 2013, 06:18 AM)
LCCI is type of account cert that is what i understand. Any account sifu can help out here? icon_question.gif
hmm, doesnt seem like a academic cert.. i think it is like a cert issued by wsq in sg.. hmm.gif mayb at CAT level?
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 4 2013, 12:30 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(fongwan @ May 3 2013, 02:38 PM)
Haha thanks for the tips. Actually mainly is the movie i want to bring over to watch . All those drama download haven't got time to watch. blush.gif Also at least something for mywife to watch before she can find a job.

Another silly question, i know the speed in SG are fast. How about download, can we download or PPS. Coz don't think i can afford to keep going to theather.
Anyway can share on this ? whistling.gif
own consumption yes u can

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 4 2013, 12:19 AM)
It's possible your company underpays you, and/or has intentionally depressed your wages because you are a foreigner. Then you process resumes and organize interviews and notice a pattern of your company lowballing freshies and those with minimal job experience. Now here's your problem - based on this limited data set, you've extrapolated and assumed that your observations hold true for the rest of Singapore as well.

In a crude marketing analogy, you have a product for which all the surveys, focus groups, etc was done in an old folks home, you built your product's features around those surveys/focus groups, and launched it to the general public. Would you be surprised if the general public then panned your product?

Similarly the 'general public' in this thread is hostile because you're sprouting advice, facts and figures as if they are from the MOM itself; whereas many other people who've worked here much longer feel otherwise.

Just FYI, there are quite a bunch of elites here, MacKiddo, Fiona Chin, seantang, keelim, these four off the back of my head are young execs pulling in huge figures that dwarf your "2.5k for 4 years experience" claims.
i think u had left out toughnut, eric8kmin, supremealliedcommander, although not all work in banks, their pay are high too..
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 4 2013, 08:07 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

to those already back.. glad u r safe

those going back.. have a safe trip

to those that wont be going back.. pls eat pop corn and enjoy the show
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 6 2013, 02:44 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

sad sad day for all msians... do work hard and try to get a pr.. you will never know when you would need to go one step further...

safe trip to all...

hidup rakyat!
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 7 2013, 12:40 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 6 2013, 09:02 AM)
Hidup! Work harder to get SC.
keeping the form from ICA.. still too early, there's still hope in msia...

QUOTE(keelim @ May 6 2013, 02:47 PM)
On the surface, it is a very polarized result. MCA is irrelevant now with less than 5% seat in Federal (even MIC has more). CSL has openly declared that MCA is not interested in any ministerial post (I doubt Liow and Wee will agree). Given that there is no Chinese representative in BN (well there isn’t one to begin with), the most pragmatic way is to form a Malay Msian. Couldn’t see any better plans to divert the attention of corruption than using racial polarization to garner more racial votes. Now that the data seems to suggest the Chinese are congregating, its worrisome.

On Pakatan, DSAI is already 65 y.o. He is probably the only unified figure to pull the fairly fragmented coalition; together. I browsed through PKR list of potentials, and unfortunately only Izzah and Rafizi who may be too young to lead (grey hair bias). Azmin is very much disliked in PR. It will be an uphill battle for the young generation; in a game where the referee (SPR) is against you. Utterly disappointed in how constitutional rights are being manipulated to the advantage of a party through votes rigging; buying; misuse of public funds. With more states in BN’s hand, I wonder how much land will be transfer below cost to UMNO-related-Co and using insider info to make high returns.
LGE for PM!

anyway.. i had a great trip this time.. so much more than the previous GE and bersih.. went to ceramah and managed to talk to both my mp and adun... we spent time together during vote counting too... the atmosphere was awesome, so much more exciting than fball match of foreign clubs visiting msia..

another reason to feel happy about is... there're singaporeans supporting injustice in msia too
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 7 2013, 10:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 7 2013, 08:57 AM)
Najib had sworn as Prime Minister already. Hopefully opposition still can pull out something, i still love my country even after GE13
country n gov is diff... country will always be in our heart.. the gov? they can piss off and rot in hell

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 7 2013, 09:56 AM)
hi guys,

i'm not familiar with oz to be honest but if there's prospect to move to oz with slightly better package, will you go?

i'm comparing dollar per dollar as the conversion rate around 1.23:1 and tax rate in oz around 20-25% for the package. So equal out, package value about the same in sgd.

from what I heard from my friends working in oz, rental and expenses are much more expensive.
dont forget work-lfie balance in aus is extremely good

QUOTE(light traveler @ May 7 2013, 09:04 PM)
hello. been here for 2 months + now. smile.gif
come join us rclxms.gif pm makiddo or dodorant
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 7 2013, 11:10 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Danielle Lav @ May 7 2013, 10:51 PM)
Guys, any news that there will be black rally in Singapore tomorrow? Where ah?

over liao.. in feb

https://www.google.com/webhp?source=search_...iw=1920&bih=909

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0572sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:29 AM