Wedchar2912
post Apr 8 2025, 12:32 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 8 2025, 12:27 PM)
Covid time also you got 5.x%.
true true.

then that makes 6.xx really crappy.really really crappy.

haha.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 8 2025, 02:28 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 8 2025, 02:15 PM)
1960 - 1962 : 4%

2002 : 4.25%

The lowest point in EPF dividend history 🙏
hopefully never breach the number.4% officially beat official inflation.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 9 2025, 02:48 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 9 2025, 12:56 AM)
But Covid time actually market just dip a while followed with a V shape recovery.
maybe cos Covid time the Fed pumped liquidity like mad to push everything up with federal gov printing money too.... before covid, US debt was only 20 trillion if not mistaken. in 2022, it became 30 trillion.

This time round, Fed refused to cut (yet)... while Federal gov is cutting spending and firing people.

Wedchar2912
post Apr 9 2025, 04:26 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 8 2025, 02:15 PM)
1960 - 1962 : 4%

2002 : 4.25%

The lowest point in EPF dividend history 🙏
oh yeah. in case it slips everyone's mind.

conventional epf has 2.5 min return.
shariah don't.

Mag 7 down like what? 20%?
if it made up 20% of portfolio, that's 4% down.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 10 2025, 12:05 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 9 2025, 11:51 PM)
Possible sponsor by Government if return not good?
shariah not supposed to... and also, if I understand correctly while I am not a muslim, is against Shariah law to sponsor.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 14 2025, 02:34 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Apr 14 2025, 02:18 PM)
Thanks. Mine still not working.
If cannot by tomorrow, then go office.
mine working fine...

maybe u can try to login on website version.... could be your app/mobile issue.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 19 2025, 12:08 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Apr 19 2025, 12:04 PM)
Looking at the market, wondering if EPF dividend will drop to below 5% for 2025…or worst 4%
seems like at current juncture, it all depends on King Trump having a phone call to/with/from Emperor Xi.

Wedchar2912
post Apr 19 2025, 12:45 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Apr 19 2025, 12:17 PM)
Lowest was 2% when they started and then jump to 4% and never drop to 4% ever since…

4.25 in 2002
lowest ever was 2.5% (I think you didn't display up to 2 decimal on your data) and that was in the beginings of EPF formation days.

assuming the gov and EPF follows the rules, law and principles, shariah epf is at risk of having a dividend below 2.5%.
conventional at least have the gov put option.

eg:
if MAG 7 made up of 20% of shariah portfolio, and ytd already down 20%, that is 4% of absolute return that has to be made up to break even.
klci index this year also down close to 10%... so if KLCI stocks made up the other 20%, that is another 2% return.
60% left lets all in MGII, which gives like 4% pa yield. that barely covers klci's shortfall.

so who knows... downward pressure is there.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 19 2025, 02:38 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 19 2025, 02:11 PM)
Epf dividend is not based on market values.

Its based on realised gains. What cost they buy the MAG7 and what price they sell.
If thats the reasoning, then no need to discuss already based on market performance.

Like you suggested, just say everything is based on realised gains.

When market go up, nothing to do with that cos they didn't realize any gains.
When market go down, nothing to do with that cos they didn't realize any loss.

Lol.

So, based on Crystal ball, what's the div for this year then? And can share any rational besides realized gain/loss?
Wedchar2912
post Apr 19 2025, 03:30 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 19 2025, 03:15 PM)
I think the best situation to compare recently years is during COVID-19 period....

That's the dividend rates expected to be...

Cannot compare the initial years of  EPF where 2.5% rates is given...
Agree for the conventional epf. Hopefully never drop below 4.

But shariah epf is a bit tricky. It's supposed to reflect the actual performance of the shariah portfolio. Due to its principles (as I understand). So this would be a interesting result.

Still have a good 10 months to go before finding out. smile.gif
Wedchar2912
post Apr 22 2025, 08:43 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 22 2025, 08:42 PM)
Don't worry not gonna hold you accountable for that number grin.gif

If that really happen that guy is deadlier than a virus! devil.gif
which guy? the self declared King? devil.gif
Wedchar2912
post Apr 25 2025, 11:46 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 25 2025, 11:24 AM)
You can.
Nice. Have to transfer from 2 and 3 back into 1 for this month's voluntary contribution.
Wedchar2912
post Apr 25 2025, 11:58 AM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Apr 25 2025, 11:48 AM)
Can set up auto transfer also, that is a nice touch.
not bad... any better would be a duitnow function to send small amounts (like before 300rm per day) to pay for groceries etc... haha
Wedchar2912
post Apr 27 2025, 09:05 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Apr 27 2025, 04:24 PM)
300 per day u day day cook wangyu beef + lobster+ caviar?
even if can afford, not sure when at old age can eat like that anymore. haha.

I just picked 300rm cos that seems to be ballpark the kind of limit credit card set for wave transactions. (ie same level of risk as card kena waved)
per day so that if it got hacked, the scammer could only slowly bleed the account... not like the stories we hear about retiree one shot transfer 50 to 100K to someone else.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Apr 27 2025, 09:06 PM
Wedchar2912
post May 12 2025, 03:04 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(cms @ May 12 2025, 02:58 PM)
Aduii, need to replan abit. Putting into EPF is good but to chat with the increasing min withdrawal balance is tough.
well, essentially all of us (those with more than 1 million in epf and not near 55 years old) basically have until Christmas this year to decide if want to take everything above 1 million out.

if decided to take out, it just means we don't plan to put more in anymore.
if decided not to take out, it just mean we are ok to keep extra 300K rm in EPF vs 1 million.

those near 55, just whistling.gif .
Wedchar2912
post May 14 2025, 01:10 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 14 2025, 11:35 AM)
as long you have 1.1M on the 1st Jan 2025 then this issue of new threshold withdrawal will not be applicable for you
**assume no contribution after 1st Jan 2025
1st Jan 2025 1.1M
1st Jan 2026 1.1M + 5.5% dividend = RM1.16M
1st Jan 2027 1.16M + 5.5% dividend = RM1.22M
1st Jan 2028 1.22M + 5.5% dividend = RM1.29M <- you are just 10k away from withdrawal threshold yeah rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

again this is a stupid way to think or plan...
imagine u really hit RM1.3M on 1st Jan 2028 but you cannot even withdraw anything from the 1.3M only the excess can be withdraw...
so please make sure you all plan accordingly the goal is not to hit RM1.3M by 2028 but to have at least RM1.6M by 2028 so you can at least have a 300k emergency fund that is withdrawable in EPF

so by 1st Jan 2025 RM1.30M to be on the safe side so by 1st Jan 2028 even without contribution since 1st Jan 2025 with dividend alone your EPF will grow to RM1.58M
again if you are actively working with steady income / self contribute monthly then you should easily exceed RM1.6M and that will give you RM300k emergency fund
fully concur with your analysis and conclusion....

this is why earlier I mentioned that the gov and EPF was being too busy body and annoying until they want to control how those who have healthy balances in EPF manage their funds.
Busy body taking care of B40 in terms of wealth management I can understand, but this? But no.... those with lesser than 10K rm in balance... sure, please take out more... those with 1 million and above, you don't have enough to retire.

doh.gif
(imagine a doctor telling a serious case diabetic patient that its ok to take ice-cream but forbade a healthy athletic for taking a can of coke after a marathon)
Wedchar2912
post May 14 2025, 08:21 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ May 14 2025, 02:58 PM)
It's not me, I mean most of the argument is some people actually been topping and then suddenly this loophole close. For the emergency fund, I actually deposit to my parents account. Acc3 just started, and account 2 is conditional - so most probably out of question but most probably enough for those planning for big ticket item like housing which is within the conditional.
curious... what loophole closing are you refering to? Is it really a loophole?
if gov and epf really want to disallow withdrawals, they should just change the rules and state that no funds can be withdrawn pre-55 years old after a date, and set such date. simple...

pretty sure those who worry will just take everything above 1 million (effectively a small run on EPF)... while those who are happy with EPF with any amount can just leave it there.

I would choose the former... too long a wait till 55 years old for me.
Wedchar2912
post May 15 2025, 04:10 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ May 15 2025, 02:54 PM)
As in the 300K difference. Imagine at first you can withdraw up to 300K due to the threshold of 1M, but now lesser due the the increase in threshold. So in your case you withdrawing anything above 1M now?
It is 100K each year increase... with the aim of slowly adjusting the mentality of the "top EPF savers", numbering 130K persons.... much like slow boiling frog...
and to be fair, this really only impact those very young (below 50 years old) and those where their EPF funds are close to 1 million. (big amt holders would care less).

as mentioned earlier, all of us have until Christmas of this year to decide... due to age, I should really take the excess out... but on the flip side, I still have passive income coming and don't need to touch my EPF div yet.... headache.
Wedchar2912
post May 15 2025, 09:10 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 15 2025, 04:30 PM)
for me i am pushing forward all in
if i recall properly, you are close to 55 years young rite?

then this 1.X million barrier should not really matter to you... especially if you have more than 1.3 million... just treat it as your HY CASA but with superior GOV guarantee and protection. And safer than even keeping your funds in Maybank or CIMB (extra layer of protection from scammers too... ) rclxms.gif
Wedchar2912
post May 18 2025, 03:48 PM

3,688 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ May 18 2025, 01:24 PM)
In many ways we are lucky that EPF inheritance are not taxable. Malaysia thus far have abolished inheritance tax although some quarters are trying to bring such up. And pension income or EPF gains are not taxable to the members… or are they “secretly taxed “ 😅 as I have no such info. Nonetheless it’s one less thing for retiree to worry about in Malaysia.

In UK and most western countries, such are taxable which is pain to the retirees.
Malaysia don't have any inheritance tax at all, regardless of what kind of assets.... as far as I am aware... right?
"passive income" from Malaysia are not taxable in Malaysia as well, except the div (epf excluded) above 100K pa becoming taxable at 2%.

(ignoring the foreign income remitted back to Malaysia thingy... that is 10 years away and many things can change from now till then).

Anyone have different understanding, do share...

73 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0592sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:31 PM