4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.19, D7100 announced weeeee~

BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 01:36 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 01:33 AM)
IQ quite alot tho lol
plan 1st before go for any shooting, check the area available for u to take pic, check the lighting as well, then only decide which lens and gears to use
hmm okay ba... i think its better IF i wanna go for FF in the future, go for 17-55 2nd hand, then sell off when wanna change to 24-70... like that better or str8 24-70?

okay will take note =) but sometimes like sudden event / carnival duno their setup oso hard ><
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 02:12 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 24 2013, 01:45 AM)
the 17-55 is defiantly worth to buy. even if you sell, if its in good condition the price wont dip too low. But I see from your signature, you already have so many primes. you sure you want a 2.8? From my experience those with many primes dont usually play zooms xD
hmm okay... i'll invest in it ba... i need it for events.. 35mm for streets, 85mm for portrait.. so far still trying to use 35mm for events lah... paksa paksa can loh, just group shot more than 6++ people left to right will be hard abit...

so you're suggest go for 1755 only go 2470? dont str8 jump?

Btw spam biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Apr 24 2013, 02:49 AM
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 07:29 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 24 2013, 07:15 AM)
Buy Nikkor 18-70. Cheap and good whistling.gif
Tamron is lousy ! f4 still quite soft
@bold rclxms.gif
17-55 personally i don't really fancy it. My friend using it for 1yr+ then when touch 24-70, straight sell 17-55
Tho, not that wide but he got UWA to compensate la.
If your situation, you have flash, f/2.8 is not a must. Why not opt for something cheaper eg Nikkor 18-70 ? Tamron, personally i feel the color is wash out. If you compare side by side with nikkor lens.
Nikkor 18-70 used only cost about 600 rolleyes.gif
hmm... but for events 24-70 on crop good meh? less ( around 13.5mm width -crop )
yea normally use flash + 18105,but gonna give my bro use my 18105 d soon.. tats wai thinking getting a event de zoom...

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 24 2013, 09:44 AM)
How long will it take for your to switch to FF? Later you get the 24-70 you still find not wide enough and need to step back and no space, end up you may want to sell it.

If you got a kit lens, just use it. It's good enough and can save you money to fund your FF or next lens. For group photos and if you have flash, you don't really need f/2.8, most likely you'll be using smaller aperture to get more DOF.

If you want a f/2.8 and don't want to spend too much, then the Tamron is good enough, a 2nd hand unit is much cheaper below RM800 (without VC), and even if you sell it later, the price is just around there. Sharpness and IQ wise, it's comparable to Nikon's (provided you get a good copy), but the main issues is the accuracy and speed, e.g. if you want to track subject (e.g. wedding walk-ins in low light, kids running) and here's where the big different between Nikon's 17-55mm vs the Tamron's 17-50mm; but if you're just using for group photo, portraits, there's no issue, not really worth spending few thousands on another lens, in fact your kit lens is also good enough.
Fact is, you can show people photos taken from the kit lens, Tammy 17-50 or Nikon 17-55, who can actually tell the difference? I've shot with both lens and deliver photos taken by both lens, nobody knows the lens is different just by looking at the photos; only yourself will know when you use it, with the Nikon's, you'll find the accuracy, speed and silent focusing; of all, the accuracy is the primary and most important especially you're shooting action/moving subjects and in low lights.

If you want to get the Nikon's 17-55mm, then the 2nd hand is much more worth it considering the BIG dip in price from NEW, it's really not worth to get a new unit; the problem is to find a good copy 2nd hand unit and if there's problem, prepare to break your wallet because the repairs may not even worth to pay, but then you have purchase the lens. This lens is actually big and much heavy compared to the Tamron, less convenient and more worrying if you want to carry it around for normal/casual shooting.
kit lens gona give bro soon le, tatswai thinking getting a zoom event lens... like u say the tracking people running part...i'm worry on that lo..
but i heard japan de tamron like cheaper, VC one is RM900+ compare to rm1400 in malaysia, if get already sell 2nd hand here oso wont rugi..

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:09 AM)
Actually why not direct go FX... its an eventuality  brows.gif  brows.gif  d800 maybe ? laugh.gif
str8 go DX no lens oso no use ><

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 24 2013, 10:14 AM)
I love the build quality of Sigma 35/1.4
Like CZ laugh.gif
UWA is the lens I will get first whenever I go travel.
Others can put aside.
travel if take UWA and use the normal 18105, different alot ah if for landscape alot de place?
now headach duno shud i get a UWA for travel(landscape shootng) , use 18-55 for event, or get 17-50 for event + travel.

This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Apr 24 2013, 07:45 PM
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 08:13 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 24 2013, 08:07 PM)
DX lens have to find new owners lo.. maybe sell to your brother la hahaha

I think your too worried about wat lens to bring to travel. This could only mean one thing. you shoot not enuf! go out shoot a lot and you will know what you want. Get more experience with your current lenses their limitations then is easier dy... anyways for the most part if your not going alone or with photo kakis you wont have much time to shoot epic travel photos most of the time. My last trip to jpy w/ my uncles who day day wan go shopping malls... not bad also la.. can cucimata but not much photos xD
hmm... okay oso.. haha sell brother ! keke... but I duno he will end up in serious photog bo...
So far my travel oso is those 1 day trip 1... din travel to those landscape that can WOW de...

i shoot more on events , portraits and streets nia now.. using 35 and 85 mostly.. i think got 25k+ shutter le..

haha japanese mei mei wub.gif
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 09:23 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 24 2013, 08:20 PM)
shutter count a lot is good (I have no idea wat my d300 shutter count is, maybe should check)... Dont get me wrong im not putting you down. or say i very good or what. just my observation. Or maybe if you cannot decide you can borrow friends with UWA and cuba 1st. see how u like it. till date I still have not bought a UWA. Not my go to lens like die die must have. But in some situations I need I borrow from friends.
yea got that thinking oso, maybe borro from my friend... cuz now i'm not into landscape so much compared to streets... just only for trips only ( in this 2 year time gonna travel a lot ) ... if 18mm enuf for scenery then i'm okay with it, problem is i see my friend using UWA shoot scenery like better alot leh the picture..

haha btw ur d300 buy how long le ? can last how many sc? my D7k bought on last year dec >< i think by this year end sure almost 100k liao... duno stil can last how long ><

This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Apr 24 2013, 09:25 PM
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 10:42 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Apr 24 2013, 10:18 PM)
UWA also can shoot portrait le... hahaha ask celciuz  he does it very nicely. not only for scenery...

my d300 long lor... antique ah... then again I used to do a lot of time lapse xD
QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 10:32 PM)
yea.. UWA also can shoot nice portrait, can include the background also
portrait must place @ middle o like that? include background like those shoot sit down under sakura tree, and then back ground got pond lake and mountain one??

if like that 18105 and 11-16 tokina , result will diff alot?
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 10:47 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Apr 24 2013, 10:44 PM)
maybe in this comparison, the aperture factor will come to play.. 11-16 F2.8 can produce sexay potrait with nice bokeh background i guess
but 11 so shallow ._. havta go take friend's one and try this weekend !
like that if UWA got this extra benefit... i think i will stick with 18-55/18-105+flash for events and get a UWA...

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 10:46 PM)
18mm and 11mm in DX diff alot
the placing of object is depends on ur composition liao
distortion semua oso need to know where isit rite?
i go use friend mia try this weekend... ngam ngam he got 11-18 and 17-50 rclxms.gif

but too bad is canon one.. need use his body

This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Apr 24 2013, 10:49 PM
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 10:57 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 10:53 PM)
distortion mostly at all 4 corners
okay, i try d see how bah..

QUOTE(Pmc @ Apr 24 2013, 10:53 PM)
try d 90% will buy later  laugh.gif  laugh.gif but 18-105 + flash is really versatile for events shooting.
yeah, 18-105 + flash good for event, but wanna give bro use.. @@ tatswai thinking about 1750 tammy
if UWA function so good, myself i get UWA, and live with the 1855...
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:26 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Apr 24 2013, 11:25 PM)
Just came back from Nikon store at Alamanda and made my first lens purchase.
50mm f1.8G

forgive the lousy pic, took it hurriedly.
my next target is a tripod  biggrin.gif
enjoy it ! rclxms.gif
btw coolpix + DSLR lens blink.gif
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:30 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Apr 24 2013, 11:29 PM)
lol no I don't have coolpix. mine is just a humble beginner's D3100. They used the coolpix bag I don't know xD
haha XD shud do I AM DX or smth...
enjoy ur new PRIME lens biggrin.gif can do a lot thing with it
bokehhhh drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:35 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Apr 24 2013, 11:32 PM)
oh yeahhh tested it before buying and loving the bokehhh actually thumbup.gif  very excited coz I was stuck with kit lens before this and it just wasn't very satisfying.
yea ! i oso , was stuck with kitlens, until i try the 85mm.. INSTA DROOL ! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 11:33 PM)
the bokeh quite creamy compare to the D version
yeah ! D version cheapo ma, budget lens
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:37 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 11:36 PM)
no choice lo.. for poor ppl like me can only afford the D version.. haha
go sell buntut lah, i oso sell buntut to get money.. brows.gif

but if use D version , for normal people they also cant notice much

This post has been edited by BlizzardCraft: Apr 24 2013, 11:39 PM
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:42 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 11:40 PM)
aiya... D or G version... nvm one la
as long as can shoot enuff already
tats wai , btw in malaysia, normally where u go for those streets? will dangerous mah? i hardly tried streets in malaysia yet, now @ india shoot nia
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:49 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 11:48 PM)
luckily im still in uni, all free. request only laugh.gif
wahlao no need sell buntut ! i oso in uni loh~ mad.gif mad.gif say what poor fag !
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 24 2013, 11:51 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 24 2013, 11:50 PM)
ya la.. student memang poor one
QUOTE(Darkripper @ Apr 24 2013, 11:50 PM)
Me also in uni  mad.gif

Good my scholarship provide money for my hobbies  brows.gif
thts why need sell buntut to get money for cam !

btw pre-exam image spam ~ whistling.gif

BlizzardCraft
post Apr 25 2013, 12:19 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

wah so geli that spear rclxub.gif

FF de powah ISO 1000 stil so clean
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 25 2013, 03:11 AM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(teetaatee @ Apr 25 2013, 01:21 AM)
the siggy 18-35mm f1.8 more drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 25 2013, 03:22 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 25 2013, 07:12 AM)
Well, get Sigma 35mm f/1.4 Art brows.gif
2.8k only. Build like CZ, sharpness better than Nikkor.
Even DxO Mark quoted that the best 35mm f/1.4 so far !
Penang ada brows.gif
Can. Why not.
I shoot using 24mm on FF brows.gif
See photo below.
Depends how you compose. Creativity at your own.
85/1.8 or 1.4 too bokeh.
No sense of letting people guess what's behind. I prefer Wide angle bokeh biggrin.gif

see lo, 85mm i use to blur lightings and all.. need to make sure the background colour nice.. bokeh only come out nice.. if colour plain then result also *meh* only... sometimes wan more of the background de i use 35mm... what lens u used for that? btw if UWA f2.8 the bokeh will be there bo?

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Apr 25 2013, 07:28 AM)
To be honest, it's so NOISY at ISO 1000 !  shakehead.gif

I can get much cleaner images at ISO 1600 with my D7000.  biggrin.gif
i oso using D7000, normally u boost ISO to how much max? i normally max oso 1600 nia, if despo only 2k... but 1600 oso noise start coming out le.. 1200 there stil okay.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Apr 25 2013, 07:46 AM)
Build looks good definitely, just the AF capability of the 35mm Sigma. Not the speed, but the consistency to nail the shot. Sensors like 36MP of D800 really demanding...
the sigma AF capability not good ah? blink.gif like that means its the IQ quality which makes it claim the first place among 35s in DxO?

BlizzardCraft
post Apr 25 2013, 03:25 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Apr 25 2013, 03:24 PM)
24/1.4G
wah ! drool.gif nice ah ? on crop?
ayam butt sell not enough no money get that ><
BlizzardCraft
post Apr 25 2013, 03:28 PM

ChiakChiak
1,562 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Apr 25 2013, 03:26 PM)
Sigma launching 24mm 1.4 for APS-C soon btw.
Sigh all the new ART series lens for crop only.
Saving up for the 35mm 1.4 though.
hmm.. the 18-35 f1.8 duno worth to buy bo..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0462sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:41 PM