Samsung Galaxy S4 (S IV?), The New King of Android?

benny888
post Mar 19 2013, 10:36 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Mar 19 2013, 10:20 PM)
What do you mean slower
The HTC one surpuss most other phones in practically all the tests except browsermark
benny888
post Mar 20 2013, 08:57 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 20 2013, 08:30 AM)
U wont really b using so poweful processor. It wil just drain more battery but still doing same function as other phone. Imagine having ferrari engine on your car while driving in kl city
Completely wrong analogy you are using here. Where you got this idea that it will drain more battery? Is basically won't be full time on 8 cores
benny888
post Mar 20 2013, 10:25 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 20 2013, 10:21 AM)
grrr... wanna get Nexus 4 or S4... rclxub.gif make me confuse leh...!
Nexus 4 for pure vanilla Android OS and fast software updates. You just get basic stuffs . There is not much additional phone/camera features vs S4

benny888
post Mar 20 2013, 09:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Mar 20 2013, 07:33 PM)
I made a measurement in one of the earlier note2 threads and it seems even at 6.3", assuming a slim bezel,  it's still fine smile.gif
6.3 inch is similarly fine for me too
benny888
post Mar 21 2013, 09:07 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Mar 21 2013, 05:52 AM)
thats why they shouldnt make mistake like that.. they should follow upgrade to octa  cool2.gif
this for who use LTE and non LTE, maxis only right?   smile.gif
LTE will be using Snapdragon 600 while non LTE is exynos
This news is good n now we have a choice between these 2

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 21 2013, 09:08 AM
benny888
post Mar 21 2013, 07:15 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(N_Silver @ Mar 21 2013, 06:59 PM)
Guys,normally when we buy phone with plan from telco do we pay for the plan only or the phone price at that time
Normally you need to pay for the phone price ( discounted price) plus any advance payment if require and usually the first month of the plan
benny888
post Mar 24 2013, 11:38 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 24 2013, 10:40 AM)
S3 screen is what makes it fun. Changing to Note2 make me feel like screen not responsive.
Seriously Note 2 is very, very , very much more smoother and responsive vs S3
benny888
post Mar 26 2013, 10:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Design is in one of my bottom list of priorities in buying any phone. Some treat this as most important criteria. I still cannot understand such mentality. Some users said I have no taste !. Guess I am too old to appreciate designs.
I find completely nothing wrong with the plastic quality used in all recent Samsung Galaxy phones. It is only some users like to bash about it over use of metallic, aluminium or glass. Some of them talk as if the Samsung designers are stupid and has no taste and only they themselves possess such finesse.
Seriously the Xperia Z , some users including many web reviewers praised its classy look. I don't find it classy at all - to me it is just a piece of rectangular glass slab. Anytime I'd prefer say S3 or Note2 design over it. I bought it mainly to have a try again at Xperia range after my last disappointment with the Arc.
All those who always talk about classy designs, get a Vertu phone - than you can talk about class. Is only a phone, why the need to have class in its design ?? I find practically and features is more important
And worse of all, 9/10 of such users will buy a casing and protect /hide these "classy" designs !!!

This post has been edited by benny888: Mar 26 2013, 10:22 AM
benny888
post Mar 26 2013, 10:39 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Mar 26 2013, 10:34 AM)
I agreed with Uncle Benny views though for me the phone design does not sits in the very bottom on my priorities as i always use my phone naked. If the phone looks real ugly..i definitely won't buy it..lolz
And the S4 still looks ordinary and can be accepted for daily use thumbup.gif
I find the S4 design perfectly fine and I do not dislike/hate it unlike some. I don't think nowadays any phone manufacturer comes out with any ugly phones. Only haters will term it ugly of fugly !!
benny888
post Mar 26 2013, 11:39 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My very first "mobile" phone, provided by my ex company. It than costs RM 14000 !!! I was the only manager given this phone, not even the GM has it due to my constant out of factory needs

benny888
post Mar 27 2013, 12:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Mar 27 2013, 12:31 PM)
LTE radio and FM radio have some overlapping thingy so no both  rclxms.gif

joytest, the issue about plastic vs aluminium is forever haha
My xperia Z LTE model comes with FM radio app. Works well

benny888
post Mar 28 2013, 10:18 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Benchmarks only a guide n does not necessary means it will outperform others with lower scores
We should use it only as a guide of the phone potential
However I know one feels good knowing if he is buying the S4 the benchmarks is not dissapointing vs others

benny888
post Mar 29 2013, 07:45 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 29 2013, 02:29 AM)
Those prices include 17% VAT

benny888
post Apr 1 2013, 09:52 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Apr 1 2013, 09:23 PM)
Was toying and still am, with the idea of getting an XZ but after reading so many adverse comments I am holding back. Since you own one, do you have any advice for people in my situation?
My only complaint is the poor audio quality through its speakers ; is even worse than Nexus 4. However I have installed an audio mod and it has improved tremendously but still loses out to say Note 2, Butterfly
The other minor issue which I have come to accept ( similar to Nexus 7) is the display quality - colors are not so vibrant and contrasts are not so great. You can see the difference if you are used to Amoled, HTC LCD displays. i have no problems with viewing angles as this I think only affect JDC display more not Sharp display as on mine. even if it is an issue to some, it is still a non issue to me
benny888
post Apr 4 2013, 11:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(LordDenning @ Apr 4 2013, 09:55 PM)
Wow! Never knew Mark Zuckerberg a fan of S3, Note2 n now S4
Good publicity for Samsung
benny888
post Apr 6 2013, 09:11 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(girl83 @ Apr 5 2013, 10:10 PM)
but the back cover case will get damage faster?

also if  u cover with casing u need to remove casing, remove cover , remove batt, put batt back, put cover back, put casing back  cool.gif
Your time must be so precious that you even worry about such battery changing stuffs
And the back battery cover is much stronger thsn you think. Check youtube to see how strong n flexible/bendable it is

This post has been edited by benny888: Apr 6 2013, 09:12 AM
benny888
post Apr 6 2013, 11:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Apr 6 2013, 11:28 PM)
with the cheap and flimsy plastic with it.....u will damage the back cover...and if there is NFC antenna

godbless.....backcover with NFC antenna inside is not cheap
Flimsy ?? You are seriously dead wrong on this

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0486sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:45 AM