4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?

giovanni
post Mar 17 2013, 12:48 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 17 2013, 12:44 PM)
It only 90% like S III but 99% like Note II.

Samsung didn't touch on design except change the texture pattern only.
By the way, how do you come out with the figures? Nvm, back to your figures. If it's 99% note 2 like and 90% S3-like, doesn't that imply that it's a new class on its own since it's a hybrid? For all we know, Note 2 is a phablet. hmm.gif
giovanni
post Mar 17 2013, 12:58 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Mar 17 2013, 12:52 PM)
It is not. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion but when one posts some ridiculous or un-substantiated statements, it just irks me.
I feel you mate
giovanni
post Mar 17 2013, 01:14 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(babienn @ Mar 17 2013, 01:00 PM)
That's because S3 is similar to Note 2 too. You seriously add them up?? shocking.gif
Yeah they are similar but not identical. iphone 3 to iphone 5 are all similar too in case you haven't noticed. Don't get me wrong, I'm not defending samsung neither am I bashing Apple. I have far too many gadgets from different brands (apple,samsung,htc etc). What baffles me is the fact that, there are obvious changes to the design (less curvy and bigger screen compared to S3) but people choose not to acknowledge it.

Of course I know it looks similar to its predecessor and boy, I how wish samsung did revamp the design too but, there are changes nevertheless. To fit a bigger screen on a similar body size is already an impressive feat, don't you think? Apple has to elongate the body of IP5 to do this.
giovanni
post Mar 17 2013, 01:35 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 17 2013, 01:03 PM)
It similar with S III but not exactly as the side and curve and button and front camera and sensor placement.

All above was exactly same as Note II. The only different was surface texture design and back flash placement.

Note II people call phabet because screen size big, this has nothing to do with design.
But your previous post was confusing because you said "it is 90% S3 and 99% Note 2". My bad for misunderstanding your statement. I thought you meant overall design and size since Note 2 is obviously a phablet.
giovanni
post Mar 17 2013, 01:46 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 17 2013, 01:40 PM)
Sorry for my bad explanation, will write more in details rather than shortcut in future.
Anyway, you're not wrong too because S4 is already stepping into the phablet category since it has a 5" screen.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phablet

giovanni
post Mar 17 2013, 09:11 PM

1,898 posts

Pricing in US revealed: http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4_...9-news-5714.php
giovanni
post Mar 19 2013, 10:14 PM

1,898 posts

I think I'm going to choose s4 over HTC One.
giovanni
post Mar 20 2013, 11:04 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Mar 20 2013, 10:12 AM)
Tell me, what's makes you more toward to SIV instead of ONE/ XZ tongue.gif

what i could think is exchangeable battery + sd card slot.

hmm.gif

*personal opinion anyway* just discuss  laugh.gif

and what do you feel problems in SIV that samsung need to take caare off? (aside the plastic body lolz)
Let me tell you why I'm swayed towards s4. Like yourself, the sd slot and removable battery are the few key factors. When it comes to HTC One, I guess there's no way you can remove the battery without removing the screen from it's metallic unibody (I'm just guessing here becos I don't see any other way it can be done) which requires you to send it to the service centre. Many might say, that's no big deal but for me, a dealbreaker because I hate the idea of repairman dismantling my phone. Who knows what kind of damage might be caused by such work such as tiny scratch etc. Call me nitpicker but I'm anal about the outlook of my phone (must be pristine and scratchless). Sd card slot is a plus but not a must. You can never argue with more storage space esp with ppl like me who loves movies, games and taking snapshots on the go.

Thirdly is the screen. Bigger screen on a similar sized body compared to HTC One thumbup.gif (although I prefer Slcd 3 over amoled but, give and take).

Then comes the plastic body. This is rather controversial. People said s4 feels cheap but it is actually less scratch prone (thanks to the hyperglazed body) and in some cases more durable. Aluminium is pretty and imparts a premium feel but my experience with iPhone 5 tells me you have to be extra cautious to prevent scratches. For me, plastic is cheap hence cheaper to replace (stand corrected for this statement since it's merely my personal perception which is not backed up by facts).

Finally the camera. I know ultrapixel is really good for low light shots but reviews of daylight photography are a mixed bag. My wife is using a Note 2 (I know it's only 8 MP) and the pic quality is good hence I'm sticking to a proven evolutionary technolology over a revolutionary concept at this point. Just my two cents.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Mar 20 2013, 11:19 AM
giovanni
post Mar 20 2013, 11:23 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Mar 20 2013, 11:21 AM)
Let me add something else so that you will be swayed more tongue.gif you have after sales service. Guaranteed of regular software updates and pretty decent service centres too!
+2 rclxms.gif
giovanni
post Mar 21 2013, 01:03 PM

1,898 posts

I'm getting the Exynos Octa 5 variant. I don't download much using mobile data anyway. With light browsing, 3g is more than enough for me
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 11:50 AM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lord_aminkin @ Apr 1 2013, 11:19 AM)
Urghhhh, yeah, yeah..we know it for 20th times already. You don't have to rant for another 30 times to say you don't like the design. Seriously, my eyes gonna bleed if I saw one more rant from the same person about this phone design. Sure you don't like the design, and its quite okay to let the whole world know but then move on lah.

For me, I like S4 design over S3 because the less curvy and more or so like S2. I quite detest curvy thing although i own an S3. To say its got the same design is a an ignorance and bull-fu*king-cr*p statement. Its almost identical but to my eyes its a very different design altogether between the two phones.

Just my two cents. icon_rolleyes.gif
rclxms.gif
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 12:02 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2013, 07:14 PM)
For me, as long storage 32gb and above,  no point having SD card as that also lead to slower  performance.

A lot normal user even 16GB also enough for them. I am not superb light user but definitely 32GB was enough for me.

I don't really see follow trend of removing sdcard is a bad move.

2nd - I never change battery for my phone in my life before.  So with none removable battery can build better solid back cover is a plus for me. Nowadays a lot user change phone every year or at least two years per one. Within this period, normally battery still serve you well.
2 things to remember: 1) alot of users need big storage as well. 2) Battery life degrades over time so for those who tend to use their phones longer than a year this may become an issue.
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 12:16 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Mar 31 2013, 07:23 PM)
Actually when you check on S III it was obvious they still room for them to fit in the extra 0.2mm screen size. It was possible. As for the slight slimmer was nothing impossible to happen.

As camera, I was damn surprise Samsung put in such narrow view of camera in S 4. This was really a big cons even but just compare itself with S III only.
To be frank, this is kinda absurd. How do you know it was possible to fit an extra screen estate into that body a year back? For all I know the bezel for S3 was already quite thin back then and no one said a thing about the screen to body ratio being ridiculously skewed. In other words, no one complaint about the bezel being too big back then as well right? I know you like HTC One a lot. Doesn't HTC One have a bigger bezel?

As for your "As for the slight slimmer was nothing impossible to happen", isn't that innovation?

When it comes to the camera of S4, I aint too sure about the lens or whether or not the field or capture could be tweaked via software update but all I know is, it performs admirably well compared to S3 and in many cases better than HTC One even under low light condition.

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s4_...view-913p10.php
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 12:26 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 1 2013, 12:06 PM)
To remember, also a lot user can't even finish 16GB capacity, and a lot user change phone once a year or 2 years once. smile.gif

Just get whatever suite you. But the decision having it or not, nothing much impact. If one day Samsung also out non removable battery phone and no SD card, I am pretty sure people still get use to it soon. This two issues is not major issue, it was minor issue for some.
Yeah, to each his own. Not a single doubt about that. So a small issue for you might not be a small issue for others.

But if given a choice, I believe (my two cents) most people would prefer an external card slot (not that everyone needs it. It would be good too to have the flexibility to expand your storage if needed Who would complain to a company for offering an extra slot?) and an easier option for battery replacement.

So this brings us back to the issue you raised regarding Samsung moving in the similar direction in the future (if it may), well, if Samsung doesn't give us a choice then we will decide by then whether or not we are willing to compromise.

But we are talking about making the best choice now given the availability of options (between HTC One and S4 that is).
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 12:33 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 1 2013, 12:26 PM)
Which part on my comment I complain on the bezel? I never complain. Even S III was less bezel than HTC one.

Also, which part I said slight slimmer is not innovation?

I never said above two part, I was said it was possible to fit in the 0.2" size base on current S III design and on Samsung successful technology on screen material.

Samsung can fit in much bigger screen on S 4 with S III body is damn innovation, this part HTC lost a lot.

As for camera narrow view issue - I said it seems obvious cannot be tweak via software because that was sensor issue, no sensor can change view base on software tweak. Did I said it perform worst than S III or HTC One? I didn't also, I just said bad move from Samsung choose narrow view on it.

You love S 4 and love Samsung, I also still like Samsung, but what the point protecting until like that simply bashing.
rclxub.gif

Sorry to say, I never stayed loyal to a brand. I am still torn between HTC One and S4 so I am pretty much neutral. Even if the view is narrower, there is good quality panorama mode if needed. Just saying though.

Frankly speaking, I am only sweat.gif here to quell your never ending rant that is.
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 12:35 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Apr 1 2013, 12:18 PM)
Im the one who use very less capacity. Only my iPhone usually full coz I sync all my iTunes library
I believe you wouldn't mind to be given a card slot?
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 12:39 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Apr 1 2013, 12:37 PM)
I will appreciate it as I have few 32GB M.SD card sitting around my room corner  tongue.gif
Yeah, I would too. biggrin.gif
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 01:02 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 1 2013, 12:26 PM)
Which part on my comment I complain on the bezel? I never complain. Even S III was less bezel than HTC one.

Also, which part I said slight slimmer is not innovation?

I never said above two part, I was said it was possible to fit in the 0.2" size base on current S III design and on Samsung successful technology on screen material.

Samsung can fit in much bigger screen on S 4 with S III body is damn innovation, this part HTC lost a lot.

As for camera narrow view issue - I said it seems obvious cannot be tweak via software because that was sensor issue, no sensor can change view base on software tweak. Did I said it perform worst than S III or HTC One? I didn't also, I just said bad move from Samsung choose narrow view on it.

You love S 4 and love Samsung, I also still like Samsung, but what the point protecting until like that simply bashing.
You did not complain about the bezel but you said it could still fit in another 0.2". That is the bit that draws me to the bezel discussion and comparison. The bezel of S3 is already small enough and I'm AMAZED with your assertion saying that it could fit in extra screen real estate, but how do you know that it was feasible before the release of S4?

From your tone of saying "anything is possible" in regards to the slimmer body of S4, I infer that you are simply not impressed hence did not consider it an innovation. After all, you did complain heaven and hell about the whole build being similar to s3 (I am too lazy to read back all that you have posted here by the way).

Did I quote u for saying that S4 performs worse than S3 and HTC One? I was only talking about making compromises with the FOV of the lens since it performs better than S3 and HTC One in many cases. So Mr Andrew, please do read properly before you start lashing out at me.

I am not bashing you but you are the one bashing S4 like Samsung owes you big time. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by giovanni: Apr 1 2013, 01:03 PM
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 01:16 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Apr 1 2013, 01:14 PM)
cool down, cheers  tongue.gif
I am pretty chilled. smile.gif
giovanni
post Apr 1 2013, 05:59 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 1 2013, 05:28 PM)
You are the only genius here...

The rest just make me unstop laughing when I read those comment!  rclxms.gif I realize people will do whatever to protect what his/her like.  icon_idea.gif
-------------------------------------------------------------
Anyway wishing everyone "Happy April Fools".

This is my end journey of S 4 thread here.
You're seriously beyond redemption. Nobody is protecting S4 like what you alleged. It is your senseless rants and baseless bashing that got on my nerve. doh.gif You made me facepalmed to no end doh.gif

This post has been edited by giovanni: Apr 1 2013, 06:00 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1050sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:38 PM