EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

lee82gx
post Feb 27 2021, 03:41 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

how does one check the actual amount paid as dividend? I log in now and with 2020 & 2021 detail vs summary statements available to download.

None of these among 4 possible documents displays the actual amount added to me as dividend. I know, that roughly speaking yes my balance is higher than before but the precise amount is not shown?
lee82gx
post Feb 27 2021, 04:20 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 27 2021, 03:45 PM)
The detailed statement for 2020 got one column shows dividend disbursed per Account.

Should be the summary table.

thank you for helping an uncle.
BTW I also found out you can check via the epf mobile app.
lee82gx
post Feb 27 2021, 05:24 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

you guys need to realize that even though the market is damn good, epf needs to liquidate assets to convert to dividends. In this context sometimes selling the non performing assets also just comes with losses too. We've lived with EPF for donkey year, the dividend is usually 6-7 in boom years and 4-5 in bust years. I don't get the point of crying about 0.5% if that is what is takes to make some ppl smile.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2023, 01:26 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

wah potong stim at the dividend announcement
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2023, 01:34 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

for 1 trillion asset under management you'd have thought at least one phone with ability to live stream on youtube can be acquired and deployed on such an auspicious day.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2023, 01:40 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Left RM4.9k still want to withdraw, basically just want to live under state sponsorship for life.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 11:10 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

hi, I know I am late to the discussion. Has there been any clarification on how EPF get and distribute RM500 to account holders with less than RM10k balance?
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 12:53 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 4 2024, 11:46 AM)
The rm500 have been credited into the account around January..

As for sources of the money...
It's from government...

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/ms/w/1-4-million-me...e-one-off-rm500
thank you for replying, the epf website link you gave only says for more info look into the FAQS but I am struggling to find this. Any help?

lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 01:31 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 4 2024, 01:25 PM)
How EPF get?
From the Govt budget
Post 790
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5359044/+780
Here are the highlights of Budget 2023:

Government to contribute RM500 to EPF Account 1 of members aged 40 to 54 with less than RM10,000. This will benefit two million people and cost Putrajaya RM1 billion.

How EPF distribute?
Direct to eligible accounts holders in their kwsp accounts
Thanks for replying, I think we owe it to ourselves to check the EPF accounts this time around. There must be a proper accounting of RM700 million injected as income from government into EPF this time around.

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 4 2024, 01:25 PM)
same here...

trying to find the FAQ...

failed big...
I also see that EPF has not published 2023 accounts.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 02:32 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 4 2024, 01:36 PM)
Income??
Or it was AUM growth? (from RM500 those below RM10k gets from the govt)
All I really care is that the RM700million dispensed into the <RM10k holder does not come from the shareholders (us). It should come as a special income from someplace and directly expensed out.

They can call it whatever they want but it must not be deducted from any individual contributor prior to the disbursement.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 02:41 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Mar 4 2024, 02:34 PM)
I don't think there was any mentioned where it came from...given that conventional dividend so low.....I still have no idea....
its very natural for us to worry and speculate. But in accounting, money cannot be created. So like it or not they have to show the balance sheet. Madani says Government pay, I want to see the trail of money.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 05:25 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

how many can consistently beat EPF year in year out? I can say in my 18 years of working life I lost to EPF in about 5-6 years out of 18. Of course those included '09 Financial crisis, '18 trade war, '20 Covid and perhaps another 1 or 2 other black swan events big and small. Had I did something foolish during those times I could be wiped out but I also could have 10x'ed during those times if I were more astute, bold and careful. Nonetheless, as I approach the 2nd half of working life I start to appreciate the safety aspect more and more.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 06:33 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 4 2024, 05:43 PM)
Since i have invested in gold in 2002, i have beaten EPF quite easily over 20 years. Gold itself have delivered a CAGR of approx 11.5% over the last 21 years.
Year on year, it looks like gold traded side ways from 2012 to 2020. That is 8 years of under performance compared to EPF which is what I was talking about. Looking at the price chart now I’m not confident it provided the same reward vs risk ratio of EPF either over the long term. If one looks purely from a cagr point of view there are various other instruments to compare to as well. Example silver. I’d say gold is just one of the ways to invest.
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 07:28 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 4 2024, 06:45 PM)
When i mentioned 11.5% CAGR, it is in RINGGIT terms. Between 2012 to 2020, gold gained 50% in RINGGIT terms.
OF course there are other assets to invest in. I am sharing my experience.
However, you have to pick the right one!  laugh.gif
And gold has been a great stabiliser for my portfolio.
Ya there is infinite benefit in hindsight. Given another chance I’d definitely avoid gold but would’ve all in nvda lol.
I think it’s totally out of context to compare EPF with Gold or anything like that. The correct comparison should be ASM / ASW2020, US Treasury, FD, those kind. Just MHO
lee82gx
post Mar 4 2024, 08:27 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 4 2024, 08:06 PM)
Yes. I shifted all my FDs into gold in 2002.
It was not even comparing gold against EPF. The discussion was about those who just plunked all their money into EPF for whatever reasons. Rather than invest in some other assets. Thus began the discussion.
Well in 2002, you may not be the only one avoiding gold. Gold did nothing for many years before that.
Many did not see any value in gold then. So you would have been normal.  laugh.gif
Even for voluntary contributions, I feel strongly that it should not be compared to Gold, or volatile assets of any sort. One does not park money into EPF for the sake of performance compared to something that can drop over time. In other words, if EPF gains another 1% or not this year I am not too fussed as long as it is above the housing loan by 1-2%. If I wanted to properly have more than that, then its a whole other ball game. Wherein I'd still place gold at very last end of my portfolio brows.gif
lee82gx
post Mar 5 2024, 11:26 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

Personally I am ok with EPF dividends over the last few decades. Its been pretty obvious very early on that it will never generate the sufficient returns for me to "retire comfortably". For a non-bumi salaryman, 25% of your income making 5-6% per annum is not going to cut it.

By treating this as my own "savings" ie a piggy bank instead of investment vehicle, I value the EPF being completely safe in terms of guaranteed principal.

Even if we look at Norway, their sovereign fund also generates an average of 6-7% and they are often heralded as best in the world at this. They are not even principal guaranteed. Imagine a trillion dollar fund suffering a loss of 10% a year. That's 100b evaporated somewhere.

For those who hope for better, it is better to EXPECT better and take your own risks. There is no such thing as free lunch. Even the prophet took a gamble (that paid off) by creating another bucket, and investing it in gold. It is surely not a roses and sunshine on the way to financial freedom.
lee82gx
post Mar 5 2024, 11:27 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 5 2024, 11:24 AM)
Making profit or currently in loss??

It's outperformed EPF over the years??
The best PRS is JUSTTTTT around EPF performance in long term. Like others said if not for tax deduction I won't even invest in it. In fact I've stopped.
lee82gx
post Mar 5 2024, 11:41 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 5 2024, 11:31 AM)
Interesting...

Was exploring option of using EPF $$$ for it...

So looking around if anyone got positive feedback on them...
I havent actually tried very hard at this, but look for those funds that invest outside of Malaysia. But remember the bloody fees. Personally I have plenty of bother with external non-EPF investment to bother with.

IE if you can successfully beat EPF, I suggest you pour in your non epf monies into it. Let EPF do the epf thing.
lee82gx
post Apr 4 2024, 03:56 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

what about public global select fund? very similar performance vs Titans fund, also US exposure.
lee82gx
post Apr 4 2024, 07:51 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 4 2024, 03:57 PM)
:')
That's what I'm using now, but really really hate the upfront 0.5% Sales Charge (vs. 0% Principal funds) for similar performance  doh.gif
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 4 2024, 04:30 PM)
Public mutual got service charge. Fsm no service charge. Why do you want to pay more to banks/agents?

I suppose its a case of beggars can't be choosers.

0.0529sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:14 PM