Kinda interested in singing (Don't laugh, my bandmate wants to join too
Thx & cheers.
PS: Couldn't find the old singing topic, so pls dun whackerize this.
Theory/Lessons Vocal Lessons, Any idea where to get them??
Mar 27 2006, 09:42 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
5,231 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Pea Jay |
Kinda interested in singing (Don't laugh, my bandmate wants to join too Thx & cheers. PS: Couldn't find the old singing topic, so pls dun whackerize this. |
Mar 27 2006, 09:44 PM
975 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Perth, Oz |
plz lar... led zep singing? pity kl lar .. rain for whole month =P jkjk
edit - train urself not so good idea... vocal training is good.. get a good teacher and u'll learn so much more than training urself This post has been edited by XCcude: Mar 27 2006, 09:45 PM |
Mar 27 2006, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(XCcude @ Mar 27 2006, 09:44 PM) plz lar... led zep singing? pity kl lar .. rain for whole month =P jkjk Haha it has been raining heavily during evenings lately. If I take lessons, I scared tsunami oni. edit - train urself not so good idea... vocal training is good.. get a good teacher and u'll learn so much more than training urself Jk jk... seriously interested in lessonslar, anybody here taken vocal training before? |
Mar 27 2006, 10:11 PM
2,046 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: On a chair, facing the screen |
I'll ask my band's vocalist later. He took vocal lessons for some time alrdy
Well, if u want to go the James Hetfield way, get a vocal warmup tape. He used that before every show or jam to warmup his vocal. Saw it in Some Kind of Monster. |
Mar 27 2006, 10:57 PM
171 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Buy Vocal Coach-Complete Breathing , Vocal Coach-Complete Vocal Warm-up n also Vocal Coach - Expanding ur Range... Dalam bentuk cakera padat... Can find them from eBay ... It really works... Not so expensive... Or u can log on to www.hazami.com.my ... He's a popular singer and also a vocal trainer... He's Ning Baizura's n Nikki MI's vocal trainer ... But kinda expensive
So y u wana look for singing lesson? Expand ur range?? Learning to make great vibrato?? Whistle tone?? Improving ur falsetto?? Wanna learn proper usage of melisma?? Or mayb vocal belting o.0? AF4 PS: I can do whistle tone , reached B6 This post has been edited by yupihas: Mar 27 2006, 11:08 PM |
Mar 27 2006, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(chapree @ Mar 27 2006, 10:11 PM) I'll ask my band's vocalist later. He took vocal lessons for some time alrdy Really? Thanks a lot, let me know when you get an answer. Well, if u want to go the James Hetfield way, get a vocal warmup tape. He used that before every show or jam to warmup his vocal. Saw it in Some Kind of Monster. QUOTE(yupihas @ Mar 27 2006, 10:57 PM) Buy Vocal Coach-Complete Breathing , Vocal Coach-Complete Vocal Warm-up n also Vocal Coach - Expanding ur Range... Dalam bentuk cakera padat... Can find them from eBay ... It really works... Not so expensive... Or u can log on to www.hazami.com.my ... He's a popular singer and also a vocal trainer... He's Ning Baizura's n Nikki MI's vocal trainer ... But kinda expensive Hah thanks for posting, how much are those books roughly? So y u wana look for singing lesson? Expand ur range?? Learning to make great vibrato?? Whistle tone?? Improving ur falsetto?? Wanna learn proper usage of melisma?? Or mayb vocal belting o.0? AF4 PS: I can do whistle tone , reached B6 Err.... can speak in simple English? lol... I just wanna learn how to get the best out of my voice, maybe not so much of expanding the range, but more focused on stuff like vibrato and emotion (?). Maybe try to sing in falsetto too? lol... I'm not too sure, all I know now is that I can't sing nuts lol. |
Mar 27 2006, 11:23 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
I actually went for vocal training when I was like, 9......
It used to be in SS2 area called "The Singing Shop"...... I think they now relocated to Desa Hartamas..... |
Mar 27 2006, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 27 2006, 11:23 PM) I actually went for vocal training when I was like, 9...... Haha awwww.... cute little Blacktrix taking vocal lessons lol.It used to be in SS2 area called "The Singing Shop"...... I think they now relocated to Desa Hartamas..... Do you remember what they taught you? |
Mar 28 2006, 09:44 AM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
shuddup..... I was 9.....
I can only remember just singing along to songs (no...... I won't say what I sang) and just practised from there...... And now I'm all EMO like and sound like Cookie Monster....... |
Mar 28 2006, 11:53 AM
3,914 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
led_zep_freak sing ? <runs outside and laugh> HAHAhahahAHAHAHahahahhhhh aaaah
i have a church member who gives Vocal Training. She's got some Masters in some music field and she's training my church 40 member choir team. I can ask her if you want .... But again, you sing ? |
Mar 28 2006, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Mar 28 2006, 11:53 AM) led_zep_freak sing ? <runs outside and laugh> HAHAhahahAHAHAHahahahhhhh aaaah Damn.... is it a bad thing? lol... I do sing occasionally in bands but I do know that I can't sing lol. If I could, I wouldn't be posting this anyway. i have a church member who gives Vocal Training. She's got some Masters in some music field and she's training my church 40 member choir team. I can ask her if you want .... But again, you sing ? My bandmate came up with the idea of going for lessons togetherlar. I mean, I really wanna have a go at it, y'know...after being impressed by the harmonies heard in Eagles & Queen albums. I'm more interested in solo singing actually as I choral & solo singing are pretty different, I think. Not sure if she gives training for n00bs like me tho, but if you could ask, it would be great thanks. |
Mar 28 2006, 11:07 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i have a friend who teaches singing.
freelances here and there. but if you wanna learn how to growl death metal style, i can |
Mar 28 2006, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Mar 28 2006, 11:07 PM) i have a friend who teaches singing. Yeah, how much does he/she charge per lesson? Does he/she teaches in groups? freelances here and there. but if you wanna learn how to growl death metal style, i can Death metal as in In Flames-type? |
Mar 28 2006, 11:22 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 28 2006, 11:11 PM) Yeah, how much does he/she charge per lesson? Does he/she teaches in groups? i'll get the number by tommorow.Death metal as in In Flames-type? eh blues and growling, why not my growling is kinda like later testament work, like demonic refusal etc. |
Mar 29 2006, 10:19 AM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
led_zep, if you're all gona do it in a group can i join? yes yes, go ahead and laugh at me you all. i really cant sing for sh|t. if sing growl lamb of god style can lah....
Mar 29 2006, 12:50 PM
Haha... sure no problem, I have to ask around first tho. Do you know anyone who gives lessons? After all you know a lot of musicians here.
Mar 29 2006, 06:22 PM
975 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Perth, Oz |
i wanna work on my high pitch and vibratos if i can get a chance to learn singing
Mar 30 2006, 02:16 AM
937 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor Bahru |
guys I'm a singer, There's nothing wrong to have the desire to learn how to sing properly actually. Learning is good. To me actually if u wanna sing damn nice, vocal lessons wont really make u like after taking lessons u can sing like backstreet boys, westlife, jay chou, busted, Tom delonge (vocalist of blink 182), jesse mccartney or james blunt, if u want these type of singing u will need to be borned with it. So just to let u know that going to a vocal class doesnt mean that after u get out guarantee you will be able to sing damn nice, but most likely your singing will improve. Probably will end up able to sing like Mark Hoppus. His voice is like the common singing voice. He can sing but in low tone. Most of the time I find that guys that has a bit of a girlish voice can sing. example of artists with girlish voices are i think i already listed some of them above, but most obvious is Tom delonge and jesse mccartney. So if you have what they call in Choir, a 'Tenor's' voice, then more higher chance that you will be able to be a lot better in singing after taking lessons. They will teach you breathing control and stuff there.
Here's a list of where you can take vocal lessons. I only know these places that are the most cheap (lol). Vocal classes are expensive man. at Ikano Power Centre - Euphony Musical Centre (RM180 like that per month) at Yamaha at 1 Utama - (RM100-120 like that if i remember correctly, more focus on oldies) got another place in Taman Tun called Learn-to-sing..that one is like RM200-300 per month LOL!. (I called them) Sorry guys but I never ask how long per class for the payment listed above. A musician that can sing while playing his instruments either for lead or backup singing is a bonus and I think is more respected than someone who can just play the instrument because almost anybody can pick up a guitar and learn how to play it man, but can you pick up a guitar, play and sing along with it? not that hard if you already know the technique. So lets learn-to-sing! lol This post has been edited by Xero: Mar 30 2006, 11:39 PM |
Mar 30 2006, 11:20 AM
Thanks a lot man, I'm really interested in singing and want to learn how to make full use of my voice. I don't expect to sound like BB King or James Blunt in a few months time.
Thanks a lot man, that's a very informative post. How long have you been taking lessons anyway? |
Mar 30 2006, 02:45 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Mar 29 2006, 12:50 PM) Haha... sure no problem, I have to ask around first tho. Do you know anyone who gives lessons? After all you know a lot of musicians here. i know this singer for this band(forgot whats his band's name) that made it to asian beat finals and he said he'll meet up with me just to show me the techniques but i didnt ask if he could give serious lessons. i've been (and will be) very busy for my current tests and coming finals so i cant meet him. |
| Change to: | 0.0222sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:48 PM |