Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 10:04 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 25 2013, 10:00 AM)
Should i joins my P2K interstates 3 days ride in May during Wesak day long weekend???

1st day: KL - Raub
2nd day: Raub - Gua Musang
3rd day: Gua Musang via Cameron highland to Ipoh.

decision. decision. decision.

FYI, i have a run coming up in Philippines, TNF Baguio... on April 21-22. About 1 month gap to May 24.

if cycling fitness not pickup in time, will be sufferFest!
just do it. if it turns south, just ask your legs to shut up. or u can challenge ur legs to push the limit.
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 10:05 AM

587 posts

i'm sure even the best cockpit in the world can't do this

so why bother?
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 10:30 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 10:22 AM)
is it? i think it is a couple of MM shorter... coupled with the angles of the HT and ST... i believe the contact point between the handlebar and saddle will shorten more than the SL3 as you stack more spacers on the stem...
watever your budget can afford... it's no wrong to do that, just make sure you don't regret... in fact, if i were you... i won't even consider SRAM Red... at most, i would go for Force and if i skimp on it... i would go for Rival with a set of Force cranks and maybe calipers as well...

you balance your budget at the end of the day...
few mm also makes a difference la. why stack more spacers? their HT already long.

i'd go with force too. the DA9000 crank concept is very tempting. but the shifter hood is fugly.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 25 2013, 10:44 AM
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 10:43 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 25 2013, 10:41 AM)
Guys enlighten me a bit lah...on the pricing and weight differences tongue.gif
seriously, dunno what u want. what do u want? pricing n weight differences of what?
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 10:53 AM

587 posts

oo price i dunno lah.

on the weight, this might help http://www.totalcycling.com/component-weights.html
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:17 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 25 2013, 10:51 AM)
On the Force and Red...am googling it now for the weight differences. Just wanna know msian pricing for both groupset. Quoted 5.6k for Red from GHS. No idea how much for Force.
even if money is not an issue, i wouldn't choose Red for these reasons:
- rd pulleys and bb need to be serviced very often; 100hrs riding time
- shifter hood is big, slightly bigger than DA7900

i know someone who regrets getting the red due to the ceramic maintenance issue
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:21 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:11 AM)
yeah la... but you also have to take into account the spacers you are stacking mar... the bike will come with some longer steerer which you might not cut to maximum low initially.. so the feel might differ on first impression...

that few mm would not be very catastrophic la... can buy a longer 10mm longer stem to counter it anyways...further more on a size 52.. it is only shorter by 6mm if i am not wrong... euros to SL3
maybe i'll spend some time sketching the van nicholas, lynskey and SL3 using autocad. i suspect lynskey's dimension is closer to the SL3. will let u know.
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:24 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:13 AM)
because it no love my wallet....

u know how much that shit costs???

miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:24 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Mar 25 2013, 11:11 AM)
why no love for campy?

i no like thumb shifting
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:33 AM

587 posts

miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:41 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(yolk @ Mar 25 2013, 11:37 AM)
chuck norris approves  thumbup.gif

[attachmentid=3363337]
SO MUCH THUMBS!!!

ok. this tops it all. chucky roundhouse kicks everyone else. end of story.
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:46 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:40 AM)
2nd point manyak invalid... like that the Force also out ma... cos the shifter shape is more or less the same as old Red... new Red body is in fact slightly slimmer and longer...
i like the old red or current force shape. better for smaller hands. i've tried the new red, huge shit

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:40 AM)
the blackbox bearings are a hit and miss thing... i think your friend got the lemon ones...that or the shop did not apply the supplied grease when they installed... it comes with a ceramic bearing grease which needs to be squeeze on like how you squeeze massage gel on mila kunis's back before engaging in some sexy time...else, the thing will f@k up faster than you can say f@k this shit...
actually he didn't read the manual, and he thought the maintenance of pulleys n bb are like any other types; which was maintenance free. he was wrong. even if u ride only 4 hours weekly, it'd only take 6 months before u need to dismantle and regrease them.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 25 2013, 11:50 AM
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 11:51 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:49 AM)
the new one is made for big hands mar.. they realized a lot of hairy gorillas riding bicycles nowadays...
do wat? massage oil?
silap... i wanted to reply to ur suggestion on doing something more useful... fakdatshit. i've already got my autocad open and ready....
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 12:02 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:54 AM)
she gains my respect
typo la boss

RESTECP
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 12:02 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 11:57 AM)
autocad some next generation aero frame for me then...i want one that is so slippery that it will roll into the wind and keep on rollin if i accidentally give it a light tap...
u need super slippery ceramic balls ........ bearing
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 01:10 PM

587 posts

who?
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 02:01 PM

587 posts

white = tarmac sl3/4
yellow = van nicholas astraeus
green = lynskey r340

looks like the lynskey is a relaxed geometry frame
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 02:57 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 02:44 PM)
somehow, something looks out of place... can't tell what it is...

you aligned all the frames at the rear end?
aligned BB. eh... should align the wheelbase. not much diff anyway (between align at BB vs wheelbase
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 03:16 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(jumpermist @ Mar 25 2013, 03:14 PM)
nah i don't think so since you guys are discussing some accessories that cost sky rocket high to me. langsung not in the league.
talk is cheap. so not an issue.
miaopurr
post Mar 25 2013, 03:24 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 25 2013, 02:44 PM)
somehow, something looks out of place... can't tell what it is...

you aligned all the frames at the rear end?
i think the lynskey is kinda too tall, right?

25 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:44 PM