5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

> Majority of voters unhappy with BN, ‘Project IC’ as Sabah RCI

Topet
post Feb 25 2013, 03:41 PM

schadenfreude
994 posts

QUOTE(mercury99 @ Feb 25 2013, 11:36 AM)
even if PR proved to be the better goverment? please give more matured answers and think through life carefully  shakehead.gif
read my siggy
wong6516
post Feb 26 2013, 02:32 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(zyxxyz @ Feb 21 2013, 12:22 AM)
1 term is enough for them to proof their stupidity and incompetency to rule the states.

Planning to take over Putrajaya? female dog, please.

I think there's a joke spreading like wildfire among the grassroots supporters of Barisan Nasional right now.

If I am not wrong, Pakatan Rakyat gave an excuse for not fulfilling its 2008 General Election manifesto by saying they were just a manifesto and not promises made by them to the Rakyat.

Nevertheless, we can see for ourselves.

Did Pakatan Rakyat reduce the gate tax by 20% and tax on commercial premises by 10%? Another funny thing was they apparently said it was a "non-doable thing" just a month after gaining power. Duping the people?

Pakatan Rakyat basically made empty promises. Those sweet promises were basically a huge supporting factor which led to their clear victory in a few states.

On Monday, they will release their 2013 manifesto to the public.

By now, the public know how to judge between "a manifesto" and "a promise" as according to Pakatan Rakyat.

rclxms.gif

Previously, my vote was for PR, especially DAP. As time passed, I realised that they were all morons spreading lies. Ever since, my vote was for BN. Now, I influence as many people as I can to do the right thing by voting for the right party and to not fall into the Opposition's lies again.

Lowering tax on cars? Nanti come into power cakap not do-able how?

Free tertiary education? Nanti come into power cakap not do-able how?

Abolish PTPTN? Nanti come into power cakap no money re-pay the remaining RM40+ billion in loans how?

Many more.

https://www.facebook.com/BarisanNasionalFanpage
bn troops seems to be mur hard working nowadays~i wil be very grateful if other government sectors/public authorities could be having tis kind of attitude when serving publics~
wong6516
post Feb 26 2013, 02:37 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(zyxxyz @ Feb 22 2013, 09:51 PM)
Good to know that there are still Malaysians out there with the brains still intact.

Read this blog post by a Malaysian. smile.gif

http://apanama2020.blogspot.com/2011/07/tr...g-in-n-out.html

That should clear our doubts if you have any.
no need to deny~by viewing ur topics,base on ur recently join date,even a no brainer could infer ur intention here~
jazzkobis
post Feb 26 2013, 02:52 PM

415 posts

QUOTE(Darius115 @ Feb 21 2013, 02:12 PM)
We vote PR so BN will change. If PR don't do well in the next government, at least BN will make effort to change itself from greedy party to party want to serve rakyat.

I know PR is not very good but we are sick and tired of BN because BN is much worst. I have enough of corruption and rich connected bizmen.
exactly nod.gif
TSFabio1
post Feb 26 2013, 05:51 PM

1,447 posts

Nearly nine out of 10 voters disagree with Putrajaya’s past moves in granting citizenship to Indonesians and Filipinos to live and vote in Sabah, according to the latest voter survey amid an ongoing royal investigation into the flood of foreigners there for the past 20 years.

Independent pollster Merdeka Center For Opinion Research, which surveyed 1,021 voters in Peninsular Malaysia at the end of January, reported today 86 per cent saying they disagreed with the government’s past action that has seen the foreign population boom in the Borneo state and earned it the moniker “Project IC”.

The survey also found 60 per cent of voters saying they believed a large number of foreigners were still getting the blue-coloured identity cards marking their status as citizens.

The longstanding issue of illegal immigrants that has continued unchecked for decades has turned emotive among Sabah natives like the Kadazandusun and Murut communities, many of whom feel that the state has been robbed of its sovereignty through the massive influx of foreigners from neighbouring Philippines and Indonesia.

More than a quarter of Sabah’s population are foreigners, totalling a staggering 889,000 out of the 3.2 million-strong population in Sabah, or about 28 per cent, based on a 2010 census.

Sabah has 926,638 voters, according to a June report in English-language daily The Star.

The large number of foreigners has also worried Sabah natives, who often blame them for the rise in crime and for stealing job opportunities.

More than 100 armed Filipino gunmen intruded into Lahad Datu, claiming ties with a Sulu sultanate that gives them ownership of Sabah on February 9 and have since refused to leave.

Recognising the political significance of Sabah’s illegals problem, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had agreed to form a royal commission of inquiry (RCI) to look into it.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Malaysia’s longest-serving prime minister who was in power from 1981 to 2003, has been accused of spearheading the so-called “Project IC”, in which citizenship was allegedly given to immigrants for their votes.

But former Sabah Chief Minister Tan Sri Harris Salleh, who administered the state from 1976 to 1985, has denied at the RCI of the existence of “Project IC”.

Dr Mahathir told a press conference last month that foreigners in Sabah had indeed received citizenship, but stressed that it was “within the law”.

The inquiry before a five-member panel led by former Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Steve Shim Lip Kiong resumes on March 5.

The January 23 to February 6 survey, which was funded internally by the Merdeka Center, aimed to gauge voters’ perceptions of issues in the run up to the 13th general election due soon. It had a margin error of three per cent.

The research house said the survey took place after the January 12 People’s Uprising rally backed by Pakatan Rakyat (PR) leaders in the national capital here as well as the ongoing media coverage of the Sabah citizenship-for-votes royal inquiry.

It noted that other issues that formed the talking point to its survey included carpet dealer Deepak Jaikishan’s and former Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s statements controversial statements against the government, and the “Allah” religious dispute.
zyxxyz
post Feb 26 2013, 08:17 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(Fabio1 @ Feb 26 2013, 05:51 PM)
Nearly nine out of 10 voters disagree with Putrajaya’s past moves in granting citizenship to Indonesians and Filipinos to live and vote in Sabah, according to the latest voter survey amid an ongoing royal investigation into the flood of foreigners there for the past 20 years.

Independent pollster Merdeka Center For Opinion Research, which surveyed 1,021 voters in Peninsular Malaysia at the end of January, reported today 86 per cent saying they disagreed with the government’s past action that has seen the foreign population boom in the Borneo state and earned it the moniker “Project IC”.

The survey also found 60 per cent of voters saying they believed a large number of foreigners were still getting the blue-coloured identity cards marking their status as citizens.

The longstanding issue of illegal immigrants that has continued unchecked for decades has turned emotive among Sabah natives like the Kadazandusun and Murut communities, many of whom feel that the state has been robbed of its sovereignty through the massive influx of foreigners from neighbouring Philippines and Indonesia.

More than a quarter of Sabah’s population are foreigners, totalling a staggering 889,000 out of the 3.2 million-strong population in Sabah, or about 28 per cent, based on a 2010 census.

Sabah has 926,638 voters, according to a June report in English-language daily The Star.

The large number of foreigners has also worried Sabah natives, who often blame them for the rise in crime and for stealing job opportunities.

More than 100 armed Filipino gunmen intruded into Lahad Datu, claiming ties with a Sulu sultanate that gives them ownership of Sabah on February 9 and have since refused to leave.

Recognising the political significance of Sabah’s illegals problem, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had agreed to form a royal commission of inquiry (RCI) to look into it.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Malaysia’s longest-serving prime minister who was in power from 1981 to 2003, has been accused of spearheading the so-called “Project IC”, in which citizenship was allegedly given to immigrants for their votes.

But former Sabah Chief Minister Tan Sri Harris Salleh, who administered the state from 1976 to 1985, has denied at the RCI of the existence of “Project IC”.

Dr Mahathir told a press conference last month that foreigners in Sabah had indeed received citizenship, but stressed that it was “within the law”.

The inquiry before a five-member panel led by former Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Steve Shim Lip Kiong resumes on March 5.

The January 23 to February 6 survey, which was funded internally by the Merdeka Center, aimed to gauge voters’ perceptions of issues in the run up to the 13th general election due soon. It had a margin error of three per cent.

The research house said the survey took place after the January 12 People’s Uprising rally backed by Pakatan Rakyat (PR) leaders in the national capital here as well as the ongoing media coverage of the Sabah citizenship-for-votes royal inquiry.

It noted that other issues that formed the talking point to its survey included carpet dealer Deepak Jaikishan’s and former Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan’s statements controversial statements against the government, and the “Allah” religious dispute.
Hmm. Didn't the officials involved in the scandal admit that they were the one who did it and not BN leaders or whatsoever? If i'm not wrong, they claim to earn some RM11million by distributing the ICs.

Plus, has it ever occur to you that just because they receive their citizenship doesn't meant that they voted for BN? They could have voted for PR or any other party.

joefbi
post Feb 27 2013, 10:31 AM

joefbi a.k.a roketx
2,558 posts

QUOTE(wertty @ Feb 24 2013, 03:35 PM)
No need to tell Internet whom you re voting

Keep your votes as secret and nations will be in peace
Those that seeking arguement to justify your party is like  seeking confidence with your decision

I am confidence enough to keep my vote a secret and i don't need anyone to tell me whom to vote
no secret. vote for PR
(usually secret voters is BN fags)

glamour
post Feb 27 2013, 03:43 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

i hardly see any relative,friends is voting BN
all voting opposition ...
i always for PR....
say no to BN !
naminakata87
post Feb 28 2013, 07:41 AM

706 posts

Duit minyak balik untuk mengundi belum bagi ni
TSFabio1
post Mar 3 2013, 11:27 PM

1,447 posts

Living on a knife's edge: that was the Sabahan reality for the last two weeks.

While Putrajaya played at diplomacy and our home minister mugged for the cameras, many Sabahans were left angry and confused.

There are intruders on our doorstep! Why are they not being chased out?

Do not believe the rumours, Putrajaya said.

We are hoping for a peaceful resolution, Putrajaya said.

And now, good men are dead.

My mother, ever the optimist says, "Let's hope it all turns out for the best."

But I know that right now she is checking that the knives are where she hid them.

Sabahans are not surprised.

Just a few years back, the Population and Housing Census Report for 2010 of the Economic Planning Unit said 27 per cent of Sabah's population are foreigners.

Nearly a third of Sabah.

70 per cent of of Sabah's prison population are also foreigners.

It is the reality Sabahans live with. Foreigners are everywhere, with even their own dedicated settlements.

According to Tan Sri Simon Sipaun, formerly of SUHAKAM and currently PROHAM chairman, when Kampung Ice Box in Tawau burnt down 25 years ago, 5000 people lost their homes.

Only 500 were Sabahan.

Everyone's favourite MP Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin's own constituency of Kinabatangan numbered about 85,000 as of June 2005.

Only 25,000 of his constituents were Malaysians.

To say that Sabahans have seen it coming is an understatement. Even now, there are 'black areas' in the state capital of Kota Kinabalu that locals will not go. Enter them at night, residents are warned, and you might not see the morning. Not even the police dare.

For years, Sabahan politicians from both Barisan Nasional and the opposition have clamoured for action. Funnily enough, illegal immigrants are one of the few things that has them on the same page.

Because this is our reality: Sabahans have been at the mercy of foreigners for years. Foreigners who have been aided and abetted by Putrajaya.

The RCI findings have proven instead that the sheep have been asking the wolves for protection.

While Filipinos are given ICs and voting rights, many true native Sabahans in rural areas do not have birth certificates or MyKads.

Of course, Sabahans are angry. Some have even taken to calling West Malaysians 'semenanjing' (West Malaysian dogs).

And can you blame them?

Can you blame them for being angry at Putrajaya's failures? For its promises that once it took over the state from the opposition that things would be better? Rosy visions of development and prosperity!

Sabah is still poor. Sabah is still awash in illegals.

And now Sabahans are cowering in their homes, living out the nightmare they knew could be coming.

If only Putrajaya had listened.

* Erna Mahyuni is a subeditor with The Malaysian Insider

* This is the personal opinion of the writer or publication and does not necessarily represent the views of The Malaysian Insider.
TSFabio1
post Mar 3 2013, 11:31 PM

1,447 posts

Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) political chief Gapul Hajiru has sounded his warning that the Lahad Datu incident may result in a ‘civil' war (a correct technical term to use if they are Malaysian citizens).

According to Philippine Star, there are more than 8,500 Filipinos in Sabah who are mostly Tausugs, said to be members of the fiercest of Philippine Moro tribe.

Are they the courtesy of former PM Dr Mahathir Mohamad's ‘citizens-for-votes' project?

The Sulu sultanate may or may not have a legitimate claim over Sabah, but that is not the topic for discussion here.

We are wondering why the armed Sulu intruders came in the first place? And the timing too. Were they taking advantage of the government in the wake of the coming general election?

I tend to believe this could be a suicide mission, not unlike the Palestinian suicide bombers, to highlight their claim over Sabah. They hope to bring the world's attention to their forgotten cause/claim.

They hope to get the Malaysian authorities back to the negotiation table. We hope our government is not so weak and stupid enough to take that course.

Their claim has been a non-issue for so long and even the Philippine government has not made/support any active claim on Sabah.

Quigonbond: Putrajaya has a lot to answer to:

1) How did the Sulu gunmen get past our border? Was it failure of our Navy?

2) How did the two commandos die? What were their standing orders? What were the tactics and mission objective? Where were they? Who gave the order?

3) Why did the siege/standoff persist so long? Does it have anything to do with BN being afraid to lose votes from the Sulu people who have been given ICs (identity cards)?

4) Are they going to take pro-active measures to ensure there is no escalation of violence in Sabah?
TSFabio1
post Mar 3 2013, 11:33 PM

1,447 posts

My condolence to the families of the two police officers who died at Kampung Tanduo. Unnecessary blood has been shed and yet we are no closer to resolving this standoff.

The treasonous act of issuing ICs to these Philippine islanders has embolden their leaders into thinking that they have the support of their community in Sabah and the right to be there.

With nearly one million ‘legal' and illegal Filipinos residing there, it is natural for them to think so. These are unintended consequences when greedy politician are only looking out for themselves rather than the well-being of the nation.

Our political leaders must stop dithering and start making some tough decisions before the situation degenerate any further. This is an armed invasion. Get the military leaders involved.

This situation is best handled by the military rather than the police. Much of the taxpayers' money has been spend to equip them. It's high time that we put them to good use. If these people refuse to leave, throw them out.
TSFabio1
post Mar 16 2013, 04:18 PM

1,447 posts

'How can our police simply confiscate and destroy papers issued by the government, unless they knew these documents are fake...'

Is this the same Harris Salleh who was implicated in Project IC which benefitted mostly illegal Suluk immigrants from the Philippines?

The same Harris Salleh who was once quoted as planning to overwhelm the demography of Sabah in favour of Muslims?

The same Harris Salleh, who after the killings and brutal murder of eight security personnel, suggested Malaysia pay the defunct Sulu sultanate RM200 million to "settle" the matter? I strongly recommend that the Special Branch investigate Harris Salleh.

TSFabio1
post Mar 16 2013, 04:20 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Feb 19 2013, 06:49 PM)
Definitely not BN.
It's bizarre that Harris wasn't even aware of the existence of Project IC which has been attributed with issuing tens of thousands MyKads to illegals during his tenure as Sabah CM and he's so well-verse of these MyKads are destroyed by the security forces. Is he not slapping his own face?

As president of Yayasan Islam Sabah, an organisation set up to look after the welfare of 'imported Muslims', he should have known the large presence of Suluks, numbering 800,000, on our shores does present serious security threats to the state.

Surely, he was aware of the 'IC scam' all along despite his pretences at the RCI.
SUSyamahahai
post Mar 16 2013, 04:22 PM

44 posts

Can't wait to see BN sau pei.
TSFabio1
post Mar 16 2013, 09:33 PM

1,447 posts

News of the year

Najib instructed Cecil on SD2, Bar AGM told

Senior lawyer Cecil Abraham has allegedly admitted acting on Najib Abdul Razak's instructions to prepare the late private investigator P Balasubramaniam’s controversial second statutory declaration (SD).
billylks
post Mar 17 2013, 12:45 AM

180 posts

Never support PKR or BN since I hate politic.

But after seeing how BN mistreated the citizens over the years, I will vote just to make BN lose, ha ha ha!
d7adict
post Mar 17 2013, 01:03 PM

268 posts

I wouldn't mind less about PR manifesto not full filled. At least they are doing something good for rakyat especially Selangor people. For five years, I can feel directly the impact(free water, allowance for entering uni, klang bridge & ect) whereas in BN I could only see the mere slogan 1malaysia and opening more 1malaysia merchandise using our money for publicity while property price keeps increasing which is something to be worried about for a young grad like me!

Compared to Bn, at least I know Pr dint use my money to buy jewel rings, cows in condos, kapal selam that cannot selam, going family trips, and ect while our national debt is still deficit every year! Whos egoing to bear the debt?

This post has been edited by d7adict: Mar 17 2013, 01:04 PM
Damocles
post Mar 17 2013, 06:23 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Feb 25 2013, 12:26 PM)
i would like to see what can PR do in the federal.. my vote is for PR this time. next round, should PR do shait also, i might spoiled my voting paper..
The following quote said it all!
“Tell me, which UMNO leader does not have problem?"
- end of quote
Remember who said this?
They are all in the same boat and has each others' balls and nuts in their hands!
So, nobody dare to rock the boat!!!!
And this will go on ad infinitum; Joe Public will be the suckers!!!
Until, of course, they are booted out by PR!!!
That's why it's imperative that PR must go all out to grab Putrajaya!!!!!!!!!!

glamour
post Mar 17 2013, 11:29 PM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

QUOTE(zyxxyz @ Feb 21 2013, 03:24 PM)
Yeah sure. Continue to claim that she spent some US$24million on a ring. Yeah sure, then make up the story that Rosmah claimed she saved the money since she was young.

She has been denying the existence of the ring since the beginning. Stop twisting the facts.

And come on. Are you seriously that foolish? If that ring did indeed exist and does indeed cost some RM70+ million, don't you think it would be all over the foreign news?

I don't remember reading any international media reporting that she bought the ring.

Expensive rings like this will definitely make headlines anywhere in the world.
Another fool over here.

First of all, you're contradicting your own statement.

"It's always better to be on the side of the devil we know rather than the angel we don't."

In this situation, BN has ruled since Independence. Surely, BN is the devil you know in this case and PR would be the angel that you don't. So, who are you supporting now? PR or BN? Stop contradicting your own statements. Or better still, if you don't know how to use an idiom, don't use it at all.

Second of all, who are you? God? Jesus? Buddha? Lord Murugan? A Penang Deputy Chief Minister's aide was caught in the act of practicing corruption ON THE SPOT early this year. Your comments?

Funny all you fools who support PR claim that we need a change in Gov just because BN is corrupted and that we scored high in the recent corruption index.

Hey bro. Use your brains lah. Do you even have any?

How many states under PR?

If Malaysia is really corrupted, how sure are you that PR, the coalition that is leading Penang, Kelantan, Selangor and Kedah is clean and is not contributing to our high position in the index?

Sick of fools like you. THINK LAH! PR cakap apa you believe apa.

DAP's recent CEC elections. Care to explain?

Even their LIFE MEMBERS also come out to report against them to the police and registrar of societies.

DAP and PAS is already losing their grassroots support. I'm not sure about PKR, but surely they're not far behind.

Lie to yourself all you want.

GE is getting nearer and nearer.

Malaysians are ready to right what was wronged in GE 12.

Let's not forget the Selangor Mentri Besar Khalid Ibrahim recently said that the 2008 GE manifesto was only a manifesto and not a promise. That was the excuse he gave when the Rakyat ask him why he didn't fulfil the promises he made in 2008.

Let's not forget that in 2008, he promised to reduce gate tax and tax on commercial premises. Less than a month after getting into power, he told the state that he will not do it as it "could not be done".

PR issue gag order all the time. How often do you see BN doing that?

The most recent one is by DAP sec-gen Lim Guan Eng and Anwar Ibrahim. They slapped the entire coalition with a gag order banning them from commenting on the recent Johor PKR and DAP state leader. They claimed that the "matter should not be made public".

Explain all this la. Talk so much. When ask you to explain, you cannot explain. When don't ask you to talk, you talk all the bs out.

Typical noob.
rclxms.gif
BN sure pay alot money for u
Anyway. My vote goes for PKR
Fark BN

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >

0.0241sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:11 AM