QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 28 2013, 05:34 PM)
ooo sifu seal of approval Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread
May 28 2013, 05:43 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
May 28 2013, 10:26 PM
May 28 2013, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 28 2013, 09:06 PM) ....with a qualification: it would produce different look on different rubber. Personally, too much shine/gloss to my liking on my Eagle GSD5, just nice on my Nexen N6000, a PITA to get it even on the stock NCT5, also looks nice on the Maxxis directional, only so-so on RE002. But, the sheen/shine can be adjusted by putting on another layer (more shine) or wiping it off after a while (less shine) or applying it on wet/damp rubber instead. But 2 things I'm very sure about: It's damn durable and it takes longer for the brownish look to come back. It's the one tire dressing that is a 'must have' for me. wow thanks for the pointers, that really is convincing enough |
May 28 2013, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 28 2013, 09:30 PM) FYI, Meg's Endurance Tyre Gel is solvent-based - those damage rubbers over time, but I think your rubbers would go botak first before you see any adverse effects that is a valid concern; however yes as you probably already know: my tires only lasted me a year, about 30-40k km, and its due for change next month with me driving very reservedly during rains as the treads are very close to TWI on all 4 tires |
May 28 2013, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 28 2013, 10:43 PM) I'm on a cheapo RM10 water based dressing - given enough drying time and prep, it works - dare I say - as well as Meg's. But Meg's does retain its wet look for much longer. oh my car body is just a box, don't need that much attention I actually prefer my tyres with a slight matte look - I apply the dressing sparingly, and it's only after a few days when the dressing wears off a little which I get my intended effect. Keeps the car body as the center of attraction in fact the tires and rims, actually worth 2/3 of the car's market value LOL |
May 28 2013, 10:59 PM
May 28 2013, 11:31 PM
May 29 2013, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 29 2013, 02:20 PM) http://www.soft99.co.jp/english/products/c....html?pid=02082 jom bulk? i most likely can directly import from japan It did last for quite a few MONTHS (lots of them actually) and all it needed was just a PW wash to get it back looking clean again. I would love to get my hand on it but, unfortunately, not able to find it anywhere outside of Japan. If any of you guys can find it, do tell ya..... |
May 29 2013, 09:07 PM
http://www.soft99.co.jp/english/products/pdf/2_1_Tire.pdf
QUOTE W526 H 216 D 272 mm Case dimension 4.2 kg Case weight 20 Case unit L-55 Control No. uhhh you have to order a friggin case? LOL |
May 30 2013, 02:39 PM
May 30 2013, 02:53 PM
anyone having any feedback on these 2 sealant/coating?
http://estore.duragloss.com.my/webapp/wcs/...isplayErrorView http://estore.duragloss.com.my/webapp/wcs/...isplayErrorView |
May 30 2013, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 30 2013, 03:10 PM) Ahhhh....Enviro-Shield. Haven't used that in years. I think still have some left in my bottle.... wafak you even have those LOL!» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I've used Enviro-Shield, Opti Seal and Zaino Clear Seal before. They are kinda similar in nature (WOWA - Wipe On Walk Away) but each have their own strengths and weaknesses. Anything in particular you want to know? umm how is the price vs performance ratio? i don't particularly need WOWO products since my rims are off my car and i have AMPLE of time/flexibility in applying product, so i am looking for something that lasts longer and i don't think WOWO is the answer. what about - gloss - beading/water repellent (i guess surface friction/strength co efficient? this probably also determines how well brake dust shrugs off) - application (ease of it? would you have to sacrifice microfiber cloths? i know some coating/sealant product will harden and thus rendering your MF cloth dead after application/buffing off) - durability - heat resistance coinsidering they are for rims |
May 31 2013, 12:37 AM
May 31 2013, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 30 2013, 10:16 PM) Interested to know your opinions for this as well, although I'm more of a time-saving guy (IMO, I'd prefer to reapply new rounds of product instead of lasting rounds on the car, at least it's new. As for time, you'd never know when you'll have less of it i'm a lazy guy, so if things last longer (hence less need of re-application) it'll be a plus to me and... its not that i can always get the opportunity to have my rims lying around without tires fitted to them yet |
May 31 2013, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(ChiaKhai @ May 30 2013, 10:42 PM) so i went to jusco kepong pos malaysia to collect my parcel (extremely late if i may add, gloves i bought for track day... and track day over liao zzzzz ), and yes, eneos is just nearby, so went in.... lolThe holy grail in wheel cleaning, buying lol http://twitpic.com/cu9k66 and since there are many other shit on 20%... like megs... k&n filter as well (re charger kit only 10% though), lol buy first think later http://twitpic.com/cuaz8i (filter on order, they will call me once arrived lol) and there goes 600 bucks oTL |
May 31 2013, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ May 31 2013, 10:03 AM) Definitely sounds like a job for 22ple VM1... i'll slowly play with the newly bought megs for the time being la Tell me when you *almost* finish that bottle...then I'll pass you some Megs WB... and i actually did plan to use WB in conjunction with sonax WCE. pm me when you doing another gallon bulk lol |
May 31 2013, 03:58 PM
May 31 2013, 06:55 PM
May 31 2013, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(arj @ May 31 2013, 07:18 PM) don't know why (well actually i *KINDA* know why lol), i just have that... anti/bias towards optimum... would've probably researched/look them up myself if it weren't the case thanks regardless |
Jun 1 2013, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jun 1 2013, 05:04 PM) The easier way is to start with a brand that has everyting that you need. Most established brand would have the basic products that you mentioned. If you're looking to buy them from local stores (specifically ACE Hardware), you can look for Meguiars, Mothers, Sonax, 3M, etc. For online, Meguiars, Mothers, Duragloss, Sonax, or Optimum. I can try to suggest details from each brand if you like. theres also turtle wax (if you're not looking at the ICE lineup, which is marketed the same way as meguiar's are)/osren for the more budgeted folks |
| Change to: | 0.0399sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:53 AM |