EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Ramjade
post Jan 21 2023, 09:14 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 21 2023, 08:40 PM)
I doubt Global Titans will be back in the list anyway

Recently Global Titans pivot to changing cutting 50% off SnP and diversifying into Europe, XLE and Topix which makes me wanna sell as it has been performing badly after doing my own simulation?

Wait till mid March for the recommended list and do share your thoughts on which is good for us to diversify as always  👏
Better than any unit trust which focus on Malaysia market. There are lots of good business overseas in the Europe market.
Ramjade
post Jan 21 2023, 09:39 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jan 21 2023, 09:29 PM)
If you are into REITs look for German REITs those paying solid dividends at the moment now.

In fact I been looking buying some euro REITs particularly those in housing
Nah just looking for something to buy with EPF money.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:35 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 10:09 AM)
Anyone proposing tiered dividends should be stripped and gantung till they REPENT.
I am all in favours of tiered dividend. First RM1m full dividend. Anything more say 3% max.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:46 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 10:37 AM)
Why? You tongkat seeker?
Cause I am poor. I am not rich. I am only kuli.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:57 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 10:48 AM)
Most of us are kulis.
So work harder. Stop being a Tongkat seeker. Then may be you will rise up.
I think it's fair to ask for tier dividend i.e anything more than a million will be given half the dividend. Reason
1. How many peoplein Malaysia have RM1m inside EPF?
2. It help prevent people from abusing EPF as a form of safe parking.

It's not about tongkat.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 10:57 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 11:25 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 11:10 AM)
Who cares what you have? The EPF is a retirement fund. Do you think this is a socialist fund?
Who is abusing EPF? Since the government allows additional 60k per year?
Who are you tell faithful contributors in the last few decades, that their contributions should be paid less.
And the hypocrisy of this is that you are actively investing in a capitalist system! 
Calling for a socialist payout!
Actually sg does that. To prevent people from putting too much into their CPF.

Like I said a threshold of RM1m would be fair for everyone. Those that have >=RM1M inside and those that don't have.

Why do you think there's a cap of RM60k/year? Why not the govt make it no cap? It's to prevent people from putting too much into EPF.

Who's abusing EPF? People who have millions inside. If one have millions inside, it's basically a risk free place to park money other than the RM value. Hence people put in there to get few hundred thousand risk free. I think that's abusing it.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 11:29 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 11:32 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 11:30 AM)
SG does not use tiered rates for dividends. You are diverting away from the subject.

So there is no abuse at EPF as you insinuated.

Your salary should be capped in a socialist system.
Actually my salary is capped. That's why I tell you I am kuli.

Earning risk free hundred thousands per year is not abusing the system? How is that not abusing the system?

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 11:31 AM)
You should tell that to the capitalist system that you are actively investing in.
That they are abusing the capital markets with their billions.
Hypocritical.
That's is not abusing the system cause you are putting your money at risk. That's the price you pay.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 11:33 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 12:16 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 11:35 AM)
No wonder you are miserable dude. Hope you like the socialist cap.
What abuse?  These people have been saving for decades in the EPF.  Just because their amounts are bigger than yours?
You call miserable for supporting tiered dividend? Lol.
I hope they implement it but highly unlikely.
It's not about the amount. It's about who needs it more. The person who have say RM100k only in EPF or the one with say RM5m in EPF?
If you ask me when I have a million inside EPF. would my answer be the same. I will tell you yes. First million full dividend. Anything above it say Rm1,000,000.01will be given half.

QUOTE(Mattrock @ Jan 25 2023, 11:36 AM)
Does the government make any money from EPF, e.g. from tax, profits?
Yes and no. If govt intro bonds/sukuk and EPF invest in them and govt use the bonds to generate income, yes they are making money.
If they take the money for expenditure of the country, no.

Another reason for no is there are management fees for EPF so basically we are paying someone to manage out EPF money. It's either us or the govt.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 12:20 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 12:19 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Jan 25 2023, 12:15 PM)
Yippeeeee! CNY money fight, I wanna join.

So in all seriousness, we have a forumer in FIRE thread claiming enuf if $15/month; same forumer wanting to invest in foreign stocks n pursue higher dividend; same forumer claiming MYR potential worse devaluation; also at same time proponent for tiered dividends in kwsp?

Need to be consistent lah....same what all investment, you want max dividend at shortest period.

Maybe, friend merely trolling, get Unker blood pumping...naughty boy!
Er no. I don't hold anything in Malaysia other than EPF and PRS. Rest I dump overseas. And no I don't dump RM60k into EPF. Use to do that but when starting working but not anymore. Divert the RM60k overseas.

But I stand by what I said. I fully support tier dividend on condition that the first million gets paid full and the next one sen onwards get paid half rate.

And if I have RM1m inside EPF, my answer would be the same.

Reason for supporting
1. Prevent people from abusing the system to get safe returns while others have to risk their money.
2. RM1M is fair as not many have RM1m inside.

But I am kuli. Unlikely govt going to follow my proposal. Lol.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 12:22 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 03:47 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 03:42 PM)
Everyone wants eat my cake. Especially the damn B40!
Good for your socialist cap. Enjoy it!
I dont want your cake. tongue.gif

Actually it's also good that EPF implement that cap. That way people with RM1m above will cabut maybe into FDs or bonds. This will shrink EPF AUM which makes it easier to continue generate consistent return rather being so big. Not to mentioned banks will get richer and indirectly EPF gets richer too. But like I said unlikely they follow my plan as I am kuli, they don't know me and I don't work for the govt. Lol.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 03:48 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 03:57 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 25 2023, 03:49 PM)
You are speaking out of your ears. You wanted tiered as a B40.

i was referring to your socialist salary cap.
Can't do anything. Employer is Chinaman.
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:11 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Jan 25 2023, 10:04 PM)
The latest articled shared by someone mentioned 6.67 million employees have less than 10K.

You don't need to set the limit to be as high as 1mil, just setting it 20k or even as high as 100k will do, 6-10million or more people will be benefited.

Ok, let's say 100k will be enough to help lots of people, and your EPF amount is more than 100k which you will get lesser dividen % while those below 100k will get a far higher %, are you still Ok to have this tiered dividen? I ask this question cos i suspect you are "OK" with it due to you are not affected now. While you will be affected immediately, i wanna know if you will still say OK? Honestly.
For me I don't care about EPF much and it will never be my go to for retirement as all my retirement funds are overseas. If I can withdraw my EPF today I will do it in a heart beat and dump them overseas.

For me I feel RM100k is a bit low for Malaysians cause if you are earning RM3-8k (average Malaysian salary) you will hit RM100k. There's no doubt about it provided one never touch the EPF. But majority of people cannot reach RM1m in EPF on a RM3-8k salary unless they are high earners. I agree to help B40, M40 but not those T20 or T10 category. M40 more as govt hardly helps M40 and keep squeezing the M40. If RM100k I will not agree as majority of people won't be help. Heck maybe if don't want limit at RM1m, maybe RM500k onwards.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 10:13 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:18 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 25 2023, 10:12 PM)
How is it abusing the system when EPF forces me to keep on putting more and more money into EPF when I was working? I never asked to have my salary deducted into EPF? I didn't even want my salary to be deducted...

I think asking for a group to subsidize another group... now that is abusing the system... and we already have so many such schemes to subsidize so many things already.
Er, not about you force to put money in. My point is those who use EPF as alternative to FD. If you already have a RM1m inside you can withdraw from EPF anytime if I am not wrong.

So basically if you already have RM1m, you can withdrawal the excess anytime. So technically you are not forced for salary deduction as you can just withdraw it out.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 10:19 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:25 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 25 2023, 10:17 PM)
why not try run a simple excel calculation so that you understand how compounding works. 3K salary will have EPF amount reach 1 million by retirement. this assumes zero increment at all for the salary.
if salary is 8K, reach 1 million within 22 years of that salary.

lets not think 1 million is not achievable by most people... and that I mean anyone earning 3K and above starting today per month (ie fresh grad).
Here goes. Assuming EPF contribution for someone earning RM3000, EPF contribution by person is at RM300/month with employer contributing RM300 also = Rm600/month, EPF returns at 5%p.a and the person will be working for 30 years. At the end of 30 years, that person only have
RM480,952.87. No where near RM500k also.

Even if salary is RM5k with monthly contribution of RM500 + employer contribution of RM500 = RM1k/month, unable to reach RM1m in 30 years time.

Try it yourself.
https://www.investor.gov/financial-tools-ca...rest-calculator
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:30 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 25 2023, 10:27 PM)
sure.... and that is also why I told you the gov can try what you suggested, and may as well drop the limit to 200K or even 100K since you suggested EPF should not be abused. why the special 1 million limit? EPF is only a part of retirement savings, and hence 200K is enough. EPF is not here to solve all your problems rite?

lets see how fast all the money disappear from EPF and see how successful the tiering system will be.
Why RM1m? Cause based off the calculations I showed you RM1m is a number not many can reach. RM100k is a number everyone can reach. Yes I know it's off but to make it easier 10% from both employees and employer. Be conservative.

Ok. Let's rerun it at age of 25. Run until 35 years.
RM3k -653,615.82
RM5k -1,089,359.70 (person will reach 1m at 34 years time)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jan 25 2023, 10:34 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:36 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 25 2023, 10:32 PM)
is EPF here to solve everyone's problem?

btw, apparently 6.6 million could not even get to 10K rm.... tiering will solve that? oh no... 1 extra % div will solve all the poor people's problem. haha
It won't solve everything. But it will help them to have more cash upon retirment. Er I am not talking about a 1% increase in dividend. I am talking about extra 50%. Example if current rate is 5%p.a, those below RM1m should get 7.5%p.a while those with RM1m above gets 2.5%p.a
Ramjade
post Jan 25 2023, 10:59 PM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Jan 25 2023, 10:55 PM)
So it is obvious that you are Ok with it since it won't affect you much.

You looks like a good guy who keep wanting to help those poorer people (by taking from those richer, but remember that, the richer already paying higher tax, and high chance they work much more harder and bearing much higher pressure than those not as rich, which meant they deserved to be rich since they pay the extra efforts).

I am wondering, when you are reaching you target which you could have around RM 15K per month from interest / dividen, would you be kind enough to take out 2.5% yearly from 1mil of your saving (just 1 mil, no need more), aka 25k (1mil x 2.5%) to help the poor by donating to charity organisation? It is similar to what you want those Epfers who have 1 mil to contribute their dividen % to help the poor.
Actually part of my aim when I retire would be help out at soup kitchen and dogs shelter. So yeah that's where my money will go to. If I can reach that level. But those are just dreams.
Ramjade
post Jan 26 2023, 12:21 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 25 2023, 11:18 PM)
That is still a personal choice/decision as it is your money and you have every right to do what you want with your funds. most of us do give to charities and it is our decision.

but forcing the tiering into EPF is literally robbing Peter to pay Paul when both Peter and Paul contributed their fair share of funds into EPF. The choice been taken away from the member, whether he likes it or not, and that itself is not cool/ok.
Furthermore, Peter may feel slighted as to why he is subsidizing Paul, who has only 10K rm, just because the system thinks aum of 10K rm means need help. Paul, being 22 years old, just started working 2 months ago and that is why he has 10K rm there. Is that fair?

that's why previously (a while ago), I always said that EPF is not here to solve many of the social issues, because EPF is not the right platform. In fact, EPF is not able to solve these problems. These issues needed to be resolved elsewhere. ie: extra 2% pa on 10K rm for a person who is 65 years old and really had nothing else. So what? 200rm is not going to save him.... (I am not saying we should not save him, but how does 200rm help? )
Well let's put it this way. Higher FD and and cheaper interest rate on loans for those with priority banking. Now you don't hear those HNWI complaining. Its fair. Lower EPF returns with amount above RM1m and get access to cheaper loans and higher FDs.
Ramjade
post Jan 26 2023, 12:34 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 26 2023, 12:26 AM)
Go blame the banks. It is not the government who is forcing the banks to do so. Also, need to ask why are banks doing it?... that is the bank's call... unless you are saying that capitalism is wrong and we should now even change the banking system to be a lot closer to socialism?

In fact, based on your example, EPF should give those above 1 million special bonus. There must be a reason why banks are doing it rite?

(I understand where you are coming from, but this is not a karma argument.... EPF is not here to balance out karma just cos the HNWI gets extra benefit from banks)
It's not about karma. It's about giving poor people chance to earn more. That's why I will never take up priority banking even if they offer me. Anyway I stop here.

Ramjade
post Jan 26 2023, 11:28 AM

24,432 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 26 2023, 08:45 AM)
Zafrul tried to implement this? Tax on foreign derived income coming back to Msia?
Guess the rich cronies stopped him in his tracks.  laugh.gif
It's coming back. Anwar said so.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 26 2023, 08:59 AM)
Yeah. That one Yes. "Do you have a foreign bank account?"

But not yet investments. i don't think. In any case, most of us invest through local brokers. So.
Of course, there are some who has foreign brokers.
If you tick no also. They already know thanks to CRS. Er people my age uses international brokerage lei. Not many people use old school Malaysia based brokerage.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.5189sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:08 AM