37 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Car seat recommendation, Discussion about car seat

post May 30 2014, 01:45 AM

1,003 posts

For my newborn, I use the isofix since he's rear facing and for the 3YO, its isofix plus a top tether. Both are easy to fix and move from car to car. But I'm lazy, so I have 2 in each car we use often.

Isofix removes the need for me to get in the car, put both knees on the seat to belt the seat tightly. Also removes the need to clip the belt so it doesn't move. I broke my fingers before and trying to really belt the seats to the car is a pain.
hanishoney
post May 30 2014, 09:49 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ May 30 2014, 01:45 AM)
Isofix removes the need for me to get in the car, put both knees on the seat to belt the seat tightly.
Not all carseats remove the need to put pressure on the seat to tighten the Isofix belt. What I remember is that Combi Coccoro still must and so does Diono Radian. My understanding is that if there's a belt involved, whether seat belt or Isofix belt, you have to put pressure on the seat. Always read the carseat manual for installation instructions carefully.
post May 30 2014, 10:11 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ May 30 2014, 09:49 AM)
Not all carseats remove the need to put pressure on the seat to tighten the Isofix belt. What I remember is that Combi Coccoro still must and so does Diono Radian. My understanding is that if there's a belt involved, whether seat belt or Isofix belt, you have to put pressure on the seat. Always read the carseat manual for installation instructions carefully.
Yes, but not as much problem or hassle as doing 2 things at once. Kneel on the seat and attempt to reach over with the belt buckle and the receiver to click the 2 together. Very fiddly. When you remove the seats to accommodate adults and then want to put them back in, the pre-adjustments on the isofix make it as simple as locate the seat, kneel or put some pressure to ensure it stays put and is able to reach the isofix clips on it, click in, and pull to ensure its all secure.

With belts......you miss the sweet spot when clipping the belt, go right back doing the same thing over.

This post has been edited by 6216: May 30 2014, 10:14 AM
sueyee23
post May 30 2014, 10:15 AM

19 posts

anyway even with car seat I dun think it is right to let ur baby to place at the front seat especially car with air b ag right?
hanishoney
post May 30 2014, 10:23 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(sueyee23 @ May 30 2014, 10:15 AM)
anyway even with car seat I dun think it is right to let ur baby to place at the front seat especially car with air b ag right?
Airbag WILL KILL a baby in a rear-facing infant seat. DO NOT PUT ANY REAR-FACING CHILDSEAT ON A FRONT SEAT WITH AIRBAG.

It is SAFER to put children at the back, IF there are seatbelts. If there are no seatbelts at the back, then baby is safer strapped into an age-correct childseat that is strapped into whatever seat that has a seatbelt.

That being said, ANYONE who is NOT belted can injure everyone else in the same car during an accident. So everyone should buckle up, not just to protect themselves, but to protect each other.

This post has been edited by hanishoney: May 30 2014, 10:24 AM
sueyee23
post May 30 2014, 10:28 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ May 30 2014, 10:23 AM)
Airbag WILL KILL a baby in a rear-facing infant seat. DO NOT PUT ANY REAR-FACING CHILDSEAT ON A FRONT SEAT WITH AIRBAG.

It is SAFER to put children at the back, IF there are seatbelts. If there are no seatbelts at the back, then baby is safer strapped into an age-correct childseat that is strapped into whatever seat that has a seatbelt.

That being said, ANYONE who is NOT belted can injure everyone else in the same car during an accident. So everyone should buckle up, not just to protect themselves, but to protect each other.
thanks for ur infor... cause i used to see my MIL put the baby seat in front.. I had warn her.. she sound like ignore... really worry to let her taking car of my baby
hanishoney
post May 30 2014, 10:32 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(sueyee23 @ May 30 2014, 10:28 AM)
thanks for ur infor... cause i used to see my MIL put the baby seat in front.. I had warn her.. she sound like ignore... really worry to let her taking car of my baby
Can google for YouTube videos on airbag vs carseat and show your MIL. Very horrific.
post May 30 2014, 10:41 AM

1,003 posts

The best place for the baby is always at the back, even if you're the only adult in the car and driving. My 13 year old son was in seats from the day we brought him out of DEMC and only stopped his booster when he was 12 and getting almost as tall as me. And he still sits at the back....hahaha...

When either of us had to drive him to the sitters, we'd put him on the left side at the back. That way we can still keep an eye out and when the seat is then turned forward facing, we can look at each other through the child mirror.

If popo wants to take him out, he won't go. No seat. So poor popo has to take the spare. Kesian dia.
sueyee23
post May 30 2014, 11:20 AM

19 posts

some times is old lady really stubborn... but since this is her grand child... she dun really know how to take care.... just dun like her to take care my baby... and it is hard tell her this and that..... i am thinking to bring my baby less to meet my MIL...
pflakes
post Jun 23 2014, 10:58 PM

30 posts

For baby less than a year old, position their seats at the back facing rear as their neck is still not built up yet.
My family and I was very fortunate to have survived the accident last 2 weeks in kesas when a cement truck hit us from behind. The impact was so great that our car spin. My 5 mths old was strapped at the car seat during that time rear facing at the back and came out without injury. Never ever take safety for granted especially babies and children. Many ppl are ignorance and thought that investing baby seat is a cost as well occupying the space unnecessarily. If u can afford, invest one. I am so glad that I did that and it saves my baby life.

This post has been edited by pflakes: Jun 23 2014, 10:59 PM
rabloo
post Jun 24 2014, 11:16 AM

319 posts

Hi. I am currently using Maxi Cosi cabriofix and my baby tends to drool (a lot) when placed in the seat. Any idea why this happens?
Does anybody know whether the front passenger airbag in Myvi 1.5 can be turned off? Thanks!
hanishoney
post Jun 24 2014, 11:28 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(pflakes @ Jun 23 2014, 10:58 PM)
For baby less than a year old, position their seats at the back facing rear as their neck is still not built up yet.
My family and I was very fortunate to have survived the accident last 2 weeks in kesas when a cement truck hit us from behind. The impact was so great that our car spin. My 5 mths old was strapped at the car seat during that time rear facing at the back and came out without injury. Never ever take safety for granted especially babies and children. Many ppl are ignorance and thought that investing baby seat is a cost as well occupying the space unnecessarily. If u can afford, invest one. I am so glad that I did that and it saves my baby life.
Glad your baby is safe! Make sure to replace your carseat yah. Carseats are only one-accident use only.
hanishoney
post Jun 24 2014, 11:49 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(rabloo @ Jun 24 2014, 11:16 AM)
Hi. I am currently using Maxi Cosi cabriofix and my baby tends to drool (a lot) when placed in the seat. Any idea why this happens?
Does anybody know whether the front passenger airbag in Myvi 1.5 can be turned off? Thanks!
Maybe you could take a picture so we can see how the seat is installed?

Also, safest place to put your baby is at the back. Please don't put in front.
periwater
post Jun 24 2014, 05:08 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(pflakes @ Jun 23 2014, 10:58 PM)
Thanks for sharing, glad to know that all is well. rclxms.gif
periwater
post Jun 24 2014, 05:20 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jun 24 2014, 11:28 AM)
Glad your baby is safe! Make sure to replace your carseat yah. Carseats are only one-accident use only.
Agreed, must replace the car seat after one accident.

For those who are buying pre-loved car seat, please remember to check on whether the car seat is accident free. Also every car seat has an expiry date, if I'm not mistaken it's five years from the manufacturing date. The parts which made of plastic might not lasts after expiry date.
hanishoney
post Jun 24 2014, 05:36 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Jun 24 2014, 05:20 PM)
Agreed, must replace the car seat after one accident.

For those who are buying pre-loved car seat, please remember to check on whether the car seat is accident free. Also every car seat has an expiry date, if I'm not mistaken it's five years from the manufacturing date. The parts which made of plastic might not lasts after expiry date.
Different carseats have different expiry dates, though yes, every carseat has an expiry date. Can read the manual to determine the expiry date, or google [name of carseat] expiry date.
rabloo
post Jun 25 2014, 09:53 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jun 24 2014, 11:49 AM)
Maybe you could take a picture so we can see how the seat is installed?

Also, safest place to put your baby is at the back. Please don't put in front.
Hi, I am pretty sure that the position of the car seat is corect as I watched a number of instruction videos and read different versions of user guides. I am just concerned that this might have got something to do with the position of the baby herself.
Thanks for the advice. Really wish that the front passenger airbag can be turned off easily like some other car models.
hanishoney
post Jun 25 2014, 12:16 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(rabloo @ Jun 25 2014, 09:53 AM)
Hi, I am pretty sure that the position of the car seat is corect as I watched a number of instruction videos and read different versions of user guides. I am just concerned that this might have got something to do with the position of the baby herself.
Thanks for the advice. Really wish that the front passenger airbag can be turned off easily like some other car models.
Take a picture of how baby is positioned in the seat?

Even if you could turn off the front passenger airbag, it is still safer to put baby at the back. If you are driving alone with baby, it is best to always pull over to attend to baby instead of attending to baby while driving, which is NOT safe. When driving, your full focus should be on driving so that you get where you're going safely. It takes only a second for an accident to happen.

I tell you this as a mama who drives alone with her baby everywhere. My baby sits at the back, and I plan frequent stops along my route to check on my baby. But if you're really uneasy, you could install a carseat mirror, so you can take a glimpse of your baby while driving. But again, must be careful to make sure your main focus is on driving!
ttwong22
post Jun 25 2014, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(tammy @ Feb 28 2013, 11:38 AM)
I am looking for carseat currently for my newborn baby....I wanted to get those which is for 0-3years old one. Any brands recomend?

- maxi-cosi
- Britax
- combi
- fisher price
................................etc
Let's discuss!!!!
Combi is a good choice as i m using it. But if u need start from newborn to around 3-4 years,then u may consider combi malgott S.

Please refer below Link:

http://www.tinytoes.info/pd-combi-malgott-s.cfm

Or another brand is cybex Pallas 2fix. But this seat only start 9months onward...........

http://www.tinytoes.info/pd-cybex-pallas-2-fix.cfm

Feel free contact me if need more details.

Thank you. rclxms.gif
rabloo
post Jun 26 2014, 10:40 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(hanishoney @ Jun 25 2014, 12:16 PM)
Take a picture of how baby is positioned in the seat?

Even if you could turn off the front passenger airbag, it is still safer to put baby at the back. If you are driving alone with baby, it is best to always pull over to attend to baby instead of attending to baby while driving, which is NOT safe. When driving, your full focus should be on driving so that you get where you're going safely. It takes only a second for an accident to happen.

I tell you this as a mama who drives alone with her baby everywhere. My baby sits at the back, and I plan frequent stops along my route to check on my baby. But if you're really uneasy, you could install a carseat mirror, so you can take a glimpse of your baby while driving. But again, must be careful to make sure your main focus is on driving!
Thanks for the advice! I shall take note and act accordingly. Glad that in this day and age where negligence is rampant, there are parents who take great care and attention on their child's safety and well being.

P/S: Was planning to take the picture today, but suddenly a public holiday was announced..so the baby is going nowhere today thumbup.gif

37 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:54 AM