How about DELL @ Penang ?, Anyone working in it ???

Shinichi
post May 15 2006, 11:23 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(cuttiey @ Apr 4 2006, 11:56 AM)
Did any forumer working in the Penang's DELL company ???
is that good ? if compare with those Intel, Motorolla, Agilent ???
how is the salary ?? I just get the phone interview from Dell yesterday, waiting for the 2nd interview...
any comment ?
thank you ..
Hi, may I know what they asked you in the phone interview? My friend just help me handed in my resume and he ask to expect call from them.

Shinichi
post May 15 2006, 11:25 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(colour @ Apr 5 2006, 04:40 PM)
Last few weeks I have a phone interview conference with DELL Penang and  DELL Texas. Questions more to technical. Then suddenly today got a call from them for the face to face interview on next two week, with their Senior IT Manager.

B4 going to the interview I need to know the working environment there, is it OK? What question that they always ask or any tips for me for the interview especially with DELL.
Hi, may I know what technical questions they asked you during the phone interview?

And whats the job title you are applying for?

Shinichi
post May 18 2006, 10:54 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(colour @ May 18 2006, 01:43 AM)
I apply for Wintel Systems Engineer but in the offer letter stated IT Engineer.

Technical questions that they ask just a basic Windows questions, such as:
- what protocol involved in PING function?
- question on ipconfig command, tracert command etc
- what the standard port for Microsoft SQL?
- how the clustering work?
- where to set the virtual memory setting?
- load balancing questions..
- etc (cannot remember already)
Oic. Thanks for your reply. My friend help me apply for the position of "IT Application Support Analyst" which means that I will need to do shift work if I do get the job. But till now I still yet to get any phone call from Dell. Normally how long do it took for them to call you after your resume being sent in?

QUOTE(babybiter @ May 18 2006, 01:59 AM)
job's pretty good here. those working on positions with shift work and/or OT will find that their salary can go up to almost 50% more at the end of the mth.
yes, most of the time, u really have to work ur @$$ off, but at least dell really compensate their staff on that.

congrats to those coming into IT. IT has damn a lot of lenglui new hires lately. hahaha.
Wow, leng lui tongue.gif Good to hear that. What job post you're working as? How much they are offering you? Just curious.
Shinichi
post May 20 2006, 12:29 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(KLKS @ May 20 2006, 12:17 AM)
the girls in dell are quite pretty smile.gif. phone inteviews are just to gauge your knoledge on the subject, to see if u know ur stuff. the dont look for correct answers (but dun la try to bsh*t your way) but how you answer or approach the question/problem.

if they really like u and ur really good, for 2nd interview they will gao dim ur expenses to penang, for me they flew me down to penang with MAS airlines. i was like oO when i saw the ticket price. lolz

the technology which i will be working with is pretty top notch, and the hardware they provide us is also very very good.

color ya its normal, i also got the same thing biggrin.gif IT Engineer I
Thanks for your reply regarding the phone interview smile.gif

Wow, cant believe they pay you to come for their 2nd interview tongue.gif

Shinichi
post Jun 26 2006, 09:09 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi, want to know normally how much to Dell pay for fresh grads for the position of Software Engineer?

Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:18 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Hi all, got a call from Dell today and they ask me to go for interview for the position of Database Analyst. Am curious why they direct call me and ask me for interview instead of phone interview first?
Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:32 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2006, 08:22 PM)
Perhaps different department has different kind of administration style. tongue.gif
Hmmm now I'm more worry for this coming Friday's interview. As I'm not really good in database thingy sweat.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:41 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2006, 08:33 PM)
I thought you have been hired already ... sleep.gif
Nop, I'm still working at my current company. And still no news from Agilent yet sweat.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:50 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2006, 08:46 PM)
Guess that your application at Agilent won't be a success. I think you need to put that aside. Sorry to say so ...

Regarding technical questions on database, you might need to read up some basic commands on SQL.
Its ok, at least I tried tongue.gif

Hmmm basic SQL i should be ok, but I'm more worry about questions regarding DB configurations and also hardware related questions sweat.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 29 2006, 08:58 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 29 2006, 08:54 PM)
They may ask you basic concept of database; distributed database, parallel processing, transactions, E-R diagram, bla bla.

DB configuration might not be asked as it varies on which DBMS the company used; Oracle, Access, IBM DB2 and etc. I think they might ask you on database model, database development life cycle over software development life cycle and bla bla.
Thanks for the tips David smile.gif

Guess I need to do my homework during Merdeka day tongue.gif
Shinichi
post Aug 31 2006, 12:28 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(say_it @ Aug 30 2006, 11:04 AM)
Do they tell you the scope of that Database Analyst position? Base on what I know last time they do have data analyst and database developer. Now thier data analyst change name to reporting analyst, since this post is more toward format report and analysis stuff.

For database developer it is kinda like a DBA, u should know most of the thing regarding to the DB. Below is the job description from dell website.

-Administer, maintain and design Oracle or MS SQL databases.
- Develop and design complex stored procedures, triggers,
  loaders, DTS packages, and implement extraction logic
- Responsible for performance, reliability, security of database,
  database monitoring and tuning.
- Provide technical assistance in identifying, evaluating,
  and developing systems and procedures as related to IT.
- Develop technical solutions with the development team

From my experience SQL syntax is slightly vary from diffrent DB that you're working with. I have working with Oracle, MSSQL and MySQL before.  smile.gif

Nop they didn't tell me anything about the job when I asked the caller. She just tell me to come for interview and they will brief me regarding the job scope and responsibilities. sweat.gif

By the way, thanks for telling me about the JD for Data Analyst and Database Developer.

So you work in Dell too?

0.0228sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:45 AM