white elantra 1.8 owner logging in. Didn't discover this forum until lately, so here's my take on my korean babe for the last 6 months (>10K km) that i own it.
The Good:
-cabin soundproofing is awesome, engine is quiet (i actually forgot to off my engine a few times after parking, so was curious y i cannot lock my door

).
-Steering is very "light", makes city driving smooth, n parking is easy too.
-Small things that i like r the quick 3 blink indicators (useful when changing lanes), sunroof is useful to quickly cool down the car when parking in open carpark, u can wind down the car window before turning the engine on, best storage for sunglasses, ur starbucks coffee, chewing gum, mineral water n phone charging.
-I drive my babe on highways n city regularly, so FC wise its abt 9.1L/100km. i think this is average for a 1.8 car. use caltex; tried petronas & shell, n they both don't work well for me as i regularly go uphill n downhill a lot n the car feels got more power using caltex.
-And she's a Korean babe with great looks!
The Bad:
-Lousy HU. This i feel is the biggest mistake of getting these cheaply made HU into the car, spoil the feel. So far it had switched modes on me many times (when i'm watching movies on my USB halfway thru, the sound switches to radio channel

). Sound quality is also non existent. The interface looks very ulu.
-Potholes is its worst enemy. The car actually does feel like the wheels will come off even when u go thru a small sized pothole. Saw some bros here saying attach a dampener to the suspension at tire shop can solve the issue, so will give it a try when i go for my next alignment.
-SC does not provide tire services or air con service. Kind of sad tat they dun even have these, as with my previous Honda, even tho they charge a a bit above market rate, but still i'm willing to pay coz everything all gets done in one place, one day.
-the auto wipers r good for highway driving, but lousy for city driving. i wish they added in the wiper interval feature rather than just auto, normal, n fast speed.
-I actually prefer the backseat release buttons to be accessible inside the cabin rather than from the trunk. U go to the trunk, release the latch, then walk back to cabin, pull the seat down n arrange, then walk back to trunk to load ur stuff. See the extra work?
What extra work i have done:
Put in Huper Optik tinting. Have to admit the tinting guy was right, with this one the view actually is much clearer, much like wearing a polarized sunglasses. Also did PPS coating (white color mah), n trust me its a worthwhile investment due to the birds in malaysia eat too much nasi lemak or something n keep pangsai all the time, n when u r stuck behind a bas kilang or a big fat lorry blowing black smoke n oil onto ur car, u really want to wipe if off easily n quickly.
Next on the menu is to upgrade the HU, so looking for some suggestions here. BTW, i'm in Penang. I listen to classical music a bit in the car (wanna act smart sometimes

)
yo newbie, welcome...i agree with u bout the potholes...really are our most hated enemy...but are those dampers really work??????and if with it will it make the car more wobbling during high speed at hways????? so far others are ok...i'm daily commuting to work for bout 100kms evry day and its really boring if u caught in jams(evry day) so if i bought other than HE car im sure regret it...ODO nearly 40k km....used for 9 months...if u calculate for normal car usage my car actually already 2 yrs...
so far the cars runs fine...