LYN Official Hyundai ElantraMD Ver.8, The Club Been Officially Registered Now!

va_841
post Mar 1 2013, 01:55 AM

QUOTE(kwchan_7 @ Feb 28 2013, 11:20 AM)
Mine FC is really worst..been driving the car for almost half year.. 42L petrol can only last for 360KM Max... cry.gif everytime I pump full tank RM80.. the MFD will only show 400KM availabe ( last 50KM will drop fast and show none). the petrol consumption is on par with 408T  cry.gif  cry.gif
1.8 or 1.6 ?
va_841
post Mar 4 2013, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Mar 2 2013, 07:31 PM)
I was so disappointed that i was tailgated by audi Q7 at hway...then i try to get away, i throttle more than half, to my shock the car doesn't move!!!!!!??????gear was down shifted but the car has no power to do anything..so i switch to potent booster from mode normal to mode HA7, then the car was alive....the car manage to get away from audi Q7. really in love with potent booster...
Hi Civicspoon, i do find the car throttle a bit hard, pickup was good but not like racing type biggrin.gif, maybe because of eco mode on, this is what i did, normally to get sudden pickup, i use shiftronic and drop the gear, can feel the power seriously, the RPM cut off also high, so what i did was, i was on hurry for my futsal game, so have to go to Banting all the way from klang, i use shifttronic all the way 37KM to dest, man tell u the car roar like nobodies business, after that even driving on normal D mode, the car pickup and engine response became way more powerful, i told this to my fren, he said it is normal and it is a must for every car to be throttled hard at least twice in a month to clean up all the engine carbons and get maxed lubricated
va_841
post Mar 5 2013, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Mar 5 2013, 02:52 PM)
yup need to throttle hard 1 or 2 a month...let the carbon off the engine..but since the engine is new not so much carbon.so start doing it now so the engine always new..

but need to consider when to tekan. don't full throttle when outside temp is 40! thats crazy...don't stress ur engine..try to go all out during night time...
Yup u are right, high temp not suitable for throttling,...
va_841
post Mar 5 2013, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(flyingsea @ Mar 4 2013, 08:29 PM)
What the tinted brand can intro ? going collect my car soon... smile.gif
I tint my car using AGARD tint, cheap and good, it implements the safety film technology, where robbers will have hard time to break your windshield, the ray reduction for this tint is 75% both Solar and UV and the amount of thickness is 65%, it's more than what JPJ allowed(55%), but the car accessory shop claim, JPJ normally tak layan much if 65% because still can see inside, if got summoned, he ask me to bring to him, he can get the Manufacturer settle that for me.., got 2 variant, 1 is 75% Rays Block and another is 85 - 90% Rays block not so sure but higher than what i apply for my car..., check out with your local car accessory shop and see...
va_841
post Mar 6 2013, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(Jack Jarrett @ Mar 6 2013, 05:10 PM)
What is wrong with my Elantra 1.8 FC? I just pumped RM120 (RON97) full tank @ Caltex 4 hours ago, and I got this only...

http://www.imagebam.com/image/b0be8d241513069

It's getting bad & bad & bad each time I refilling the fuel, LOL...
Don't trust that bro, it always wrong, mine also same, first it shows 563, than second 513, than 502, than 490, 480 and bla bla bla, but if you check in the midst around 3/4 tank of oil, it will be different reading, the difference between ur diffrence Trip A and current reading will be more than what initially it shows, something like trying to learn hard what will be the full tank consumption based on your previous driving, for me even thou it shows low, i still can get 420++ on a full tank, 60% city 40% highway
va_841
post Mar 7 2013, 03:48 PM

QUOTE(manikandj @ Mar 7 2013, 11:37 AM)
I am not having any problem with the car which i bought... but sime darby is fooling us to pay more and get less!!
ya bro true also, but not only elantra face this issue, most of the car in the market if you compare the europe or US spec, those westerners specs are more better with less price, this is more towards Government lor, hahaha, go check the Ford Focus, the US version have GPS and reverse Cam, but our version don't have..., can't do much lor...
va_841
post Mar 8 2013, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Mar 8 2013, 11:10 AM)
Im currently using K&N drop in with Iridium Plugs ... previously thinking to install Qmax VS but decided to postponed it  cool.gif
bro waht the diffrent of using K&N drop in with Iridium Plugs ?, will it give better power ?, better FC or ?
va_841
post Mar 8 2013, 07:37 PM

QUOTE(stevenycs @ Mar 8 2013, 07:18 PM)
From both website they will boost of increase in car performance even in HP n acceleration etc etc

But for me changing K&N actually permits more air flow thru our engine which the SC told me is good for our car since its design to have more power by doing this but the stock filter is not giving enough. Again main objective still the one time investment of this air filter. Yes u do need to clean n oil it but that is small price to pay. I bought the cleaning kit n do it myself at home smile.gif

As for the iridium plugs. Website again claim increase of power n better FC since less miss firing etc etc but again for me main objective is the longer life span of using it. Denso advertise usage of 30,000 miles. But we do check it periodically.

Filter is drop in so its just DIY. For plug if u have the tools (I.e plug spannar) then u can DIY too or else buy or get it to,your sc to change.
bro will this make any issue to car warranty ??? and where to get it, u mention SC ppl in ur reply, is that mean the Hyundai Service Center ppl ???, sorry just confused a bit
va_841
post Mar 11 2013, 11:13 AM

QUOTE(mdadnan @ Mar 9 2013, 09:05 PM)
drool.gif  Yeszz...confirm!! Our HE can achives 500KM++ after resetting ECU (disconnected -ve terminal for 15 minits)  icon_rolleyes.gif
How u disconnected -ve terminal for 15 minits bro ?, can share here ??
va_841
post Mar 11 2013, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(hks @ Mar 10 2013, 02:36 PM)
y nobody bother my question...
sigh
Hi HKS

Normally i drive until the Petrol light comes on and i drove the last bar further about 30 - 40 KM and will pump in OIl, it will still left about 3 - 4 lit of petrol when i'm fueling it up
va_841
post Jul 31 2013, 03:56 PM

guyz, can anyone send invite for me to the elantra FB club
va_841
post Jul 31 2013, 04:02 PM

QUOTE(sparrowed @ Jul 26 2013, 08:49 PM)
Dear Elantrians, what is the recommended Engine oil for the first 1000km?
I Use mobil 1 5w 40, performance very good, give it a try...
va_841
post Jul 31 2013, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(vern @ Jul 5 2013, 04:11 PM)
My absorber soft like beanbag. Everytime taking corner if there's uneven surface or holes, the car skips and turns a bit, like skid.
I guess all 2012 Elantras are like this right? Should I go to SC to claim warranty? How would the process be like?
Trying to search EMC on the process, think its an age old issue rite?
i had the same prob, mine was worst, i can't even speed more than 120kph, the car will became very unstable, once i reported, they said need to change the rear shock absorbers and the coil spring to more improvised version, after change, ok can drive fast, cornering i will say slight improvement, the skips is still there on uneven surface cornering, but to be frank when u go on highway at high speed the car will feel very soft, so when take highway long cornering from the most left side (speed lane) u have to hold the steering light, because the Elantra EPS is not good in putting proper weight to the steering, maybe only i feel so blink.gif , but for me after i pass above 160kph, my car is more stable because of the rear diffuser i have, it makes the car like stick to the road, hehe, but still the steering feel soft, so have to handle it lightly, my fren suggest to install anti roll bar on rear lower arm, maybe i might but not now, apart from that, it is a great car, good for touring at speed 120 - 140kph(stable mostly at this speed), very comfortable ride, regarding FC, like what civispoon claim, engine oil and the type of petrol u use makes allot different, DON'T GO FOR SHELL, it sucks, will make ur car under-power, i use petron and clatex, even on rough driving i can get 425Km untill my last bar started to blink and still push the car further to 10 - 15km before i pump oil, normal drive combine cycle, i can get good FC easily 480 to 520Km until the last bar started to blink, mine is 1.8, hope this helps
va_841
post Jul 31 2013, 06:58 PM

i heard Kayaba rear shock absorbers offers better handling for the new elantra, anybody have knowledge on this ?, have anyone changed 1 ?

This post has been edited by va_841: Jul 31 2013, 07:10 PM
va_841
post Aug 2 2013, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(monocle @ Aug 1 2013, 09:12 PM)
Guys,
My friend's 1.8 having this 'tak tak tak' sound after off engine.. the sound is from the engine area..

Anyone of u here having same issue?

that is normal, it is actuallynot from engine, it is from the exhaust system, this is very normal for C segment cars, because of the high horse-powered engine, the exhaust seems to be more hotter, this info i got from one my fren using perdana V6, he has good knowledge in car engine systems,
va_841
post Aug 2 2013, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(kvzhao @ Aug 1 2013, 11:54 PM)
i use 0w 30, very smooth and light!
hi,

is it ok to use 0w 30 ?, because my mobil 1 5w 40 is already too light, i saw the oil, it is very thin, mobil do have 0w 40 but the shop fellow told me the oil is for racing type engine mostly turbo powered like BWM and VW,
va_841
post Aug 9 2013, 01:27 PM

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Aug 6 2013, 08:07 AM)
great to hear you get good FC. but for handling wise, yes i agree hyundai is very sucks on that dept...at first very hard to adjust coz need constantly put steering input especially when cruising on hways..but now ok a bit...for the rear suspension its a failure from hyundai, surely...coz evryone is feeling the 'skips' especially on corners...for me no need to drive really fast at each corner...its skips only if there is a small bump at the corner...if smooth surface, cornering is ok...but if u drive alone...if u have passengers and some uneven cargo in boot, now its hell to drive...really unstable...

so people say just install rear antiroll bar and engine strut bar...yes it will make the firmer on the road...i not yet install it....since i always drive alone...maybe when i get my bonus next year will plan to install it...coz when u drive with family u need safety...u can't drive slowly all the time...sometimes when it comes to emergency cases u need the car in really good shape...
good to hear that, mine is more stable now after the absorber change, but i notice on load car looks good too, more stable, anyhow, i have plans for the anti roll bar for the rear portion and some US sites recommend changing the suckiest absorber to Kayaba after market absorber, seems like it solve most of the stability issue
va_841
post Aug 9 2013, 01:32 PM

QUOTE(civicspoon @ Aug 6 2013, 07:51 AM)
i also hear the same thing....yes its from the exhaust system...after i drive the car (i usually commute daily each trip 90 minutes) if i drive just a while no tak tak tak.....

i think its a metal thing as its hot material will expand and this will make the sound...i guess... wink.gif
yup exactly, it's the material Hyundai use...
va_841
post Aug 9 2013, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 8 2013, 02:56 PM)
I watched that video, very dangerous! Did the sc help u do alignments until it was okay? Seems like the person who posted that video had done several alignments to get it done..
I Strongly believe it is the Tyre, i had the same issue after i did alignment, the alignment shop fellow claim the chamber and all alignment setting is good and he say this is the Tyre issue, mine also was pulling to the left, so what he did he took out the left tyre/rim and put it to the right hand sight and right to the left, after that the car started to pull to the right but very minimal compare to how was in left sight, so there he confirms this is because of tyre even not rim because when he change, he did check the wheel balancing, the rim is in good shape not dented, after the change the car drives way better with slight pull to the right, finally i had a idea, i know that that rear part of the car is not adjustable it is fixed, so i took the rear rim/tyre and swap it with the front rim/tyres, so the front set goes to the rear and rear set comes to the front, immediately the problem solved, give it a try and see....
va_841
post Aug 16 2013, 04:34 AM

QUOTE(deviljon @ Aug 9 2013, 10:30 PM)
Good to know you found out the problem and temporary solution. Temporary because I had same problem with my older car after rim n tyre upgrade. What I did was same as yours, swap front and back. Eventually what happened was one of the rear bearing broken and one of the absorber leaked oil (due to pulling to one side all the time). Something to take note or just fix the uneven tyre bro.

By the way, here's a video to share on Elantra handling:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=playe...pfOLVnc-M&t=250
Ya Agree

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0509sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:10 AM