EPF DIVIDEND, EPF
TheEquatorian
Jan 31 2021, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 31 2021, 08:05 PM) Ok, i agree they should somehow negotiate better term for our benefit. I am actually already satisfied with the 0% sales charge as i am frequently switching, so i find it is more advantageous to me, but yea, if we are looking at longer term invesment ,the management fee do affect the investor greatly. The 0% sales charge allow me to take advantage of short term opportunity and reinstate the fund back to epf once i reached a satisfactory return. At least the fee structure is moving in the right direction
TheEquatorian
Feb 3 2021, 04:26 PM
I saw that some members have recommended the Principal Greater China fund, it does look good. Any recommendation on US focus funds that are available on EPF?
Hope to see some roboadvisor available soon on EPF like Endowus in Sgp where you can invest CPF funds at a discounted rate.
TheEquatorian
Feb 5 2021, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 5 2021, 11:45 AM) They didn't limit income range 😅 i-Sinar qualifications are 1) lost all income during Covid-19 2) lost 30% or more income so if example person A earn 20k a month before Covid-19 but lost job/business close during Covid-19 and no income, then can qualify Edit to add: Also note that it's a poll, means based on info that poll submissions themselves declare. They may not be true T20 or have actually made withdrawals. It does seem a bit gung ho to invest in stocks if they meet these criterias for i-Sinar withdrawal. https://archive.fortune.com/magazines/fortu...11503/index.htm
TheEquatorian
Feb 5 2021, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(whirlwind @ Feb 5 2021, 09:58 AM) US focus funds kinda limited in epf and the performance so so only Example Principal Global Titan and RHB Islamic Global Developed fund Thanks, I guess EPF investment scheme is more useful for emerging markets then.
TheEquatorian
Feb 6 2021, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(whirlwind @ Feb 6 2021, 12:23 AM) Interested in Malaysia market? No, Greater China and India or BRIC countries.
TheEquatorian
Feb 6 2021, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 6 2021, 10:47 AM) I'm not surprised with such strategy by EPF. Yes, really doesn’t make any sense besides politics 🙄
TheEquatorian
Feb 10 2021, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 10 2021, 10:33 AM) TNB’s Amir Hamzah slated to take the helm at EPF, say sourcesKUALA LUMPUR (Feb 10): Tenaga Nasional Bhd’s (TNB) president and CEO Datuk Seri Amir Hamzah Azizan is heading to the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) to take the helm as the CEO of the provident fund, according to sources. https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/tnbs...epf-say-sources Quite unsettling to change EPFs CEO after such a short period. I hope they can communicate why otherwise it looks like the EPF is getting more politicised.
TheEquatorian
Feb 10 2021, 02:56 PM
From his linkedin:
A highly motivated CEO of proven ability with extensive experience in the Oil & Gas/Shipping/Retail/Services industries, who has..
🙄
TheEquatorian
Feb 11 2021, 07:11 PM
Do you think the additional loosening up of i-Sinar caused the change in EPF head?
Petronas top was also rumoured to step down due to disagreement with the Sarawak deal. It seems to be the modus operandi of the govt. Now he is with Exxon, shame to lose these talented individuals.
TheEquatorian
Feb 11 2021, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Feb 11 2021, 08:23 PM) Putting two and two together, too much coincidence to deny it. We all know that the previous CEO was very vocal about dipping into the EPF fund. That's how they play the game. This is very worrying. Replacing all institution heads with yes men. EPF has high participation by all Msians and this must be alarming to many.
TheEquatorian
Feb 11 2021, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 11 2021, 08:40 AM) We should be very worried about a utility guy taking over one of the world' s largest pension fund management company! How is he even qualified? Let’s see if his qualifications hold up. It’s not unheard of that people misrepresent them in Malaysia.
TheEquatorian
Feb 11 2021, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Feb 11 2021, 08:47 PM) Now only you are alarmed ah lol  I don’t recall them removing EPFs CEO previously. The last one was reputable and moved to Khazanah. Which one are you thinking of?
TheEquatorian
Feb 12 2021, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(ky33li @ Feb 12 2021, 08:58 AM) If tiered dividend is implemented do you think those with savings more than RM1million will continue to keep it therr or withdraw them? With more people withdrawing do you think EPF still can give you high dividends? EPF is only mandated to provide return of 2.5%, everything else is bonus. I would consider withdrawing. The investment scheme needs to be enhanced for it to be interesting. There is also a tax liability in remaining in EPF compared to having the funds outside.
TheEquatorian
Feb 12 2021, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 12 2021, 02:30 PM) just to clarify - what "..tax liability in remaining in EPF compared to having the funds outside"? Introduction of taxation on retirement funds. It has happened in some other countries desperate for tax revenues.
TheEquatorian
Feb 13 2021, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 13 2021, 04:02 PM) for some years already...there had been mentioned by forummers that the current year's activities can only be accessed after the current year (previous year) dividend announcement. You can usually see the transactions for 2021 under withdrawal eligibility. It will be updated after the dividend is announced.
TheEquatorian
Feb 13 2021, 04:12 PM
With some reservation to the source : https://www.ai-cio.com/news/worlds-largest-...nds-aum-8-2019/As a Msian, EPF is certainly something we all can be proud of. A Malaysian retirement fund to be up there with all those other highly rated countries. Hope they can continue to manage it with minimal political interference.
TheEquatorian
Feb 13 2021, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Feb 13 2021, 04:35 PM) AUM, the performance among them is bound to be similar. The Malaysian market unfortunately have not been that great.
TheEquatorian
Feb 13 2021, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 13 2021, 04:55 PM) They can invest in foreign equities. Their job is not to fund local businesses but to generate returns for pensioners. I am a member of another country’s retirement fund which similarly invests a large portion in the domestic market. The logic is that you will be retiring in Malaysia and your fund growth should follow the local market movements (which in my other case has outperformed global indices). Moreover there is a currency factor. It is sound to keep a minimum 20% in the local market but I agree that EPF may have too much in Malaysia. I think they will be increasing foreign exposure with time unless there is political interference.
TheEquatorian
Feb 13 2021, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(ky33li @ Feb 13 2021, 06:20 PM) How sure are you there is minimal political interference? Isnt appointment of new CEO by MOF considered an interference as well? You wouldnt say this when they restrict your withdrawal, if one day they dont allow 100% withdrawal when reach age 55. I am not privy to it but I believe it has been alike to other GLCs in Malaysia. It is directly under MOF. For the withdrawal, I am quite sure that is to come. It is clear that many aren’t able to manage their finances after retirement. Our neighbour down south did something similar.
TheEquatorian
Feb 13 2021, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 13 2021, 05:33 PM) EPF primary duty is to subscribe and support Malaysian government bonds to support national development. That is one primary reason that the returns is largely muted by bond yields. Bonds are a large portion of its holding. MGS is probably booked as no risk (/sovereign) for them so it should be high up on their list in terms of risk management.