Mountain Biking Heaven V27, Jump Around, Jump! Jump!
Sep 17 2013, 05:44 PM
2,093 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
nobody going for slim river mtb challenge? just me?
Sep 17 2013, 07:16 PM
RK's friend James Valentine won XT gruppo in the burung hantu lucky draw! fuyoh!
Sep 18 2013, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(Batusai @ Sep 17 2013, 10:21 PM) Thanks for info, what they said. also important is to check standover toptube hieght must be an inch or more so you dont become balless in case you fall off your saddle and lond on your feet.fit is all important if not you will back pain or arm pain over time. changing seat post and stem length will only help to fine tune your fit won't help make major changes. bike can go anywhere on or offroad, how fast or easily usually dpeends on the legs and/or tyres (this is important to some).due to budget constraints, I cant get ahold used bikes with 17inch.. a 15inch 26er available, and 18inch 29er. my in seam is 79cm. would riding a smaller sized bike incur any side effects? |
Sep 18 2013, 07:25 PM
Sep 18 2013, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(eohl79 @ Sep 18 2013, 12:21 PM) For killing vampires when you go night riding. Hantu pocong sure won't follow your bike mine own experience riding SPDs or spuds other than the obvious scary cannot unclick and fallover super malu at the traffic light or on a trail is they can cause numbness in the forefoot. a riding a pair of cool looking eggbeaters also said the same. i think in the case of eggbeaters even more so because the contact ppoint is so much smaller. anybody else?![]() Knuckle buster to bash the $h*t out of somebody on the trail... ![]() so now i am firmly in flat pedal brigade. Wellgo MG1 FTW! |
Sep 18 2013, 08:54 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 18 2013, 08:25 PM) could it be because of the shoes; too stiff or not suitable fit? toebox too small? or position of the cleats? shoe fit fine, one of those skater style shoes maybe the sockliner was too thin.numbness on the bottom so cannot be small toebox. cleats were best adjusted. maybe riding style? like to stand on pedals? anybody? |
Sep 19 2013, 12:04 PM
no lah, sticking with my flat pedals. no money to change shoes and all that. hard to walk in spd shoes. cheaper to change insoles or good pair of outdoor trail shoes. yes slippage on rough sections can be a problem when wet or muddy but i usually just ride when the weather is hot. feel my pedalling style is smooth and getting clipped in would not make much improvement.
Sep 20 2013, 01:57 PM
Sep 20 2013, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 20 2013, 03:38 PM) Thanks for the heap up bro.. I will need to do more research and understand more b4 I purchase one. Cheers Frame size fit is all important. forks can be changed easily.in a way it's like buying shoes, if it don't fit doesnt matter if it Air Jordan got Air or Carbon fiber springs! laces can change afterwards. the shoe must fit in the first place. |
Sep 23 2013, 09:57 PM
QUOTE(Broadica @ Sep 23 2013, 08:53 PM) u likely need a new headset on a new frame... usually different size head tube unless they are the same size with ur current frame. tapered and non tapered not much different on price for a new fork. why not sell your old bike and buy a new bike off the rack?since u getting a new fork. go for 15mm thru axle.. the improved stiffness can be felt and appreciated by lot. get a front hub that allow you to easily change the end cap to suit various axle. well, qr and straight tube work just fine. but i'll suggest you save a bit more for these few improvements. since u already spending quite some amount on the fork and new frame, the little extra worth the getting the 15mm imo |
Sep 23 2013, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(pussylover @ Sep 23 2013, 10:46 PM) Thanks for the info. I did thought about it just that i dont quite hav the budget for a good hub. But yea.. u r right though. save by using the scales of economy that bike makers has used to build their bike. what is the point of saving when not spending at all will be the ultimate saving? Trying to save by reusing the current groupset and wheelset where are you going to ride your proposed trail bike? This post has been edited by dickybird: Sep 23 2013, 11:18 PM |
Sep 25 2013, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(pussylover @ Sep 25 2013, 04:12 PM) i wish i could do that, unfortunately, selling my xtc won't be enough to get the new bike. kiara some say can be ridden with a Giant XTC. and FRIM for sure XTC can tackle. kiara kakis here may or not agree but for kiara need a quick handling bike because of the singletrack which the xtc should be. other than that i think a dropper seatpost may help with leaning way back for those ball shrinking incliines?thanks for the advise. thinking of trying kiara as i havent been there. only frequent ulu beranang & frim how long have already you been on the XTC? the xtc is a good bike i think, says the guy who rides an Anthem.hehe This post has been edited by dickybird: Sep 25 2013, 04:56 PM |
Sep 26 2013, 01:16 PM
Page 1 admin needs to consider adding, price point is only a part of the total ownership package and experience. Buy at your lbs if you can, you get more perks like free tweaking and tuning if you are friendly and give them custom. Unless you can all do the servicing yourslef then ok lah if not theguy at the lbs is still your best friend and riding kaki.
Sep 26 2013, 04:12 PM
isnt specialized or Gin Huat having sale next month 4 to 6? check out their fb page.
Sep 26 2013, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Sep 26 2013, 02:50 PM) Thanks for the tips bro. Will either get Revel or Talon. Talon with Epicon fork and better component. revel is an entry level bike, ride the fork first and see if it's ok or not. no sense spending twice. But if budget permited I might get XCT Btw, do u think it's good to buy now or wait yearend sales? Do they usually do yearend sales? samy FTW. |
Sep 26 2013, 05:33 PM
Sep 26 2013, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(demeter @ Sep 26 2013, 04:59 PM) Hi guys, go back to the shop and ask!I'm quite new to the MTB scene , been playing mtb since i was in school , back then just buy play till it break break hehe i just purchased this bike http://2013.feltracing.com/International/2...es/Nine-70.aspx in L size , due to budget constrain this is the only bike that i can afford i would like ask for input in upgrading the forks as the current forks are quite "soft" , is it possible to upgrade to Santour epicon x1? i don't quite understand regarding the tapered head thingie and i don't want to make a mistake in purchasing the forks Any suggestions on the forks is greatly appreciated Regards fork? FOX! This post has been edited by dickybird: Sep 26 2013, 06:37 PM |
Sep 27 2013, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 27 2013, 07:51 PM) fox very difficult to get spare parts. by difficult, i mean everything must be sent and done by KHcycle. touchwood, have not had to do anything to the stock fox fork and shock that came with my Anthem.rockshox or xfusion would be the better options. not sure about performance tho |
Sep 29 2013, 10:33 PM
today at slim river ride was hot and dusty one. the 42 km was not too demanding on technique since most of the ride was on palm oil estate tracks. a mix of terrain, hardpack, sand, loose gravel. ran a nevegal front, never gagal as always and a michelin wildracer that was did not have enough grip.
about 800 riders so not too many. i placed 380 all around. waited for the BIG prizes lucky draw! did not win anything but a good day out and NO cramps not many chicks on bikes or models but lots of bike pron to ogle at. This post has been edited by dickybird: Sep 29 2013, 10:48 PM |
Sep 30 2013, 09:46 AM
why not swalbe? they no good or too expensive? nevegal? can grip in pretty much all conditions. not sure about its tubeless perofrmance though. thought about going to tubeless but the benefits does not seem to outweight the cost.
| Change to: | 0.0484sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:54 AM |