Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
ChiaKhai
Apr 29 2013, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 29 2013, 12:01 PM) hi bro, curious on ur failed body coating. Got a pic? btw anyone find meg UQW from ACE hardware? cant find from the branch in citta mall =( I think ACE sunway got. if i remember correctly.
ChiaKhai
May 6 2013, 04:11 PM

sifus,
how long is the maximum time to work on a DA? my DA gets really hot after using some time and the pad became like "deformed" and doesnt stick properly to the backing plate.
do I have to let it rest like, 10mins work 5mins cool down, or something like tat?
ChiaKhai
May 6 2013, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(GRexer @ May 6 2013, 04:30 PM) Sounds like you're using too much product and saturating the pad. Although, I spend more on pads, and have many pads to switch to(and I'm actually considering getting a pad washer), so, that might affect why I don't seem to have this happen. ic, moreover sprayed a little bit of quick detailer also from time to time. guess i know why now..
ChiaKhai
May 11 2013, 04:07 PM

Sifus, any major impact/consequences on waxing a new paint? I can't wait for 90days, feel so unsafe lol
ChiaKhai
May 11 2013, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 11 2013, 04:48 PM) "New" as in just re-painted or just bought new car? If just bought then don't need to worry and just wax away. Chances arex it has already been whacked...I mean waxed by the dealer. If just been re-painted, give it a couple of weeks.... New as in repainted.. oh couple of weeks means I can detail it right away, what a relief, thanks bro!
ChiaKhai
May 16 2013, 11:10 PM

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ May 16 2013, 08:17 PM) Hello folks, just wondering, the black plastic trim on my car is starting to look very dirty and contaminated after 5 years lol, any idea to restore/clean it? stickers lol
ChiaKhai
May 20 2013, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 20 2013, 04:28 PM) Why don't just get a whole gallon of it? I have one that's still with the seal on. But not sure if I would call it 'extra' though....you 'need' much? anywhere to get the whole gallon?
ChiaKhai
May 28 2013, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 28 2013, 10:47 PM) oh my car body is just a box, don't need that much attention in fact the tires and rims, actually worth 2/3 of the car's market value LOL lol, at least its a metal box?
ChiaKhai
May 29 2013, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 29 2013, 05:18 PM) jom bulk? i most likely can directly import from japan  I want !
ChiaKhai
May 30 2013, 10:42 PM

One U ENEOS Megs product 20% discount. till tmr only.
ChiaKhai
May 30 2013, 10:54 PM

QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 30 2013, 03:10 PM) Ahhhh....Enviro-Shield. Haven't used that in years. I think still have some left in my bottle....  I've used Enviro-Shield, Opti Seal and Zaino Clear Seal before. They are kinda similar in nature (WOWA - Wipe On Walk Away) but each have their own strengths and weaknesses. Anything in particular you want to know? Wah! whats that in the mineral bottle?
ChiaKhai
Jun 1 2013, 01:14 PM

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 1 2013, 12:15 PM) Can any provide the detailing products which can purchase locally? Wash, clay, polish, sealant, etc.. Quite number of similar products but unsure which is the most suitable to use  how many and what brands r u comparing?
ChiaKhai
Jun 1 2013, 06:23 PM

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 1 2013, 06:01 PM) preferably to purchase over counter, maybe eneos or ace hardware acceptable with any brand but ease to purchase what is the brand have full range from claying till sealing? Meguairs. I think its the brand from washing to sealing products you can get in a single store, like in ACE hardware. I believe you can find everything you need in ENEOS/ACE. But probably not all from a single brand .
ChiaKhai
Jun 4 2013, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Jun 4 2013, 09:39 PM) Even more expensive huh? Well, I just got my car and I'm looking to stock up once and for all the following month. Looking to wash my car by myself as much as possible and also do some detailing. I'll put Duragloss in the list. I was at ACE just now and was just blur, didn't know what to buy so ended up just buying some Perma Glass microfibre cloths. I also actually wanted to buy RainX but upon reading it, it says to use on interior glass? Isn't it supposed to be used on windscreens to repel and make water bead? You can wipe rain x inside?
ChiaKhai
Jun 7 2013, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 7 2013, 05:49 PM) i am, however since i do it at night/midnight, not something you'd probably want to deal with. that and i'm a very slow worker  same here, too hot in the noon. Malaysia mah, always sunny day
ChiaKhai
Jun 7 2013, 09:10 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 7 2013, 08:44 PM) oh i don't have any rotary/DA tools yet, still hand work (can i blame the lack of tools from being slow?  ) salute! so many layers by hand?
ChiaKhai
Jun 7 2013, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(shootingstars83 @ Jun 7 2013, 10:38 PM) If i'm using the compound do i need to clay the car as well? baggie test!! go to autogeek.net, pretty much have all the answers for beginners
ChiaKhai
Jun 11 2013, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Jun 10 2013, 11:35 AM) gosh.. where was the 20% discount on Meg's.. arghh.. missed the chance to load up on my UQW. ehehe.. fuuhh... moving up to ULW i see..  imho, it is kinda hard to see it on the paint. better to overlap with a few passes to ensure coverage. overall, you get a better user experience than the TW hardshell that you're used to  so much easier to buff off. ya ULW really hard to see. So I tend to use a lot to make sure all areas covered. but in fact, on Meg's forum and their training video, only a tiny bit is required for a large area. so.... product is good, but im no good in applying it? TW any better than ULW in this case?
ChiaKhai
Jun 11 2013, 02:24 PM

@ excelint I feel the pain, and the frustration hope you can get it back shiny shiny
ChiaKhai
Jun 11 2013, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 11 2013, 05:55 PM) word  =edit= speaking of machines, will need to schedule my detailing sessions better since i won't be able to work with machines midnight LOL I have the same problem. Actually correction stage is the noisiest. Polishing and waxing is OK. so starting as soon as it is not sunny/hot and the schedule should be ok. feedback my neighbors said the noise is OK (means not too noisy inside the house) during 8-9pm (speed 5 on my G110); my housemate (2nd floor) didnt even hear a thing. and I move my car further out my car porch, so it wouldnt be that noisy (more open space)