Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
acefreakz
Apr 15 2013, 09:29 AM

QUOTE sifu-sifu here please help me~ I have 2 problems here(refer to pic #1 and #2 below)
1. How to reduce this damn persistent dirt? As u see from the pic, the whiter area is after i applied from wax, amazingly wax can remove it -.-, so any other way to do it? I wash car twice a week, and after abt 1 month, this happens lol -.- everytime. Damn annoying la =( FYI, i parked my car w/o covered place, 24/7
If normal wax can remove it, chances are a strong cleaner also can....something like a weak APC. But be prepare to wax again though. Or you can try a stronger mix of shampoo. There's really no method (not that I know of) that can prevent it except for regular washing and maintaining a healthy coat of protection. If you're anal about it, try to consider those modern 'coatings'. I've got plenty of those drip marks and stains too but washes off fairly easily with normal shampoo (I have one car on 'glass' coating and the other on 'ceramic' coating).
2. My paint seems f***ed up lol, any idea how to cure? =( It's strange that only this part of the car become like this.
Hrrmm....could that be caused by adhesive? Or maybe somebody clean the area with some strong solvent before putting on those? Looks like it's along the same place. Looks too far gone to 'cure'. oh, glass and ceramic thanks i will research about it  thanks! =( sei lo, no idea man, guess gonna get it respray...
acefreakz
Apr 15 2013, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 15 2013, 10:16 AM) Bandar Utama resident ke?  ya wor lol don come dirty my babe plz =P mm btw UQW first then UQD? wow, i didnt know UQD actually degrade the underlying UQW. Does it proven last longer? This post has been edited by acefreakz: Apr 15 2013, 02:52 PM
acefreakz
Apr 15 2013, 03:34 PM

QUOTE hrrmm....I think this had been blown a little bit out of proportion already. I don't think the UQD is so aggressive that it'll TOTALLY remove existing wax/sealant. Maybe remove a little bit of it but TOTALLY remove...I don't think so la. hahaha chill bro, we will know after few tries
acefreakz
Apr 15 2013, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Apr 15 2013, 02:34 PM) Plan to buy a car wax for my car and my relative recommend me soft99 metallic, is this brand good? And metallic car wax suitable for solic paint? Because my car is metallic paint while my aunty car is solic white, we plan to share use... no idea bro, i am using meguair's wax
acefreakz
Apr 16 2013, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 16 2013, 01:47 PM) I've heard Autoglym TAR remover quite good. You can try at Eneos. or u can try turtle tar remover, quite good.
acefreakz
Apr 17 2013, 10:32 AM

+1, i going to get one too <3 hahaha
btw bro KrisMas, where's this shop at ur mentioned location SS18 Subang Jaya?
acefreakz
Apr 17 2013, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(zgerm @ Apr 17 2013, 07:28 PM) Can I join too? interested in detailing stuff..  the more the merrierrrrrrrr lol. btw am noob in detailing xD need to learn more from sifu sifu~
acefreakz
Apr 18 2013, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 18 2013, 11:32 AM) If wax stains appear all over the car in small lines after each drive for one or two times, does that mean that the wax's not good?  . Or maybe it's because of the wax that got stuck in the gaps between body panels being blown out by the wind?  cannot imagine bro xD got pic ma~
acefreakz
Apr 18 2013, 12:58 PM

QUOTE(adihassan @ Apr 18 2013, 12:55 PM) Hello to the detailing Gurus  I have been reading through this most informative thread and picked up on a lot of good tips. Keep up the good work guys! I would like to get started on self-detailing my car(3 year old white lancer) and am need of some instructions/tips on things that i need/need to do: I am not looking to get a showcar shine since my car is a daily driver but more towards self-satisfaction. I would appreciate it if you guys can point me in the right direction for: - a beginner DA or would a ROB be enough to get swirls out and for normal maintenance work like waxing,polishing etc - types/names of products(compounds,finishing polish,waxes/sealants) Thanks in advance guys!  you should join our gathering~
acefreakz
Apr 19 2013, 03:32 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 19 2013, 03:15 PM) Me ah? Any number ok for me. I just bring the machine what....hehehe....ok la. Let see what I can do about the venue. u all in pj ar?
acefreakz
Apr 19 2013, 04:00 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 19 2013, 03:34 PM) Why? You got a place can use? jz curious lol. later u all plan at some where far like ipoh penang johor i gg liaw XD we are going in morning right? what are requirements we need for the place? maybe i can think of one, haha we will just vote la, so i suggest we all suggest some locations la  how's that sounds? let me suggest first  somewhere in putra, forgot what's it call d, nearby PICC putrajaya. 
acefreakz
Apr 19 2013, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 19 2013, 04:14 PM) errrr....where to plug the machines ah? lmao good question xD
acefreakz
Apr 25 2013, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(gapsterz @ Apr 25 2013, 10:55 AM) Hi guys, I have two questions here.. What is the best product to remove watermark and where is it available in kl? Do u guys know where can i buy meg's products? http://www.wikihow.com/Take-Water-Marks-Off-Vehicleswell the easiest way is to prevent it, dry it after u washed your car, samething after exposed to rain, rinse then wipe dry  you can find megs in any ace hardware shop.
acefreakz
Apr 25 2013, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 25 2013, 12:16 PM) lol i tend to do it backwards, MF on application, tissue paper (or toilet paper cuz im stingy like that) for buffing/wiping off haze afterwards find it more effective and it lasts longer lol so many diff approaches xD i use single microf cloths la, one side for rainx, another side to wipe off the haze.
acefreakz
Apr 29 2013, 12:01 PM

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 28 2013, 09:42 PM) Waxed my car with paste wax and spray wax.... Paste wax is giving me the glossy effect, like it a lot~ While staring at my failed body coating....  hi bro, curious on ur failed body coating. Got a pic? btw anyone find meg UQW from ACE hardware? cant find from the branch in citta mall =( This post has been edited by acefreakz: Apr 29 2013, 12:02 PM
acefreakz
Apr 29 2013, 01:48 PM

Great! sigh, i just found another clear coat failure ytd -.- FML
acefreakz
Apr 29 2013, 02:24 PM

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Apr 29 2013, 02:04 PM) if not wrong "Turtle Wax Super Hard Shell Paste Wax" is carbauna wax......if you want to layer, do sealant first, the carbauna(no cleaner) on top yeah, i read online ppl usually sealant 1st, only then wax. QUOTE I think ACE sunway got. if i remember correctly. bro @ChiaKhai, thanks! i will check it out soon ;D This post has been edited by acefreakz: Apr 29 2013, 02:25 PM
acefreakz
Apr 30 2013, 11:16 AM

lolx yay~ i think i will join early TT breakfast too  see u guys tmr!
acefreakz
Apr 30 2013, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 30 2013, 01:30 PM) Bring a terrible looking wheel with severe caked on brake dust then can only show/see the difference. i got a terrible looking stock rim, later i take pic see if ok for us.