EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Dec 29 2022, 02:59 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 29 2022, 07:02 AM)
EPF itself may look zero risk... but its denominated in MYR and our account balance doesn't float freely along with market condition. So the big risk lies in MYR.
I remember vaguely reading somewhere that EPF decided not to base each yearly dividend rate on actual market to market valuation is because too much volatility.
EPF's mandate is to provide a decent return for retirement of the 30 to 35 years type horizon. Hence it doesn't want a scenario where on one year, say the return is 11% while the next year is 2.5%. A smooth dividend yield provide stability and less confusion/fear. Especially true that in 1960s to 1980s, EPF made up a big chuck of one's networth.

That is how they justify robbing peter to pay paul (btw, peter and paul basically is still you. just you of different year)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 29 2022, 03:12 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 29 2022, 03:36 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 29 2022, 03:08 PM)
Did not read all the threads but whichever hole you are buying your properties from that double the price from 2013.. do tell.. as far as I know.. properties have been flat since then or the increase has been very marginal.
I think we all can ignore him already. The chap reminded me of silly sales/marketing person with a certain agenda.

he already realized that he could not lie to those who has good financial discipline and went off elsewhere to spread other stories.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 29 2022, 03:37 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 29 2022, 03:44 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Ankle @ Dec 29 2022, 11:26 AM)
So come 2023 will it be 60k or 100k max for voluntary self  contribution ??
It is still 60K...

the 100K was proposed but the budget was never approved (Ismail called for early election)
Wedchar2912
post Dec 29 2022, 03:48 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 29 2022, 07:02 AM)
EPF itself may look zero risk... but its denominated in MYR and our account balance doesn't float freely along with market condition. So the big risk lies in MYR.
I think many got confused by your term free float....

what you mean is marked to market rite? It is like if Maybank shares went up from 10 to 11, we will reflect 10% return... not some made up number (which EPF does all the time)

free float is a term used to gauge liquidity of shares or even fixed income after minus all strategic/long term ownership.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 12:31 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 30 2022, 11:11 AM)
Property and other better investment

I think best we remain this an epf topic

Passive
Effortless
Low risk

Did my last round of contribution for year 2022 for my future self. 🙏

Do tell me if this contribution will make it in time....

cos if it is sent today, i have the impression that it will only be reflected the next biz day, which is 2nd of Jan 2023.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 12:43 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 30 2022, 10:51 AM)
Epf dividend topic starting to become property topic.
that is because some, whether rightfully or wrongly, seems to think that property investment is the same as one putting money into EPF.

I just know that at most I need 3 minutes to send my funds safely into EPF...and not bother with it afterwards.

2010 to 2022, properties may have doubled in many locations but no one mentions much the area that hardly went up in prices.

but I know for sure, 1 million in EPF in start of 2010 will now be worth 2million (still waiting for 2022 dividend rate before can calculate the year end 2022 value). No other fees... no headaches... no fraud risks.. no counterparty risks at all.

edit: of course my example here is based on all cash in for the properties vs all cash in EPF. With properties, one can utilize leverage.... we are now beginning to see the effect of rising interest rates on these home loans and property prices as well.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 30 2022, 01:29 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 01:26 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 30 2022, 12:47 PM)
If that is the case, will only get 1 day dividend for the full month of Jan2023?
unfortunately, that is also my understanding.
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 01:53 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 30 2022, 01:41 PM)
Yes ,all. more queries  bring to prop thread
i have done mine, you may be abit late now.
property's not my forte also.
you didnt get the whole picture
it started with one regretted taking all EPF money pay house loan
it was pointed out that a wrong move.

Then came tongue twister who said no, it was ok properties will appreciate more use EPF money
which was shot down repeatedly
someone shot the above, properties return better than EPF
another came said No, that was because you bought in 1996,
after 2013 if  you buy no way can be so good....

i shared my data to show buy later also can be as good.

it is better that we see the whole big picture before we quickly press the button.
abstain if we are unsure what is contention there.
I seriously don't understand what you are trying to get at though.

What some of us are saying is quite clear. EPF investment is hassle free, almost risk free and almost dumb proof.
Property investments is no where near as hassle free, risk free nor dumb proof.

You showing how property investments can make more money.... is almost no different from others saying investing in paintings or nft or coins or antiques or shares is definitely better than EPF.
I can claim equity market markets better return than EPF investments... which is true for me. But is it as hassle free, risk free and dumb proof as EPF?
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 04:06 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 30 2022, 03:20 PM)
No you are wrong, my sharing of that spreadsht is only to show non believers who

1) cant  agree with prophetjul's post prop earning CAN BE much better than EPF
2) said  buy properties after 1996 -2013 cant make money, cant beat EPF

My spreadsheet is real life proof buy late from  2012 to 2019 still can make good profit

Please dont  think it was meant to  tell you guys go withdraw EPF money buy properties.

As for your worries about props so difficult to handle
for me it was easy, my brother does all the work. but that is beside the main point

So you still want to argue your silly idea that properties is a better investment vs EPF... all because you came out ahead in properties by leeching off your brother's effort.

ok, I was wrong in thinking that you don't have an agenda. and I was also wrong about EPF being effortless, while properties do need active management of sorts. Oh wait... I am sure everyone of us have a nice brother like yours who will do all the work.

What I do know is that EPF is available to all of us Malaysians, while your brother is available to you. doh.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 04:09 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Dec 30 2022, 02:45 PM)
Yup, the transaction takes about 2 days, just did mine on 28th afternoon, and it was only reflected on EPF account today.

However, the EPF transaction history shows on 29th.
It doesn't really matter when the transaction "shows" up in the system... it matters more the effective date the money appears in EPF, which I assume is 1 biz day later.

so what I normally do is transfer the funds a few days (say 3) prior to end of the month just to allow hiccups. This is Malaysia.... tongue.gif
Wedchar2912
post Dec 30 2022, 09:00 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 30 2022, 08:49 PM)
yeah i agree. Doing the same thing doesn't mean we all must get same results.

Had i put that money in EPF it would have been a big mistake on my part. 1 million would only become 2 million.
No one is arguing with you silly.
You decide for your self

No one is telling you to buy properties also.

What is wrong with you?

If one's property's  return is better than EPF and he stated so as a matter of fact,
like this
which part of you is being pinched?

EPF is passive,
forced saving, not even an investment per se,

losing out to active investment is normal,
what makes you squirming like that?

why must you all insist properties return CANNOT beat EPF?

The moment someone showed his 10% properties return and said it is  much better than EPF
you must jump and tried to whitewash it?
That is why i showed the spreadsheet to say ,yes  believe that, Prop CAN beat EPF
doesnt mean to blanket say  Prop Is a better investment for all as you alleged.
you want to pretend stupid dont know the difference, what can i do?
buddy... you still think you are not arguing... i am speechless as I don't understand why you think I am slighted by someone making money from properties and you think that was the issue. You projecting much? read properly what I wrote. I do love it when others use words like wrong or stupid first but think I am arguing.

oh well, no point anymore... this is a EPF thread and we all should stick to EPF. I wonder whats your contribution to this EPF thread? lets hear it from you directly. I suspect I know... haha.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Dec 30 2022, 09:02 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 31 2022, 12:36 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 31 2022, 12:18 PM)
thank you

so regardless how much I pump in, only the acc 2 I can withdraw, unless I have 1m in it

since 1m is still a long way to go for me, would it be safe to say I just park it in normal FD with lower interest as compare to EPF just in case I needed the money
in a rising interest rate environment (banks are offering highier and higher FD rates. I think I saw ads of 1.5 years FD of 4.5% type), it is less compelling to push funds into EPF. Let alone in your case of not really having access to the funds in EPF.

why many here advocated EPF is because most have access to the excess funds. usually cos either they are close/at retirement age, or their balance in EPF is close or above 1 million ringgit.

But for your case, you can work out in excel the expected year you will have 1 million. if it is like 5 years away type, you can consider contributing extra just to speed up the freedom to liquidity. Once you breach the 1 million ringgit, the financial freedom feel is real.
(the usual realization... not doing anything at all, everyday you know epf is generating abv 100rm for you to spend or reinvest)
Wedchar2912
post Jan 1 2023, 11:45 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Jan 1 2023, 11:13 PM)
Yes i agree. because they have excess funds aka rich . and i see those arguments about EPF and properties in this thread.  guys , chill.....
my principle is "your money, your choice". no need argue which one is better. If you too obsessed with EPF or properties or any other investment, until wanna argue till sky, my question is "Is everybody got the chance to survive or live till 60 years old to enjoy the fruits of the investment? "  (dont twist my meaning...i didnt mean we shouldn't invest ya) .

look at Batang kali incidents, Korea's stampede, not to mentioned 2 of my friends passed away due to COVID.  cry.gif  cry.gif
just want to correct the few misconceptions above.

Having excess funds does not mean rich. It just means income exceeds expenditure at that particular time period.

I am not even close to trying to argue about properties vs epf vs FD vs anything else. All my comments in this regard are almost always to inform all of us that all these asset classes have their own benefits and superiorities. But all has to be compared in appropriate situations like in what kind of economic cycle.
ie: whoever comes and inform you that EPF is definitely better than FD without qualifications, you should up your guard immediately.

This is a EPF thread, and hence the discussion should be focus on EPF right?
But I do like your final tangent: those who passed away in all these very unfortunate events... what does that have to do with EPF and EPF dividend as this is a thread about EPF? I am really confused, unless what you are implying is if they spent all their wealth, they would be alive now?

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jan 1 2023, 11:49 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jan 2 2023, 02:07 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 2 2023, 09:57 AM)
Wedchar2912
Thanks for the advice
normal FD I can get 4% minimum for per annum, but from my understanding, EPF will always have a higher yield than banks, no?
I think I should be able to reach the 1m mark in 5 years time, so its better for me to speed up the process?

well, i don't really think the gov nor EPF ever state that the div rate will always be higher than bank's FD rates... I for one would love to see bank FDs for 2023 go above 6%. Now that would spoil all of us outright with big big headache... haha.

well, like what others mentioned... look at your own cash flow/financial situations... if you have excess, and by contributing extra into EPF can reduce your time horizon from 5 to 3 years, it is worth considering.
But there is no need to stress over it, as in the grand schemes of things, 3 or 5 years makes almost no diff.

Wedchar2912
post Jan 5 2023, 01:24 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 5 2023, 11:27 AM)
I made a deposit on 30th december 2022 by M2U, date captured is 4th jan 2023, but it is highlighted as december 2022 contribution.
unfortunately, I believe the count only starts from the "Tarikh" date in the "Caruman Semasa" table. So, for this case, I believe only 1 day of interest for Jan 2023.
(my understanding at least)
Wedchar2912
post Jan 6 2023, 01:47 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 5 2023, 04:28 PM)
>Rm 5 million
overestimation already I think...

assume 10 million EPF members (easier to use a round number, plus the real number is 7.7 million active to 15 milion total).
1% of members = 100K members
1 bps of members = 1K members
0.1 bps members = 100 members

around 70K members have exceed 1 million ringgit, and 248 members exceed 10 million ringgit.

so i would guess above RM 5 million is closer to Top 2 bps (or Top 0.02%) of members, rather than top 2%....

drool.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 9 2023, 02:39 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 9 2023, 11:12 AM)
Because of FIRE movement, quite a number of forumers are trying to make the cut. In order to achieve it, most simply lower the bar by saying , i can live with such and such a sum every month.

There should be a targetted approach with high bar with a cutout age. For example :

A. If i reach a sum of RM50 million by the age of 35 then RE.
B. IF not a sum of RM25 million by the age of 40...
C. If not a sum of RM15 million by the age of 45 ...
D. If not a sum of RM10 million by the age of 50...
E. If not a sum of RM5 million by the age of 55....
F. If not retire by the age of 60  or work as long as needed...

My thoughts....

( sorry wrong thread but applicable to current discusssion)
most probably should not reply, as this should be in the FIRE thread, not EPF dividend thread.

You may have gotten the concept of FIRE wrong, just based on the amount you listed here. the original FIRE concept is the lean to fit versions... your listing is everywhere.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 10 2023, 02:57 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 10 2023, 11:49 AM)
One shouldn't be using EPF money for children's education at all, unless you have a couple of millions already parked there before 55 to earn the interests. If just saving the EPF enough for retirement, the money in EPF shouldn't be touched at all. You should have planned and saved for child's education the day your kids were born, or even before that.

I have friends, have to withdraw EPF for 2 kids higher education. So stressed. Keep saying need to keep some for their retirement....
But EPF should not be the only "savings" one has.... we again fell for the same mistake.

For a prudent persons, EPF is just part of one's portfolio.

as for the kids, should already earmark a separate fund (can just be a mental accounting earmark) since the day the kids were born. if the kids cannot study, then the funds can be given to them as seed money for their future.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 10 2023, 05:36 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 10 2023, 03:54 PM)
Yes, but unfortunatel reality is, a lot of people don't have savings outside of EPF. Because they have failed to manage their finance, EPF is their last resort for old age retirement.....which is why the gov should not allow anymore adhoc EPF withdrawals for people to waste it on useless junk. A Fool and his money are soon departed.

There was a true story in Malaysia...a widow with a couple of kids..they were in bad shape but actually won lottery of RM1mil. After a couple of years, news came out again they have lost everything and back to square one. Pinjam money to relative lah, bad investment lah (probably the biggest killer) and spend on unnecessary luxuries.

No point giving money to people who have no idea to handle money. Give them more, they will still throw it away.
At start of Covid/MCO, I am firmly in the camp of government helping the rakyat in the forms of cash infusion or direct materials help like basic food and medicine... But our immoral PN gov instead said 600 billion of help was given, mainly from allowing EPF members withdraw own money and bank's "forgoing" interest payment.

Now, I see that in general, 80% of the people are not the brightest, so may as well let them take their own retirement money and spend it however they want. They are going to lose the EPF money eitherway... whether now or later when they are 55/60.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 10 2023, 05:40 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 10 2023, 05:00 PM)
For my retirement fund, I target 50% EPF n 50% outside DIY managed.
I had been wondering about this for a while, but unable to find any stats or public info with regards to proportion of one's networth is in EPF. This would be a great benchmark for reality check.

Of course mathematically, assuming one contribute 11+16% into EPF and in same time, you put in same 27% savings and earn the same type of returns as EPF, one would have 50-50 proportions in EPF vs DIY.

that would be a great overall savings number to achieve: about 50% savings of gross income.

73 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0525sec    1.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:06 PM