11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Bottom

Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Apr 10 2013, 03:09 PM

59 posts

Damn the trek travel seems to be the best options in terms of packages offered! I didnt found out about this one earlier.
mrjgx
post Apr 10 2013, 05:26 PM

59 posts

Do you guys use a chain catcher?
mrjgx
post Apr 10 2013, 05:57 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 10 2013, 05:28 PM)
ohh.. u mean the k-edge or sram chain drop protector???

i use the k-edge ones...

it is one essential thing to have for a carbon frame or a drop chain can damage the BB area...surface damage that is...

the new sram red chain drop protector is much better because it has an adjustment screw to adjust how close the protector comes to the small chain ring...
Ya thats the one at FD there. Mine seems not to have skip anything but just wondering if it's any good. Gonna increase some weights IMO.

I am also looking for the one to hold your rd so you can still pedal when you remove your rear wheels, eaiser to wash the bike. Is it tensioner?

mrjgx
post Apr 10 2013, 09:35 PM

59 posts

miaopurr, how much is this one at GHS?

mrjgx
post Apr 11 2013, 02:25 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 10 2013, 10:38 PM)
it can help save you from getting some dirty fingers if your chain drops and it could also cause you to have a andy schleck moment...

i have the birzman chain keeper

but i know the pedro's one is the better one to have as my birzman is not as nice to use as the chain keeps hopping out if you are more rough with it...

it's a good thing to have especially if you have a carbon frame.. and more so if you have long cage RDs...
The Pedro one looks good. Thanks for the brand suggestion...will look out for it.

What brand is this mechanic using?

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 10 2013, 10:50 PM)
btw, is your seatpost the single-bolt or two-bolt type? if single bolt, i don't think it's compatible with oval shaped rails. if u wanna to use this saddle, u need to get a new seatpost as well
mine is 2 bolt. It's the heaviest seatpost between the other two seatposts I held at GHS. I think I will go for sworks thingy la..brand loyalty. My current one comes standard with the frame and damn cun because all black. I held the sworks and the weight difference was like day and night! Only red is available at the day I bought my bicycle so I didn't buy, and plus it's expensive.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 11 2013, 02:31 AM
mrjgx
post Apr 11 2013, 02:32 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Apr 10 2013, 05:51 PM)
what about its reliability? so far ok?
mrjgx
post Apr 11 2013, 03:06 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 10 2013, 10:39 PM)
usually there's 10% discount. so that makes it 809. the toupe expert is 359 after discount. so if you can justify paying rm450 for 73g weight saving, why not right?
no it is 104g of difference for 143mm. weight of vegetables only..I prefer the looks of the Romin black though and the shape. But my butt has not tested the Romin yet so can't decide on it. It is heavier than the Toupe anyway.
mrjgx
post Apr 11 2013, 10:25 AM

59 posts

Well I use this Prologo before. You guys think it's the same as Romin?

mrjgx
post Apr 11 2013, 05:22 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Apr 11 2013, 04:32 PM)
Fak Yeah~ Racing Stripe yoo~~~

Red white?

or just red...

hmm... dilemma dilemma
White with red looks better IMO. Although i'd prefer to leave it all black
mrjgx
post Apr 11 2013, 11:08 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Apr 11 2013, 09:20 PM)
Decided to short list this three bikes as my probable next racy bike.

-Canyon Ultimate AL.
-Spez allez race (the same frame as the sworks allez but with sram rival).
-Caad 10 Racing.

I am leaning to canyon cos it offered the best value for money in terms of stuff that i will get with the bike when compared to the other two. The shitty part abt canyon is they wont ship to aussie (can ship to kl first) and i am not sure about the frame sizing. Whereas the Caad and Allez i can easily walk into LBS and buy from them that came with support too if shit happens. Being said, i wont be buying from the LBS i currently patronize as they only carry super high end carbon bike. I am not really sure wanna stick to high end alloy or get a mid tier carbon bike like Madone 5.2/Pina fp quattro/Colnago clx 3(which my lbs carried). My cyclist friend told me to go all out when getting a carbon bike.

What ya do if u in my shoes?
If you are on alloy now, a usual upgrade path would be to buy carbon bike..I havent ridden the Canyon or Caad 10, but I have Allez Race, it doesn't flex, it doesn't shatter your bones on cobbles, it climb and descend wells, but I don't like sprinting with it

Just sayin... unsure.gif
mrjgx
post Apr 12 2013, 11:52 PM

59 posts

u think if I sell my jerseys in bbs got buyer not? letting go some of the too many jerseys I have in the wardrobe which is rarely used.

Back in the days I fancy those cycling team kits, now I prefer a simple and no subtle designs only.

mrjgx
post Apr 13 2013, 02:07 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 13 2013, 12:13 AM)
of course there are. but depends on how much u wanna sell
QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 13 2013, 01:49 AM)
u meant how much you willing to let go?

you know it is a pirahnna pond out there...even new stuff with fixed price also people dare ask to nego
I think most of them are rarely used..perhaps less than 10 times hmm.gif open price 150 if people nego let see how..perhaps can go 130..see if got interested buyers. all bought in pedalspot maah..always rm220 bought new.

Now only collect Rapha. It's like a virus. Bought one stuff, then want another stuff sweat.gif The thing about Rapha is, it is as what people always say about the brand. Freaking expensive! (the same goes to the other higher end stuffs, Assos, Capo, etc all are priced on par with each other). But they really good you know, good on the eyes and good on the feel. Just try their Classic Bibs and you don't feel like wearing other bibs you have and I'm not making this up.

http://www.knoxgardner.com/2010/rapha-a-product-review/

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Apr 13 2013, 01:54 AM)
meh, i figured going out of budget will make me not upgrade so soon would be fine. just save up slightly longer then.
nope, did not find the time. what other merinda or fuji is in this range?
must be below 3.6
dont want to go any higher before i declare bankruptcy before the age of twenty.
Hey that happened to me. Was hunting for a bike nearly 2 years ago when out of sudden I get a slightly upper range from the Merida. It's a good bike brand though an with the good after sales services, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the brand. RM3.6k is good enough, can get Race Lite model i think.
mrjgx
post Apr 13 2013, 02:53 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Snowguy2068 @ Apr 13 2013, 02:24 AM)
racelite compared to giant mia should be about the same eh?
dont really get specs other than the the gears. aha
need alot of help here. so sorry. giant compared to merinda same range? how do they fare?
It's hard to tell. Tips would be, with your budget you go see which bikes that fall under your budget, see the components which one is better, and which one is lighter. After that, get the one that captures your eyes!
mrjgx
post Apr 13 2013, 01:59 PM

59 posts

Anyone tried Assos s5 Mille? Heard it is a damn good bib for long hours on the saddle..couldnt find any bad reviews about it though. Would love to give it a try but not sure whether it'll be superior than Rapha?
mrjgx
post Apr 13 2013, 10:34 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 13 2013, 07:57 PM)
Ya that's the one. Finally some negative points about it..but bib is all about fit and everybody else will fit differently IMO.
mrjgx
post Apr 15 2013, 10:32 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Apr 15 2013, 09:58 PM)
dude... Merida or Giant or Trek or what so ever... with that price range... u'll not go wrong...

just buy and ride... im riding an Indon brand and riding happily (wait...riding and riding...or riding and riding...mmm...)
yea..just ride..at that level it won't have much differences..ride and enjoy!
mrjgx
post Apr 17 2013, 03:26 AM

59 posts

I can throw in my bike into my kelisa in less than 2 mins. Take off front wheel, slide in the bike with rear wheels first to go and slant it upwards so the rear tyre will rest on the top seat/touching window a bit on the right side.

Turn the handlebar 90' towards the front left passenger seat, the fork will automatically rest on the floor.

Easy peasy, 2 mins. And a kelisa can fit in 2 roadbikes at the rear seat, both wheels taken off from both bikes. Proven! smile.gif

Here in this city I see bikes on top of Mini Cooper and Porche, they have this sea sucker rack if I'm not mistaken so regardless of the rooftop curves it can still hold the bike.
mrjgx
post Apr 19 2013, 01:45 AM

59 posts

Finally put up the ads. My Merida is up for sale (in UAE market only) tongue.gif

Will then use the money from the sale to fund for new wheelset..perhaps the 404.

mrjgx
post Apr 20 2013, 02:25 PM

59 posts

Waah..finally. The 22 reviews. I think I've made the right choice of skipping the top end Red when I built my Allez recently. I'm also think that skipping SL4 at that moment is also the right thing to do tongue.gif

But the Force 22 is priced at RM5k plus..quite expensive maa

http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/categor...-groupset-47200

mrjgx
post Apr 21 2013, 03:37 AM

59 posts

I'd like to share this discussion I found on the net. Don't get me wrong, I'm not implying which one is better as I have both alu and carbon bike (honestly I can't feel much differences between them). Some of the replies had a good and valid points. Perhaps it can help those beginners out there who are seeking their first road bike and unsure between alu or carbon frame. blush.gif

aluminum frames will fatigue over time and not feel the same as when you first bought it . Instead of spending 2000bucks every 3-5years for a new aluminum bike, buy a carbon which will last forever, and upgrade it. carbon - last longer, stronger, 2x more comfortable, light, good looking. Why do the pros use carbone?cause its the new, and better technology. CAAD is nice but look at their new top line models.... all carbon

That's a bunch of phooey. New aluminum bike every 3-5yrs? Absurd. Aluminum doesn't just magically go bad in a finite ammount of time. I wonder why thousands of aluminum aircraft, which are decades old, are flying over our heads every day and not falling out of the sky? Planes see far more faigue than bikes ever do. As well as the aluminum engine in my 6yro car. Is it time to scrap my car? Carbon fiber, and the epoxies use to bond the fibers do NOT have an endurance limit. Thus, just like aluminum, they will not last forever.

Carbon could crack regardless of the mileage if you hit it in the right spot. The notion of carbon frames cracking over time is based off of issues earlier carbon frames faced. They used a different resin which would deteriorate over time due to the sunlight, temperatures (Elements), they would even eventually discolour and or delaminate. The layup process was not as accurate so there were plenty of air pockets thru out leading to weak spots. Newer carbon tube technology along with newer resins have UV protection built right in and they are much more resilient. I would however agree that a carbon frame has different weak points in it's construction and during many falls (Hitting the same spots) could lead to a complete fracture of the resin which creates creaking and eventual failure. It takes a significant more amount of falls to fracture aluminum if the welds were done properly. My original post around why aluminum over carbon was to save the extra money plus the distance to get the bike adjusted or serviced via the warranty. Also people that used to ride and enjoy road riding in their early years think they still will, however with age comes the inevitable pains and aches and many steer away quickly especially with today's pot hole riddled roads. Less initial cost=less regrets for buying.

I see another person sold on marketing. Carbon bikes cost more not because they are better, but because they cost more to manufacture. A carbon frame will easily cost 3x4 times as much to build as an aluminum frame and with good reason. Aluminum is inexpensive due to it being the most abundant element on the planet. The aircraft comment made by another poster was impressive because the exact same grade aluminum used in aircrafts is used in bike frames. Carbon plane parts are not even the same compound used in carbon bikes. Plane: carbon/carbon; Bike: carbon/plastic. More comfortable? A carbon bike should ride more comfortably due to manufacturers adorning it with higher end components and wheels. If carbon is so much stronger, Why do you void your warranty if you pull a trailer on your carbon bike? For aluminum's "short life", there are quite a few fully loaded touring bikes crossing the country that are made of aluminum. Carbon couldn't handle that application or builders would be making a lot of them. If a carbon bike could be made strong enough to handle touring, it would weigh as much (if not more) than a steel framed tourer. Also, pros ride what they are paid to ride (like the other poster said). I own two carbon bikes but I'd be a fool to say that carbon is better. A CAAD 10 will not only run circles around a most carbon bikes, but it will do it with a fairly equal ride. One of my riding buddies owns a CAAD10 and just bought a Super Six. He said that the rides are identical and he has Zipp 404 F/C wheels on both.

ahh there's many more in that discussion..you can read more here:

http://forums.roadbikereview.com/bikes-fra...-do-276830.html

My take? Whatever it is, just get the first roadbike new. Be it alu or carbon or bamboo or whatever.

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0210sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:30 AM