25 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 12:57 AM

587 posts

finally! finished truing my wheels, again! not sure if my wheels will be ruined faster now that i've trued them again and again. this will be part of my learning process.

rear wheel is now perfect; hoop and lateral, tensioned within the specified limits. front wheel perfect lateral, but somehow the hoop can't be perfected. dunno why. got about 1mm off.

what puzzles me is why mavic assembled the rear wheel with spoke tension way way way off max limit. the tension was way above 165kgf, whereas as per manual, the max tension is only 140kgf.

do they intentionally tension it up that high? or am i doing it wrong? do they overtension the spokes to compensate the decrease in tension with tyre/pressure on?

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 16 2013, 02:41 AM
miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 01:07 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 16 2013, 10:51 AM)
aiyah... 1mm off you can't feel the wheel hopping when you ride lar...

did they specify drive and non-drive spoke tension or they list the same for both side?
drive side only. non-drive side is only for truing, tension negligible.
miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 07:25 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 16 2013, 05:44 PM)
fuuu...

wall of text...

from FB... Alert. beware!

A fellow cyclist's windscreen was smashed this morning at Bukit Jelutong, parked at D'Bayu, some stuffs got stolen.

Btw, the thief smashed WINDSCREEN really daring! THe bukit Aman thief case normally only smash side window...
i tot d'bayu is not a secluded place? got pedestrians right? that's very daring indeed!
miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 07:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 16 2013, 03:45 PM)
ada itu maciam ka??? because the more the drive side is pulling.. the more the non-drive side has to pull as well to get the wheel to center properly... anyways... as long as there is no loose spokes it should be fine...
yeap. i read one of those wheelbuilding books. lace, handtighten all nipples, dishing, and then start tensioning the drive side to the desired tension whilst maintaining the dishing. measure spoke tension only on drive side. the non-drive side has lower tension.
miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 08:33 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 16 2013, 07:59 PM)
yup, the drive side is bound to have lower tension because it does not need to handle the torque that is transmitted by the cassette among one of the reasons... well, my memory is all over the place... i might be wrong..
terbalik la boss....

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 16 2013, 07:59 PM)
http://velonews.competitor.com/2011/11/bik...-tension_198452

maybe this is similar to your case... much like what they say about those easton wheels arriving out of dish so that it centers itself correctly with tires installed...

maybe you can see if the drive side spokes drop in tension when you pump your tires up to prove that theory of yours...
yeap, that's right. once pumped, they rim migrates to the drive side. ideally, there should be two truing stands. one for the front wheel, the other for the rear wheel which will be trued off-center.

so i don't bother. i true it without tyre on and just ignore the detension effect
miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 11:01 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 16 2013, 10:38 PM)
it seems that not only my memory is wrong... my grammar also became problematic...

replying the power meter topic put too much stress on my cpu

you didn't buy the dish tool when you bought the stand?

i thought the park tool stand has some parts where you have to flip or adjust for front or rear wheel?
really? that's some kind of david copperfield magic! i'll read the manual again

nope, park tool stuff too expensive. i use the centering gauge instead. unless i wanna build a wheel from scratch, then i'll get the dishing tool.

servicing my bike. rd pulley done. BB/crank done. cassette done.

removed fork, and noticed my newly replaced brake cable housing is damaged! how come??? there's a 3mm hole! and my headset also kaput.... sand got into the bearing. so not smooth anymore.

well... where can i get them replaced? should i get the complete headset, or should i go to a bearing shop (where is it anyway?) and get the bearings only?

i know velocipide, biketech, pedalspot, ksh, avanti open tomorrow. which shop would u recommend? i wanna get my headset and cable housing and bartape replaced.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 16 2013, 11:43 PM
miaopurr
post Mar 16 2013, 11:51 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 16 2013, 11:45 PM)
pedalspot has sram professional cable and velocipede has ilinks, your choice

how did it come to a hole on the casing? you mean you can see a hole and even the inner cable? housing is usually damn though and your  paint on the frame would most probably have been scraped off before the housing breaks in case of frame rub
yes, i can see the inner coil. the damage is more like it's been bitten or crushed by something hard. the housing sudah pecah. i have no idea how it happened.

ooo ilinks.... where to find normal shimano black housing?
miaopurr
post Mar 17 2013, 12:21 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 17 2013, 12:08 AM)
headset bearings won't come easy.. those ID and OD is not something the bearings shop have normally... last i went to section 51 SKF bearing shop also could not find one that matched exactly the same... you could try NTN but as far as i know their HQ in subang don't deal with end users...

time for some new HS... chris king this time... but CK didn't make internal headsets i think... or at least not for your SL3 because i can't find one for mine...

get the ilink lar... the housing should be much tougher than the shimano ones although pricey and compressionless somemore.. like mr.jgx says... YOLO...hahaha..

RM200++ only mar...and fully shielded somemore
ok. i halfway makan racun already. they have headsets?
miaopurr
post Mar 17 2013, 01:16 AM

587 posts

DA9000 here is 6k+
miaopurr
post Mar 17 2013, 02:17 AM

587 posts

.... browsing internet to find info on headset.... and ilinks
miaopurr
post Mar 17 2013, 10:53 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 17 2013, 12:49 PM)
haha... happy self-racuning...

maybe unker tan got some ritchey that might appeal to you...
i went to almost all shops today. nobody has the headset i'm looking for. is it that rare? why lah.... sigh....

i need to check out unker's shop and ksh ttdi tomorrow.

i can't find suitable headset on ritchey's website
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 09:07 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 12:32 AM)
oh yea... 1 3/8" bottom bearing right? 1.5" is pretty much the standard for tapered steerer nowadays...

i think better you go direct to GH since they are the ones who should have the replacement headsets... then KSH TTDI next since they are listed as the distributor for cane creek which is also the stock headset on the frame right?

unker would be last stop if all else fails...
1 1/8 top 41.8mm campy type, 1 1/2 bottom normal 52mm. yes, cane creek. GH has no stock at the moment, will take a long time to order. will check out ksh today.
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 09:54 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 09:27 AM)
1 1/8 top to 1.5" bottom should be not as hard to find... i thought it was a 1 3/8 bottom then it will be shit...internal headset right?
yeap. integrated headset.

cane creek IS42 top, IS52 bottom. will go to ksh lunch time
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 10:22 AM

587 posts

if i bring the headset, can ah?
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 11:10 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 10:42 AM)
can also lar... if you already take out the entire thing...the can use caliper to make sure the sizing is the same... but best to still bring bike lar...

you got the HS bearing press at home??? i suspect you don't want to play hentam hentam on your carbon heat tube right?

also maybe the stack height is lower and you end up having to add spacer or saw the steerer a bit... might as well let them do lar... you pay the same price anyways...
it's a drop-in headset, not pressfit. every shop i went to, they asked for a sample. so i thought, if i bring the complete bike, they will remove the fork n headset anyway. so, i guess better to remove and carry the sample only. easier.
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 12:12 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 11:26 AM)
sorry... keep thinking internal HS...

still need to remove bearing seat from the fork as well...anyways, happy hunting... call ah leong first before you go lar... he can give you a straight forward before you even go there...

don't need waste petrol and time...
aiseh... found the headset, but not 100% identical. crown race can be removed? anyway, looks like have to go there with my complete bike
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 12:17 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 11:52 AM)
the look of an underdog flanked by 2 losers

anybody notice cancelara looks like zoolander?
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 12:35 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 12:31 PM)
hate to say

usually the lower bearing seat that is on the fork or what you call as crown race is different because the tracks or grooves are slightly different from model to model...

can hack the damn thing out yourself with a flathead screwdriver la if you are not scared (they do the same thing anyway, no pro tools for this)... just make sure you are not hacking into any carbon and that will do... usually that part is not full carbon, so not that much worrying...
no way... they don't have this tool?

http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/Product_10053...92_10000_202581
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 12:39 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 18 2013, 12:37 PM)
i think usually no lar...for installing it... they have the hollow tube thing... but taking out... i see mostly just WD40 the damn thing and whacks away...

or maybe the whacking method is just faster la... siapa tau some idiot mechanic clamp clamp and clamp into the carbon steerer and screw up the fork??

just whack more gently la if full carbon fork...
woah... tak takut scratch the fork ka? wont the screwdriver hit the fork? shocking.gif
miaopurr
post Mar 18 2013, 01:14 PM

587 posts

http://service.specialized.com/collateral/...ility-Guide.pdf

err... why is the headset cap shows cane creek, but the bearings are from VP?

25 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0604sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:08 PM