EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 09:02 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 19 2020, 08:58 AM)
Well. I am not suggesting that.

I am only looking at the entities as they are. Of course they will not be allowed to fail.
Look at TH.

But EPF will not fail as long as there are workers contributing to the fund.
you mean eligible contributors cannot continue to contribute or new people cannot contribute to TH fund?
MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 09:09 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Feb 19 2020, 09:00 AM)
No ruling party, no matter how incompetent will want to trigger a financial train wreck mid term. No worries one, problem will be kicked down the road.
vmad.gif I don't care...I just want 6% minimum bruce.gif bruce.gif
just gives me 6% notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

have to stop my possible unfounded conspiracy theory things....else MIB may come knocking or moderator come make noise biggrin.gif
MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 09:11 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 19 2020, 09:06 AM)
For TH, its not a Compulsory requirement to contribute. Its voluntary.

Whereas for EPF, its Mandatory to contribute.  SO its never going to run out of funds. Some people may term it as a possible ponzi scheme.
thumbsup.gif noted, thanks for telling notworthy.gif
MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 11:19 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Feb 19 2020, 11:07 AM)
i thought this feature only started in 2018....

anyways...if i self-contribute in let say June 2020, would the dividend get pro-rated ?
this article in 2016 already got mention abt self contribution
http://www.mtuc.org.my/malaysians-working-...-save-with-epf/

yes, will be prorated rate...if you put June....prorate starts from July...
MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 12:41 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(vinchee1219 @ Feb 19 2020, 12:36 PM)
read post 3859, page 193
then place your bets? biggrin.gif
MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 01:24 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(return78 @ Feb 19 2020, 01:21 PM)
Any source / news for this? Reaching 30% in 2-3 years.
PNB has a target of boosting foreign investments to 30% of its portfolio by 2022, from its current 8%.
19 Dec 2019
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...t-more-overseas

MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 01:46 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 19 2020, 01:34 PM)
+ Pakatan Harapan (PH) presidential council meeting on Friday (Feb 21).

Hoping for double GOOD news!
maybe triple good too .... thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif .

Announcement on tax-related matters soon
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ed-matters-soon
MUM
post Feb 19 2020, 02:59 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(abe.cassim @ Feb 19 2020, 02:53 PM)
Yep..on 2nd January
no interest in whole of January ...... vmad.gif
dividend start in Feb biggrin.gif
MUM
post Feb 21 2020, 09:24 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(tinyisland @ Feb 21 2020, 07:30 AM)
Historically, EPF announcement date was on 2nd or 3rd Saturday of February.

No idea why so many people still keep guessing on weekday?

2019 – 16 Feb (3rd Sat)
2018 – 10 Feb (2nd Sat)
2017 – 18 Feb (3rd Sat)
2016 – 20 Feb (3rd Sat)
2015 – 7 Feb (2nd Sat)
2014 – 15 Feb (3rd Sat)

It may be a little late this year; 22 Feb (Sat), i.e. 4th Saturday, since this year has 5 Saturdays (1st & 29th are all Saturdays).
because maybe they based on the possibilities based as per the attached data image? biggrin.gif
anyway, today is FRIDAY too......
looks like today is THAT day....wait for the announcement later in the day to find out?

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 21 2020, 07:34 AM)
Maybe because of there's a saying: Past performance (data) doesn't dictate future performance.
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif

MUM
post Feb 22 2020, 05:07 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(XweienX @ Feb 22 2020, 04:47 PM)
All of you sifus are much more experienced than I am so I would like to ask for your opinions and insights.

I was just thinking about how in the recent years more and more people are going into freelancing and the gig economy (full time Grab/Foodpanda etc.) and as far as I know they don't have compulsory EPF deductions. Will this mean that EPF will have lesser capital (or slower capital growth) in the future?

Since I myself only do self contributions for my EPF, should I reduce the amount and put it somewhere else?
how many of the population is in these gig profession?
even in these gig profession/freelancing...they too can contribute to EPF if they want.

how many of the EPF contributors are active one?
they and those that are not active but has epf saving will see their saved sums increases yearly (thru monthly contribution and yearly dividend reinvestment).....this increase will grows the EPF fund size.

NO, I don't see EPF will have lesser capital (or slower capital growth) in the future (not at least in the next 20 yrs) to be of concern,
but in a much longer term,...if that trend were to continue, then it will be, for based on data by the Employees Provident Fund (EPF), the growing gig economy and an ageing population are expected to cause a decline in the percentage of workers contributing to the fund.

the more of a concern is, are those in the gig profession saved enough for their own retirement?

should you reduce the EPF contribution amount and put it somewhere else?
Only if you know where and how to place that money.....

Gig economy: Pitfalls and opportunities
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/201...unities/1817211

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 22 2020, 05:13 PM
MUM
post Feb 22 2020, 05:30 PM

14,934 posts

EPF’s equity investment income shrinks 24% in 2019
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/epfs...shrinks-24-2019

MUM
post Feb 23 2020, 09:37 AM

14,934 posts

Why EPF returns are lower
Sunday, 23 Feb 2020

...."Considering ASB’s returns, the dividend of 5.45% declared by EPF for contributors of the conventional fund is commendable."

......."the dividend rate could come under pressure again at the same time next year."

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2020...turns-are-lower

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 23 2020, 09:39 AM
MUM
post Feb 23 2020, 10:18 AM

14,934 posts

Don't compare EPF dividends with 10 years ago - chief
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/511883

just wondering,...did anyone of you posted in the comment section of that article?....some posting looks thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 23 2020, 10:22 AM
MUM
post Feb 23 2020, 12:00 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Feb 23 2020, 11:57 AM)
i checked my 2019 detailstatement, but no dividen tahun 2019?

is it just me?
did your detailed 2019 statement shows 2018 dividend?

just checked....mine shown as per image
noticed the 2019 stated dividend rate?

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 23 2020, 12:10 PM

MUM
post Feb 28 2020, 08:24 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 28 2020, 06:25 AM)
how much % can we actually increase it to by ourselves? 15% possible?
per this form...
NOTIS PILIHAN MENCARUM MELEBIHI KADAR BERKANUN (SYER PEKERJA) -- KWSP 17A (AHL)
https://www.kwsp.gov.my/documents/20126/147...ac-5e3e52cc122e
there is no mention of max limits..

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 28 2020, 08:24 AM
MUM
post Feb 29 2020, 12:35 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(not timid and slow @ Feb 29 2020, 12:02 PM)
i am curious, is there any tax advantage to the company if they pay above 12% minimum epf?

because as an employee in would rather receive the extra in salary instead of epf
some employee, like example, those that has no cash flow constraints, would like their "extra" income as tax free, and can help to increase their retirement fund

advantages for the company....incentives given to try to retain staffs are tax deductable........

This post has been edited by MUM: Feb 29 2020, 12:37 PM
MUM
post Feb 29 2020, 01:29 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(not timid and slow @ Feb 29 2020, 01:13 PM)
epf only up to 6k is tax free right?  that's only 500 per month
employer's contributions to your EPF is tax free to your income....
employer's cash to you is tax able in your income

as mentioned by Wedchar...6k employee's contribution had been reduced for the tax reduction calculation.
MUM
post Mar 1 2020, 10:56 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(not timid and slow @ Mar 1 2020, 10:54 AM)
so my next question would be

can i request my employer to raise their epf contributions from 12% to 16? (instead of giving me bonus and increment).
i think you can request, but will they do it just for you?

or is this a common 12% rate applied across the board for all staff within the company?
I think they would like transparency.....same across the board
MUM
post Mar 1 2020, 12:10 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Mar 1 2020, 11:41 AM)
Why wud an employer commit to a fix % epf contribution... knowing, the variable increment will spur you to maintain good performance?

Maybe cos from their experience... There is no relationship that more variable increment will lead to good performance... for most of their employees. But they know for sure that it will increase cost

You can still opt to 60k annual personal top up into Kwsp. Beyo d that, use borang 17a to increase monthly contribution.
The money that you use for self contribution are taxed....
Yes use borang 17a. To increase for those that does not hv cash flow constraints

This post has been edited by MUM: Mar 1 2020, 12:18 PM
MUM
post Mar 2 2020, 03:40 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Mar 2 2020, 03:38 PM)
Sorry off topic a bit.

Any idea where to download the form if I want to maintain my contribution rate at 11%?
from this article
Reduction of Employee Contribution Rate
KUALA LUMPUR, 27 February 2020: The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) takes note of the Government’s decision on the reduced minimum statutory contribution rate for employees, from 11 per cent to seven (7) per cent as announced today
Employees may choose to maintain the current contribution rate of 11 per cent by completing Notis Pilihan Mencarum Melebihi Kadar Berkanun KWSP 17A (Khas) which is available on epf.gov.my.
This notice must be presented to employers to be submitted to the EPF.

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/-/reduction-of-empl...ribution-rate-1

41 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.4098sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:16 PM