17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

How about DELL @ Penang ?, Anyone working in it ???

SUSDavid83
post Aug 29 2006, 08:46 PM

52,874 posts

Guess that your application at Agilent won't be a success. I think you need to put that aside. Sorry to say so ...

Regarding technical questions on database, you might need to read up some basic commands on SQL.
Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:50 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2006, 08:46 PM)
Guess that your application at Agilent won't be a success. I think you need to put that aside. Sorry to say so ...

Regarding technical questions on database, you might need to read up some basic commands on SQL.
Its ok, at least I tried tongue.gif

Hmmm basic SQL i should be ok, but I'm more worry about questions regarding DB configurations and also hardware related questions sweat.gif
SUSDavid83
post Aug 29 2006, 08:54 PM

52,874 posts

They may ask you basic concept of database; distributed database, parallel processing, transactions, E-R diagram, bla bla.

DB configuration might not be asked as it varies on which DBMS the company used; Oracle, Access, IBM DB2 and etc. I think they might ask you on database model, database development life cycle over software development life cycle and bla bla.
Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:58 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2006, 08:54 PM)
They may ask you basic concept of database; distributed database, parallel processing, transactions, E-R diagram, bla bla.

DB configuration might not be asked as it varies on which DBMS the company used; Oracle, Access, IBM DB2 and etc. I think they might ask you on database model, database development life cycle over software development life cycle and bla bla.
Thanks for the tips David smile.gif

Guess I need to do my homework during Merdeka day tongue.gif
SUSDavid83
post Aug 29 2006, 09:01 PM

52,874 posts

You're welcome ... of course, you need to do some reading as I guess that you won't be remember much even though you did such subject.
say_it
post Aug 30 2006, 11:04 AM

521 posts

Do they tell you the scope of that Database Analyst position? Base on what I know last time they do have data analyst and database developer. Now thier data analyst change name to reporting analyst, since this post is more toward format report and analysis stuff.

For database developer it is kinda like a DBA, u should know most of the thing regarding to the DB. Below is the job description from dell website.

-Administer, maintain and design Oracle or MS SQL databases.
- Develop and design complex stored procedures, triggers,
loaders, DTS packages, and implement extraction logic
- Responsible for performance, reliability, security of database,
database monitoring and tuning.
- Provide technical assistance in identifying, evaluating,
and developing systems and procedures as related to IT.
- Develop technical solutions with the development team

From my experience SQL syntax is slightly vary from diffrent DB that you're working with. I have working with Oracle, MSSQL and MySQL before. smile.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 31 2006, 12:28 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Aug 30 2006, 11:04 AM)
Do they tell you the scope of that Database Analyst position? Base on what I know last time they do have data analyst and database developer. Now thier data analyst change name to reporting analyst, since this post is more toward format report and analysis stuff.

For database developer it is kinda like a DBA, u should know most of the thing regarding to the DB. Below is the job description from dell website.

-Administer, maintain and design Oracle or MS SQL databases.
- Develop and design complex stored procedures, triggers,
  loaders, DTS packages, and implement extraction logic
- Responsible for performance, reliability, security of database,
  database monitoring and tuning.
- Provide technical assistance in identifying, evaluating,
  and developing systems and procedures as related to IT.
- Develop technical solutions with the development team

From my experience SQL syntax is slightly vary from diffrent DB that you're working with. I have working with Oracle, MSSQL and MySQL before.  smile.gif

Nop they didn't tell me anything about the job when I asked the caller. She just tell me to come for interview and they will brief me regarding the job scope and responsibilities. sweat.gif

By the way, thanks for telling me about the JD for Data Analyst and Database Developer.

So you work in Dell too?
SUSvkeong
post Sep 5 2006, 01:14 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

I can say that some SA in Dell.. really dunno what are they doing here, knowledge limited and unsure with their work, yet get such high salaries dry.gif

If one day they lose their job here, I can say that they will find it very difficult to find jobs in other companies
lms2005
post Sep 5 2006, 01:41 PM

1,270 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Sep 5 2006, 01:14 PM)
I can say that some SA in Dell.. really dunno what are they doing here, knowledge limited and unsure with their work, yet get such high salaries dry.gif

If one day they lose their job here, I can say that they will find it very difficult to find jobs in other companies
yaloh i know many thing but low salary laugh.gif tongue.gif
silentdrum
post Sep 5 2006, 02:11 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Sep 5 2006, 01:14 PM)

yup ...i agree with u ...coz in Dell so called System Analyst ...should changed the position name to called "system support" ...if not mistaken ..."SA" in dell are jus involved in supporting existing system and not take part in design or develop the system .... seems like mis-used of the position name "system analysts".... whistling.gif whistling.gif doh.gif
SUSvkeong
post Sep 5 2006, 02:59 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

no lah, their job is

1. receive bugs from user
2. arrange them nicely in excel sheets
3. assign to u

when you ask them about the bugs

their answers are "ar? is it? dunno wor" "you go study yourself la i am busy"

dry.gif
silentdrum
post Sep 5 2006, 03:24 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Sep 5 2006, 02:59 PM)
no lah, their job is

1. receive bugs from user
2. arrange them nicely in excel sheets
3. assign to u

when you ask them about the bugs

their answers are "ar? is it? dunno wor" "you go study yourself la i am busy"

dry.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

if like that ...definately is HELL for developer..... sweat.gif
SUSvkeong
post Sep 5 2006, 03:38 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(silentdrum @ Sep 5 2006, 03:24 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

if like that ...definately is HELL for developer..... sweat.gif
ain't it so sad.gif

developers are those who know most, and yet lowest paid laugh.gif
silentdrum
post Sep 5 2006, 04:32 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Sep 5 2006, 03:38 PM)
ain't it so sad.gif

developers are those who know most, and yet lowest paid laugh.gif
what language n database u work on in dell ???
last time i heard from fren they are planing to upgrade a dell system called ADAM to SQL2005 or oracle .....hehehhe ...gud luck to u bro ..if u are working in that system .... whistling.gif
SUSvkeong
post Sep 5 2006, 05:00 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(silentdrum @ Sep 5 2006, 04:32 PM)
what language n database u work on in dell ???
last time i heard from fren they are planing to upgrade a dell system called ADAM to SQL2005 or oracle .....hehehhe ...gud luck to u bro ..if u are working in that system .... whistling.gif
wahahaa, i am doing that damned ADAM vmad.gif doh.gif

ya.. migration to C# and oracle/sql2005 is on its way.. dunno when la.. rclxub.gif
Mowgli
post Sep 6 2006, 03:20 AM

1,865 posts

does dell have job opportunities for Accounting freshies? lol...
silentdrum
post Sep 6 2006, 09:39 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Sep 5 2006, 05:00 PM)
wahahaa, i am doing that damned ADAM  vmad.gif  doh.gif

ya.. migration to C# and oracle/sql2005 is on its way.. dunno when la..  rclxub.gif
u doing this ?? hmm ..then u get low paid ?? err ....ur low pay is how low wor ???
below 3k ???

btw...are u fresh grad or exp ?? sweat.gif
if fresh grad ..then definately cant complain more loh ....take it as learning exp ..
if u are experienced ...and getting low pay ..i suggest .....hehhe whistling.gif u know loh ...
alvincks
post Sep 14 2006, 10:23 PM

1,499 posts

anyone working in dell cyberjaya ? how is it ? is dell a good environment company ?
aku_ker
post Sep 15 2006, 12:04 PM

438 posts

hi, need some help here, i got an interview with dell this Sunday as system analyst, do your guys know what kind of question they maybe asking, really in a blur right now, any tips will do, thanks.
swanchew
post Sep 22 2006, 04:23 AM

463 posts

To enter dell? You need some one inside to recommended you the easier way. Else it will be hard unless they need urgent ppl. I agree dell paid low salary among the MNC company and a lot of pressure if you work in customer care, sales or technical support. Because their turn over is very high. Interview time, just smile a lot and remember to do some case study or review for your job that you apply.

Tips: How to get upgrade your position there very fast. Work there 1 yr then leave to another company work for 1/2 yr then go back apply again. If you lucky then your position upgrade very fast tongue.gif

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:26 AM