EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Aug 3 2025, 12:33 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 3 2025, 06:28 AM)
I believes The family members of these people and the victims itself, would definitely believes that the current system is not perfect. They prefer that EPF "should hv" locked their monies and just gives them some monies monthly by means of annuity.

Almost every week can read from the news, people with monies in hand got scammed. The high statistics of Malaysians got scammed by online scams is part of the "reasons", some are pushing for the locking and just go annuity?

Currently I too think the current system is perfect, like you posted,
"The present system is perfect.

You can leave it in to get better interest rate then  banks and withdraw any time u need money.".
.........just hopefully i don't be another newly added scam statistics and hv to change my thinking and regretted believing that the current system is perfect.

Btw, not all that kena scammed are due to greed.
appreciate the effort in collating the news.

there are a few common denominators that I noticed... its not just EPF.
a) First one is EPF, which i suspect is due to how you search via google etc.
b) Second is age, specifically "old" age above 50 years old
c) Third is all involved banks, implied from the large amount and so called Macau scam.

and I am sure there a lot of scams not involving money from EPF too...
so Gov should use banks to thwart the scammers.

Instead of focusing on EPF, focus on banks and limit how much everyone above 50 years old can withdraw from banks... say if amt is below 1K rm per day, go ahead.
But for those above 50 years old and trying to withdraw large amount, they are required to go to the branch of a bank to effect payment. MUST declare they are sane and know what they are doing and fill up a lot of KYC...

those appeared too greedy or looked too love struck, get police involved to scare them and wake them up.
now that should slow down the scammers.... lol

if you are above 50 years old and not happy with this, too bad... who asked you to be old and need baby sitting by the gov?
(just think about it... this is ultimately what the gov is telling all epf members, young or old or new or future... that by 50 years old, you all cannot be trusted with your own money)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Aug 3 2025, 12:34 PM
Wedchar2912
post Aug 3 2025, 01:39 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 3 2025, 12:48 PM)
Younger age kena more than older one, ...

BBB Study: Young adult scams surpass older age groups
https://www.bbb.org/article/news-releases/2...ung-adult-scams

Before being lead to more off topic discussions, ....
Whatever plans the govt is/are going to do with kwsp, ...just don't touch my money, no till I am gone. Ha ha 😂
I cannot agree more with your last statement.... haha. if possible, extend to my immediate decendants... after that, really no eye to see and cannot bother also.

Still, based on the BBB study, all the more reason for gov to focus on banks and fortify the moat at that level... scams happens all the time to everyone... young and old... and if it is about money (EPF is about money), then focusing on the banking level solves many layers of issues one short.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 3 2025, 01:40 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 3 2025, 01:18 PM)
nothing is risk free... but epf is the lowest risk...

guaranteed capital + 2.5% div...

you will get back all your money...
really? so now you are ok to put all of your wealth into EPF? brows.gif
since you said so confidently that "you will get back all your money"

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Aug 3 2025, 01:42 PM
Wedchar2912
post Aug 3 2025, 02:42 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(newtunes @ Aug 3 2025, 02:24 PM)
EPF is not ordinary bank account CASA with high interest rate to start with, the saving and interest in EPF are meant to be used slowly after retirement, this is the primary objective pf EPF.

Basically, don't treat EPF as CASA.
the bolded part... can explain or provide source that states this is the primary objective of EPF?
Wedchar2912
post Aug 3 2025, 06:05 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 3 2025, 04:41 PM)
But same time... With freedom given... Some just lose their hard earned EPF $$$ to some scam investment offers...
But its not just retirees and their funds from EPF... many across the board, age and professions also kena....

hence why gov should fortify at banking level... not EPF.

It is just selective observation (purposely gov/epf) in order to activate our own confirmation biasness... plus lotsa sensationalization... cos why not....
telling news of how a 25 years old adult kena scammed 30K rm from MLM is not as "SHOCKING" as a "old" 52 years old woman who lost say 1.3 million due to love struck scam...

right?
Wedchar2912
post Aug 4 2025, 12:13 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Aug 3 2025, 06:14 PM)
Victims from scamming are ranging across retirees, youngster, professional, single men & lady.....so will government plan to regulate those group's monthly withdrawal from banks as well laugh.gif
and guess what... a news about a 53 years old female doctor losing 8.7 million ringgit due to scam... pretty sure this one does not involve EPF...

that's why the fortification should be done at banking level.

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Aug 4 2025, 09:37 AM)
This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Aug 4 2025, 12:15 PM
Wedchar2912
post Aug 4 2025, 12:31 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 4 2025, 12:25 PM)
Note the 1st 3 lines (sentences) of this part of BNM report.....disruptive to the smooth functioning of the payment system.
They would just go for the educating.

I believes govt of the world are also not able to do much fortification in the banking level.

But some are just going after mule accounts holders locally. But when the payments are sent overseas especially to unregulated entities, ...then much susah lah
that is the fallacy and joke, if you see it...

BNM states > 95% of transactions are genuine... what does this mean??? lesser than 5% are not??? and they are ok with it.

while there are no data from EPF about scams involving EPF and to members above 50 years old... I am still pretty sure way less than 5% of all EPF members above 50 years old kena scam involving their funds in EPF.
and yet.... gov using scam excuse to effect their agenda???

just think about it... hmm.gif

Like it not, it is still at the banking level to tackle these scams... not EPF.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 4 2025, 12:38 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Aug 4 2025, 12:20 PM)
My mistake 😬

Should start from banks @ CASA level first....

Not from EPF..... Because their system quite okay... Won't lose $$$ unless the members itself withdraw.....
Right now, in order for us to take out our funds from EPF, it has to go through one of the banks in Malaysia. That already created an additional layer of protection.

however, human greed/emotion is more intense vs our ability to think logically, and more often than not, more damaging.
Like that 53 years old doctor... over 90 days sending 20 to 30K rm a few times a day. To her, the amount maybe is nothing... who knows... especially if she is a surgeon...
Wedchar2912
post Aug 4 2025, 01:20 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 4 2025, 12:53 PM)
Link to That report ...

Promoting Safe and Efficient Payment and Remittance Services Promoting Safe and Efficient Payment and Remittance Services
ANNUAL REPORT 2024
Building a United Front Against Online Fraud Risk
https://www.bnm.gov.my/documents/20124/1749...024_en_box7.pdf

On your this ...."Like it not, it is still at the banking level to tackle these scams... not EPF.".

You had your opinion and so are others that had that same opinion too and those that are of the opinion that EPF should implement the "locking" and pay out monthly thru annuity plan too.

What ever is/are the EPF going to implement, .....what can I do about it (be it in my opinion is a joke or not a joke)?
lol... there is a diff... you are part of the herd, which is what I am trying to open up your mind and others who have similar opinions/view point.
That's all... your life and mine will go on as per normal...

I just hope my comments are of use to fellow readers. I hope at least you are aware of the joke and fallacies propagated... for whatever reasons by the powers in charge.
The discontent is not you vs me, and it never was.
(btw, the joke I was refering is the bnm's claim that 95% genuine transaction is acceptable... implying also 5% not genuine transactions are ok. Is that not a joke? It is not about your opinion, so chill)

it is how the media and news being curated to skew the perception for their goals.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Aug 4 2025, 01:22 PM
Wedchar2912
post Aug 4 2025, 06:22 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ Aug 4 2025, 05:58 PM)
Still waiting for implementation of intergenerational EPF transfer, then maybe parents can straight transfer to kids EPF, and it continues to compound.
was this ever proposed by EPF or gov?
Wedchar2912
post Aug 5 2025, 11:47 AM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(kinnasai @ Aug 5 2025, 11:23 AM)
Bro, this figure looks small for u, but very big for me.
As approaching 50s, i still owing my mother-in-law 30k, but if can withdraw RM50k as median range in Msia, once reaching 55s, i will definitely go up hill to Double or Zero..... wahaha..... What the fxck now, how can the government stopping me to bet on this big small..
阻人发达,有如杀人父母.... hahaha..

Anyway, joking aside,

Just to compare,
As EPF for 55, we only have RM48k...
but CPF for 55, it's SGD400k~500k...
this feeling is like..... haih....
Ah... the focus and comparison between EPF and CPF is on the stats. 48K vs 500K.

while there are many factors, the primary cause is our remuneration here vs SG. Starting salary here is like what? 2 to 3K rm? over there already 4 to 5K sgd...
their employer's contribution is a quite high vs ours, and same with employee's. (more than 50% higher than ours combined if not mistaken)

and we have this funny biz of active vs non-active members just to muddle the stats.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 5 2025, 11:48 AM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Aug 5 2025, 11:40 AM)
I suggest to use 4%, becuase who knows what epf deviden will be like 10 - 20 years later.
if all one has to rely on (ie like 90% of one's wealth is in epf), then 4% is a safe withdrawal rate.

but if one has other assets/passive income, 5 to 6% is worth considering.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 6 2025, 02:46 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Aug 6 2025, 02:29 PM)
EPF if got like 10M dont need to worry your next generation
so those who can make it just try to go big aim for 10M
i am too old for that now
the last stats available stated that there are 248 persons with more than 10 million in EPF.... ONLY 248...

this is rarer than the number of MPs + Senators in both dewans...

so yeah, with 10 million in EPF, should not need to worry the next gen about money (there will always be other things to worry about).... unless maybe if all one has is all in EPF... lol

Wedchar2912
post Aug 6 2025, 05:36 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 6 2025, 05:00 PM)
10m not easy la.... 1m is easy steady. 3-5m that is one stretch. Once you hit 5m, it seems easier forward... Just those say the first 100k saving is hardest
Yeah. Agree.

The first million is doable for the average Joe. Lagi doable for a graduate on a normal career path. The question is when the 1 million is achieved at what age. 40? 45? 55?

2 to 3 will come sooner or later if they stay the course and not withdraw from epf.

Ah but what many do not realize consciously is that by the time arrived at 3 million, there is not much time and stamina left.

The limiting factor remains to be time and stamina. sad.gif
Wedchar2912
post Aug 7 2025, 12:32 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Aug 7 2025, 10:55 AM)
While providing education for kids are important, but my own opinion is i dun encourage parent to spent their retirement funds for their kids.

Of course if is RM 100k-200k might still acceptable, but if those go overseas 4-5 years doctor/laws or etc etc course that take RM 1mil, i might as well ask them to study locally and keep the RM 1mil for them in EPF/stock and let it compound untill they retire or so..i bet higher chance that the RM 1mil compounded in decades time, the funds size will bigger then their net worth at the same period of time..

i fear even 1 million ringgit today may not be adequate, depending on which state and the availability of financial aid...
Top schools/uni in US or UK or Australia basically costs like 60K usd equi for tuition fees per year.
need to include living costs say 25K usd per year...
so that makes it 350K rm per year....

x 4 = 1.5 million ringgit thereabout. for the year 2025...

so yeah, you are absolutely correct. Assuming you did prepare the said money like 2 million for a kid... it is worth considering the discussion of whether to hand over the pot for their retirement/management vs spending it on a degree (with experience).

on side note: malaysia's glc like bnm or tenaga/maybank do sponsor scholarships together with mara and jpa. Can always apply there and see how...
each kid they send overseas under the full scholarship program basically cost the country like 1.5 million ringgit today.
Wedchar2912
post Aug 7 2025, 01:52 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Aug 7 2025, 01:26 PM)
But what do they eat for 30 years?
they eat what they manage to catch/hunt... like everyone else... stand on 2 own feet with character being built and harden...
then when they become mentally mature, only tell them the pot of hidden treasure.

i wished I had such a hidden pot of treasure accumulating wealth while I was studying/working from 18 till now... imagine the headache now. lol
Wedchar2912
post Aug 7 2025, 03:38 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Aug 7 2025, 02:51 PM)
in the past, I do think studying overseas is something great but now? nah...
so many proven company bosses, successful folks who actually graduated from local U....

if the intention is to let your kids stay and work overseas after study, then I guess yeah, it's definitely easier to send them there to study and then should be easier to continue stay there after that...but now looking at how the world is changing...is it really great to stay at Europe or US? Is life really better there? Not really too sure about that now...

Having travelled to different countries, I still love Malaysia overall... i'll let my kids decide on their own but if they really want to move overseas, either they get their own scholarship or study first and later apply for job overseas if they are capable enough...  tongue.gif
It used to be a lot easier (in the early and mid 2000s) to get a decent paying job if one graduated from a good school within the country... I can attest to it.

but nowadays with western countries like US/UK/Oz/EU all struggling, it is indeed a "gamble" if the aim is to get one's investment back...

like used to be, if one graduated from a top US uni, can get a STEM/finance job with remuneration of 120K usd pa + sign on + year end bonus. by second year, the person could be making like 200K usd.
Seems like good pay, as long as the person manages his/her expenditures cos the locale are of high cost of living. so if frugal, possible to save like 50 to 80K usd pa.... must really be frugal.

Nowadays, unfortunately, for USA case, thanks to Trump... everything is uncertain...

edit: vs 2 million ringgit... after 4 years, even interest accumulated at 5.5% already get extra 0.5 million ringgit.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Aug 7 2025, 03:39 PM
Wedchar2912
post Aug 7 2025, 06:56 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Aug 7 2025, 06:51 PM)
Who so stupid want to sign up since once you reach 55 you can treat it as a high interest savings account
Why want to cuff yourself if you have good financial acumen
that's how our gov get public feedback... disclose as little as possible... and see whats the reactions from all...

if no sound no picture, ah ha.... guess what will happen? blink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Aug 10 2025, 02:31 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Aug 10 2025, 05:41 AM)
I received a sms asked me go to KWSP to validate my thumb print before 22 August, altho i had a record of payment withdrawal 10 years ago  rclxub.gif  sweat.gif
first time I withdrew from EPF was back in 2018.... i don't really remember whether we can do online withdrawal back then; my first time online withdrawal was early 2020.
maybe 10 years ago the online withdrawal feature was not implemented yet?
Wedchar2912
post Aug 14 2025, 11:10 PM

3,682 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Aug 14 2025, 10:58 PM)
Epf announce that its 1H25 earning is better than its 1H24.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-dividend---don

Hope it will sustain till December 25.
"As of 30 June 2025, total investment assets stood at RM1.31 trillion, representing an 8% year-on-year growth. International investments accounted for 39%, with the increase partly reflecting improved valuations in global equity markets. During Q2 2025, international investments generated RM12.92 billion or 63% of the total investment income. "
from: https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/w/epf-records-to...ion-for-1h-2025

international made up 39% of assets, but generate 63% of total income... these group of fund managers truly outperformed.

73 Pages « < 63 64 65 66 67 > » Top

0.0528sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:23 PM