Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

ChiaKhai
post Jun 11 2013, 07:01 PM

166 posts

speaking of machine;

I bought a G110 here on LYN. with a transformer.
used 3 times with the 115V plug on the transformer then only noticed I probably should plug in at 110V rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

since last time overheat and burnt my pad (the white thing that stick with the backing plate melted and torn)
I feel something odd with my DA.

the sound like a bit awkward, and I feel like its not rotating properly
*dont know if Im reacting over the incident of the DA really have problems sad.gif

can Sifus help me out?

here's the sample of the noise

Noise at Speed 5 (115V output)

Noise at Speed 5 (110V output)

thanks !!
ChiaKhai
post Jun 11 2013, 07:41 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2013, 07:29 PM)
hmm maybe check/service its internal carbon?
the carbon brush looks ok wor.. hmm.gif

if worn means look shorter/ deformed whatever right.
i compare with my spare it looks normal to me
ChiaKhai
post Jun 11 2013, 11:13 PM

166 posts

@bro krismas, thanks for the explanation!

ill watch out if im actually not placing the pad flat which has caused the rotation problem.
ChiaKhai
post Jun 12 2013, 10:51 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jun 12 2013, 05:39 PM)
After reading about the stuffs that he tried, it doesn't sound like any 'normal' poop. Anyway, the colour do look like rust....a 'heavy metal' birdie...???!!!

@sakurazz, how does the surface on that particular area feels like? Or, better still, you know anybody who has those 30X handheld microscope or something similar....?
heck, look what birdie can do to my friend's car. even with tribos coating

and when I lightly try to scrap off (tot it was candle drip or something like tat sweat.gif ) with my fingernail rclxub.gif

mentioned this earlier dont know if you guys remember tongue.gif

dont underestimate the power of birdie!
ChiaKhai
post Jun 12 2013, 11:01 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 12 2013, 09:32 PM)
doh.gif

rule of thumb in traffic collision no matter how "small" the damage is: it will be significant on the repair/respray bills so please be a responsible motorist.
agree with that, but probably pick up truck means small lorry? looks like a pointy metal sharp edge caused the scratch.

anyway, best if can avoid squeezing through tight spaces and pay attention during heavy traffic to avoid such thing.
save the heartache and potential cursing from both parties tongue.gif
ChiaKhai
post Jun 12 2013, 11:38 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Jun 12 2013, 11:04 PM)
haha bro ! end up how to fix it?

yours is feel-able right? alike candle drip which surface can feel

mine cant bro
yea feel-able lol. the paint "popped'out

took it back to service center and my guess is that they touch up the affected area.
cause I see holograms on that area. sayang la its a new car, just 2 months.

ya your case a bit weird, I think normal cases polish/compound can easily remove the stain right.
I normally just wash off bird poo stains with car wash shampoo sweat.gif

ChiaKhai
post Jun 13 2013, 12:00 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Jun 12 2013, 11:45 PM)
thats the problem bro,

shall not be bird poop.. maybe some evolved bird.. LOL

should be tree seedlings which those jatuh and pecah and looks like bird poops..

mine also 2 months old ><
Oh? Orange color things? Sometimes my car gets it when I park under the tree in front of my house. Snap a pic to share next time I gets it. Its hard to get rid of the stain. But at least my polish works and managed to clean it.
ChiaKhai
post Jun 19 2013, 09:05 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 19 2013, 08:58 AM)
i didn't know as well until i went to the booth personally lol (i did promised ray aka SupremeCareForYou to pay him a visit biggrin.gif )
A well worth visit. Haha.
got hyper wash there?
ChiaKhai
post Jun 20 2013, 08:48 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jun 20 2013, 10:09 AM)
anybody know where to get cheap spray bottle

MG is kinda expensive..any alternative?
No used QD or other detailing bottle? Just reuse lo.
ChiaKhai
post Jun 23 2013, 07:43 PM

166 posts

anywhere can get the trim shine? spray on is so easy!
ChiaKhai
post Jun 25 2013, 09:40 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jun 25 2013, 12:15 PM)
Oh...the 'foamer' that comes with the PW or the 'chemical intake tube' is practically USELESS (foam-less).
mine dont even work. (K2.14)
ChiaKhai
post Jun 26 2013, 05:41 PM

166 posts

Karcher has its own foam gun. Not sure karcher Malaysia has it tho, wanna get one also
ChiaKhai
post Jun 27 2013, 08:26 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jun 26 2013, 10:36 PM)
The Karcher foam attachment doesn't produce nice thick foam. Can sell you mine if you want laugh.gif
Can get this foam lance for around RM250 from Ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Snow-Foam-lance-Ka...=item20d3c3fd63
Oh? How much tongue.gif
I probably need it for time to time quick rinse just to take off dusts.

ChiaKhai
post Jun 27 2013, 11:40 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jun 27 2013, 10:27 AM)
RM30 if you can pick up around TTDI hehe...

Sounds good to me, I live at bandar utama biggrin.gif haha
ChiaKhai
post Jul 1 2013, 09:31 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jul 1 2013, 06:02 PM)
Hi guys,
Any idea where to get portable spot light?

I really need it to help me see better since I have switched my detailing activities to night time.

I know ACE have it, but the one near my place out of stock for sometimes already....

any ideas?
One Utama HOME FIX, they have it. Swirl Finder Light.

But I feel that, yellow light (perhaps halogen bulb?) works best compared to bright white LEDs.

Im using a LED torch at the moment, imho not really good compared to the street light outside my house tongue.gif
but still can see la
ChiaKhai
post Jul 3 2013, 04:45 PM

166 posts

Im using paint brush. to cleans rims. Works fine for me .

Bro Krismas, where u get those round headed brushes? Been looking all these while but no luck finding

edit:
RM5 for 3 batang. Got it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ChiaKhai: Jul 3 2013, 05:02 PM
ChiaKhai
post Jul 4 2013, 05:22 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Jul 4 2013, 04:27 PM)
sifu sekalian, my 2 years old car is already beginning to show its scratches and what not...

its a deep electric blue (aurora blue - ford)..

i was wondering if i could remove them by hand (since i do not have a machine and nobody i knows has one)

are these steps ok?
1. wash with normal wash (turtle wax F21)
2. claybar
3. ScratchX with foam applicator (or MF better?)
4. Polish with M80 with foam applicator (or MF better?)
5. Wash down with Ultimate Wash and Wax (or normal F21 better?)
6. Seal with M21 2.0 (again, which applicator is best?)
7. Wax needed? if yes i only have GC Liquid Wax
8. Ultimate Quik Wax spray and wipe (this step needed?)

thank you so so much!!!

these better or just send to detailers?
scratchX is meant for point correction isnt it? or you are just correcting some parts of the car only and not the entire car itself

so many steps using hand? wow! I hand polish only (wash+polish) last time and after that I cant feel my hands sweat.gif not to mention long working hours (by hand) hehe
ChiaKhai
post Jul 22 2013, 06:29 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(TitanLok @ Jul 22 2013, 04:12 PM)
Anyone using Meguairs DA System here? Mind to share our your work?

Besides, anyone here using step down transformer? I am looking for 1 but not much source right now... pity!
Ace hardware also selling the step down.
ChiaKhai
post Jul 24 2013, 09:27 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 24 2013, 02:34 PM)
I've gone thru the "using a transformer" stage myself, it just wasn't worth it, it wasn't a G110 though, and I eventually converted it to 230v thru some local modding shop.

I'm not sure how much you saved, but a good transformer don't come cheap either.
it can be converted into 230V? can I know where/how to do that?

using the transformer is so inconvenient; heavy stuff.
anyway I added wheels to my transformer, it did help a bit, not a lot tho, still have to carry when switching panels
ChiaKhai
post Jul 25 2013, 10:59 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jul 24 2013, 11:15 PM)
Depends on model, the one I converted wasn't the Meguiar's DA, and will have to get the guys to check it out first. It's Octave Electronics in PJ State near to Amcorp Mall, they are pretty popular in the audio modding scene.
alright thx bro, ill try to locate them =)

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1831sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:44 PM