EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
hksgmy
Aug 7 2023, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 7 2023, 08:08 AM) These are certificates for the gold bullions sold by UOB.  Yes, UOB sells physical gold, as I've mentioned in an earlier post in another (unrelated) thread. It's one of the few banks (at least in Singapore, where I'm based) that still sell physical gold. This post has been edited by hksgmy: Aug 7 2023, 08:33 AM
hksgmy
Aug 7 2023, 08:37 AM
And I know what gashout means - some may be many miles away from Malaysia, but interestingly, Malaysia is always close to their hearts.
Sometimes, those who stayed behind must understand that for those who didn't, they left not because they disliked Malaysia, but because Malaysia's policies disadvantaged them.
hksgmy
May 1 2024, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(HumbleBF @ May 1 2024, 10:13 PM) Sir ...you already exposed your age 😅. Still younger than me… haha
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 07:31 AM) Everything done by PMX nowadays is to appease and hope to win votes. Preparing the ground for a bleak future for the younger ones. Yes, sadly. The more they take out, the more it eats into the compounding interest effect and the less they’ll have when they need it the most
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 07:45 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ May 12 2024, 07:42 AM) Same thinking Good suggestion. But why won't you have emergency fund that you need to suddenly touch epf 3. Unless you have certain needs suddenly from the new epf acc structure. I'll only do so if my account has like 5 mil like prophet Jul. Most of us if take out, it's not even 10k usd which is easily saved if you really want 10k usd suddenly. Sis, is the KWSP contribution rate higher than CPF’s? We contribute 17% and the company tops up 20% but the contribution is capped at a max salary of SGD8,000 (from Jan 2026). It’s at $6,800 right now, up from $6,000 previously
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 07:51 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ May 12 2024, 07:48 AM) This Sg has it right. 37% is amazing. We only have 11% from employee and 12/13% from employer (13% if you're under a certain salary amount). So total is 22%/23%. We don't have a cap. Some good companies give 16% 18% one of the perks working with them. Ah, no cap. That’s why ultimately the EPF gives such impressive numbers. I mean, I barely have SGD1m in my CPF and I’ve been contributing from the day I became a PR some 25 years ago… admittedly the initial years, the percentage of contribution was lower on my side (employer still the same) as the SG government gave new PRs some financial support to buy a house by taking less out from their CPF… I mean, prophetjul’s RM5m in EPF is a dream for me…
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 07:54 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 07:53 AM) This feels rather low? SGD8k in 2026 is not much to shout about. Yeah, it isn’t much… hence, I certainly won’t and don’t rely on the CPF to fund my retirement.
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ May 12 2024, 07:59 AM) Prophetjul’s RM5m in EPF is a dream for you while your SGD 3 mil bond is a dream for him 🤭 And I'm just here reading to flexing story. But it's an inspiration to me 🙏🏻. Overall, I still think - currency strength with lower return > retirement fund return with higher return Edited - apologies, off topic This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 12 2024, 10:36 AM
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 08:25 AM) Actually i was lucky and blessed in my career. Normally, an engineer in Malaysia does not achieve too much financial success as an employee. i joined an MNC as a manager and was promoted very fast to GM in my early 30s. They practiced MERITOCRACY. That's why my EPF grew much faster than the normal employee. Otherwise, there is no way i could afford overseas schooling for my children. No way. Of course i was blessed in my investments too.  No replacement for displacement, so the advertisement for big V8 engines go. It seems that there is no substitution for qualification either - meritocracy rules. Happy for you, bro!
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 07:55 AM) What is the reason to put in such a low cap? This will mean that the employers also has to contribute less. Is Singapore's cost of labour getting too expensive? Edited - apologies, off topic This post has been edited by hksgmy: May 12 2024, 10:35 AM
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 08:34 AM) Good for me, i suppose. Since i own so many Singapore companies. Especially those lovely banks! Preach bro, preach. The only dividend stocks I hold in Singapore are the banks’ hahaha
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 08:42 AM) EPF is also created for retirement. However, if EPF was to have capped my contribution at 8k years back, i would have found it rather difficult to retire now. Now think of those who are less blessed than me! They would have to continue to work till 100 years old. IF the exchange rate of RM to SGD remained at 1, maybe we could cap. Now as it is, even RM5 million is not so much. Better than most, but it's only SGD 1.4 million. Better than a LOT of people bro….
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ May 12 2024, 08:55 AM) Because he has too much money Well, because next to FD, IG bonds are safe and pay quite good coupons. We’re not greedy. As I said in another post, we can get away with lowish returns because our capital/pot is big enough. I mean, passive returns of more than SGD1m a year from bonds and stocks and property rental is big enough a number regardless of inflation, to survive into our 80’s - and our pot will remain untouched. Liquidate some of our properties when we grow older, and you can easily see that we will be more than self sufficient for our early retirements.
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ May 12 2024, 09:46 AM) Ok. Just as I thought so. Ok. You can still have more funds to invest on other platform. I think Singapore system is just to ensure you have sufficient for retirement. Not to live a t20 retirement life. What if I have two jobs. Both pay me 8k sgd. Will cpf know and ask the company to calculate accordingly? Better not discuss CPF issues here any more... apparently, one of my posts on CPF was reported, so I think I'll back off for now. Sorry for the tangential turn that occurred... but that's how discussions usually progress. Apologies again, to whoever reported my offending post.
hksgmy
May 12 2024, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ May 12 2024, 09:01 AM) Normal contribution. Never contributed extra. Not even sure if they allowed that in the 1980s! well, imagine earning RM10k at 30 in 1992. AND having 4 to 5 months bonus on top annually.  growing at 5% per annum.  RM10,000 30 years ago is a tremendous amount of money! That's like what, RM50,000 today? Maybe even more!
hksgmy
May 14 2024, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ May 14 2024, 07:05 AM) I prefer to walk the middle path. Balanced portfolio. Diversify is the key. Keeping all eggs in one basket is risky no matter how good that basket might looks. Always multiple eggs in multiple basket. I am just kiasi and kiasu unker. Lol. Bros, better stick to topic here…. Kaki lipot is patrolling these shores…
hksgmy
May 14 2024, 07:40 AM
QUOTE(Cubalagi @ May 14 2024, 07:30 AM) To be fair, Epf is rather a balanced portfolio in itself. Its 50% bonds, 40% equities and properties and 10% cash roughly. 30% of the total portfolio is foreign (mostly in the equities and properties). This portfolio mix is conservative, in fact too conservative for younger people. Its not bad for older folks (like me!). And it's capital protected and guaranteed min returns is a big advantage. But I also do diversify further in my DIY portfolio. Having a higher % of foreign assets and also commoditrs exposure that EPF doesn have That’s right. And it pays a decent dividend when compared to other conventional savings products available to the average not so savvy consumer out there.
hksgmy
Jun 7 2024, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 6 2024, 10:38 AM) 7 yrs finished. What a coincidence. "Since 2015 to OCT22", that is also 7 yrs. Oct22, was just 2 months before their fiat invested money were replaced with coins at 1 usd for each coin. Current coin price is about 0.022 usd each. I just hoped no retirees used their EPF money to try grow their money through any of that kind of investments. Else they may end up as another statistics in "A fool and his money are soon separated". Sorry, caught this post late… you mean the guy in your screenshot attachment lost his fortune?
hksgmy
Jul 1 2024, 08:21 AM
QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jul 1 2024, 12:04 AM) now we can all sleep well knowing the numbers dont think this round impact much la semua orang ada kerja no more MCO only cost of living goes up saja But cost of living going up is a universal phenomenon, and not only limited to Malaysia, so we're really not doing too badly, I guess.
hksgmy
Sep 11 2024, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Sep 10 2024, 04:18 PM) hmm, but 1.5mil with 5% return is 75k not 96k. edited : poweredbydiscuz explained it. I based my EPF % and FD % similar. I always calculate the worst and treat any extra as bonus. For EPF+FD, i average them to be 3% alltho EPF is around 5% and FD is > 3.5% now. Let's say if i want to have 15k interest per month, i calculate EPF+FD return as 3%, so i will aim to have 6mil. I am doing things like this since i was in secondary school. Nowadays i can't eat as much as before, me and wife ordered a fried fish + meats + vege, most of the time having problems to finish all, and those meal are usually less than rm 100. Most of the time we only eat rm 20-30, not we purposely saving money, but i noticed i eat lesser nowadays. I love to eat crab, not long ago i ordered a crab costed rm 200 for myself, i used to want 2 crabs only felt satisfied, but this time i ate one and i felt it is enough and i don't think i will eat again in a short time. A very conservative approach that has worked well for you and your family. Well done bro