[Fitness First]
darklight79
Jun 10 2006, 01:27 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(scum_bag @ Jun 10 2006, 01:05 AM) I also wanna know... Roughly my friend had like 2 years passport membership for RM175 per month. I was looking to stay in one place only (Leisure Mall) since its quite near my house. Wonder if non-passport one is cheaper I guess? p/s: I heard some of the PT is SOOO judgemental to the max  What do you mean the PT's are judgmental? Just curious.
darklight79
Jun 12 2006, 03:18 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(scum_bag @ Jun 11 2006, 03:37 PM) I meant instead of helping you, they just pass by and look at you like a lowlife chimp trying to hard to figure out the machine, you know, with those "look" like "I'm a better human being than you"... This is what I heard from a friend, I'm sure not all PT like that... Just some ignorant prick may behave like that. I get what you mean now. I guest trained at a FF gym at Asia Jaya. But most of them are skinny ass fitness pussies. I own them in terms of poundage they use. Everyone's there to learn how to workout but it doesn't give them the right to look down on other people. Unless you're paying them, they treat other people like crap. Not like their knowledge is all that great.
darklight79
Jun 12 2006, 04:03 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 12 2006, 09:36 AM) any trainers who tells your female friends to work with a 2lb pink dumbbells for 15 reps to TONE up their triceps to get rid of their bye bye arms should be shot. applies to 99% of the personal trainers in all fitness centers. remember guys, it's not a gym. it's a fitness center. i agree, most PTs in fitness centers are elitist scumbags. go join a real gym. LMAO! Yep yep. The average fitness centre PT's are definitely not qualified to train people in bodybuilding. To tone, yes, to gain mass, not really. By the way, free weights produce the best results, always. Most PT's make their trainees use stupid machines. Saw one PT teaching his client how to do arm armed machine flys. Christ!!
darklight79
Jun 14 2006, 11:00 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(yeeck @ Jun 14 2006, 10:15 PM) Today was the 2nd time I went to FF IOI in the EVENING after work (1st time was pre-opening on April 24). Man....it was crowded like crazy. So if anyone thinking of joining FF IOI, avoid coming in the evenings after work.... I tot the evening crowd would have died down by now...boy was I wrong. Imagine the pressure of using a machine and people waiting behind u giving that "faster get over with it" kind of look..  Screw the machines. Do free weights. Only skinny guys stay in the machines section. Big guys are always in the free weights area.
darklight79
Jun 15 2006, 09:42 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 15 2006, 07:44 AM) going to the free weights alone without any prior experience is quite intimidating. might wanna tag someone along. at least when you did something stupid you can laugh with someone. Well, when i first started, i had to swallow my ego. I remember when i first stepped into my gym, i was laughed at by the regular guys at The Royal Lake Club (near the Lake Gardens) who were labelled the "strong guys" there. I couldn't even bench the bar, imagine that. Few years later, i lift more than 2 times of what they lift. I get the last laugh. Now i piss them off by using up most the 20kg and 15kg plates in the gym when i deadlift so they gotta wait their turn. It takes perseverance, patience and a thick skin but in the end, sticking with free weights is worth it. This post has been edited by darklight79: Jun 15 2006, 09:42 AM
darklight79
Jun 15 2006, 10:04 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 15 2006, 09:59 AM) oh, wtf. so lansi. the worst i got from my gym are just stares from senior and that also was more like "ambil berat"(no pun intended). yeah i remember i can't bench the bar too when i first started but i was able to pin up to 7 plates on the chest press machine. so i kind of protected my ego at the beginning by staying away from the free weights area. then my ex housemate(not a scumbag) came along and verbally abused me to bench. i'll be forever grateful to that arsehole. Yeah. They were seriously bastards with something shoved up their asses. They used to be so arrogant. They would make me wait endlessly for the bench press apparatus. Now they don't really dare piss me off anymore. But hey, i'm a mellow guy in the gym. As long as i have a good workout, I'm pretty happy. Here's an old deadlift vid. They were waiting on the right for the weights. I took my time. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJ-Aswa0pJ0I just hit 415 pounds yesterday for 2 heavy singles.  And a 110kg Yates row video for 8 reps. The third set was killing me. Lol. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kEX1Msk75IoThis post has been edited by darklight79: Jun 15 2006, 10:07 AM
darklight79
Jun 15 2006, 10:20 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(FleshWound @ Jun 15 2006, 10:16 AM) lol. 160kg, that's some heavy arse weight. our gym has this indian guy who deadlifts 120kg, at the end of his workout, the bar ends up slightly bent. Thanks mate. Old video. I'm gonna put up a new vid of a 200 plus kg deadlift. I've improved.
darklight79
Jun 15 2006, 11:55 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(lim00 @ Jun 15 2006, 11:46 AM) what are free weights? are they dumbells and bars? Yes
darklight79
Jun 21 2006, 03:31 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jun 21 2006, 08:26 AM) You da man!!!  Thanks bro. I'm trying my best. Like i keep saying, i wish i started deadlifts a lot earlier. My back has exploded in growth and thickness ever since i started doing them. My US friends say the potential is there. 600 pounds is not really far away, hopefully by the end of this year. There'll definitely be some plateaus encountered, but i guess i should be able to get around them.
darklight79
Jun 21 2006, 04:21 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jun 21 2006, 04:14 PM) Good job man. I think you'll get there. You sound like you got a good grasp of what you need to do and the will to do it. Good on ya. I'm kinda sick of FF right now,so damn many people all the time. Wonder if getting my own little equipment at home is worth it... Well, look. FF, CF, TF are all glamour places to train, full of youngsters who just do chest and biceps everyday with chicken legs. You're better much joining a hardcore small gym with decent and complete equipment. Granted there are no hot chicks to look at, no air conditioning nor fancy ass aerobics classes and all that, but as long as there's metal, it gets the job done. Seeing the Cost of Redemption by Ronnie Coleman who trains in a hardcore ghetto gym with only a giant fan blowing in hot Texan weather really inspires me. The gym i train at has no air conditioning at all, but it's got a power rack and I'm pretty happy with it. This post has been edited by darklight79: Jun 21 2006, 04:22 PM
darklight79
Jun 22 2006, 05:39 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE((N)3 @ Jun 22 2006, 11:56 AM) bloody hell, how much do you weigh now? 600lb is like 270+kg lol wouldn't want to bump into you when you are pissed anyone heading to FF leisure mall today? I meant, i hope to lift 600lb, not weight 600lb. Lol. And no, I'm a very friendly guy. It's very hard to piss me off.  Well, my bodyweight is currently 97kg now. I wanted to reach 100kg, but I need to be careful that the weight gained is more muscle than fat. So it's hard, i need to control the macronutrients in my diet properly. Here we go, another new record. 435 pounds lifted. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BrmSoPKgYEsThis post has been edited by darklight79: Jun 22 2006, 05:40 PM
darklight79
Jul 25 2006, 01:17 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Jul 25 2006, 11:40 AM) I go to Axis because my friend is there. I go to Summit because another friend of mine will join there. I go to Consplant because my cousin is there. We should all have a FF members gathering! FF unite!! Btw, I dont think darklight79 would want to kill me. I feel so loved in this board. =) Lolx. *grabs Pennywise in a chokehold and proceeds to slowly strangle him to death*
darklight79
Aug 4 2006, 11:45 AM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(Canopies @ Aug 4 2006, 11:40 AM) Oh hi..may i ask which gym centre are u training at?..seeing your videos really inspired me to join gym(Im pretty a big size guy)..any idea for newbie? Any place that has a power rack. That's why i don't recommend Celebrity Fitness. Al lthey have is the crappy Smith machine. If you need to pick from these places, FF seems your best bet. I'm not sure about CF though.
darklight79
Aug 7 2006, 02:17 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Aug 7 2006, 01:46 PM) Hey, carlsuen, I didn't manage to go workout with chris at his gym on sunday because I fell sick. So I didn't get to learn much of the moves yet except for the one that the pt taught me, but i'm still not very confident if I can do it alone yet. Is it possible for you workout with me on the weekdays this week, because I need some help learning the moves like deadlifts and the rest as I'm still new. Asking for the pt to help me will only make me end up on the treadmill first  and worst, machines!! . You working out on the weekdays also right this week? Is it possible for you to bring me in to wherever you work out at on weekdays, or maybe u can spend a lil time at the curve? really need help  . Aw bro. Sorry to hear you were sick. I got your sms. Anyway, carl trained with me on Sunday at my club's gym. There was one more guy, a friend of his. Wasted. You should have come. Next time bro, no problem.
darklight79
Aug 8 2006, 01:31 PM
I'll eat your food
Ah crap. Too bad the pass was for first timer walk ins. Or else i'd train with you guys more often. The one session i had with carl at FF was fun though. Back day. Heh.
This post has been edited by darklight79: Aug 8 2006, 01:31 PM
darklight79
Aug 11 2006, 12:05 AM
I'll eat your food
Meeting through forums are fun. I met carlsuen and iliveunderwater through health forums.
darklight79
Sep 1 2006, 05:17 PM
I'll eat your food
QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Aug 31 2006, 10:10 PM) Here's what I did today: Squat:Warmup sets2x5 with bar 1x5 with 5kg each side Real set3x5 with 12.5kg each side (succeeded!) Bench Press:2x10 with bar 3x5 with 2.5kg each side  (I dont really know what to do...10 reps or 5?? how many kg???) Deadlifts:2x5 with bar 1x5 with 5kg each side 3x10 with 11.25kg each side
To Carlsuen and Chris: People in the gym (big size people, experienced look, some of them body quite toned) have been telling me that I'm doing the deadlift the wrong way. Got 2 guys, both big size and one of them body quite toned, the first guy with the toned body say, he started out with a size just like me, he then teach me the deadlift in a different way, Just the way to lift it up i mean, he say the one that Carlsuen teach me is Power Lift (and of course they teach me not to bend my back), and before I pick it up, he say put the bar close to my shin and tell me to do 10 reps, he say I must carry heavy weights if not no point, he suggested i start with the 10kg then move up the next week i come to gym. Then today another big size guy teach me deadlift a different way, he say must point my A-hole up, must bend my back (the part near the butt), and must not put the bar near the kneecap and should not touch the knee and my forearm must be in front of my kneecap, and he say the 11.25kg weight is too heavy for me (To me it is not very heavy actually, just medium), this guy's deadlift looks something like a Pendlay Row , he told me to lift up my Elbow and not my forearm when doing it, because if not I will be training my forearm instead. I'm getting confused. Whos right and whos wrong? What form do I follow? Bro. Chris here. I just got your sms when i woke up. Lol. I know it's very confusing when you get different variations of advice on the deadlift. IMO, doing more than 5 reps on the deadlift is wrong. Because the deadlift is a functional strength exercise designed for strength and low reps. You do more than 5 reps in a set, your form will start being crappy. I usually experiment with single, triples and sets of 5. Try to visualize pushing your heels through the floor when you're pulling the bar up. Your lower torso and your upper torso must straighten out at the SAME time when the bar is going up. Here, the video i posted on youtube of me deadlifting, the guys at bb.com forums saw it, they said the form is very good. Use that as an example. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BrmSoPKgYEsThat was 435 pounds, now i'm already lifting 500lbs, so i guess i'm improving. Good luck bro.