EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Jul 12 2025, 11:33 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 12 2025, 11:17 PM)

Diversification to me is a dirty word. Do not diversify just because some financial gurus said it's the ninth wonder of the world. Ask yourself whether you are doing it for real practical purposes . If multi- millionaires does it then I would understand as returns are not important to them.
I don't really understand...
do you mean that you subscribe to the idea that all in into just 1 asset is the optimal solution for you? so since this is EPF's thread, so you mean all your wealth into just EPF?

isn't that a bit too aggressive a asset allocation?

Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 12:00 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 12 2025, 11:49 PM)
What aggressive ? What asset allocation ? Do we need to conform to what financial gurus said ? All of us accumulate our assets based on our skills and prudence. So after accomplishing all due to our own capability we must now listen to textbook gurus ?

Epf is fully goverment guaranteed upto  their minimum dividend. If that is not safe enough then can say no more. If government failed then all banks will failed too. All the Malaysian brokerages n properties won't be able to survive also.

All said, not all my liquidity is with epf and it's all because of 100k limitation. Remove it and I would sent it all in.
You don't think putting practically 100% of your wealth into EPF is actually aggressive?
That is the general definition of putting all of one's eggs into a single asset... and is generally considered risky and aggressive.

same thing if we choose another asset class like gold or bitcoin or pure cash in ringgit papers. if everything is in just one thing... it is too aggressive a asset allocation.

But really, I am not here to judge... I just stated what is conventional knowledge. Nothing wrong with going against conventional wisdom, if you are fully aware of your choice.

Out of curiosity, how old are you (age bracket will do)? cos the same advice cannot be given to someone who is like 20 years old... just saying.
(I guess the older one is, maybe can all in into EPF as it does provide a lot more benefit and protections and some estate distribution features)

Like for my case, I like EPF as much as the next joe (I've stated this many times in this thread), but even so, the highest allocation ever in EPF was maybe 40% when I was working. now, it is like low teens... maybe cos of my age and hence the allocation.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 13 2025, 12:06 AM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 12:09 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 13 2025, 12:07 AM)
I m much older than that young missing unker. Only put your retirement funds in something that is secure and gives you good dividends.

Don't keep talking about asset classes or asset allocation. Invest in things that are safe and give good returns only.
ah... ok...
I am a different age group from you... me the gen that kept on asking y... hmm.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 12:18 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Jul 13 2025, 12:12 AM)
I won't remove my money.. well still 10 years to go before I hit 55.. haha
but , because it's a decade more to go, no one knows what will happen smile.gif
well bro, because I started in the system where I can get full at 55. I don't like half-way changes. If when I started in EPF and that's the rule, I play by that  rule lor,
luckily, the ceo of epf actually agrees with you... and hopefully he will ensure that the transition is smooth and fair to all members...
he did say if there are any changes, it should start with the new cohorts... biggrin.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 10:54 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 13 2025, 09:30 AM)
his concern is future policy changes restricting withdrawal... so he doesn't want to keep everything in epf...

in reality the gov and epf has been relaxing withdrawal throughout the years... but we dunno if this will change in the future

epf adjusted the withdrawal >1m excess upwards, so ppl just take this as the sign epf wanna restrict ppl from withdrawal... but to me is just realignment with their retirement framework for enhance savings...

anyway...
And there I thought you were pro brain. smile.gif

But telling everyone it is OK to throw everything into just one asset. One platform. One body. One entity.

Just chill and sit down and think about it. No matter how safe something is, it is never a good idea to put everything into just that one thing.

Edit: I just realised.
So in your opinion, future policy changes restricting withdrawal (risk of changes) is not a concern at all? And hence it is acceptable to just put all your funds in EPF?

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 13 2025, 11:14 AM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 10:56 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 13 2025, 08:59 AM)
epf manages a diversified portfolio... in many asset classes and different allocation amount... with some classes not even open to the public...

you are saying.... putting all money in epf is risky, should spread it out to say moomoo, m+, ibkr, mbb, public mutual,  etc... and you call this asset allocation?

you are so wrong here biggrin.gif
I didn't realize you are so right. Lol.

It is always smart to throw everything into just one platform. So right.

Haha.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 11:01 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 13 2025, 09:14 AM)
I don't care how diversified epf portfolio are. Since epf have been consistently been giving out abt at least 5.4 - 5.8%pa. I would just consider epf as a kind of fixed asset portion of my investment portfolio.
I am using my other money for other asset allocations in my portfolio.
It's kinda funny.

Many does the opposite and different things vs what they preach here. It is kinda weird how human behavior is. If I didn't know better, these people maybe trolling.

And many still don't realize how silly it is to rely on just one platform.

It's like nowadays knowing how much scams or system issues etc.. And actively telling your dad it is OK to put all your money into Maybank. No need to have excess cash elsewhere.

And then a weekend comes and system tergendala. Or worse... Kena frozen for scam.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 13 2025, 11:08 AM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 12:07 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jul 13 2025, 11:59 AM)
I like your thinking...

Almost same as mine....

One cannot really go wrong with EPF... They been consistent most of the years...

Even they screw up... Still got guarantee 2.5%

Just consider EPF as some back up @ place to fall upon if others asset / investment in deep trouble.....
ah... the question is.. would you put 99% of your networth into EPF today?
(I use 99% becuase some indicated that it is acceptable and seemed to even encourage others to put everything into EPF).
also even pure gold is technically classified as 99.99% gold...

as much as I like EPF, this is very silly and especially so the younger one is.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 12:24 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 13 2025, 12:21 PM)
Sure your >10 million is.
wah... don't lar go state it so obvious... this is a public forum....

lets just give uncle the title of sterling multi-millionaire.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 13 2025, 12:27 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 13 2025, 05:16 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 13 2025, 03:04 PM)
If ur idea of diversification is EPF and ASx, then its not much of a diversification. These two invest in the same things with ASx an even higher Malaysian exposure. Both are also anwerable to the same people ie PM/FM.

The only advantage of ASx is the liqudity if one is below retirement age. I personally only use ASx to park my emergency funds as a high yield CASA.
yeah, not much of a effective diversification... but it is still a diversification away from risks of sorts...

at least it is a big step better than putting "everything"/ 99% of one's wealth into just EPF alone... no matter how much one thinks EPF is safe.
ie, at least can reduce drastically certain idiosyncratic risks.

(the advice stands... it doesn't have not be EPF... gold... or pure cash in paper form... or all cash into maybank account... or all cash in a e-wallet... or all in usd t-bills... or all sitting in moomoo... or all in bitcoin...)

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 13 2025, 05:17 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 15 2025, 11:15 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 15 2025, 11:11 AM)
Make sure the brokerages are overseas and open the account overseas too and not Malaysian based. Who knows contagion effects and bank vaults no gold inside.  biggrin.gif
physical gold still the best... can touch... can smell... and can look at...

i still have not dipped my toes into gold yet.... all the glister but still procastinating.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 15 2025, 11:40 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 15 2025, 11:23 AM)
There is a sense of unsurety about your future investment. One minute invest overseas, one minute invest in physical gold. Just do it and report on your investment. Maybe will benefit lots of youngster later on ....for better or worse...
yeah, all investments have elements of uncertainty... thats why they are called investment.

managing one's portfolio involves allocation of assets. I have yet to prioritize allocation of my wealth for the sake of passing them on as inheritence yet...

ops... i think I better not say too much about gold here... cos just realized this is EPF thread...
Wedchar2912
post Jul 15 2025, 02:39 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 15 2025, 02:23 PM)
So not doing asset allocation, not doing diversification and yet clamoring it is the best thing since toasted bread. Lots of us retirees love epf because it is simple n giving reasonable dividends . If invest overseas then have to do many maintenance task and then worried about needless things such as inheritance.
This one you really overthinking it... my response about physical gold being the best was in reference to the gold discussion... (all things in gold, my opinion is still gold in physical form is the best form... not paper gold, or gold inside someone else's vault... etc)

which afterwards I realize that maybe we should not be talking too much about gold since this is a thread about EPF.

I copied and pasted the chain of discussion for you to follow.

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 15 2025, 09:42 AM)
If gold & silver, can be done locally, no need overseas.
QUOTE(magika @ Jul 15 2025, 11:11 AM)
Make sure the brokerages are overseas and open the account overseas too and not Malaysian based. Who knows contagion effects and bank vaults no gold inside.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 15 2025, 11:15 AM)
physical gold still the best... can touch... can smell... and can look at...
This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 15 2025, 02:56 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 16 2025, 08:12 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Jul 16 2025, 07:33 PM)
I akaun app down for maintenance today?
kwsp website also cannot login...

edit: now at around 9pm... kwsp website can login already.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 16 2025, 09:09 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 17 2025, 12:10 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Jul 16 2025, 11:51 PM)
i thought kwsp maintenance due to penghargaan luar biasa untuk rakyat...
no idea... everything looks the same... no extra 0 for my balance... lol
Wedchar2912
post Jul 21 2025, 12:33 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Jul 21 2025, 12:27 PM)
July 14 - EPF has ceased to be a substantial shareholder in Sunway Construction Group Bhd

July 21 - Intraday short-selling of Sunway Construction Group Bhd's shares have been suspended following a drop of more than 15% in its share value.
What we can learn from this 2 news??

EPF have information & first move way earlier than anyone else.

Those keep saying EPF is not protecting & giving good returns for contributors $$$?
Please think back... Can you escape before the selldown like EPF?
first mover advantage... just need to be faster than everyone else in exiting the door...

hopefully EPF is able to also time when to reenter again...
Wedchar2912
post Jul 21 2025, 12:48 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 21 2025, 12:44 PM)
Earned 3x, many would hv cabut also.
PE also 3x more than 2 years ago?
Ah. The question is.... Can one get the timing as beautiful as EPF?
Impressive leh the timing.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 21 2025, 02:11 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 21 2025, 01:38 PM)
What so impressive? Buy anytime before 2023, you know when market not good.
u still don't get it?

I also bought a bunch of sunway group shares when it was sub 2 ringgit... and took profit just a few months ago.
EPF's one is way better timing lor...
if I have their ability, then I could exit at near 5 handle..

way way way better timing... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Jul 21 2025, 02:17 PM
Wedchar2912
post Jul 21 2025, 10:34 PM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 21 2025, 10:08 PM)
Epf has already been selling down since at least May this year. Can check the announcements. Also my broker analyst downgrade Suncon to.hold since about then as well due to the rich valuations.

Like you, epf, average costs is likely significantly lower and now they take some profits. The fact they are no longer substantial shareholders doesnt mean they are not shareholders still. Its just they drop below 5%.
and you don't think EPF's timing is good? in fact, almost perfect? rclxms.gif

like you said, why not look at the trades EPF been doing and the volume sizes all the way till 14th Jul... and then 14th Jul got one big disposal of 20 million shares... 5.95 closing price... and like you said, no longer substantial shareholders means no one knows how many shares EPF is still holding. could be some... could not none.

now when did the macc news start coming out? what I am aware is the name of the firm came out today or yday...

I wish I have interest to follow through the news sequence... or care about sunway groups anymore for the time being since I have no shares.
I am just impressed at EPF's skill in timing and execution! damn near perfect... biggrin.gif

Wedchar2912
post Jul 22 2025, 11:42 AM

3,683 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ Jul 22 2025, 11:35 AM)
Let's be real, being closely linked to the government, they have all kind of access to insider information.
hmmm.... brows.gif
very very very possible.... brows.gif

73 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0781sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:27 AM