QUOTE(yamyinhao @ Apr 16 2013, 04:03 PM)
Hi guy I was plan to buy a new car between elentra and new honda civic and my first choice are elentra vecause of his great design and also I have test drive it great but I am worry about few thing
1) the quallity of the car because I will want to drive it till 18 years just like my satria .can elentra tahan
2) the price for the spare parts is elentra expensive
3) also the oil consumption is it save minyak
4) service charge is it expensive .normal service for honda and toyota is around 170++.will elentra more than that
Hope some one in here can help
Just sharing my opinion and I own elantra 1.6HS.
1)Reliability: Korean is still korean, reliability is something they cant improve in short term and cannot compared to matured Japanese brand. I don't think it can last as long as a Japanese car.
2) Quality: My Elantra did not have major issue, just some rattling noise in dashboard during high speed ~ 140 and at another location that only appears under rough road condition. I guess these rattling noise are common for CKD cars including Japanese
3) Fuel: Car still new, 4k mileage, constantly getting 16cents per km using Shell. 1.8 will be more expensive based on the feedback in forum
4) Service charge: Should be the same as Japanese, you can easily request your SA for the price list. BTW my 1k service is RM170++
5) Car price: I still decide to go for Korean because cannot find C-segment Japanese car below 100k. Mazda 3 1.6 are close but have space concern.
I also did consider Civic but after you join their club facebook, you will read many negative feedback unless you getting the Civic Hybrid. You should consider Mazda 3 other C segment cars from other Japanese brand instead of Civic