Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

Quazacolt
post Apr 10 2013, 03:06 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 9 2013, 05:19 PM)
eehehe..ok.. i try first.. and post my feedback. good things are meant to be shared mer.. like how you shared the performance of RainX. I've already gotten the spray bottle. it will replace my NXT glass cleaner once its finished biggrin.gif
eh there's a spray bottle? thought it's just a regular bottle with liquid, and you pour it on a cloth to apply lol

regardless i still use a normal glass cleaner to clean (atm using kura kura, cheap and cheerful lol), and then applying rain x on top of it biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 10 2013, 03:07 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Apr 10 2013, 01:04 AM)
Is turtle wax product recommended ? smile.gif
cheap and cheerful. not the best out there but they work smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 10 2013, 10:15 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Apr 10 2013, 08:42 AM)
thanks ~ where can we get for more premium brand car care products?

i'll hang on probably on supermarkets only tongue.gif
meguiar's are premium enough, at least in our local market lol.

you can find meguiar's easily from hardware stores to even some super markets.
Quazacolt
post Apr 10 2013, 10:16 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 10 2013, 09:14 AM)
Not sure why. But I also got something like that with any kind of glass protection on, RainX, Rain Act, Rain *whatever*, Aquapel, Rainaway, etc. Not haze...but something like morning dew kinda thing. Normal? Don't know la....
on rain x packaging, it's perfectly normal. in fact you're advised to wait till it hazes before "buffing off" with cloth or sprinkle a bit of water and wipe off if it is too tough with wiping off dry alone (i prefer this as i don't want to "water down" my rain-x tongue.gif )

after a day or 2 the hazing stops happening completely smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 10 2013, 11:11 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Apr 10 2013, 11:05 AM)
I see, I keep use wiper but the haze keep come back within a minute, I still thought the way I apply was wrong. This morning I see my car, all windscreen seems ok...

Besides, can I store my waxco rain act into a spray bottle (the bottle that ppl use for haircut or iton cloth that type)?
that sounds serious.

you used rain x before right? did that happen to rain x? if no, you know your answer already.
Quazacolt
post Apr 11 2013, 10:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 11 2013, 09:40 AM)
er.. i went to check out kura kura at the nearby ACE hardware store.. i must say.. kura-kura is not that cheap anymore!! biggrin.gif especially their Ice and Platinum series.. even more expensive than Megs!! biggrin.gif i given up on the Ice Wheel Cleaner.. nearly RM80!! biggrin.gif
ice and platinum is basically kura's top of the line, and they try to market it as a premium product similar to what meguiar's are doing

im using their f21 or fz or something wheel cleaner, green spray bottle around rm20-30 ish lol
that does the work and that's the end of it.

im on my 2nd or 3rd bottle now since i've started going into detailing lol.
Quazacolt
post Apr 11 2013, 06:04 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 11 2013, 05:26 PM)
Is this the one with a greenish bottle? Liquid inside also something like neon green or something? Spray on the tyres and you'd see all the brown crud melting and flowing down?
http://www.turtlewax.com/detail-F21%20Whee...ner-44-117.aspx
liquid is clear transparent though

spray on tires not much happens, on rims also you need to spray a LOT of it to see brown crud melting/flowing down. (basically it helps scrubbing/brushing, cut down time)

however if you're on good brake pads with reduced brake dusts, these days i just spray leave it few minutes and just hose off lol
only scrub a bit on the front wheels (rear drums)
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 09:21 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 12 2013, 08:42 AM)
Oh...different one then. Used it a loooooong time ago can't remember which one already. Now mainly using Megs Wheel Brightener and Sonax.
ooo heard many good things bout sonax, so how's it? and how come you using both? lol
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 10:42 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 12 2013, 09:51 AM)
Well...the Sonax works well for embedded/stubborn brake dust/iron contaminant but not so good in removing soil, dirt, oil film, etc.

I'm not actually using both together. All depends on what 'need' to be done. For normal weekly cleaning I just use an all purpose cleaner (Megs APC at 10:1). Wheel Brightener when/if I see the wheels requires something stronger or after doing heavy mileage (like balik kampung), ie. plenty of brake dust. I now only use the Sonax more for 'decontamination' job, i.e. those times when I want go for full details with the wheels taken off. Or when I just feel like having a little bit of fun watching the wheels turn purple....hehehe....
i see, i guess i'll employ similar/same methods then! will pickup some sonax to try it out tongue.gif

(ill be getting 2nd sets of rims for my... umm sportier tires next month rolleyes.gif )
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 11:03 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 12 2013, 10:44 AM)
biggrin.gif sharee some pic~
it's for my achilles 123 semi slicks that's sitting in my kitchen now on heavy as f*** steel rims sad.gif

tentatively once they wear off (1-2 more track events?) i'll be getting the new yokohama ad08r (i created a thread about it too, please join my bulk if there are enough interest biggrin.gif )
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 11:25 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 12 2013, 11:16 AM)
LOL ad08 excellent tyre, i wish i can join u, but am driving a non-racing truck XD have fun bro! so u guys play in sepang eh i pressume?
havent played at sepang before sad.gif
only went to track once, and that was at dato sagor
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 11:40 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 12 2013, 11:37 AM)
Dato Sagor Circuit, Kampung Gajah, icic xD never been there, the track loook small tho.
oh its big enough for my stock engine 3 speeder auto (needless to say gotten last place, and almost got overlapped by the first place lol sweat.gif )
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 02:34 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 12 2013, 12:02 PM)
I think it has to do with proper application techniques. My first 2 times using ULW, i was doing a pretty rush job. Last saturday (the 7 hour session tongue.gif), i tried to implement the 'priming your pad' technique by Michael Phillips and works to ensure that each area is passed at least twice. I also took my time to wait for the wax to dry and do proper final wipe. end result was, even when parking outside with scorching heat in the afternoon and heavy rain in the evening, i'm still getting very good beading even as of last night.
as i've mentioned previously using cheapo kura kura wink.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 02:34 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Apr 12 2013, 02:33 PM)
Now that it is raining everyday, do you still spend time on detailing?
even more reason to do detailing smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 04:59 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 12 2013, 04:54 PM)
I wash and wax in the morning, wake up earlier just to do it.

Well, car tend to get dirty faster but ok lar...exercise for me.  smile.gif
lol i somehow tend to do it in the midnight.

night time exercise, shower then go to bed in a warm and fuzzy feeling lolz
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 08:29 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 12 2013, 08:19 PM)
Waaahhh....you guys do it so frequently ah. I wished I still had the youth and strength that you guys are showing here. After a full detail, it would take me months (or should I say more than half a year) before doing any full-day job.......
lol i only wash my car every 1-2 week and detail (typically just the front bonnet) like once in a blue moon tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 12 2013, 08:30 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 12 2013, 08:26 PM)
Bro, your PPS is out-of-date already la....

There, I've said it. You can start trying to defend the products now....anytime...
rofl harsh tongue.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2013, 02:41 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 12 2013, 09:25 PM)
Anyway...PRU13 is around the corner so I'm just in that kinda mood....hahahaha.....
eh what does PRU has anything to do with mood sweat.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 13 2013, 02:43 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 12 2013, 09:52 PM)
I do it as an exercise. The washing, then the claying, then seal-ing, then the waxing~....

BTW, I need a stronger clay bar. Where to get 1? Currently on PG, not to say not good but it always out of shape at the end of the claying.
im using soft 99's green color clay bar, so far so good aside from the half i dropped on the floor doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
not that i clay that much to begin with rolleyes.gif

and yeah, car wash IS good exercise brows.gif brows.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 14 2013, 04:45 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ChiaKhai @ Apr 13 2013, 09:26 PM)
hi fellow detailers! im a newbee here, just joined in the detailing gang  tongue.gif

I recently bought the Megs DA polisher, and its full detailing set. Did my first detailing session for my mom's kelisa with a polisher, claybar and compound for the first time!  biggrin.gif But I have a few problems, hope all sifus can enlighten me  blush.gif

here are my steps: wash dry -> claybar -> compound -> polish -> wax.
after I finished compound, I found some tiny scratches on my roof, not sure it was there before or not, but it shouldnt be there after applying compound right.

1. is it possible to scratch my car with my claybar? cause i used it to remove tar (megs remover didnt do the job). now that it contains tar, would the tar potentially scratch the paint?

2. is it possible to get scratches using the DA polisher? when I apply compound the process produce little "dust" like particles. is it normal? I wiped it off before polishing again. but would this get trapped in the polishing pad and scratch the paint?

3. Waxing, im using megs ULW, when Im cleaning the pad, i squeezed out plenty of product..  sweat.gif does it mean im using too much?

Anyway, in the end I managed to remove water marks and major scratches.. 3 hours hard work laugh.gif
Still worth my effort hehe
1) yes possible. if the clay bar is contaminated, dirt trapped in it will produce scratches if they are serious (eg: sand/small rocks)
that is why if you dropped your clay bar, no matter what, you throw it away.

2) the residue by right *should not* induce further scratch, unless the surface is not clean enough and dirt trapped in the compound solution/pad produced them

3) yea haha, or rather that's kinda the nature with sponges. you could perhaps try to squeeze them out instead of reapplying more product on another panel/surface wink.gif

QUOTE(kevin916587 @ Apr 13 2013, 11:54 PM)
Hey guys, im new in here. I want to know how to wash and dry my car without leaving any scratches. ): What clothes should i use for wash and drying also? Is it microfiber clothes or any other suggestions? I hope someone respond to my question (:
washing you can use most micro fiber thats soft/supple.
for drying, aim for soft waffle weaved micro fiber cloths or chamois cloths to reduce the amount of water wrinkling (saves time smile.gif )

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:15 PM