5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V7

maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 10:01 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Mar 4 2013, 09:53 PM)
Thread move so fast today... and today is a MONDAY!!  shocking.gif

Alot of people was talking about modular buildings, my advice is that if you are not willing to be poisoned and later spend kau kau to build up your "town", then better don't start modular buildings. Building a modular building is very different compared to say a city set or friends set. A city set might have 800 to 900 pieces but a modular can have 2000+ pieces. Then the interior is fully bricked up and each floor is detailed. Once you build something as big as a modular you will never want to buy any of those small sets anymore.

My modular journey started with this 2.

Then got the Pet Shop and Fire Brigade

Then the Town hall with a little MOC joined the group

Till I finally ended up with a corner lot when I decided to MOC my Olivia's house and Heartlake vet with parts I bought from LLM. Yes, I need a bigger table to take all of them again when the palace cinema comes along  icon_question.gif

I am not planning to buy or bricklink the cafe corner and market street because it is too expensive to do so. Besides there are many more modulars to buy in the future. Not to mentioned haunted house, ackham asylum I have yet to buy.

I was at TRU 1U today to check out the Lego selection there. While there is new stock like Hobbit and Superheroes I have some comments:-
1) TRU cut a hole near the bar code to insert an anti-theft tag
2) Some boxes got no ALJ sticker... I think still from ALJ but since rushing to restock maybe no time to add sticker.
3) TRU's Lego shelf is only 50% occupied. The other side got non-Lego stuff and even the Classic AT-AT from Hasbro  doh.gif
4) Got Series 9, but kena picit-picit-picit until no more hot stuff.
awesome view of the modular! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 10:31 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(dr_zoidberg @ Mar 5 2013, 10:22 AM)
Hello,

I'm a long time collector of Lego. Just last year I happened to inherit my cousins' entire Lego city. The buildings were bought in 1984-1993 and it's pretty complete with the police stations, fire brigades and the such. There is even a car workshop and the original Octan petrol station (1992).

I'm only waiting for the Ninja Turtles set to be sold in here. Love that combination. smile.gif
welcome! spam pics please! biggrin.gif

some of the forumer do sell the TMNT sets
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 10:53 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 4 2013, 04:49 PM)
where do you buy those lighting, equipment etc for this?
QUOTE(rayz2003 @ Mar 4 2013, 05:08 PM)
led strip can be bought in those lighting shop. and cable i use those old phone cable or lan cable. (cut off the head, and you will found inside got alot color cables like green, yellow, red, black, so should be enough)

get those solder equipment at hardware shop lo.

and off course you need a little bit of electricity knowledge to keep yourself in one piece.  tongue.gif
found this LED strip in Daiso..can be use to light up the modular? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by maxilife1: Mar 5 2013, 10:57 AM
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 11:18 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 5 2013, 11:08 AM)
which daiso?

QUOTE(FreakyRookie)
Finally found get my S9 loose minifig from CHAUD...thanks a lot ya...

thanks again biggrin.gif
daiso aeon equine biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 12:00 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 5 2013, 11:22 AM)
but wont the wires be too messy?
messy at the back or inside the modular i think..but good to light them up for display especially during night time..

thats my opinion..i dont have any modular.. biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 02:23 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(oscar7 @ Mar 5 2013, 01:32 PM)
Guys, new in this Lego thing, addicted cause of shell goodies biggrin.gif

my first pic here

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
welcome! nice shot..careful thought that maybe the wind will blow ur hulk away tongue.gif

so ur into superheroes theme? biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 02:48 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Ultraman the great @ Mar 5 2013, 02:33 PM)
aiyah thought your AA is community pricing... wink.gif

talking about community service, a friend of mine offered to get the haunted house for me <750. Is this a good price?  sweat.gif
Haunted house <RM750 is really a good price indeed! Zenstore selling at RM899..go for it! biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 04:26 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Mar 5 2013, 04:16 PM)
Must resist ilfort's Arkham!! Must RESIST!! MUST RESIST!!!
heres the set review biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 5 2013, 04:22 PM)
i definitely can resist....coz i can't afford that laugh.gif
im in the same boat as u biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 5 2013, 05:14 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 5 2013, 04:39 PM)
but i still can get modular building once in a long while laugh.gif
arrhhh making me jealous tongue.gif

QUOTE(tribalsun @ Mar 5 2013, 04:51 PM)
Hello,
My haul for 2012 + bought a bookshelf to put this

thinking bout buying a bookshelf also..but with glass to protect from dust.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Mar 5 2013, 05:08 PM)
Why sad... tongue.gif
If anyone from penang, i think thats a nice price considering the item is already there... biggrin.gif
As a job of a seller, you need to find multiple supplier... tongue.gif
And being a seller, its not as easy as people thought... laugh.gif
again, in order to reduce the price of shipment, buy in bulk..(ask people to preorder or take a risk in order the sets. If no people buying, im sure in 1 year, there are people looking for it.)
people want to buy but sometimes budget constraint and maybe priority fo favourite theme first biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 6 2013, 12:01 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Albcerth @ Mar 6 2013, 10:57 AM)
It has been almost 1 week at this status.
Oh I see.
Oh I see. Then I think it should fit my situation. Btw, I am not that rush as well. Just wish to know the whole process of the shipping.
USPS 1st class tracking number is only good within the US..after it leave US, cannot be used biggrin.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 6 2013, 12:10 PM

536 posts

sign0006.gif

Ironman 3 movie new trailer!

LEGO should do more ironman 3 set with more armor versions! biggrin.gif

maxilife1
post Mar 6 2013, 02:16 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(mizzfancypants @ Mar 6 2013, 12:18 PM)
Ahhh. Cannot wait for the movie to hit the theaters. drool.gif

Wah. if more armor versions then iron man fans like me will slowly go broke.  laugh.gif
heheh..but all the armor at the ending part are awesome to make into minifig biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 6 2013, 12:19 PM)
Can, you use that to check with your custom to see it arrives or not.
oh can ah? thanks! did not know that..my bad notworthy.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 6 2013, 04:40 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(FunkyMonkiBaby @ Mar 6 2013, 04:27 PM)
If small lego set like battlepack, I will eager to assemble fast. I havent bought a modular set but if I do...well..I would assemble few pieces a day like planning a chess move daily.

And do anyone know where to buy plain LEGO base plates? I need it for my minifigs. Went TRU Empire just now and they only have the road junction plates.
baseplate look for bro daydreaming signature biggrin.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2697697

This post has been edited by maxilife1: Mar 6 2013, 04:41 PM
maxilife1
post Mar 6 2013, 06:26 PM

536 posts

Below avengers version quite cute..maybe custom.. biggrin.gif

(Source: internet)

maxilife1
post Mar 7 2013, 09:44 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(limbah @ Mar 7 2013, 07:59 AM)
Just finish building my unexpected gathering. The set is awesome
its a great set ..argh poison2 biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 7 2013, 08:03 AM)
Argh! I still don't own any The Hobbit set. sad.gif
same here sweat.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 7 2013, 02:53 PM

536 posts

Just received these parts from alanyuppie icon_idea.gif

tonight can build my MOC copy tumbler! rclxms.gif

thanks again to alan..heheh

maxilife1
post Mar 8 2013, 10:22 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(maldiniho @ Mar 8 2013, 09:49 AM)
haha... also bring along all your unopened Lego set too. Lego roadshow @ McD/Oldtown.... sure attract lots of ppl to stop by... and poison them kaw kaw cool2.gif  cool2.gif
just thought of something, how about we do our very own LYN Lego Enthusiasts Club polo shirt? Wouldn't that be so cool? We can brainstorm what design would be and send it to vendor to produce it..  drool.gif
agreed on the t shirt..and the design by using LEGO la biggrin.gif

example from brickset
maxilife1
post Mar 8 2013, 12:11 PM

536 posts

Finally! My copy version of the tumbler from set 7888 has completed! rclxms.gif

Took 2 hours to build due to very hard to see instructions (coz many parts in black) biggrin.gif

Parts:
97% from BL - 3 different US stores using 1st class USPS mail..first time using BL, and its a very good experience for me!
2% from Alanyuppie - cannon & 1x10 brick
1% from Zen store - 3713 technic bush

Price:
RM233 only compare 7888 new set in amazon in $799.99 ! rclxub.gif

The good:
Its big!
New experience using LEGO & BL
LEGO parts by code management tongue.gif

The bad:
Copy not exactly as the original set due to lack of color/rare parts. have to change color of the parts sweat.gif
Grey brick do not equally same color as light/dark bluish grey tongue.gif hahaha
long hours to define the parts and search in BL > 2 weeks

Sorry for the low version pics..using camera phone only biggrin.gif

and many thanks to kaneishiro for the posion, the guide and the sharing! icon_idea.gif

Parts:

Front rclxm9.gif

Back - peter parker taking photos for daily bugle..and i think i need to put bigger flames right? hahaha

Inside - see the blue brick? its from alan heheh

Compare with jeep

Compare with the original tumbler

This post has been edited by maxilife1: Mar 8 2013, 12:24 PM
maxilife1
post Mar 8 2013, 03:29 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(maldiniho @ Mar 8 2013, 02:44 PM)
great tumbler!  notworthy.gif
thanks! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(aba9785 @ Mar 8 2013, 03:01 PM)
thanks for sharing...
i would say an amazing experience...u can bring it when u all got the TT session...
sure going to be the star of the TT
thanks..yup looking forward to the TT session..but not a star la..cannot beat alan MOC ..heheh

QUOTE(seydee @ Mar 8 2013, 03:08 PM)
Kaneishiro and now you are the hero...you are the man. The picture did no justice as how big it is. Try place it to the Bane Tumbler release recently then we will  sweat.gif

I'm on my first project to build this tumbler by buying parts from BL after got poison. There are few part that is particularly hard to find. BTW how many of the brick you purchase is a used one? Will there be any different between used and new parts?
kaneishiro is the sifu..im only the students tongue.gif oh ya bane tumbler..better comparison between 2 tumblers..hehe

yes few parts are very hard to find in 1 store..u have to organize/distribute the parts between 2 or 3 stores to save on shipping cost..

mine 75% of all the parts are used parts..and the parts are in well condition. only some dust here n there..since the tumbler is covered in black parts, so its quite ok to use used parts..cannot really seen the difference between new & used biggrin.gif

which version of tumbler? there are many versions in the internet..some small one also..

Good luck! and dont give up! thumbup.gif
maxilife1
post Mar 8 2013, 04:33 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Mar 8 2013, 03:51 PM)
amazon got discount, but be ready to pay a lot for the shipping. that 1 set alone is more than 10kg. retail in msia is near RM 2k.
not into SW theme but i do love the death star.. but RM2k is out of reach sweat.gif

QUOTE(ilfort @ Mar 8 2013, 04:08 PM)
Boring Friday, but happy weekend. Say, anyone going to buy a used a modular house?
im interested but depends on the condition & price also biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kaneshiro21 @ Mar 8 2013, 04:21 PM)
me no hero  notworthy.gif  basically i started by reading the past forums learn from people who shared their experience here and pass it along smile.gif

i buy both used and new, if you were to ask me, i see no difference  biggrin.gif
congrats on finally getting it done. there are no words to describe the satisfaction when putting the last piece  thumbup.gif

come let me tempt you with this :-

http://www.peeron.com/inv/sets/10179-1  flex.gif
pergh! is that ur next project? 5000+++ parts..it will take forever! hahah tongue.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:21 AM